SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Unified Tribe / Fraud, fraud, fraud

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

A textbook cult if there ever was one. Charismatic all knowing, all powerful leader? Check. The leader and the leader's doctrine cannot be questioned? check. Forces members into submission? Double check. Uses confession to learn your deepest darkest fears and then uses those fears to manipulate members? check. Leader claims to have 'magic powers'? Check. Take all your money for the 'good of the group'? Check. Uses that money for the good of the leader AND ONLY the leader? Double check. Talk of suicide pacts? Check.

It doesn't get any more textbook than this, unfortunately. They claim to be working towards the greater good and spiritual enlightenment, but it's basically a front to get their ugly ### leader his ###ed side-head ponytail laid as much as humanly possible while taking money from whatever wide-eyed followers he can get his hands on. Are you a man in the tribe? You're there to attract girls for Magic to take from you. Are you a woman in the tribe? You're there to please the leader sexually. Regardless, you'll be giving them your money.

Maybe you think the tribe is your step up to fame and fortune? Maybe you think you can use them to launch your own career? I've got news for you. Magic's been chasing fame and fortune since the 70's, and hasn't had a hit in over 30 years, it's not going to happen for him, and it's not going to happen for you while you're there. Get away while you can, and if you're strong and you work at it you can piece your life back together.

Be
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Co
      Apr 21, 2009

    Sounds like the Unified Tribe is pulling another one of there cons. Whoever wrote the rebuttal I can promise and am 99.9 percent sure this is someone within the Tribe that is trying to act like some outsider that is sticking up for them. These people are absolutely sick and I am ready for the plug to get pulled on them.

    As someone who was a part of this for a long time I can specifically say that I am not coming from a place of an angry groupie or sour grapes. The fact that they think they have groupies is a joke, they are a joke.

    I come from a place of just wanting to warn people of them, they have destroyed many people and peoples families lives. Not just a few groupies. These people especially the leader brainwashes people to believe that they are the next best thing musically and spiritually. In truth they have been using people for their money since (Magic Mendez) the leader has been 18 years old. Over 30 years of destruction to many. I would have loved to think that the con that these people pulled on wanting to make a positive difference and make good music was true. I made the mistake in believing them and was with them for a long time and I ended up finding that my life had almost been destroyed. Fortunately I had the courage to get out and am very very happy with my life now. Going through this experience has made me so grateful for having my own freedom and life. Just like any cult they very carefully rip you away from your family without you really noticing it. Magic is textbook cultleader just like David Coresh and Jim Jones, just look up in google what the makings of a Cult is and it describes this group perfectly. They are master illusion artists and are very good at messing with peoples emotions and weaknesses to lure them into their con. They take every dime you make and basically turn you into a servant while breaking you down emotionally, mentally and spiritually to make you into another Tribe robot. If you are a woman and Magic likes what he sees you will end up being convinced to sleep with him and the women felt like this was rape. If you are a man and you bring in a women you better be willing to share or lose your women. It is disgusting.

    I am coming from my heart not anger. I really want to see these people stopped because they are flat out dangerous. They have talked about suicide pacts and all of us that had the strength to leave have been subject to long meetings about who is really loyal and who would kill themselves for the group.

    Trust me if you are in any way involved with this group your life will be destroyed get out and wake up while you can. If anyone is investing in this group get out ASAP. This is a losing investment and you will just be taken for a painful money losing ride.

    Please hear us we are telling you the truth.

    Concerned

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Apr 25, 2009

    Hey Bernar, guess what? I am a female in the tribe family and have never had sexual relations with Magic. There are also other female members of the tribe family who have not either so you don't know what the hell you are talking about. I hope you can sleep at night telling such lies about a group of people who are loving, kind, giving and supportive. Oh by the way . . . they've never taken a penny from us and your claim of suicide pacts is insane!
    What rock did you climb up from under? Wow!! Sad!
    Magic Mendez has been successful in his music career. Check it out people. You will find that this Benar is just envious!!

    -1 Votes
  • Be
      Apr 25, 2009

    Dear Concerned, The Tribe family have never ripped anybody from their families or loved ones. They have only helped bring families together! I guarantee you that there are far more people who have known the tribe that would disagree with those very few of you who are spreading terrible rumors. How happy can you really be if you have so much hate in your heart to write such slanderous crap. What was it that you wanted, that you didn't get? Magic? Shame on you!

    -1 Votes
  • Co
      Apr 25, 2009

    This is not hate that we have in our hearts, this is not revenge nor SLANDER. Please understand that this is what our experiences where in the Tribe, it can't be slander if it is truth for all of us. If he has truly changed then that is a good thing. Magic for many years did horrible things to people under the quise of being loving and kind and we just want to ensure that it stops one way or another. The suicide pacts were real as well and once upon a time all of the girls in the house had to sleep with Magic whether we were in a relationship with him or not and it felt like rape to all of the girls. You need to check yourself because we have a whole lot more experience with this man than you do. Most of us were in the group for almost a decade and not to long ago. Magic changes his schemes to fit the current moment so I am hoping that his new turned leaf is for real and not just another one of his magic tricks. We are not doing this out of revenge we are doing this as a warning and I am sad to see that you just wholeheartedly buy into his crap without considering our warnings or asking questions. THIS IS ALL REAL, WAKE UP... These are not lies and they are not rumers, we are not envious at all. There are up to 200 of us that have been negatively effected by this group one way or another, it is not just a few of us. I suppose you will just have to find out for yourself.

    BTW by trying to target us and say things like shame on you or you are just envious is just another one of the schemes. I suppose you all have had some little meetings and you were told basically how to handle us and put us down. That is a shame... shame on you... I will be sad to see that in 5 years you will wanting to find us to talk about what you have been through and healing that you will need from your experience in this sham.

    +1 Votes
  • Xu
      Apr 26, 2009

    Magic Mendez from Unified Tribe is a disgusting, arrogant thief. Watch out! He will use cunning, smooth talk to manipulate you into handing over your money and anything else he can get out of you. He’s been a con-artist for many years, and is extremely good at it.

    Using philosophy and spirituality, he creates an illusion of a deity, (unlike a god). He is so disillusioned that he believes his own lies!

    He preys on the young and naive, with the potential talent in music and entertainment field and will profess to be an agent like Brian Epstein of the Beatles.

    His wife sounds like a trained robot to say all the right things not only in his defense but also to help reel you into the deception.

    When he is caught in his lie, he will beg for forgiveness basing it on his poor up bringing in a dysfunctional family, which will create sympathy.

    He no longer has my compassion; he makes me sick to my stomach ugh!

    Sincerely,
    Victim of his ugly crime

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Apr 27, 2009

    Just think about this...why are there more people that have left than have stayed.

    +1 Votes
  • Ge
      Apr 27, 2009

    I was looking over www.unifiedtribe.net noticing the roles of the members.

    Example;
    Magic - (Lead & Background Vocals, Keyboards, Guitar, Bass, Drums)

    Harmony - (Lead & Background Vocals, ect…

    Thought I could post a better description for the members

    MAGIC (DAVID MICHAEL MENDEZ) is the leader of the cult. He makes all the rules and bosses everyone around. He does it for the money, sex, and power. He gives the promises of good fortune in exchange for money and sex. He has surrounded himself with women who are slaves to him. Magic is also extremely delusional, this makes him very dangerous.

    STARR (SHARI SWEAT MENDEZ) is the legal wife of Magic. Although, Magic controls several other woman. Starr makes advances on females with Magic, all for his sexual appetite. Starr uses her smooth talk to manipulate people into handing over your money and anything else she can get out of you.

    LINDA (HOFFMAN) DUFFY is who Starr uses to get back at Magic for him having sexual relations with countless other women. Linda continues to try and get Starr all to herself. But Starr is attached the money she gains though her husband’s fraud.

    MERRILY GARRETT is the maid in the Unified Tribe household and is lead to believe Unified Tribe is a spiritual retreat.

    HARMONY (AMELIA BLACKWELL) is a narcissistic slave to Magic. She is lead to believe that Magic is godlike and lets him control every aspect of her life

    FALCON (DARRELL BLACKWELL) plays both sides. He should be a man and stand up to the truth.

    KAL-EL is an odd one, but he’s harmless

    JESS Ask her to play her sax, guaranteed she can’t play, lol what a joke

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      Apr 27, 2009

    check out Unified Tribe on /link removed/

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Apr 28, 2009

    I completely agree with all of the info regarding Magic, Starr, Linda, Merrily, and Harmony. Too bad these women are now too old for Magic to enjoy. He still uses them for sex and to get younger girls to join the tribe for his pleasure, but, let's face it. Magic is too old to be appealing and has gotten heavy plus really has no music skills. The women who have left have been totally grossed out by Magic and the forced sex with the other women in the tribe. Porn movies of the threesomes and foursomes are the norm. Anyone who is in the tribe is lying when they say they haven't been made to have sex with him; age is not a deterrant. They are thieves, shoplifters, scammers, and investors have lost thousands before pulling out. They have never worked and none of them have any skills, musical or otherwise.
    Wake up, people! THEY ARE SNAKES WAITING TO STRIKE!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 28, 2009

    I’m so glad to see people getting the word out about the truth of Unified Tribe. They’re a sickening, wicked group of people. Magic is the controlling evil cult leader who rules over Unified Tribe.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 28, 2009

    Magic is the most disgusting piece of a man that I’ve ever meet. The thought of Magic is truly nauseating.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 28, 2009

    Unified Tribe is group of scammers hiding behind a fake front of a music group. In reality they’re just a cult. They’ll steal your money and your well being if you let them

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 28, 2009

    Stay away from Uniifed Tribe!
    The most dangerous part about Magic (leader of Unified Tribe) is that he preys on young woman for his sexual appetite. If you are a woman stay way from Magic. Or if you’re a man, keep the women in your live far away from Magic. Magic has several wives that the same time. At one point I knew him to have 7 wives with 3 other woman on the side It’s sickening the way he treats these woman. They’re little slaves who go out at work all day to pay all his bills while he sits at home all day. Magic does NOTHING all day. He says he’s writing music for the band so the group can one day be famous. These girls believe him!
    If the woman doesn’t do what Magic wants, he resorts to rape. MAGIC IS A DISGUSTING PIG!
    Stay away from Uniifed Tribe!

    0 Votes
  • Un
      Jun 18, 2009

    Bravo...for all those who got out. I am gald to see and hear that the truth is coming out.

    Some one who they could not pull in...but has know them for a very long time.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Jun 18, 2009

    Thank you. Your help and perspective is very much appreciated. Please help us in bringing out the truth. these people as you know have been getting away with their evil for too long and it is time for them to take responsibility or at least be stopped. Please, please, please help.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 07, 2009

    I feel sorry for all of you hateful people who have nothing better to do. The public only see's you [censored]ers. As you all give eachother props for the ugly lies you post about the Tribe we can only feel sorry for you and pray that you find other means of entertaining yourselves.
    Get a life!!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jul 20, 2009

    You truly have no idea what you are talking about. Unless you have been in our shoes and gone through what we have been through, what you say is irrelevant. These are not LIES. We a not HATERS! We are just getting the truth out about what happened to us because the tribe has suppressed it for so long. You should be ashamed of yourself. If you had any idea of even a small piece of what especially Magic has done in his life you would feel horrible for lashing out at everyone he has hurt. We do have wonderful lives and we also have a passion to heal ourselves from what we have been through and putting the truth out is our way of warning people and healing ourselves. Magic is a brilliant con artist and is very very good at playing on heart strings and getting people to believe in his web of lies. Sounds like you have already fallen for it. You will see one day, just wait...

    0 Votes
  • Ly
      Oct 23, 2009

    I knew members of the tribe for years. The negatives are all true. I am glad to see many have escaped the pit. Some of those who escaped are indeed wonderful people who I hope are doing well. It would be nice to be friends with them without the controlling grip of Magic and the all knowing tribe around. I hope this torture ends soon.

    0 Votes

Post your comment