SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Value max / Unauthorized charges to my checking account

1 United States Review updated:

A company named Value Max, which is supposedly some kind of savings service for all kinds of different services, has taken $19.95 out of my checking account. Which also caused me $35.00 in insufficient funds fees and a bank service charge of $10.00 - a total of $64.95. Has anybody heard of this company? I want my money back immediately! How do I go about getting my money back?

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ti
      Aug 14, 2008

    The phone number for ValueMax is 1-888-205-2257. I had the same problem. Apparently I had used a website called Intelius for a people search and they started charging my account 19.95 a month just like you. The will stop collecting with no problem if you give them a call. You'll have to give them your bank card number because I'm sure like me, you don't have an account number for them.

    +1 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 15, 2008

    After your 7-day FREE trial period, it's just $19.95 per month,
    automatically charged/debited to the card on file with us. Remember, you can call us toll-free at 1-888-205-2257 within the first 7 days to cancel, and you will not be charged/debited.

    Terms of service are a great thing!

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Sep 14, 2008

    I CONTACTED MY BANK AND REPORTED UNAUTHORIZED CHARGES..THEY ARE REVERSING THE CHARGE

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Sep 20, 2008

    I just had the exact same problem. Things like this are a scam. Damn you, ValueMax!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
      Oct 03, 2008
    Value Max - Fradulently billed
    Value Max
    1-888-205-2257
    Illinois
    United States

    This company has charged my credit card for services never rendered. They have now charged my card twice. I have tried to contact them and have been unsuccessful in resolving this issue. I have filed a dispute with my bank.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Oct 06, 2008

    Wow! I did the people search thing 2, how do they get away with this? I'm still trying to figure out how I applied at least that's what the man told me on the phone, he had all my information. stuff like this is really scary. the only good thing is they refund your money back with no problem but that's if you catch them in time.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
      Oct 10, 2008

    They put charges on my credit card and I didn't even know what the company was. I used web site Intelius also and then about a week later a charge for valuemax appeared as a charge on my credit card. I think both companies must be scam artists. Intelius for giving my credit card information and Valuemax for charging me for something I did not order. I had a stop put on my credit card and now I will be very leery of ordering anything online.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Oct 16, 2008

    Another one bites the dust ... I used Intellius, didn't get much information, but still paid the $21.45 I agreed to. A week later I received a letter throught USPS "Welcome to ValueMax". I tossed it thinking it was a scam to get me to their site to buy something. Just now I checked my AmEx statement to find a $19.95 fee for a ValueMax subscription AND $19.95 for an Intellius subscription. Given that the Intellius report I wanted and agreed to pay for was really worthless, containing only bits of information, some of which were 10 years old, I think they are both scams too! The good thing about AmEx, they'll reverse the charges and they'll contact these idiots to stop the recurring subscription fees.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Oct 27, 2008

    This is what I got from them and I also did a one time check yesterday with Intelius, I sent a note to my online bank account customer service. Letting them know I did not such charge. I hope that the Better Business Bureau does somethng about this. Intelius should not be doing this. Here is a copy of what they sent me. 1st Notice than the one they sent me after I called and them and canceled through the phone automated service. I hope I covered all my bases. SEE BELOW:

    FIRST NOTICE:
    Welcome! You are receiving this email because you accepted a special offer to save money through the ValueMaxSM savings service. With your ValueMax membership you now have a terrific opportunity to save on the things you use every day -- in every area of your life. This robust collection of benefits covers everything from Dining & Travel, to Health, to Home & Auto and more. Just take a moment to browse the ValueMax website and see how you can start at saving from major retailers today!

    Claim your gift!
    To claim your gift, simply log on to www.valuemax123.com and click on the "Claim Your Free Gift" link.

    Start saving right now -- simply go to the URL below!
    www.valuemax123.com

    For your reference, your membership ID# is: ?????????

    Here are just some of the benefits and savings that await you:

    l Save 20% on dining out at participating popular restaurants such as Olive Garden(R)1 and Outback Steakhouse(R) with gift cards purchased through ValueMax.

    l Save up to 30% on car rentals -- through specially negotiated ValueMax discounts with Alamo(R), Budget(R) National Car Rental(R) Hertz(R), Avis(R) and Carey Worldwide Chauffeured Services. Simply call the toll-free number provided on our website for the latest rates.

    l Save 20% at Linens 'n Things, Bed, Bath & Beyond(R) and other retailers with gift cards purchased through ValueMax.
    Be sure to log into your account at www.valuemax123.com to print out your membership card for immediate access to all your benefits. It's easy to find -- just look for the My Account section tab in the upper right-hand corner of the ValueMax website.
    All of these benefits -- and many others -- are fully explained on the ValueMax website.

    So take advantage of your ValueMax benefits during your 7-day trial membership period. We invite you to use our services for the full 7-day trial period. If within 7 days you don't feel that our services and benefits are everything we say they are, simply call us toll-free at 888-205-2257 to cancel your membership. ValueMax will automatically charge the membership fee to your card at the end of your 7-day trial period and, unless you call to cancel, at the then-current fee each new membership month.

    Important: Please save this email for future reference, and bookmark www.valuemax123.com for instant access to your benefits.

    Sincerely,

    SECOND NOTICE:

    This email confirms that your membership in ValueMax has been cancelled per your membership terms. Your cancellation confirmation number is ????????????. You do not need to do anything else to cancel your membership.

    We thank you for your interest in ValueMax, and we hope your membership experience was a positive one.

    If you have any comments or suggestions that might help us better serve our members, please feel free to email us at [protected]@valuemax123.com.

    Sincerely,
    ValueMax
    Member Savings

    CAN YOU BELIVE THESE PEOPLE?
    TICKED OFF... Writing from California.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
      Oct 28, 2008

    I have no Idea what I'm being charged 19.99 for .I want an explanation, My money returned or I goto my attorney now!!

    0 Votes
  • Ty
      Oct 28, 2008

    I have no Idea what I'm being charged 19.99 for .I want an explanation, My money returned or I goto my attorney now

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Oct 29, 2008

    I had 5 of these charges appear on my statement all for 29.95 and all on the same day. Its funny that when you call, the first option on the recording is an offer to cancel your subscription. Its like they are expecting you. I refused to go through the automated system. I wanted to not only cancel, but get a refund. I pressed '0' and got someone. They used textbook customer service language from the chapter, “How to handle the angry consumer”, i.e., “what may I do for you today, ma’am”. I called 4 of the 5 DIFFERENT "800"and "888" phone numbers listed on my statement ; Value Max, Deal Max and one that, ironically so, was an credit/identity theft watcher service. By the time I got to the 4th one, I was speaking to the lady I spoke to at the first one !!! She said that there were 7 accounts for me. I guess I cancelled the card too fast for the other two charges. I only found out because my bank sent an email about activity on my account that was "unusual". (Yea Bank Of America) I don’t know how these people are allowed to do this. But if people only cancel the subscription, and not demand the refund, they are making a lot of 29.95’s for no service. At least some of you go some type of paperwork in the mail alerting you. My charges appeared on the 10/16. I have yet to get anything warning me of the impending doom. You’d think one of the 7 would have sent something during the “7-day free period”.

    0 Votes
  • Rh
      Nov 01, 2008

    valumax and other companys like them get your debt/cc# when you enter a site to place and order or do a web search such as the examples from others then if you click on any banner your debit/cc# and personal info is transfered to that new site with out you autherizing it then on your statment you will start to see fraudulent charges for many different companys you never gave your info to.there need to be a stop but to this .these companys are stealling from you, me and the banks and getting away with it.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Nov 13, 2008

    Rec'd "Irregular Activity" notice from my bank. Called immediately to learn about numerous small charges attempted. Confirmed that all charges were not authorized (acct was idle for over 6 months). Bank closed account and fraud dept is investigating these companies: ValueMax, YourSavingsClub, 24Protect and Todays Escapes+. One week later, I rec'd 4 letters in the mail, each a form letter indicating "Our attempt to email membership materials to email address provided was unsuccessful." One form letter was rec'd from each of the following: ValueMax, YourSavingsClub, 24Protect and Todays Escapes+. All letters originated from POBox 5152, Des Plaines, IL 60017-5152. Although bank resolved the situation - I still called each number on each letter and via the automated service learned that each of the 4 memberships was cancelled (on the same day I contacted my bank). Congratulations Bank of America, for actually doing a good service for your customers.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Nov 13, 2008

    And more helpful information:
    -when searching "ValueMax" saving service on the internet
    the company website does not come up first, a complaint board does!

    -the "ValueMax" website is: www.valuemax-program.com
    one look at the website should set off alarm bells.

    -"ValueMax" is apparently owned/operated by Adaptive Marketing, LLC, located in Norwalk, CT
    Adaptive Marketing, LLC's website is: http://www.vertrue.com/adaptivemarketing.asp

    0 Votes
  • An
      Nov 20, 2008

    I too used Intelius in October...and just had this Valuemax charge of $19.95 show up on my account...I also had to have Intelius refund me there $19.95 fee they'd charged me without notice as well. These people are scammers and crooks, you should make sure to cancel all accounts with them if you've started one.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Nov 24, 2008

    today is nov.24.2008 i was just charged 19.95 that was unauthorized after a price of $ 1.99 on an internet search Value Max / Intelius- Intelius people search . This is an unauthorized fee . Told Value Max (who you can internet search )we were calling the state attorney general and they told us how to get it refunded. this is internet mis -leading pricing and perhaps if enough of people report this as internet fraud( interstate commerce ) this might be a federal offense that we could report to the United States Attorney General.
    If thousands of people are using this service and only a few are noticing the charge think of the money they are making. Remeber the words STATE ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE ! They don't seem to like that !
    Please report as necessary this is probably some cheap call center paying people only if they rip others off !

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Nov 27, 2008

    I used Intellius to find an old friend early last week. Well, the scammers at valuemax123.com got my CC info and have charged my account $19.95 twice in the past two days. I canceled my "account' at valuemax123.com and contacted my back to get the charges reversed. I can't believe how people operate like this. They are stealing money and it needs to be stopped!

    0 Votes
  • Am
      Dec 01, 2008

    I too had this issue. I checked my credit card activity and saw a charge for $19.95. I called them and they asking me for an account number or the credit card I used to sign up. I told I didn't sign up for this, so one I didn't have a membership number and two there was NO WAY I was giving out my credit card information. He said right away he would cancel the membership and refund the money and that it might take 3 to 3 days for this transaction. I'm furious because I didn't sign up for this. I can't understand how they can get away with this???
    It's crazy! Oh well another 10 minutes of my time lost due to scammers!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Dec 02, 2008

    I am glad that I check my account daily, you have to do that when you don't have a lot of money to begin with.I noticed the charge and for once the family and I didn"t really do any purchases over week-end to that amount and said company
    Got new card # and filled form to reverse charge, also called company with number furnished by "TIM" and thanks for info.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Dec 02, 2008

    What a scam!! I used Web Detective only 4.95! like a duh (to locate a relative regarding a family death) and have no one to blame but myself which ticks me off to no end. I should no better that it would have been so cheap and easy. But seriously, I have had charges of 39.95, 38.83 and 19.95 show up on my statement. I called all the companies including valuemax and all my money refunded. Too bad they won't cover my overdraft fees, but my bank is looking into it since I had no idea this would happen to me. Valuemax should be reported by all to the attorney general!!! Buyer beware! Also try to get your bank to close out your credit/debit card and give you a new one with new numbers.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Dec 02, 2008

    Oh holy! I just called valuemax to cancel (which they did & refunded my 19.95) and complained about my overdraft fee. This guy who answered the phone had the guts to ask me to fax him my bank statement! That's a little too much info for a complete stranger. What's next-my underwear size? Please everyone get a hold of the attorney general- this is FRAUD!

    0 Votes
  • Pc
      Dec 09, 2008

    I was alerted to this by an e-mail I got from Intelius yesterday about my "membership." I was looking up a phone number in early November, but never approved any "membership."

    I looked at my bank statement online and located a $19.95 charge yesterday from "Intelius." I called, told them it was an unapproved charge and I did not sign up for any "membership." I was assured my membership would be cancelled and the November charge refunded. I looked at my online statement today and there was an additional $19.95 charge YESTERDAY! The name also appears to have changed from "Intelius" to "ValueMax."

    I telephoned my bank and cancelled my card in order that no additional unapproved charges will be made. I also called the 888 number next to the charge. First, I spoke with a rep who advised my membership was cancelled and the December charge of $19.95 would be refunded. I told her I wanted all payments refunded and she said she couldn't do that. I asked to speak with a supervisor - and told the "supervisor" that I expected a full refund of all charges - $39.90 - or I would be contacting the Connecticut Department of Banking and the Connecticut Attorney General's Office. I would assured the full amount would be refunded.

    It appears from further research that ValueMax is a part of a company called Adaptive Marketing, LLC. The website for Adaptive Marketing states it is headquartered in Norwalk, CT. I could find nothing on the Connecticut Secretary of State's website, for a business of this name. Also, there's no physical office address on their website.

    I've e-mailed the company via the website again, reiterating that if I do not receive a full refund - the CT Department of Banking and the CT Attorney General would be contacted.

    0 Votes
  • Pc
      Dec 09, 2008

    Additional research uncovered that Adaptive Marketing, LLC is a subsidiary company of Vertrue Incorporated located at 20 Glover Street, Norwalk, CT. President of the company is Gary Johnson...

    I think a letter writing campaign should start!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Dec 12, 2008

    I would like to know what the charge is for in the amount of $19.95. virginia weimer

    0 Votes
  • St
      Dec 18, 2008

    I just noticed they were stealing from my PayPal debit card. I submitted a ticket with them on every charge and through the fraud report that reads:

    Last September I used a company called Intellus to get an address of an old friend. They gave my PayPal debit card info to a company called Valuemax. I did not sign up for any Valuemax and I did not notice until just now in December they have been leeching 19.95 a month from my account. In my opinion it’s a pyramid scheme and it has been noted on several sites such as https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/value-max-c12625.html#comments I contacted them this month after noticing the charges and they said the account would be closed and my money refunded but I have not seen it yet. They claim I signed up with them and I had 5 days to call them on the phone and cancel the subscription. I never heard of Valuemax until they decided to steal from me.

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Jan 05, 2009

    I used the web based company Intellis, as well. I have the $19.95 charge from Value Max. I called today to cancel and get my money refunded. I also canceled my bank card so there can be no other charges as a safe guard to any further problems. I asked how I had signed up in the first place. It was one little thing hiding on the sign up page for Intellis. Hopefully we can all recover our losses from this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Up
      Jan 05, 2009

    WOW !!! I used Intelius to look up a phone number, and I too was scammed by this ValueMax crap !! I just noticed on my bank statement yesterday that I was charged $19.95. I called the number that was on my statement and that is who was on the other end. I googled the name and was brought to this board. I about s*&t when I saw soooo many people had been scammed also. What is up with this crap ?? I don't know who to blame, Intelius or Valuemax !! They both suck in my opinion!! Then, upon further investigation, I was also charged in November and didn't realize it. When I called, they cancelled my membership, but would not refund my money from the November charge. I got some of the same comments from the "supervisor" that some of the people on here did. This is disgusting !! People are getting cheated and this needs to stop !! Tell everyone that you know NEVER to use Intelius and check their bank statements carefully !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 16, 2009
    Value Max - Fraudulent Charge
    United States

    A charge of $19.95 appeared on my credit card. It had a 1-888 number associated with it so I called and they don't sound like they are an up-and-up company. They said they would credit the account -- in the meantime I filed a dispute form with my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Feb 01, 2009

    I just cancelled. It was easy enough, but what a scam. I will NEVER use Intellius again. They're the ones who are going to lose out for allowing this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Feb 10, 2009

    I just noticed that I was being charged $19.95 a month for the last FIVE MONTHS!!! I used intellus in September (it's now February) using a reverse phone number search that didn't even have good information for me, and I'd had to pay $0.99 then, and ever since it's been on our bank statement! $19.95!!! That's $99.75 total!!! I can't believe I didn't notice it before!!! I just thought it was something my husband was buying online or something, and that's what he thought about me! I called and canceled my account there, they automatically refund you the most recent month's billing. Then, I called back and asked for a full refund and I literally just had to tell them how much I was being charged a month, and how many months. They didn't ask for anything to verify this, NOTHING, they just said the money would be back in my account in the next two business days. They must be a HUGE scam if they automatically believe how ever much money you say they took. (wondering if I should've told them a few more months... hehehe)
    I am seriously ticked. The number someone posted at the top is correct, and it helped me out a lot. 1-888-205-2257. Those scammers. Someone's got to stop this!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Feb 13, 2009

    This is one huge scam! I beleive that their is ground for a class action law suit on Intellus and ValueMax.

    +1 Votes
  • Si
      Feb 22, 2009
    Value Max - unauthorized credit card charges
    New Castle
    Colorado
    United States

    i have seen a couple of charges from this co. and finally emailed them to ask who they were and why they were charging my credit card. They did respond by saying that i had sighed up with them and that I received an email with all their info!NOT, A HUGH LIE! I did do some stuff with Intelius and now I'am getting monthly charges of 19.95 from them just like value max.It looks like I'am going to have spend alot of my time to get rid of both of these headaches!

    0 Votes
  • 3s
      Feb 23, 2009

    I also got the $19.95 charge beginning in November. I called and they immediately agreed to take it off my credit card BUT that is just for this month (February) and they told me they couldn't go back. If Intellus is a website that looks up people it is the one I went to to find out the criminal record of a potential renter and they did not give me the complete information. I think smoke was coming out of my ears, I was (am) so angry about this.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
      Feb 25, 2009

    I have just had the same experience. I am a profesional person in business who used Intellius - but never again.

    Intellius must be aware of this and yet they continue to allow this to occur. Intellius appeared to be a good company - legitimate business service and experienced management - why would they allow this scam to affect their reputation??? and more importantly their revenue - damn idoiots

    I wrote to the Massachusetts Attorney General - this is very deceptive and should not be allowed. Intellius should be charged as an accomplice - file under another case of corporate greed

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 25, 2009

    A few months ago I used a website called Intelius for a people search. Since then, they have been withdrawing $19.95 twice a month, and a company called Valuemax has also been withdrawing $19.95 once to twice a month. I never authorized an Intelius nor a Valuemax subscription. I called my bank and reported these unauthorized charges. My bank credited the money to my account, while they did an investigation. I received a letter from my bank, stating :
    "The transactions you claim not to have authorized are consistent with activity and spending patterns on the account. Thus, it appears that you either made or authorized these transactions"
    I never authorized the above-mentioned transactions. The bank reversed the credit they had issued to my account. My new statement, reflects a withdrawl of $19.95 from Intelius. I am at my wits end.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
      Mar 04, 2009

    I had the same charge of $19.95 from VALUEMAX - phone number 888-205-2257 on my card. It had gone unnoticed until today when I was gathering tax information. I called the number and asked who they were and why I had the charges. Apparently while I was searching on PeopleSearch I click on something that asked me to say yes or no to their offer...anyway, after requesting they cancel and refund the money (I had to ask to speak to a manager) they did cancel and have promised to refund all my money. Good luck to the rest of you who've been hit with this same scam.

    0 Votes
  • Gs
      Mar 11, 2009

    I am filing a complain with the State of California Attorney General. This company should be put out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Mar 11, 2009

    In February 2009 I used an on line service, not ValueMax, to obtain an address and phone number. The info stated the charge would be $ 1.95. I agreed to the charge and later was billed via credit card to ValueMax for $ 19.95. It is obvious from reading the history of this company and consumer complaints, this is a full scam with different company names and addresses. What I do not understand is why the Feds don't shut these scammers down since they are using the internet and phone service to do their illegal business. And this is banking fraud as well as crossing state lines. Why is law enforcement taking so long?

    0 Votes
  • An
      Mar 12, 2009

    I just found out the value max has been charging $19.95 to my checking account for something I never agreed or odered. I too ordered a people search report and within that same month this charge came up on my checking account. Not only did value max want my money but they got greedy and have another name AP9 PRVICAY MATTERS and began taking another $19.95 along with the original VALU MAX account, my account was ripped off since NOVEMBER of 2008 when I made my purchase for people search report. I had my bank close the account and reported it as fraud, and it is! Regardless, of wether they give you your money back they stole from you!!! I have contacted the local law enforcement and the Better Business Bearue and am going to talk to a lawyer about a class action suit against this company, not only for stealing from me but now I don't know where else my information and how much of it is out there! Don't let them get you, it's your hard earned money.
    San Antonio, TX

    0 Votes

Post your comment