The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Villa Del Arco/Villa del Palmar / Misrepresentation and a Scam

1 Cabo San Lucas, MexicoCA, United States Review updated:

After reading the response from the Developer of Villa Del Arco/Villa Del Palmar/Universal Vacations Club properties, I can honestly say that he/they have once again fabricated information about the availability of Villa Del Arco. I have heard the same lies by the representatives who take reservations over and over again. I purchased a one bedroom timeshare at VILLA DEL ARCO (so I thought). When our representative escorted us on a tour of the Villa Del Arco in 2006 we were impresssed with the property and made it clear we did not like Villa del Palmar (old and tired). Since our purchase in October 2006, I have only been able to book one year during the only week every year we wanted to stay at Villa Del Arco. Much to our surprise, we didn't realize our timeshare salesperson marked and "X" on our contract offering all the properties (not specifically Villa del Arco ... the resort that was presented to us.) They feed you champagne and hope you don't notice. This meant if there was no space at Villa del Arco, then we would be put in Villa del Palmar. That's what we got in 2007. We actually had to book and pay for a week in 2008 in 2006 (two years in advance) to get space at Villa del Arco. We failed to get any time at Villa del Arco in 2009 (we tried eighteen months in advance), so we banked it for 2010. In 2008, I booked and paid for 2009 and 2010. Not only did they charge me twice for 2009, they charged me for 2010 (their policy is you have to pay to book any space). I was finally refunded one of the two 2009 payments, but they have sent me Past Due Maintenance Fees for 2010 (which were paid in 2008 when I booked and was confirmed space for 2010). I have proof of payment, but they still send these Past Due Notices with exhorbidant and most likely illegal interest/late fees. WARNING, I believe in the United States there is a limit on late fee charges. This company has charged 10% fee per month on 3 past due notices. That means within a year, your late fee charges will be More than your maintenance fees. The comments from the Developer are not true either. I have been in Cabo San Lucas in October 2009 and January 2009 and visited both Villa Del Arco and walked through the Villa del Palmar properties and both were vacant of people. In 2008 when I booked and paid for my 2009 maintenance fees and was told I couldn't get the week I wanted, I was told to book and pay for the 2010 year (two years in advance). The following day, the reservation representative phoned me to say he made a mistake and revealed they only allow 5 units for timeshare owners and I had to wait for the two year date to be able to book (i.e. October 18, 2010 could not be booked until October 18, 2008). I then realized that they misrepresented availability of the timeshare space for new owners. I have owned the Finisterra for over a decade and to this date have always managed to get space ... and it's a far nicer property. Villa del Arco is NOT a popular resort compared to the many other beautiful luxury resorts in Cabo San Lucas. All timeshare owners were misrepresented and continuously lied to. If there is any way we can get a refund, we would. If there is any class action suit against this company I would like to participate. Please contact me at [protected] any time. Deborah Faurot, Vancouver Canada. If anyone is interested, I would like to expose this resort and their developers to the Worldwide Media. (I do have connections that will damage this company's reputation and the power of the internet is on our side.)

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • De
      25th of Feb, 2010
    0 Votes

    Dear Member, we appreciate you posting your comments above as it allows the Villa Group to better respond to our members in an open environment. First, the Developer Representative's direct line is always available to you and any member who has concerns regarding their memberships (619-683-2338). Second, our position on the availability of Villa Del Arco has not changed since our last posting. Villa Del Arco is our most popular resort and will fill up sooner then other resorts.

    Further, the Villa Group functions as a developer of resort properties in Mexico. There is a specific percentage allotted to our timeshare owners and another percentage allotted to our hotel renters. A breakdown of the specifics of this arrangement are available to all of our members at our annual meeting (every October in Puerto Vallarta), which every one of our members is invited to.

    Finally, the week you purchased is a floating week as covered in your contract. A floating week is not designated to a certain property but rather grants you access to any of our properties within the Villa Group organization. If you wish to have a guaranteed reservation every year, you may want to pursue a fixed week at Villa Del Arco, this will clear up any frustration you may have regarding reservation request.

    If you would like to discuss your issues further, I invite you to contact me directly at 619-683-2338 and we can speak about your individual issue together.

    Regards,

    Developer Representative

  • Je
      21st of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    I would like to direct any readers of this posting to go to a website I just published www.universalvacationclubmembers.com and read to your heart's content. It is addressing many issues and concerns with the Villa Group (Developer) and the UVC. If you are a UVC Member and would like to add your name to my UVC Member mailing list, please contact me via the “Contact Us” page on the site or send an email to jeffsuomi1@msn.com. Jeff Robbins.

  • Ma
      25th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    Thank goodness I didn't fight to have the vacation package extended at no charge! My husband and I were not able to afford the "70% off" airfare as promised by Universal Vacations. We were also told that it was "not a time share", that they "just wanted word of mouth". I am glad I only got taken for $498USD and feel awful that other people aren't able to use their vacation time shares as promised.

  • Fo
      26th of Mar, 2010
    0 Votes

    I would like to compile all the negative feedback from consumers who purchased Villa Del Arco
    Timeshare in the past five years. The timeshare purchase procedure was misrepresented to consumers in many different ways. This truly is one of the biggest timeshare scams in the world! I am serious about exposing UVC (Universal Vacation Club) who manage the bookings and billings and the Villa Group whose timeshare salespeople are misrepresenting the overall package they claim to be selling. Were any of you told that if you bank your timeshare you will receive more money back . Did any of you realize that when you were presented Villa del Arco that your salesperson didn't check the box on your contract offering you Villa del Arco (even though they led you to believe that's what you were purchasing). Did any of your timeshare sales people inform you of the lack of space made available each week to timeshare owners. Did any of your timeshare sales people inform you that you had to book two years in advance to secure the week you want? Did any of your timeshare sales people tell you any more lies?

  • De
      9th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    Dear Members and interested parties, please be aware the number for the Developer Representative in Puerto Vallarta has changed. If you need to contact the Developer's Representative for any issues related to the Villa Group, you may now contact 619-940-1078 or 619-940-1079 (US Lines). We look forward to hearing from you.

    Developer Representative
    Puerto Vallarta Area

  • Ge
      18th of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    I could not agree with all of you more. We had a timeshare with Villa Del Palmar. In Oct 2007 we went on a tour to Villa Del Arco and paid $5000 to upgrade to that property. As a bonus they gave us an extra week/room for the cost of the maintenance fee. We have not used this property in 3 years. In Feb 2010 we called to make reservations for Oct, which is 8 months prior to traveling. We are also going to take 3 other couples with us, we used our two banked years and used the promotion that was offered when we upgraded. Well guess what, they are sold out! I have reviewed the statements made by the Developer Representative with regards to how it works. Let me explain something to him. I am currently in the travel industry and have been for 25 years. I have worked with Tour Operators and on-line travel companies. As of today I can pull up any of those companies and get a much better deal than what you have as a "gold" member with UVC. For instance, I can go to Villa Del Arco the same dates that my vacation is planned for $954.oo, plus I could get $150 in discount cards! So maybe this developer representative can explain the benefits of being a member with UVC. I cannot wait to get down there and stand outside of the timeshare sales building and tell them that they are RIP OFFS! They do not deliver what they tell you. Maybe someone can tell me the benefits of owning one of these properties.

    So to all who are frustrated with this company I can sympathize.. and for you Mr. Developer, if you would like to send me an airline ticket and pay for my stay in Puerto Vallarta I will be there for your meeting.
    In the meantime a refund of $5000 will do, since I cannot utilize what I paid for. I will pay you when I can use it!

  • Ti
      27th of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    Hi, if you still have problems with UVC contact Joshua Garcia these are his e-mails jngclac@gmail.com and joshg@resortcom.com, he is a representative from UVC and claims to represent the board of directors, don´t stop and keep fighting for your money.

Post your comment