SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Verizon Wirelesswrongful termination and arrogant behavior

Review updated:

Verizon is a stupid company to work for. It has been well known that Verizon wireless management Directors and Associate Directors harass their employees and any complaint of harassment through established corporate channels is subdued by Verizon corporate and the corporate counsel which side only with the Management. If there is overwhelming evidence against the management, they will layoff the employee and offer a compensation package. Furthermore, the management does not like employee who question them and go against the status quo. Let me elaborate an actual instance in which a very talented and gifted individual known closely to me ( I know of several other employees who have faced similar situations) was harassed by Associate Director John Massey and Director Roy Hastings. This person, who I do not want to identify by name as I am writing this on my own has a Master's degree in Computer Technology from an Ivy-League like institution in the states and has been working for Verizon for more than 15 years came into this group. Keep in mind that I doubt if John Massey who acts like a minion of Roy Hastings, and Roy Hasting even have high school diplomas are left managing these talented individuals. This person was transferred to their group and John Massey, who does not even know anything about software development or architecture, let alone project management is heading the group. Whether it is because of professional jealousy that this person was in the same salary band and probably was earning higher than him or because this person was a minority, he decided to give this person a tough time so that this person will leave on their own. When this person stood up to it, John Massey framed this person on frivilous charges. This person underwent terrible emotional torture and harassment by John Massey. This person being very smart had started collecting all the evidence including IM, emails etc. well before this and approached an Employment attorney who then took it up with Verizon 's counsel. As I mentioned earlier, Verizon Wireless corporate and upper management are people without a spine. They, after a few months laid off this person as what they claimed was a corporate wide layoff with a severance package. This after this person lead and delivered successfully a corporate wide software product. I am writing this to warn potential talented applicants to be aware of the internal working at Verizon Wireless. Their credo, anti-harassment and corporate policies are a big eye-wash and you can expect to be treated like dirt. I will add things in more detail if people are interested but prefer to remain anoymous for obvious reasons.

Cc
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Di
      Nov 27, 2011

    I feel your pain brother. I am an ex verizon wireless employee who was let go after experiencing a lot of un-necessary BS. Everything you have to say in your post is dead on true. Any lawyer looking to make a name for himself, should seriously think about contacting one of us as there is a lot of potential law suits with verizon wireless. The management system within this company is aimed towards singling out individuals who excel at their job. And when I say excel, I mean they do so in a way where Verizon Wireless begins to feel threatened by their skills. Once these individuals are singled out. They experience are subject to mental warfare by their management team. I would wish this company to my enemy. I am currently writing a story about my life at Verizon Wireless. I have bookmarked your page and will definitely update you when I am finished. As I have been writing it, it is to the point where I almost feel less smart because of some of the things vzw managers asked me to do or did to me. If you are a lawyer and want a good case. Please leave a remark with this post on how I can contact you. I would leave me info here, but the same people I am talking about in this message do pose a threat to myself and my family as they would take serious measures to ensure their innocent. I live in the Pacific Northwest and I know a lot of ex vzw employees who experienced a lot of BS when working with this company...

    +3 Votes
  • Di
      Nov 27, 2011

    I do want to thank you for posting what you did. I encourage any ex verizon wireless employees who feel they were treated improperly to post your voice online and with your friends and family. Please dont be afraid to speak your mind as it isnt your fault you were treated improperly. Verizon Wireless doesnt do a good job at placing people in the management position. It is a shame that they have the best wireless network. But the cost to this is a lot of internal bleeding... Poisonous internal bleeding...

    +4 Votes
  • Ga
      Jan 09, 2012

    I was terminated June 1rst 2011 as a cell site Tech in the Peoria, IL market. We had a new Ops Mgr come into our market and right off the bat began his "witch hunt" to write someone up.This manager has cussed at employees, fabricated lies to justify his writing up of employees.The cussing out an employee was reported to HR...and nothing became of it.
    It was understood by us employees that the managers have to have someone written up every quarter. And given their track record before I came along this was true. I was written up for the first time in my 28 year career 3 times . Actually put on a PIP for a totally fabricated knit-picking list of petty infractions which were non-service effecting, ethical, human errors!
    I was terminate after 6 good years for a human error in a database (EMIS) that was maintained by us field guys. I was not on any prior write ups, just received the best STI bonus in my 6 years with the company, and at my quarterly review was told by my OPs Mgr that " he had no problems with me". I am 53 years old and will not and would not recommend this company to anyone looking to finish off their career. I was the oldest one there and now believe this was discrimination due to my age and cost saving effort by the company. I ALWAYS met my deadlines, was the most punctual tech there, and a dedicated team player. Shocked? Sort of. A friend of mine who worked for Honeywell in Texas has experienced similar experiences with them. The caliber of people Verizon puts into positions of authority is shocking.This current manager has ZERO people or leadership abilities and skills.
    I am not just a snotty nosed disgruntled ex employee, rather a mature 53 year old man who has had a very successful run in the telecom industry and was wrongfully terminated by a person whose qualifications to perform his duties as a manager with a Fortune 500 company are questionable. And to add insult to injury this OPs managers' goal is to become a District Manager !!!

    0 Votes
  • On
      Feb 20, 2012

    Have you found legal representation?

    0 Votes
  • Hm
      May 26, 2012

    I am going through the same thing right now. I was fired on May 1st of 2012 for supposedly cursing at a rep from employee accounts on my day off. I was wrongfully terminated and it seems like their is no hope for employees, especially when you work in an at will state. This isn't going to stop me though I am tired of Verizon Wireless and their threats. I guess because they are a big company they probably have some really big time lawyers that will fight and do what they have to do to screw the people over that are really the victims. Welll they met the right one this time. I don't care if I have to represent myself in this matter I am not going to stop fighting them until I know I am defeated. I was wrongfully terminated and because it does not fall under one of the guidelines of wrongful termination no one wants to help me. I was with this company for 6 1/2 years and was one of the top smb reps in the zone and constantly got recognition and awards. I was not a troubled employee and did my job to the best of my ability and exceeded expectations regularly. I did receive a letter the other day from unemployment stating that they did not find sufficient evidence that the employer should have layed me off. Hopefully, this will help my case and I plan to go to the DOL and file a complaint against them in this matter. I don't personally care at this point if I have to even challenge the law or start a petition in this matter. Someone has to stand up against them because there will be plenty more cases just like the ones we are telling about. I am sorry for the things that you all had to go through, I know all to well how they make you feel and how they still try to control you even though you are no longer employed with them. Verizon Wireless preaches throughout the whole training process how they are a diverse and ethical company, hahahahahaha this is a joke because there is nothing ethical or diverse about this company. There is to much prejudice in this company and it is impossible to get promoted even if you have good numbers and do as they ask you to do. From what I have seen they promote people that they either snitch, are cool with management, or mainly men. They are sexist and always use corporate policy to protect their management even when they are dead a** wrong. Good luck to you all and I will keep you in my prayers, but I will continue this fight.

    +2 Votes
  • Am
      Jun 05, 2012

    I was terminated on June, 4, 2012 for "Employee Code of Conduct" WHAT!?! I was terminated over the phone! ! When I asked what I had done exactly, my supervisor said, "That is all I can tell you. Okay, I'm terminating this call now." And he hung up on me!! I was not nor had EVER been on write up...not even so much as a verbal warning! In fact, my last 2 years reviews had me listed as EXCELLING" (VZW emps will know what this means ) and to quote this past year end review from my sup, "...(Name Withheld) not only excels at her job, she excels at everything she is asked to do. She is a model employee and will go far here at Verizon!" When I forst started at the Alpharetta campus, I was having problems with discrimination. You see, I was the ONLY white female hored in my class of 23, and there were NO white employees hored before or after me. In fact, it was so obvious, that one day after coming back from lunch, there were 2 security guards at the door. One was training, and he didn't ask to see my badge. The other guard said something to him about it and he said, "Come on! How many people that look like her have walked in and out of this building today!?" I thought it was humorous, as well as both security guards! The discrimination against me in my training class was so bad, however, that another trainer (who is African-American) noticed it and spoke up about how wrong it was to treat me that way. I had NEVER said anything about it because lets be honest, people who scream "discrimination" end up having more problems and it wasn't worth it to me. My forst month out of training and transition class I was presented the "DIRECTORS CLUB" AWARD for being one of the TOP 10 performing reps in our district. All of my supervisors had me take theor escalation calls because I was just that good at handling angry customers. Several letters were written to my AD from customers letting him know that they would have left Verizon and had all intentions of doing so, until I helped them. Then I got sick...very sick. And the problems began. You see, as employees at VZW, we are given 80 vacation hours a year (more after 5 years of service), 80 personal and 56 UIA (sick leave) and to use your personal or vacation days you have to schedule them in advance. Most of the time if I tried to schedule more than 3 days in a row I would get a message back stating, "There are not 8 hours of vacation allowed in your organization for (whatever date you were looking at). You can go on the waiting list, or pick another day." If you were to sick to work on any particular day you had to call a special number to see if there were any pers. Or vac. Days allowed that day. If there were, then you had to call your AD to ASK if you could use your vac or personal days. If there weren't any available, you still had to call your AD to see if you could use your UIA time (sick days). They didn't want you to use UIA, so they tried to get you to make it up on another day with flex time! If you couldn't, they would put you out on UIA. The kicker...even though u have 56 hours of UIA, if you use them YOU GET WRITTEN UP!!! Even worse, if you go to work at any time on your scheduled days, and you get sick or have a family emergency and have to leave, its automatic UIA, no matter if you have vacation or personal hours left and it was allowed for use that day!!! So when I got very sick, I was told I couldn't use my vacation or personal. I was told I had to apply for short term disability! Short term only pays you 40-60% of your pay! Not only that, it takes FOREVER to get Metlife to approve anything! I went 3 months without a paycheck! Even worse, I had a verizon employee phone account with 5 phones on it. I called several times to let them know what was going on, and was even told by Metlife at one point that it was Verizons fault that I haven't gotten paid yet, but they suspended my phones for non pay anyway and then charged me $15 per phone to reconnect them! They did this to me 3 times!!! I finally get released to come back to work and 3 weeks later I was terminated...with no answer to why!!! Verizon just settled a $40 million dollar lawsuit for doing this exact same things to other employees! It was settled this past October! Wow! So YES, I will be suing the snot out of Verizon!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      Jun 05, 2012

    Sorry for the spelling errors in my last post. I'm incredibly upset right now and typing fast on my cell. Lol! I'm usually more careful!

    +2 Votes
  • Bu
      Jul 12, 2012

    I am sad to confirm that Verizon Wireless's employee satisfaction is extremely low. I have worked for VZW for the last 8 years and manage one of their largest western states customer. In 15 year of wireless sales I have been a top performer with many awards and annual recognition both from the company and my customer. I am proud that my customer has acknowledged my integrity, honesty and deep knowledge of my products and services. I am seen as valuable business partner that keeps my customers’ needs at the top of my priorities. Over the last 8 years I was continuously told to sale my customers products and services that did not fit my customer’s needs. I would logically reply to these requests from leadership with numbers proving my customer was growing each year at an average of 12% year over year so the customer was purchasing. VZW had a number to meet in the market place to grow their connection numbers so if a customer was not purchasing M2M solutions at large numbers enterprise account managers were called weekly by a member of their leadership and reminded that without M2M sales they were not being viewed as a performer. VZW's main message to their account managers were clear "sale what we are telling you sale or you will not have your position for long". The stress level and tension within the corp sales office was so bad employees were going out on stress related disabilities by the numbers. The HR director in Northern California reported to the area president who was driving this message. There were numbers of HR complaints and escalations but when an employee would go to meet with her she would let the employee know she didn't believe them and that their complaints had no validity. When I finally decided to make some suggestions on way to improve the internal moral I asked to meet with her and I was able to personally experience the internal corruption. That's when I decided it was time to leave a job and customer I enjoyed a great deal. My performance and every annual review at VZW reflected nothing but positive remarks and exceptional performance from each manager that I had over 8 years. It was very easy for me to find a new job. I don't think Verizon Wireless in California has calculated the cost of losing an employee based on unethical business practice and abusive fear based working environment. How many people know why VZW lost me as an employee? A lot. The main contact of my National account contacted me personally and asked why I left and although I didn't go into detail they read between the lines. I am happy to say I am working for another enterprise organization that has a completely different view of their employees. The new position I took with this company was a large promotion for me and increase in income. My story ended well but there where so many wonderful people that were bullied out of their jobs and it caused a lot of pain and hardship for them and their families.
    VZW sent a new area president to Nor Cal 3 years ago. He came from the New York market and within one month was referred to as the “Tony Sapprano” of VZW. The company loved him and every employee in his area feared him. He created a fear based management style and insisted his managers follow his style. Many people left and those that stayed are beat up and miserable. Complaints about this man were sent to the HR director and she would inform him of the details. It would not take long before those employees were let go or left on disability due to stress and abuse in the work place. Verizon Wireless promoted him this last month.

    +1 Votes
  • Ps
      Aug 28, 2012

    The problem with VZW is that they have people in lower management, middle management, and upper management that are completely without common sense. They are all too busy brown-nosing eac hother, straight up to the top, the CEO, that you cannot tell where one ends and the other begins, like one giant necrotic creature, something right out of the video game Dead Space. They are all so busy trying to get the J.D. Power & Associates "award" for customer satisfaction, that they will, YES they will pull off a customer service rep right off the floor, because a person who has quite likely stolen the "real" customer's identification, and the con-artist is trying to commit FRAUD, gives the customer service rep a score of ZERO (0). They'll pull that rep right off the floor and ream them a new one, and shove policy, they cannot even find on their own database, right down the reps throat. For every objection that the "Supervisor" or "Manager" or "AD" has against the Rep, for not having received an excelling score, there is ample and irrefutable proof that the rep has not only treated the Con Artist well, but also refused to let him/her commit fraud. And even though the actual customers account states that it is flagged for FRAUD, and it clearly states to send the person to the VZW store with ID for assistance, BECAUSE that person gives the poor fella a zero, they are treated like the crap off the floor of what is the cesspool known as Verizon Wireless. All you out in the world out there... DO NOT BELIEVE that Verizon Wireless is #1 in Customer Satisfaction, because!!! IF YOUR ID is STOLEN, the person who stole it can keep your phone and do as they please, as long as they give the Reps a Passing Grade! What do you matter? HEY CEO! YOU GET A ZERO IDIOT!

    +1 Votes
  • Cr
      Feb 22, 2014

    The same thing happened to me in Southfield Michigan... That Company is Satanic.. I am currently fighting for justice now . I just decided too so I will keep you posted.. The same pattern with all of us.. Wish we could start a class action !

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 04, 2014

    ditto i was recently fired over te phone after over 3 years of employment in the corporate call center. the reasoning was "schdule adherence" when i had a medical WPA but ever sup/ad refused to follow it

    +1 Votes
  • Un
      Oct 01, 2014

    Everything they say is true. I have been employed by vzw for many years been through many managers; they get young managers in their 20's who do anything they are told when they get a good mature manager they harass them till they can't take it. I for the first time had to take stress leave and the thought of going back causes me to have a panic attack. I work with a group of great girls sad to say if they things don't get better they won't be around long. They make it hard to get vacation even when you have it. They try to intimidate you when you try to use it. They tell you Verizon wireless should come first if not maybe it time for you to find a new job. Wonder why I am on stress leave. If others weren't worried about losing their job they would be on stress leave too. Calif I won't say where because fear of being fired

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Dec 03, 2014
    Best Best Advice

    Glad to see that I am not alone! I too am an ex Verizon Wireless employee that was bullied. I stuck it out until they closed the call center. I don't want to go into the long details as it is too exhausting. I was with the company for 12 years. In the beginning we were treated well. This all started to go down hill under the direction of the Current CEO, Lowell McAdam and with the introduction of behavioral psychology into the coaching sessions. They use it as a tool to get rid of tenured employees that are paid at higher rates. To make room for 2 for the price if 1 or outsourcing. Sickening! That they have no regard for the impact it has on the mental health of the person they are targeting and bullying. They even go to the extreme of making things up and convincing you of their lies if you are excellent at your job. You could do everything right and the customer give you an accolade and still they would say something was wrong with the call. And the numerous warnings everyone was on. What a joke! I don't think I can name a coworker that wasn't on at least a written warning. Again, another tool to avoid the raise and bonus payouts. I was harassed, by multiple supervisors under the direction of a certain Associate Director on a daily basis for an estimated 12 months. The cancer that she is in the company still works there and relocated to Huntsville, AL as a Tech Supervisor when the office closed in May 2014. My only escape to keep my job at the time was to change my shift with next bid to another team all together! Having to sacrifice time with my family, even after I had already done this 12 years ago. I find myself still very bitter that I was subjected to this bullying and it is very challenging to overcome the anger. So much better off in my new position with another company. The closing was a blessing! I disconnected everything Verizon and will turn off my FiosTriple Play as soon as my contract is ended! The company is run like a prison and your cube is your cell! It is sad that you don't realize how horrible it really is until you are separated from it! Especially when you know the horror while you are going through it! Bookmarked this blog! Best regards to all of you!

    +5 Votes
  • Mi
      Jan 25, 2016

    I have had a very similar problem but am having trouble finding representation if any one knows any one good for the state of ga please share

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Dec 04, 2017

    @Mi2 I submitted my own lawsuit here in the state of Alabama against Verizon Wireless. If no one want to represent you, then do it pro se. I can assist as much as I can.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Jan 11, 2017

    This is so sad... I often wondered why they literally used scare tactics to make sure there was no union for the wireless employees! I was harassed from the time I was released out of transition. I even have several employees who has told me how they knew that they were harassing me. I was terminated and now they are appealing my unemployment. I was just thinking I could leave it alone or get a lawyer!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      Jul 27, 2017

    @Dericka Johnson Ms. Johnson, are you pursuing lawsuit options?

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 03, 2019

    @Dericka Johnson OUR CREDO DUCK YOU THE HANS V.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 03, 2019

    @leftfootin.ver.az.mofo The Hans guy don;t even speak American English go back take some ESL Hans V. MY MIDDLE FINGER IN YOUR FACE FOOL JI

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 03, 2019

    They offered me a severance package and I had time to back out on it after singed so then I asked them for my job back and declined the pay they still denial and claim I never contacted them I am going to consult with a lawyer .

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 03, 2019

    All yall that got screw over for taken the severance 2019 / 2018 due to Verizon wants to build the 5G net work we need to know our rights of Verizon took away our jobs and forces us weather we take it or else they would fire us and find us a low pay jobs and they were hustling us out of the business because we been there long time they don't want to pay for our retirement and also they find an easy money to forces us to leave the company and closed multiple stores and call center so that we have to quit it was a true gangster of how this verizon ceo HANS from europe handle verizon employee you might treated your people horrible but not me an as American we will fight for our rights and you better know for a fact this will have to be settle for our rights and freedom go home HANS go back to Europe .

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Jul 13, 2019

    Same happened here. I think middle management feels threatened

    0 Votes

Post your comment