SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

VeryRareDVDs / DVD scam

1 United Kingdom Review updated:

I ordered a DVD from veryraredvds.com through Play Trade on play.com. What arrived was very different to what they displayed on the web site. The DVD seemed correct but it arrived in a clear plastic cover with no identifying insert. They also included a second DVD in the case which I did not order and was unwanted. I have complained directly to them but they reply in a dismissive way. Play.com is investigating them but I'm sure I won't see my money again. Beware of veryraredvds.com. Do not buy from them unless you want to risk losing money.

Aj
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gu
      13th of Nov, 2007
    dvd - DVD's are not yet received.
    United States
    thedvdplanet.org

    I bought THE ADVENTURES OF SHERLOCK HOLMES DVD COLLECTION for USD $69.99 from thedvdplanet.org site, Order saying that failed, no reply from the customer care, they don't have contact number. I lost the money.. be careful guys while buying online items.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      31st of Jan, 2008
    dvd - NEVER RECEIVED ORDER
    DVDPLANET.ORG
    United States
    DVDPLANET.ORG

    ORDERED DVD IN DECEMBER FOR CHRISTMAS. DID NOT RECEIVE. E-MAILED DVDPLANET .ORG IN JAN . THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD SHIP DVD BY JAN 21 2008. STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED. EMAILED THEM AGAIN THIS WEEK. RECEIVED NO REPLY. PAID 59.95

    0 Votes
  • Li
      28th of Feb, 2008
    dvd - No Product and No Refund
    Naxp Media
    Montana
    United States
    www.naxpmedia.com

    My boyfriend ordered me The Nanny for my birthday on December 17. It is now February 28 and I have yet to receive my present! I tried calling Naxp media several times and each time their phones are "temperarily" out of order-what?! So I e-mailed them. I have been corresponding with Jennifer Holdings and she promised me a refund after the second "rushed" copy was also not received. Now I am waiting for my refund. This is outragous. This company is a scam and is the worst company I have ever delt with. I would not wish even my worst enemy to order from this company. As a college student, I don't like throwing my money into the toliet. DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!! I wish that I checked these complaint boards before my present was ordered. But I am a persistant person and I will not give up until I get me refund!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      30th of Mar, 2008
    dvd - DID NOT RECEIVE ANY ITEM
    DVDDONKEY.COM
    13107 Pavilion Lane
    Fairfax
    Virginia
    United States
    Phone: 703 263 9464
    dvddonkey.com

    On 1/17/08 I order two sets of DVD Complete Series Total cost are USD156.77. On the following day I received an email show DVDDonkey company has sent me a tracking no for item they sent but I could not track the item and I found out is from Canadian post so I thought it take time to go thru Custom check or so on that is why delay then on 2/13/08 I received two email from DVDDonkey stated that my order are backup but if I wait for next 5-7 days they will deliver to me. Or I can cancel and have refund. Since I have been waiting for a while so I don't mind to wait for another week but no DVD has been receive so I sent an email to DVDDonkey question about my order at that time they want me to produre more information for them to assist me and I have been sending email to them but till today 3/30/08 no one has call me or email me regarding my order.

    0 Votes
  • An
      4th of Apr, 2008
    dvd - false advertising
    naxpMedia
    PO Box 025250
    Miami
    Florida
    United States
    Phone: u/a
    naxpMedia.com

    I ordered some dvd's and the first 21 episodes worked fine but when I reached the second set the dvd's wouldnt play. I then went through the rest of them and it looks as if someone recorded them off television. Then I tried to call the number on the site but the phones are temperarily broken, yea right. They need to be stopped. Its a rip off and it is against the law to reproduce a tv show without permission. With all these complaints why is this site still being allowed to sell dvd's.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      29th of Apr, 2008
    dvd - did not sign up for your club
    columbia House
    Greenville
    United States
    Phone: 1-800-262-2001
    Columbiahouse.com

    I got this box thru mail today. I did not open the box but i took the invoice out to see whom this was front and it is from Columbia house saying i owe $5.00 and saying thanks again for your membership I join there club. I have no clue what these people are talking about i did not join there club and whom ever did join this club under my name should be the one to pay for this not me. What do you want me to do with this movie because i am not going to pay for nothing I did not order or do not want. lucinda R

    0 Votes
  • Kl
      21st of Dec, 2008
    dvd - Product never rec'd
    DIV - Tech / [protected]@yahoo.com
    United States
    blastsfromthepastdvds.com

    order DVD 12/3 - the web site said it would take up to 2 weeks to receive.
    I email the company ([protected]@yahoo.com) after two weeks.
    Never got a reply, instead, I found this web site that shows this person has ripped off many people!!!

    0 Votes
  • Le
      17th of Mar, 2009
    dvd - Nonreceipt
    Smart Saving Center
    Boca Raton
    Florida
    United States
    smartsavingcenter.com

    Two complaints: 1) Ordered Memoirs of a Geisha in a "regular-sized" DVD and received one which was for a Play Station. Phoned for the correct version on 3/5/09. Have not recieved, as yet (3/16/09).
    2) Was charged a membership fee of $29.95. Phoned to request that charge be removed. As of yet, it has not.

    Leroy Moore
    [protected]@aol.com

    0 Votes
  • So
      17th of Mar, 2009

    Terms of service at smartsavingscenter.com is clear that you will be charged a membership fee for the use of the services. Says so right below where you enter your credit card information and right above the button you have to push that says you agree to the terms. Seems like you didn't read your contract and were charged exactly what you agreed to be charged. Your not going to get any money back and you should cancel the service and learn your lesson about reading what you agree to.

    And what is a "regular-sized" DVD vs. a Play Station DVD. The Playstation 2 and Playstation 3 can both play normal DVDs and use a DVD and BluRay Dsic respectively for games. Did you get a BluRay copy? How did you come to the conclusion it is a Playstation disc?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      23rd of Mar, 2009
    dvd - unauthorized charges
    redbox
    Houston
    Texas
    United States
    [protected]@yahoo.com

    I have been repeatedly charged for movies that i didn't rent or movies that i have returned. i contacted the red box company and was told that they would send a technician out to check the box i rented from for the movie and they would look into refunding my money. Two weeks went by and charged me again for movies that i did rent and return I was told the same thing and nothing is being resolved. These charges are fraudulent.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      21st of Sep, 2009
    dvd - DEALER UNFAITFUL
    PANASONIC
    Saudi Arabia

    GOOD DAY DEAR ...
    I BOUGHT DVD FROM PANASONIC KSA DEALER AFTER SIX MOUNTH IS NOT WORKING AND WHEN I WENT TO THE DELAER THEY TOLD ME THERE IS SOME PARTS WE CAN NOT FIND IT HERE . WE HAVE TO ORDER IT FROM JAPAN .
    I THINK WHY PANASONIC GIVE DEALER ITEMS WITHOUT SPARE PART AND WHY I SHOULD WAITTING TILL PARTS COMING FROM JAPAN .
    FOR ANY INFORMATION PLS CONTACT ME TO MY MOBILE
    00966 555 311 331
    RAFAAT R. AZZOONI

    0 Votes
  • Je
      28th of Nov, 2009
    dvd - Trying to collect on membership that never existed
    Columbia House DVD Club
    United States

    Approximately 6 months ago I received a call from some company that I can't even recall the name of trying to collect money for a supposed Columbia House DVD Club account. I have never been a member of Columbia House DVD Club. I had joined BMG Music Club approximately 4 years ago, but fulfilled the obligation and cancelled the membership. I received I continued to receive calls even though I repeatedly informed them that the only account I had had was with BMG and that it was closed. I even called Columbia House DVD and BMG and was told they had no accounts for me. BMG did verify there had been an account, but that it had been paid off and closed.

    Today, 11/28/09, I received a call from Riddle & Wood law firm stating they were trying to collect a debt for Columbia House DVD. I not very nicely told the "representative" I did not owe on this account that the only account that every existed had been paid off. I also informed this rude and obnoxious person that I had called Columbia House and BMG and been told there was no account in my name. He went on to accuse me of not taking responsibility for my debt and did I really think they would be hired to collect on an account that didn't exist. I responded yes I did believe there were people who would try to do that. He insisted on telling me I needed to pay the debt, and that they accepted check, debit, or credit card. I told him he would get a check from me when hell froze over and not to ever call me again.

    It would appear that possibly Columbia House is in financial distress and attempting to collect money fraudulently. If this continues I will seriously consider taking legal action.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      21st of Dec, 2009

    Wow thats crazy because today some lady called me at like 9 this morning saying that I didn't pay some bill from 2007 from Columbia House DVD and I have NEVER recieved any DVD's and so she didn't even let me finish she was like OK i'll just note your refusual to pay and just hung up..So I called back and was like ma'am I dont even know whats going on im not trying to start a conflict i'm just trying to get a clear understanding of whats going on..she got quiet and was like..are you finished?? She had said she mailed the letter out to my house so yeah I just want to actually see whats going on however I NEVER recieved any movies from Columbia house AT ALL.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      21st of Feb, 2010
    dvd - No DVDs Received
    Click dvd pr Herondvd
    Texas
    United States

    Ordered 30 Something...more like 30 NOTHING! Never came, although I did get a package to pick up at PO that had chinese stickers all over it- refused that! I shook it and it had bells in it? Later saw on this site others getting packages from china- like anyone would want crap fromthat place- could be full of arsnic.
    Disputing charge to my credit card, confident that it will be taken off. I have not received any merchandise. Of course no number to contact, no address, this is clearly a scam. I shoulda known from the prices they were charging. If it is too good to be true...than it is too good to be true!
    Glad to find this website, it gave me a dose of reality. Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Un
      20th of Dec, 2010
    dvd - DVD Order
    Arbco Pictures
    California
    United States

    Bought hard to find DVD (Yes Virginia there is a Santa Clause - 1991 Made for TV). Received sealed container with blank disc inside.

    0 Votes
  • Mg
      28th of Apr, 2011
    dvd - DVD do not play
    DVDsetshop
    United States

    I finally received my Season 3 of True Blood and they do not work at all. I waited 3 weeks just to receive them. I want to know what I can do to get a refund from these jokes.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
      4th of May, 2011

    There have been people pirating new movies, which is unlawful act.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      1st of Jul, 2011
    dvd - DVD never received
    Nocturnal Pictures
    Broomfield
    Colorado
    United States

    On June 19. 2011 I ordered a DVD of Stars and Stripes Forever. They charged my card $19.90, but I never received the DVD.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      20th of Jan, 2012
    dvd - Priated
    1815 SOUTHLINE APT A
    Cleveland
    Texas
    United States
    Phone: 9365536013

    We ordered the Kojak DVD set. Paid 200.00 only to have them shipped from China. Would like to know how we could get a refund. We can not even play the DVD as they have commercial and the station information on them. I can not remember the web site we used. They were shipped to 915 E Hanson in Cleveland Texas about 2 years ago any help would be appreciated,

    0 Votes
  • An
      31st of Jan, 2013

    If this is a known dodgy seller and Play.com still allow them to trade through their website and don't want to compensate / reimburse you, maybe it is time to give Play.com also a bad review ? I would say they are just as much responsible.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      25th of Jul, 2014

    After ordering Rock Band 3 on 15th July which cost £31.18 and waiting until 23rd
    for it to be delivered . it came via Amazon, Dunferline
    I have now received the wrong game.
    This is Rock Band which cost £8.98 not Rock Band 3.
    I have contated play.com for help and they were useless even after receiving a reply from Veryraredvds. which said my game was lost which is not the case they just sent the wrong game through amazon which said it was a gift from Mr David Bateman.
    I have contacted amazon who tried to help but these people are using amazon to dropship items.

    Four times i have contacted play.com and no help, when i get a reply from Veryraredvds their english is terrible.

    Play.com have said i can put a claim in on 29th.

    All i want is my money back and if they think i will remove my feedback they can think again.

    Are these sellers even legal????

    does anyone have their address, they have told me to return a game to them before i get a refund but never send an address.

    I agree with the comment that play.com are as much to blame as they allow these sellers though they have loads of problems with them.

    Play.com have went from a company i ordered and preordered from all the time to a company that need to be avoided. This is my last time with them

    0 Votes

Post your comment