SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Walmart Green Dot Money Card / where's my money

Conroe, TX, United States Review updated:

Can you please return my $92.00 in the form of a
check from the Walmart Money Card that stole my
money. I had $100.00 loaded on my card as a Christmas gift. The card was used one time in the amount of $6.57, when he tried to use the card again it said there was insufficant funds to cover the purchase for $80.00. When he checked the balance it said I had $92.43, he tried a $1.97 purchase and was told again there was insufficant fund. Again he checked his balance, he found he had a zero balance. WHERE IS MY MONEY? This is the biggest ripoff I've ever incountered, and Wal Mart will probably get away with it. God know we don't want their Board of Directors to have to skimp on their million dollar bouses. It's only $90.00, but
if you multiply that by the hundreds of thousands
they ripoff, it adds up. And we the little guy gets
screwed again. What is even better, they have no
one you can talk to. The customer service number
is only an automated answering directory. If you
have a problem you must write them and they will
respond accordingly. Isn't that special. Lord I wish
I had read the blogs on this before I purchased it.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ri
      Jun 08, 2009

    This card is a SCAM! My students got me a Walmart Money Card as an end-of-year gift. They put together money for a communal gift got the card which was SUPPOSED to be worth almost $400. I did not receive a receipt with this gift. I am sure the person who bought it was not told the receipt was needed. I can't activate my card without said receipt AND there is no way to actually speak with anyone at Visa about this. They have an "get-the-run-around" automated customer service line with no options for speaking with a live person. Who is benefiting from this scam? Walmart, Visa, or both. I feel as if they have stolen money from little kids. Walmart and Visa, you should both be ASHAMED for pulling such a scam.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Jun 24, 2009

    I am having the exact same problem...I was given a money card for Christmas and my friend didn't realize I needed the receipt to activate the card, so she no longer has it. I have tried the website, 3 different phone numbers, all with the same automated response and absolutely no way to speak with a live person to tell them of my problem! It is exasperating! They have stolen her money, as she did this with 4 other friends of ours!

    -2 Votes
  • Ti
      Aug 11, 2018

    @no walmart! I went here. My card was unblocked in 14 days

    https://cardsolutions.services

    +1 Votes
  • Ta
      Jul 11, 2009

    I am having a horrible ordeal with the wal-mart moneycard at this very moment. I reloaded my card with 1, 100 dollars which was the max amount that i could load at one time at my local store. I called while i was there at the store to make sure my money was on the card, it was. However by the time i got home which is not even 10 minutes away from the store i had a block on my card. I called back in and was told i have a block on my card because of another account that i have with them wa overdrawn the representative advised me that Hertz Car Rental had charged me $389 which made my account go over because there wasn't enough funds to cover the charge. I then called Hertz because i knew i had no balance with them once i returned my car. Hertz faxed over a letter to (626)739-2057 which was the number susposedly to the card company's lost management department. I was told they received the fax but it was only a receipt so i needed to fax a letter in specifics stating i don't owe Hertz anything so i did that. I was told they received that fax i neede to wait an additional business day so that the letter could be verified. i did that and now it has been the next business day and guess what they are stating they did not even get the letter. what bothers me so bad is u can't talk to any supervisors u can't talk to anybody that speaks english and u can't talk to anyone who is willing to help u! I don't have $1, 100 dollars to give away to anybody if so i would have been paying off one of my debts! Anyhow i was just wondering if there was anyone out there that could advise on what my next step should be? the 1(800)937-4098 number is really a JOKE!

    -1 Votes
  • No
      Jul 18, 2009

    try look at your cardholder agreement there is a number there here is the number
    1877-937-4098

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Aug 18, 2009

    I have a complaint against walmart money card and green dot. I have been waiting on walmart to deposit the 277 dollar that I deposited into my account

    -1 Votes
  • Si
      Aug 19, 2009

    I have been using the money card for over a month now. I have deposited money on it three times. I've had no problems yet.

    -1 Votes
  • Wa
      Dec 24, 2009

    I have had my greendot card for at least 6 months. For the past four months I would deposite 1500.00 which is the max amount when cashing a check at Walmart. I also have had family members give me the money card and I have loaded those on my card with out any problems

    The only problems I have experience is that when you return something it may take up to 7 days depending on the merchant for your account to be credited. Now the other day I took something back to Target and it was credit the very next day to my surprise.

    +1 Votes
  • Ia
      Dec 30, 2009

    I loaded a walmart moneycard with $180 and when i was activating it over the phone I accidently pressed the wrong number for my social sec # so when I got to a representative they informed me they had to refund my money back to me by check because the information wasn't right. I had told the rep what my social was and all the right info and he kept telling me he couldn't go back in the system to change it and the check was already registered to be sent and there was nothing he could do about it. After about 2 hours on the phone with their so called "supervisor" they still had me on the run-around and all I was able to do was get them to "express" ship it for a fee of $20 to the money I put on there for a 3-5 business day shipping which was last thursday and I've yet to get the check. Unfortunately like everyone else has said there is no number to reach live customer support or anyone to resolve this issue/follow up on where my check is as they gave me a tracking number but nowhere to put the number in to even track the check at. These greendot/walmart cards are honestly a joke/scam and I will never waste my money on them again, I promise them that.

    -1 Votes
  • La
      Jan 03, 2010

    The problem that I have with greendot/ walmart card is all the hidden fees that they seem to take off regardless if you use the card or not! You pay to load the card, Then they have the nerve to take more after you load the card! I remember one time I had a bill to pay a nd they told me that my card was declined when I know good and well that I had just loaded my card 10 min ago. Greendot charged me the "fee" twice that month. So I called and got a rep on the phone and they so say refunded me back the amount and old me no fees would be taken off until Jan 20, 2010 well they took the money off the very next day! What scam artist!

    -2 Votes
  • Be
      Feb 10, 2010

    I am already to my wits end with greendot...I have spent the last week and a half on the phone with them for hours at a time...when I do get someone they don't communicate well in English. I bought this card soley for my tax check. I don't have a bank account and this card advertised "get your tax refund direct deposited in as little as 8 days"...I jumped for it. I bought the card and when I activated it online, a confirmation letter popped up that said to print it for your records because the page will expire in 5 min. Well this confirmation page told everything...bank name, aba routing number, direct deposit number, account number, type of account and expiration date of the card. On this same page was another advertisement about the tax refund. I did my taxes that night and took the information they gave me in my confirmation page. I entered the aba routing number (which is the same for everyone with this card) and also my direct deposit number (identifies my account within the "bank"). Come to find out days later that the direct deposit number they gave me in my confirmation page was not the one they have in the system for me now...it was 1 number off...the very first number. I called multiple people, supervisors, and raised all hell. My tax refund is almost $9, 000. I told them that either the bank will kick it back and the IRS would issue a check 3-5 weeks later, or someone else may have the direct deposit number I wrote down, and they may get my money, and it would be almost impossible for me to get it back. After calling and calling and calling and believe me I was being a total ### to everyone I talked to at this point. 3 different people took my number and said they would call me back within this time and noone did. When I called back to raise hell that the last person didn't call me back, the lady said
    "oh he noted on you're account that your tax check will still go in even if 1 number is off"...I couldn't believe that...how can it possibly go through if it's not the right number and the number that's wrong is the one that identifies me. She assured it would. After I hung up with her I immediately called back to talk to another rep. He informed me that he talked to 3 supervisors and they said it would go in, and that this has happened to others before and it's went in...
    I guess I'll see Friday if I really got it or if they were feeding me a bunch a ### to get me off the phone. I still don't see how it could possibly be put on my card if even 1 number is off...either way this should be illegal. I'm tired of the foreign speaking idiots. They need to put people on the other line that can understand us and vise versa. I advise totally against greendot...and for those of you that haven't had a problem...CONGRATULATIONS...really you're 1 in a million

    0 Votes
  • Cp
      Mar 07, 2010

    I have used my green dot money card from wal mart and I've never encountered a problem. I can buy reload cards at most drug stores and truck stops. My husband is a truck driver and can purchase cards and call me with the number and I load it on the computer. Sure is cheaper than western union!!! We have been doing this for several years with no complaint...love it.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 03, 2019

    @cpinkyboo I guess you are the lucky one..big rip off

    0 Votes
  • We
      Mar 07, 2010

    WOW. THAT IS REALLY SCARY. I HAVE BEEN USING MY MONEY CARD FOR A FEW WEEKS NOW BUT I AM SCARED TO EVEN LOAD IT AGAIN AFTER HEARING EVERYONE'S HORROR STORIES. THANKS FOR SHARING!

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
      Mar 27, 2010

    My children were given Walmart Moneycards for gifts, no receipt so no activation number. I have tried and tried to contact Customer Service but there are no HUMANS there!!! WalMart is ripping the public off with scams like this. They should be ashamed of themselves as should VISA. I guess they have gotten our money as well as the hundreds of thousands of others who have purchased these from them. Pass it on DO NOT BUY WALMART MONEYCARDS!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Sh
      May 12, 2010

    Please give me your advice on Walmart's Green Dot card. I am thinking about purchasing one, should I?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      May 19, 2010

    i still hav not received my money for direct deposit on my card.it has been two weeks!!! my employer as all of my information.it has to be u guys .please jus put my money on there?be for i have to take further actions.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jun 09, 2010

    i could never get my card to activate or anyone to speak to me except for the automated phone number this money card is a piece of crap! and i wouldnt recommend it to anyone! My opinion is that this is another way for walmart to rip people off and i dont mind telling the whole world!

    -1 Votes
  • Br
      Jun 18, 2010

    Beware of people calling you and asking you to buy a Walmart MoneyCard and asking for the activation number on the receipt. They will say that nothing will be taken out of the account. They just need the 14 digit 'receipt number'. I've never used a Walmart MoneyCard and thought that it would be safe to give that number because, after all, he didn't have the actual card with him and I did not give him the number on the card. If you think that the activation number on the receipt will only work with the card that was purchased with it, think again. After suspecting the person asking for the activation number was a scammer, I tried to get a refund on my non-activated new card through the automated line and was told it was an invalid activation number.

    My next step was to call customer service. After finally getting through the automated service BS and speaking to someone overseas, I found out that even though the card had not been activated, the activation number was already use and indicated insufficient funds! What?! My card was not even activated yet! How can the activation number have insufficient funds associated with it? They even told me the name of a girl I didn't know who had used the account. This tells me that the activation number had been used and some person had already took out the funds, but my card had not even activated yet! I blame myself for falling for the scam, but then again I was assured by the people at Walmart that the activation number on the receipt would only work for the card that was bought...totally false!

    I want to get this scammer but the phone he called me from was traced to Florida, and I'm in California. I actually paid $4 dollars to get a reverse lookup on the phone he called me from. The name lists a different name than who he said he was. Maybe it was a stolen phone as well. How do I report this type of scammer [censor]? Customer service for the card said to report it to the police. Any additional suggestions would be appreciated.

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
      Aug 07, 2010

    You can call 626-775-3474 or 626-775-3435 to get a California-based english speaking human at Greendot.

    -1 Votes
  • Ay
      Aug 09, 2010

    Bought a $40 non-loadable, non-ATM green dot visa "gift" card for a friends birthday. Was told at Rite Aid it was "activated" and ready for use. I sent it in the birthday card and the friend said it was denied everywhere and that they had to have a "pin" number to activate it. They sent it back to me, the store wouldn't take it back or credit me and said I had to call customer service. I went to their site and apparently you have to litearlly fill out a CREDIT APPLICATION in order to "activate" the card. I wrote them and said that is absolutely ridiculous and why would anyone give up that info in order to activate a $40 dollar non-reloadable, non ATM (can't get cash) gift card????? Never heard of this before. So after serveral emails to their customer service they again send me a link so I can get a refund, BUT, in order to get the refund their system requires the same information (a credit application). So I called them and explained I wanted my money back since I can't use this without filling out a credit app. The agent had the nerve to still try to get teh info out of me. "I can process your request...can I have your SS#"??? WTF??? I said, NO you can't! Just tell me what I have to do to get my money back you can see in your system I haven't been able to use the card. She took my mailing address and the card number and said a check would come to me in 2 weeks...we'll see. I doubt it. But I'll hound them as long as I have to just for the sake of exposing them.

    -1 Votes
  • Im
      Aug 13, 2010

    BEWARE OF THEIR TEMPORARY CARDS!!! SO I NEEDED A CREDIT CARD TO PAY MY CABLE BILL, SO I RAN TO THE STORE TO BUY ONE OF THESE. IT WAS CHEAPER THAN SENDING WESTERN UNION SO I BROUGHT IT HOME TRED TO ACTIVATE WITH THEIR STUPID AUTOMATED PHONE SYSTEM... IT GOT MY INFO WRONG... BIG MISTAKE. IT CLAIMED THAT THE ACTIVATION FAILED!! I WAS PISSED, GOT TRANSFERRED TO A AGENT SAYING THEY''D HAVE TO SEND ME A REFUND CHECK. SO I SAID PIECE OD CAKE RIGHT? NOOOO!!! SHE SAID THEY'D HAVE TO SEND THE CHECK IN THE NAME IT WAS TRYING TO BE ACTIVATED UNDER WHICH IS WRONG! I EXPLAINED TO HER THAT IT WAS WRONG AND I COULD DO NOTHING! WITH THE CHECK SHE WAS GOING TO SEND BECAUSE THE INFO WAS WRONG. SHE SENT IT ANYWAY WITH THE WRONG INFO. ON IT. SO NOW I WASN'T AWARE I NEEDED A RECEIPT FOR PROOF OF PURCHASE, I WAS ALSO TOLD TO FAX A PHOTO I.D, RECEIPT, AND CARD PHOTO COPIED. I SAW NO REASON FOR ALL OF THIS WHEN THEY GOT IT WRONG IN THE FIRST PLACE! I DONT HAVE THE RECEIPT... THEY CLOSED THE ACCOUNT AND MY MONEY IS GONE PEOPLE! GONE... SO BE CAREFUL WHEN TRYING TO ACTIVATE YOUR CARD! TRY AS HARD AS POSSIBLE TO TALK TO A PERSON! IF I WERE YOU GO TO YOUR LOCAL BANK AND GET A DEBIT CARD ITS ABOUT THE SAME PRICE AND MORE TRUSTWORTHY THAN THIS [censor] COMPANY!

    -1 Votes
  • Wo
      Aug 16, 2010

    i went and got a green dot as well, the computer system said i put invalid information. i put my real ssn, my real name, my real address. i called customer service and they said i put invalid information and there was nothing i could do and that my money would be refunded in 7 to 10 business days this [censor] is [censor] i need to pay a bill online which was the whole point of me getting a prepaid card because i needed it now. sending my money back in a week is not helping the situation. and besides how does the computer system know you put invalid information? do they know your ssc number? no this [censor] is a scam dont get this card. get the rush card i dont know why i didnt just use that in the first place. green dot probably never gone send me my check. and i dont have anymoney to pay the bill i had just enough and now it's gone.

    -1 Votes
  • Bm
      Dec 28, 2010

    I received one of these cards in the mail. I do not know where it came from. I tried to activate it through their automated system, through one of their non-english speaking idiots who take these call and via the website, I got ABSOLUTLY no where!!! They wouoldn't even tell me where it came from. Whenever I woulod give my info that they were asking for (last four of SS and birthdate) I was told that it was not the information in their system. I asked SEVERAL times what I needed to do and was told every time that they could help me if I would provide the correct information. I heard it so many times I even asked the dude if he ever got tired of repeating himself. He said it againLOL.
    THIS IS THE BIGGEST SCAM I HAVE EVER RUN ACROSS...I NEVER CARED FOR WALMART MUCH BEFORE, NOW THEY HAVE COMPLETELY LOST ANOTHER CUSTOMER!!

    -1 Votes
  • El
      Jan 11, 2011

    Wow this is very interesting I was going to purchase one so that I could shop online. After listening to this I chang my mind, I'l find someone else to do business with.

    -1 Votes
  • Dl
      Feb 27, 2011

    They are worthless Walmart should be held reponisible for all dammages that Greendot has done They sell your info and they send it out through fraud elushions, Walmart tells people how safe the card is. They make a proffit off the cards sold and then they runn your credit. Everyone needs to get together and do a civil Law suit. Myself I bought one too and ended up putting $600 before I found out that it was all a Scam and Walmart pussed me into buying it

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 22, 2011

    I never had a problem at all with green dot. As for the Walmart money card, I can't speak of, however. I used my green dot every week for about 4 years and never had a single problem with a transaction, load, or anything. I'd recommend them to anyone, despite the number of vociferous comments on this page. Just because some people are very vocal about something does not make them the majority, and most of these problems you could find on any complaint site for any banking/credit/debit/gift card company. Take that into advisement whenever purchasing something like this that anything could happen, and very often the very severe cases and complaints are extremely few and far between (and that you could get them even with any of the "alternatives" as well), being luck of the draw.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Oct 01, 2012

    I'm trying to activte my Green Dot pre-paid WalMart Money card.Everytime it gets to the part where they ask for the last 3-digts on the card it dosent accept it. This is also the Card with my name printed on it not the one you puchuse in the store. I'm confused and brwillderd...Any suggestions pleace?

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Nov 12, 2012

    Agree this card is a scam. They hold your money can close down your card and then say they are mailing you a check. From reading these review I probably never see the check. My amount is only $84.00 but just like the lady said multiply it times 100, 000 people and that a lot of money. DO NOT BUY THIS CARD. SAM WALTON IS TURNING OVER IN HIS GRAVE. HE WOULD HAVE NEVER ASSOCIATED THE WAL MART NAME WITH THIS GREEN DOT COMPANY. BUYER BE WARE. SCAM SCAM SCAM.

    RANAE
    CLEVELAND, TX

    0 Votes

Post your comment