The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Velocity Micro / Poor after sales service!

1 United States Review updated:

I purchased a computer from Velocity Micro on 2/7/2005. It arrived with the hard drive cage loose inside, and with the cables pulled out. I agreed to re-assemble the computer myself if they would extend the warranty to 3 years. Over the next year multiple components failed, including all 3 of the hard drives, video card, and fans.

The system started crashing with symptoms suggesting a hardware origin in October, 2006. Knowing that I would be away for 4 weeks in January, 2007, I contacted Cliff Lowel, the service manager, in November 2006. I agreed to pay for an upgrade of the mother board and CPU if he repaired the the warranty problems with system. He assured me that there would be no problem in having it back in my office before I returned. I shipped the computer to him on January 8, 2007, expecting it to be in my office when I returned on February 12. It was not there, and after 1

Pa
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Be
      13th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Velocity Micro - mine crashed too

  • Mi
      8th of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    I so wished I would have searched for complaints before I made a purchase. I received a product, a netbook, and it is simply not as advertised.

    I can see why Velocity Micro has so many complaints. I bought a netbook from them. They advertised it as 6 hours of battery life. Buyer beware! I strongly urge you not to purchase their netbook. VM advertises 4 cell 5 hour battery or a 6 hour 6 cell battery. turns out the extended battery life is about 3 hours. I’ve been writing to them for a month trying to resolve before posting and they said they are not responsible for the reviews. That’s funny because we all know that the company’s provide the specs to the media and websites.

    I’m out the $400 but at least I can help others. VM really missed the mark and will nver be a player in the netbook world. Go for an ASUS or ACER. There’s no comparison, they are the leaders and deliver what they promise.

    I agree that their after sales service is horrible

  • Ro
      20th of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    Too many people have had problems with them.

  • Li
      20th of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    Horrible service - I've learned to do better research and to stick with proven market leaders!

  • Em
      3rd of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes
    CineMagix Grand Theater - Received faulty product, paid to return ship, and charged 15% restocking fee?!?!
    Velocity Micro
    7510 Whitepine Road
    Richmond
    Virginia
    United States
    Phone: 800-303-7866
    velocitymicro.com

    Our story begins six (6) weeks ago when I spoke to their sales person on the phone because my attempts to purchase online failed. When speaking with the salesperson I shared all details of what I had (DirecTV), set top boxes, and plans for using their CineMagix Grand Theater Vista Media Center (VMC) as a replacement for my then "deceased" HP Digital Entertainment Center MCE.

    Upon receipt of my new CeneMagix Grand Theater, I promptly powered on the system after connecting all AV components. It was evident almost right away that something was wrong as the Media Center setup was returning an error, "No IR Receiver Found". A call to their support department was routed to voicemail with a message reassuring me of a return call shortly. After no return call I called back the following day, being placed on hold for nearly 30 minutes before speaking with a technical representative. Almost immediately I was informed that the Media Center was not compatible with DirecTV - even though this detail was disclosed at the time of purchase. After asking to speak with an escalation technician I was transferred to another representative who I can only describe as rude and impatient as I attempted to politely explain the situation to him. The suggested fix upon closing the call? I was told to purchase a IR blaster accessory through a local or online retailer in order to proceed with troubleshooting this issue. This proposed solution was only after arguing Velocity Micro's original point that their VMC was not even compatible with DirecTV!

    After another couple days to ponder my call with Velocity Micro and the two weeks that had now passed from order to delivery, I decided to return the unit and salvage what dignity I had left with my wife and children who had waited so patiently for the return of a Media Center to our household. This is where things went from bad to worse.

    Velocity Micro honored my return request after much deliberation. I was told I had to pay to ship the defective item back and would be reimbursed upon their receipt of the computer with all original parts, accessories and shipping materials. If only so this experience could be closer to over, I chose not to argue the shipping costs and shipped it out the next day.

    After at least another two (2) weeks waiting for a refund of my purchase I receive the following email message from Velocity Micro, apparently congratulating me on my order refund (sigh). Much to my surprise, after reviewing the refund notification, was that my refund amount was short 15% for what I would later learn was a RESTOCKING FEE imposed on my return credit. Unbelievable!

    >Congratulations! You have received this message as a confirmation of
    >payment to Velocity Micro, Inc. For questions about this receipt, contact
    >Customer Payments at 800-303-7866, ext 201, or e-mail payments@velocitymicro.com.
    >
    >========= GENERAL INFORMATION =========
    >
    >Merchant : Velocity Micro, Inc.
    >...
    >========= ORDER INFORMATION =========
    >Type : REFUND
    >...
    >
    >Velocity Micro is available to answer your questions. Call 800-303-7866,
    >option 4, M–F 7am–11pm, & Sat 10am-4pm, EST or e-mail sales@velocitymicro.com.

    To recap, there was no mention of a 15% restocking fee and had the salesman mentioned it, I might have asked the relevance as, with a working unit, I never would have intended to return it in the first place. The idea that my receipt of a non-functional piece of equipment and choose to return for reasonable cause by anyone's standards would result in a 15% restocking fee is absolutely ludicrous and warrants complete disclosure from Velocity Micro AT THE TIME OF PURCHASE that a 15% restocking fee is charged for any returns, regardless of reason. Now ask yourself, if Velocity Micro said such a thing to their customers on the phone during a sales transaction, what person in their right mind would proceed with the purchase??? No one! Velocity Micro did not disclose the RMA terms including 15% restocking fee to me on the phone and if they had, I most certainly would have cancelled my order after lecturing the individual on the other end of the phone on customer service and fair business practice. I have been the President and CEO of an IT service business for 13 years and counting and can say the growth and prosperity of my business is attributed almost entirely to one thing: customer word of mouth. Every person my staff engage with, on the job and off, is a potential client and regardless of whether the engagement generates an ounce of revenue, that person will remember my organization in a positive light by whatever means necessary. That is the customer service objective (period). Every company may follow certain guidelines or carefully detailed procedures and standards to ensure this end result but regardless of practice or technique, the result remains the same and once you've achieved the end goal the next most important challenge is repeating it ... over and over again.

    No business will EVER succeed by punishing honest paying costumers. I received a faulty product. Moreover, the product was ill equipped to provide what was needed for connecting to my set top boxes (no IR blasters). Had my return been processed with far greater care and sincerity by Velocity Micro, I would be telling folks to buy from them even though in the end I may not have purchased from them that day. Given the way I'm being treated, not only will I never purchase from Velocity Micro, but they have now been elevated to the ranks of "classic example" of how poor customer service doesn't pay. Fleecing customers of their money when they do not receive what they've purchased for reasons beyond their control is not only bad business practice, it's just plain bad business and dare I say, criminal.

    Shame on Velocity Micro for their conduct, not only in their handling of my particular case but countless others as well: most evident by the sheer number of search engine results when querying "velocity micro complaint".

    Curious what Velocity Micro's published return policy is? Well now that Velocity Micro has officially shared it with me *after* my RMA (not before), here it is direct from their web site. Buyer beware...

    >All systems purchased are subject to have a 15% restocking fee if returned
    >for a refund. Purchasers agreed to this restocking fee at the time of
    >purchase and will not be waived for any reason. All returned merchandise
    >must be accompanied by its original packaging, accessories and manuals.
    >You must contact Velocity Micro customer support for an RMA# prior to
    >return of merchandise. Defective merchandise will be replaced with a like
    >item, upon return of the defective merchandise.
    >
    >Velocity Micro is not responsible for any damages caused by either internal
    >or external equipment, shorted connections or components not installed by
    >or purchased from Velocity Micro.
    >
    >Velocity Micro is not responsible for damages to any components or loss of
    >any data inadvertently caused by products, under normal or abnormal
    >use, including those purchased from Velocity Micro.
    >
    >Velocity Micro will not replace, repair or refund any purchase if an item's
    >serial number does not match what was originally sold.
    >
    >There are absolutely no refunds for custom work (i.e custom paint, special
    >order chassis, custom cutouts).
    >
    >Velocity Micro will be not be responsible for shipping to Velocity Micro for
    >systems or parts returned for refund.
    >
    >Velocity Micro will be not be responsible for shipping to Velocity Micro for
    >warranty repair after 90 days if an RMA is necessary.
    >
    >Velocity Micro will only be responsible for shipping warranty repaired
    >systems back to the customer.

  • Di
      9th of Nov, 2018
    0 Votes

    ProMagix HD80A - ThreadRipper 2 - A smoking junk that even Velocity Micro doesn't want to see back in their lab.

    The order of 2 computers (ProMagix HD80A - ThreadRipper 2) was placed on 8/27/2018 and was delivered on 09/20/2018 by UPS.

    They were smoking out of the box, releasing toxic chemicals.

    I contacted tech support, waited for 30minutes and they hung up on me.

    I then complained with their sales before they could determine why even hard drives were missing when machines were turned on.

    The delivered systems were defective out of the box and the merchant was notified on 09/21/2018. Hazardous gases were also being released by the computer fan.

    An RMA request was sent to the merchant on 09/26/2018 explaining in details all the issues and hazards represented by their systems.

    The merchant has opted to go silent after delivering dangerous products. They haven't responded to my RMA request as of today. I do have a written note from their sales team that they do ship defective products (knowingly!) to buyers.

    The re-packaged products have been blocking my doorway since 09/26/2018 since the merchant refuses to take back its hazardous systems.

Post your comment