SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ulta Cosmeticsulta being investigated by govt for discrimination, lawsuit in works

Review updated:

Ulta cosmetics in currently under investigation by several govt agencies for discrimination against an associate. Allegation includes workplace violence, pregnany discrimination, retaliation and harrassment by management and an employee. Allegation say Management in the Raleigh and Cary locations have failed to prevent and protect the employee. HR manager Dan petrousek even terminated teh employee. Now there are legal things brewing.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Raleigh, NC How can the investors of the company be notified that poor management is going to cost the company profits and that damage control needs to be done? Several news stations are developing an investigation about the company's treatmenet toward the employee. This is going to affect the companies national image once all the information comes out. How can the right people be contacted to handle the management who allegedly facilitated these incdents concerning the employee? Investors need to know if they are making an informed decision to invest knowing that the company may be slotted for a ton of bad publicity.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ve
      Dec 07, 2009

    Ulta does suck, it's atrocious.
    I have several complaints about them as far as discrimination of employees go.
    Hopefully the former employee wins!

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      May 29, 2010

    I think Ulta is the most horrible place to work.. i have been a loyal employee for 10 years, I could run my store blind folded, but never good enough to be a gm or assit. mgr.. hmmmmm, they constantly bring people in who doesnt know what the hell they are doing!!! I was from the store in montgomerville, nothwhales.. pa... they discrimented against me cause of how long i have been there, they wanted me out!!! never done anything wrong, and to think if i was going to do something wrong, would i really do it in front of other managers?????????????? seriously, all i did was help a customer out with a coupon.. thats all!!! and got fired for it.!!! after 10 years... hmmmmm doesent make any sense!!! its all about who likes u... and the gm they brought in didnt like me cause i wouldnt sleep with him.. like he did to hald the staf[censored] but of course my work against his!!! and no one will talk!!! Since i have been gone, my store has gone down hill, the morael is gone... and its getting worse!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Fs
      Aug 20, 2010

    I was unjustly terminated from Ulta in Indiana. I have spoken with the DM as well as Mr. Petrousek and they have done nothing. I am so frustrated and I want to know what is the next step in finding justice! I don't understand why I am not being taken seriously. If anyone knows what else I can do please let me know! Thanks, FS

    +3 Votes
  • De
      Aug 21, 2010

    Good luck on trying to get someone to listen to you, especially in HR...they are all "friends"

    +3 Votes
  • Be
      Jan 09, 2011

    It's a vicious circle with this company. They are now so afraid of their employees, due to prior litigation, that the employees can and have banded together to force out GM's. The GM also has no say especially when the DM is on an unprofessional friendly level with associates. New HR trying to prove their worth by jumping on the few shady associates' bandwagon, because if its an employee against the GM it must be true. At ULTA GM's are not allowed to claim retaliation even though it exists. ULTA definitely has poor upper management. I hope for the company that the new CEO can bring on positive new changes. The concept of the store is fantastic, but without taking a long look at the DM's in place, certain markets will never make or exceed their potential.

    +5 Votes
  • Ni
      Mar 08, 2011

    Niagara Lasalle corp in midlothian texas .The worst place to work in the state of texas very bad managment . Manager is very racial he has all blacks and hispanics with so much fear . that they are scare to file a complain because they will get fire .maybe because all managment knows all about this . very bad plce to work for.

    +3 Votes
  • Ul
      Jul 09, 2011
    Best Best Advice

    I am a current employee for Ulta and I will be filing a complaint with the EEOC for Discrimination and Retaliation for being a Woman, Hispanic, a Mother and being over looked for promotion as I do have my B.A. degree from a California State University. Does anyone have the information on Ulta's HR department or email? I am not afraid to get fired, I just want justice and fair treatment for the employees, specifically the mother who work for Ulta.

    +6 Votes
  • Tt
      Mar 20, 2013

    WORST possible place to work...i was given the worst schedule (even as a manager) my GM could only work her "special" hours due to her child-care issues. I was stuck closing (sometimes with only one other person) 4-5x/week! Usually, I was given no cashiers to help me during an 8 hour shift and frequently got no lunch (but had to sign that I was "waiving my lunch period" due to the needs of the business...CRAP my GM and DM are the worst of the worst...soon I will be moving on...beware to those who think that Ulta is a decent place to work!

    +4 Votes
  • Tt
      Mar 20, 2013

    AGREE!Q

    +2 Votes
  • St
      Sep 10, 2013

    I worked at the Ulta store in Monroeville PA and in my year and a half there I experience so many bad things about the company. I agree that everyone from the district manager all the way up the chain are friends, and I also truly believe that in my experience as a manager that they set you up for failure and its all a game and they only want to keep who they want to keep. When they get bad reviews on the survey we would all make suggestions on how to make things better for customers but they didn't care, they wanted you to continue to do things the way they wanted you to, They have no regard towards the customers, all they care about is that the money is getting into the register. They treated their employees horribly from not giving them raises at all at review time because the manager "was stressed out and in a bad mood when she sent wrote the reviews and sent them to the district manager" to many different forms of discrimination. An African American employee even called the hotline to complain that she was being harassed by one of the managers and nothing was done about it. another employee was on the verge of being fired after she had to call off for a few days because she suffered a miscarriage, although this employee had a doctors excuse, she was told that it didn't matter, that the absences would still count against her. Another manager was fired after filing a sexual harassment claim about the store manager at the time and a few weeks later she was fired for "poor work performance" In my personal experience that job stressed me out to the max and I was starting to have issues with high blood pressure and I swear the two managers that were above me were doing everything to make me stressed out on purpose in order to get me to screw up to the point that they could fire me because they wanted me out. I took employment with another company as a vendor that happened to work inside ulta stores and when speaking with a former manager I was told that I could work as a vendor as long as it was 6 months after leaving whether from termination or quitting, yet when I went to work there I was told that I wasn't ever allowed to work in the store as a vendor and it doesn't matter whether you get fired or quit, and I wasn't even allowed to shop in any ulta store. This company is so corrupt and I think that more people need to speak with lawyers, labor relations, etc in order to be heard. I was hurt by everything that happened to employees within my store, but it hurts me more to see that it's happening nationwide to so many people.

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Jun 14, 2017

    @stitchlover04 This is all true. I was terminated for no reason I believe their is a huge class action lawsuit against this company. I witnessed such horrible management during my time there. I have looked into legal action after reading this there is just way too many people experiencing the same things. This company should not be allowed to get away with this.

    +3 Votes
  • La
      Jul 30, 2019

    @Deborah Cucko Any further info about this?

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Sep 19, 2013

    I agree I was let go today i feel like i was set up and can't get a hr rep to call me back at all my gm is a snake and she thinks its the last she has heard from me but i am going to expose them for who they are

    +5 Votes
  • Be
      Nov 04, 2013

    I completely agree with everyone, I started at ulta and thought I liked it. I then noticed the favoritism in the store. Soon after I started work 80 lbs of metal brackets fell off the top shelf in the back room and on to my head! The company then acted fake. Once workers comp called me I told them everything that happened. My manager then called me after and told me i shouldn't have told them the things I did but it was my word against there's! Are you kidding me?! 2 weeks later, I still hadn't done anything with the case and they let me go! I am thinking about suing them!

    +4 Votes
  • Ea
      Apr 05, 2014

    I am east indian and feel discrimanated against whomever the manager is on staff at the greenville, sc and mooresville, nc locations as a customer. they are short with me. they do not want ot answer my questions and always trying to push me out the door as quickly as possilbe. I've since began to shop directly at the Bare Minerals store which is 30 minutes away further and buying from amazon.com, targtet and walmart.

    +2 Votes
  • Pr
      May 02, 2014

    THE DISTRICT MANAGER MICHELLE BRISTOW FROM ORLANDO IS THE WORST POSSIBLE PERSON IN THIS COMPANY...SHE MISTREAT EVERYONE, SHE DISCRIMINATE AND IS RUDE WITH CUSTOMERS AND EMPLOYEES IN FRONT OF OTHERS AND INSIDE THE STORE.!!!

    -3 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 17, 2014

    PLEASE!!! DOES ANYONE KNOW OF AN EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK FOR ULTA EMPLOYEES?? Please contact me at my email address: [protected]@yahoo.com
    Our store is having some issues with our DM, and seems as though there is no where to turn! Thank you!!

    +2 Votes
  • Na
      Apr 20, 2017

    @Macksnani In case you received it, could you please forward it to me as well to [protected]@gmail.com? Thank you, Irina

    0 Votes
  • So
      Dec 01, 2014

    I wasn't even offered a job application, most likely because I am middle eastern and something about my looks. The manager hardly even looked me in the eye as she "talked" to me. It was honestly pathetic. All the women on register were fat white blonde women with pounds of makeup caked on. Guess it's like their own little high school clique long after their high school days have supposedly past. And these women complain about sexism.

    +2 Votes
  • It
      Dec 16, 2014

    This is an entirely true statement! I was hired at ULTA a little over 2 months ago for a Skin Therapist position. Management told me I would be working at a team oriented salon where I would be taught "the ulta way", work solely as an Esthetician, and be given a full 35-40 hour work week. They also insisted that I would be taking the spot and hours of their other 2 year Skin Therapist who they told me was: lazy, messy, rude and didn't make the 'numbers'.. They said they would "reduce her hours and PUSH HER OUT so she could find greener pastures", whatever that may imply. (that should have been my first red flag) I made friends and quickly showed what an asset I was helping out other employees even outside of my job description.
    A week into my new job the harassment began. I was constantly yelled at and interrogated as to why my client numbers didn't reflect my working weekly hours.. (i still hadn't learned to clock in properly let alone establish a clientelle), then they started getting angry with me because I didn't know much about products I was using, (now 2 months later I have finally been minimally taught online about product knowledge, but not application). I was then reduced from 35 hours a week to 28, then 2 weeks ago down to 14 and they still constantly berate me in front of other employees and clients about how I can't get clients, even though I don't even have time to pass out my card between all the: Laundry, reception, cleaning, costumer questions, and shelf stocking they force me to do within my now 3 hour shifts.. (which was never apart of my job outline)
    They call me over store intercom and take me back into the office where both managers violently take turns hovering and screaming at me. (no cameras in the managers office) I've been called a dull child, immature, stupid, irresponsible, lazy, and am constantly reminded how "I will never become anything in life'. My husband who has been working and managing in the Salon industry for 20 years knows this is Harassment and Discrimination because many of my other co workers do the same things as me but never get reprimanded.
    Let me tell you how out of hand this is... Last week, I was dress coded because "my hair wasn't up and my nails were too long" meanwhile all my other co workers have fake talon nails, neon green and and bright red hair always down. I was recently written up for "eating in my service room" when all I had was a bottled water on the shelf (because I'm the only employee in the store with no locker). And am constantly held responsible for other employees and patrons messes, as soon as I walk in monday morning opening, although I don't even work all weekend.. (Thank you for cutting my hours in the busiest season of the year, really appreciate that)
    I have no doubt the company is Racist because they constantly tell me and other managers to follow around and confront racial minorities, even if they weren't doing anything suspicious. To the point that they made me and two other store managers stand shoulder to shoulder front of the entry double doors while a family was checking out at the clerk... "just in case they ran".. cause "they grabbed more perfume than they looked like they could afford"... Product retention they say...
    The salon manager also forces me to book only her clients and skip over all my other employee friends. If I'm caught giving people appts who shouldn't have them, I am written up.
    Everyday after telling me how worthless I am and insisting no less than a dozen times, "that I don't belong here, and might be happier somewhere else.." they literally take me in front of the clerk cameras and check every single one of my pockets, because "Im not allowed to carry a purse".. just everyone else.. Jacket, pants, shirt, everything... a daily pat down if you will, while my other employees come and go unstopped at their leisure. A few weeks ago while my husband and I were Christmas shopping there on my free time and my Store and Salon managers made it their duty to follow us around the store eyeballing everything we picked up and even stopped us before the scanners, even after checkout!! Why would I steal anything from my own workplace?? Discrimination is not something to be taken lightly, and I have tried to contact ULTAs Human Resources Dept as well as the District Manager but no one will give me a phone number or even let me talk to anyone remotely important. All the managers are in bed with one another.. If I don't walk out and quit this week i might even file a civil suit.. (Trust me, I have enough documentation to get these managers convicted of Hate Crime..
    My advice to you is, never get a job here.. To them your are expendable, just another number on the page. Not a human being worth the light of day, let alone half of the respect you afford them.. It is common place to see girls at work crying in the back because of some horrible slander or gossip management has started, or not even being able to make ends meet or buy their children christmas presents because their hours were cut back as punishment.. I don't know if its because I am of Asian decent, or if its because I'm new starting within my career, but this IS NOT the place to work. Its is corrupt from the top down, and nothing will ever be resolved because they will make your life a living hell and push you out before you ever get fired.. ask the 40 girls who quit this year alone.. Unless you enjoy walking on eggshells everyday and being treated like trash.. Trust me, I'm there right now..

    +2 Votes
  • Fd
      Dec 27, 2014

    I am so happy I found this site I have been a ulta employee for over 8 years now I am a stylist and hit all my numbers I am there biggest earner actually they wouldn't make their numbers without me. well about 3 months ago we got a new salon manager our old salon manager was fired for doing absolutely nothing wrong because our general manager wanted to bring her hair stylist from her salon that she used to work with, so now we have a new salon manager like I said I have been working there for over 8 years and never had a problem never had a complaint now all the sudden I'm being written up loss prevention is sending me home early telling me to write a letter stating what I did wrong now mind you he's telling me what to write needless to say I didn't do it, so now I am looking for other employees who feel they have been wrongfully terminated I am at store 101 Plymouth Meeting where the regional manager was just forced to resign because he was caught sleeping with another store manager during company hours. the whole district I am in is shady and I'm fed up with it. so I'm about to lose my job for eight years becausemy new salon manager is jealous of me. so all you disgruntled ex employees send me a message and let's see what we can do.

    +3 Votes
  • Ho
      Jan 29, 2015

    this is just sad. Very sad. All lies. When you steal from a store you will be fired. Get over it. Accept it. Move on.

    -1 Votes
  • Fd
      Jan 29, 2015

    You are the one one who needs to get over it. how's you're numbers over there now lol
    carma's a fickle one she does get back. And another thing stop harassing my clientel they are coming back to ulta.

    -1 Votes
  • Fd
      Jan 30, 2015

    Will NOT

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Apr 23, 2015

    Wow after reading all of these reviews I can see that ulta practices the same negative unprofessional aggressive abusive tactics in every state at all stores Ive worked at ulta for less than 60 days and I have already had a manager throw a full blown temper tantrum yelling cursing screaming and hollering because I was still doing a clients hair after closing hrs, then a few wks later I was accused of stealing by my salon manager because Ibrought some products in to use on a client and as soon as i brought them to her and asked to have them green dotted she immediately questioned where they came form and called the lost prevention guy and I was suspended although there is nothing showing anything was stolen proven the products belong to me. This company is 100% horrible but I believe in karma and what goes around comes around Angelic Carter and Jen Ford at the Solon store in ohio are pure evil and snakes you will get what you dish out in return nothing good comes to those that seek to mistreat others!!!

    +2 Votes
  • Pr
      May 04, 2015

    OMG! Love that this site is here although I highly doubt it will do much good seeing as so many people complain with no results. I was an employee of Ulta for about 6 years. I loved it in the beginning. I enjoyed going to work and loved helping people with their beauty cares needs. This company started going downhill very fast in the way things were run and they way the employees were treated. Favoritism is so obvious with this company its sickening. You can def tell who the mgr likes and who she doesn't like. Its no secret as she treats the ones shes adores with right in your face sweetness and adoration where as she scowls at you and avoids conversation and is incredibly fake with you and unprofessional to say the least. I was told after having my child and not being able to afford childcare that I was able to work one day a month to keep my position and be able to stay in the system with the company until my availability changed. There would be times that an entire month or even two would go by without a single shift. I would of course call to make sure everything was okay and see what was up only to be told there were no hours to be given at the time. A Holiday came and went with of course no shift so I then called again and was told the same thing . Come to find out that I was taken out of the system and was not made aware of it. I found out from a former mgr who thought I already knew about it. I was told I received a call when I in fact did not nor any voice mail.I then called obviously upset only to be told after being an valuable employee for many years that would need to reapply to get back into the system. I was then called less than 5 mins later by the mgrs personal cell and told that she had some time to think it over and she didn't feel that I was good fit for that store any longer but that I could apply at other locations. Once you are not worked for a period of time the DM (Michelle Bristow) takes you out of the system. That's what I was told happened. Lol So basically, I wasn't given a shift so I could get booted out. HOW NICE! I This specific mgr has been nothing but rude and arrogant towards me and others that have worked under her. Especially women with a family and kids. Has even made comments to other co workers that kids are just not for her and she could never see herself with them. Def discrimination towards employees with children. I was also sexually harassed by a mgr whom I thought was friend considering the duration of time I worked with this individual and nothing was done about it. Go figure. Was made to feel very uncomfortable in the work place on a daily basis but stayed because I had been there so long and I was hoping things would change or they would bring in a new mgr. That didn't happen. During a conversation I had once with my mgr I was told that this job would not ever pay my bills and I needed to understand that. Pretty much saying I'm not worthy to ever get a raise or move up within the company so get used to low hours and low pay. Right uh huh. Very Unprofessional!!! My shifts would constantly get cut within the hour I was supposed to punch in for work after having already gotten ready and gotten my daughter ready to take to my parents. I'm not sure about other Ulta's and how they are run but this one was def not pleasant. I was told I was too slow for Ulta's new way of doing things on more than one occasion. My hours were drastically cut even before having my child. Sometimes 10 a week sometimes less. But they would hire new young teens who had no clue what they were doing and you were of course expected to not only continue doing your job and tasks but to also aid and assist the new hires only to be told in a sit down meeting that you have never trained anyone or shown initiative so why should you be qualified for a raise and or more hours. TOTAL BS!!! How can a mgr who steps in after you have been with a company for so long even have any idea what you have done in the past before she came into the picture. Was never even given a fair chance. I am very disappointed at how things turned out for me with the company and how I was treated. I gave them a lot of years and dedication and even came into work during holiday rush to help out in my jeans when asked.
    Worst mgr Ive ever had by far and worst DM (Michelle Bristow) Ive ever dealt with. Barely ever spoke to me. Permanent scowl across her face. Acted like she hated everyone! Not a pleasant individual to say the least and I get along with almost everyone. I hope something is done about this and changes are made.

    0 Votes
  • S9
      Sep 04, 2015

    I completely agree with the comments being said about how ulta is ran. I've been working at my store for almost 2 years now. Started out as the skin therapist, absolutely loved it. Hated the hours but it was the fact that I was doing something I loved. Then a year later I switched over to working in Benefit. Again love what I do. But since I've started at ulta we have went through 3 store managers and are now on our fourth. The thing is though that she doesn't know anything about ulta. She never even once stepped foot into an ulta until she got the GM position. And she only accepted the job because they offered her an over the top salary. (She likes to rub it in the employees faces.) She does show favoritism and does heavily show her dislike of others. She has taken my hours given to me by benefit and spread them out with the other ulta employees. She also has me do electrical jobs, clean the salon (when there are 4 stylists who can clean themselves). And then there's the way she speaks to the employees. I was told by a former manager that the gm told her that she is above what we are and she does not care about our "petty" requests or complaints and that she feels no need to ever sit down and talk with us about any troubles or issues we are having with our job. I'm a pentecostal woman. I believe that in order to receive respect you must earn it. For this woman to be at my store for only 2 months I can say my respect will not be given any time soon. I can't even speak to our district manager about this because the dm and gm have been best friends since their college days and it would not be confidential. Any advice on what to do would be greatly appreciated. A cheek can only be turned so many times and I believe I am almost out of cheeks.

    +1 Votes
  • Un
      Oct 07, 2015

    I've been at Ulta for about 6 months. My first few months were a blast! I was around the thing I love the most MAKEUP!! As time went on & our store received a new GM things went down hill. She discriminated against Hispanic customers, would leave customers she was "helping" mid sentence, would tell me not to help certain customers because I needed to be on register but would spend 30 minutes to an hour on the one she was working with. I was scared for my job the constant picking on me I wasn't doing this right, my numbers needed to come up. I never once got a, "congratulations your name was in the survey" or " your doing really good your data capture is at 98%" instead I got "I'm at 100% & that's where you need to be." One day she was completely confrontational & was in my face telling her I was giving her push back. When I was just trying to explain to her how I ask customers about signing up for Loyalty Cards. It wasn't what she wanted to hear so she got mad & said I needed to do better if I wanted the Lead Cashier position. I am the fastest person on register I stay in my little box! I am not to move! But I'm also told to interact with customers more?! Well how am I supposed to do that when they never let me leave the register?!!! Since having an incident where I was there @ 4am helping with truck while sick with Vertigo and leaving early. Two of the Managers now have a problem with me! The manager on duty that morning was stressed we ALL were!! All I said was I was sick & wanted to go home. I was told I would have to wait for the DM who was supposedly coming in @ 8, but didn't show up till 930!!! As she was coming in I had just hung up with the HR Hotline, and left the store. Now I definitely feel the retaliation!!! I was only scheduled 1 day this week. The MOD the morning I left early won't speak to me & when she dose you can hear the attitude in her voice. Since that Manager is BFF's with the PERSONNEL MANAGER who essentially writes the schedule I'm being shut out of a place where I work my ### off!! This company & there minions disgust me! I realized I didn't get this job because they saw something in me, or could see I had a passion for the makeup industry I was hired because I applied! They always need help because they can't keep people. Girls quit after 2 weeks of being there! And they get "blamed" for quiting! How about take a look at what YOU'RE doing wrong ULTA!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      Oct 25, 2015

    Ulta is by far the worst place I have ever worked for. I have been an arch expert for 3 years with no reviews (which should be done yearly) and absolutely no raises. I found out yesterday that my new partner is make close to $20 an hour while I've showed my loyalty and growth for 3 years and am making $12 an hour. I'm disgusted and feel so betrayed and angry that I am treated so invaluable to them. Horrible place to work!!!

    +2 Votes
  • La
      Dec 12, 2015

    I was hired as seasonal at store #603 in Florence Alabama. I just quit today because the emotional harassment by one of the managers and an employee was to much. I have never met anyone so rude and mean until I met these two ladies. The coworker Maureen yelled at me and basically shoved me out of the way in front of customers because I did something wrong after only being on the job two days (they did not provide accurate training like they should have) then on my over night shift on Black Friday she treated me like a five year old and yelled eh eh eh because I accidentally stepped on an area she just mopped at the same time a customer did too and thought that she was speaking to them. Angie the manager is so rude, I caught the stomach super bug that's been going around and so my mom called in for me because I was throwing up and couldn't talk on the phone and she refused to accept that as an excuse and was really rude to her for no reason, the entire time I worked there I felt like I was out of place like in high school with all those cliques and it was the worst expirence of my life :(

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      Dec 14, 2015

    Store #95 in Lakewood Colorado is the worst!!! The GM Tara has more highs and lows than a girl in puberty. She sits on her fat butt in the office every chance she gets pretending to do 'paperwork' when actually she is on Facebook and dating websites. She leaves early to go to the gym (which clearly isn't doing much for her) and comes and goes as she pleases. She snaps on the staff daily and is extremely unprofessional. You will go NOWHERE working for this company!!!

    +1 Votes
  • La
      Jan 01, 2016

    I agree with everything being said...I started at ultra in May of 2014..Right off the bat they new I was a good employee...getting upwards to 60 hrs a week..and a lead position. Within 2mths my hours were dropped to 4hrs a week...just unloading truck basically..I moved to another location based on promises from that gym of advancement and as of December 18..yep..one week before Christmas...all the ppl who claim to love me...who have been there encouraging me..the gym who made idle promises...well they are saying I quit...but I most certainly did NOT...they just took me off the schedule and refused to send it to me...as of yesterday..I'm looking for employment elsewhere...but t I am sad bc of really loved my job. Hated the snakes...yes they are everywhere. Of course my word against theirs..and no one will talk.

    +1 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 12, 2016

    I was offered a permanent pt position, given two weeks to put in my two week notice with my other job, I was scheduled after those two weeks. I should've known things were sketchy when I had a manager ask me what MAC I worked for previously then her next question was, why are all MAC girls b###hes?! Since when is it ok to speak to your employees in that manner? I was harassed by management and mistreated, I just brushed it off cause I really needed this job since I just left my other job. After the holidays I was noticing my hours being cut little by little till one day I was completely removed from the schedule, pretty much like I never existed I asked two managers who played dumb and said to wait for the store manager to come back the following week, when she finally came back I was told I was being let go cause I was seasonal. This woman had every excuse in the book of why I didn't make the cut, yet the other pt permanent that was hired on with me was still there, still on the schedule. Horrible company to work for, so unprofessional and not to mention they pretty much put all returns back on the shelf, does not have the most sanitary procedures either.
    Now I'm jobless, stressed out how I'm going to make rent. Horrible horrible experience!

    +2 Votes
  • Tm
      Jan 12, 2016

    You don't have to be offered an application . You are free to fill one out online as that is the policy. They do not offer applications . Online is the only way. As far as I've seen, they are into diversity and I have not seen nor witnessed any discrimination . Their biggest problem is promoting or hiring inept and too young managers who have zero emotional intelligence and if they keep that crap up they will find themselves in a serious legal quagmire with a class action suit.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Jan 21, 2016

    I agree, I was just recently fired from ULTA myself. I'm not a bitter past employee that's just saying something to make myself feel better, I'm just being completely honest. They didn't put me on the next schedule because I closed by myself for the first time ever, and the manager that closed with me sat around, gave me a long list of things to do which she was completely aware that I wasn't going to be able to complete before close. Plus I was the only cashier so I kept getting distracted by customers, and she also continiously pulled me away from my duties to do other things. Ever since I started that one manager had it out for me, and the GM was right along with her. I know my work ethic, and my personality so I was great employee but they CONSTANTLY harassed me, nothing I did was ever right. It's just a big clique of mean girls. The only good manager was the black one, who they also treat like crap and have her do EVERYTHING while they sit around and gossip or have "meetings." So instead of promoting her they brought in a new manager, this company disgusts me. I hope they get someone new in corporate so they can better the company, and give respect to their employees.

    +2 Votes
  • Th
      May 04, 2016

    Interestingly enough I just found this website today! I do know of the rude, overwhelmed, illegal things this company also has been up to in Irvine California. I was very excited to get hired, I was treated crummy the first week of hire by the GM (as my salon manager went on vacation when I started my first week). I needed help clocking in and the uptight GM says, "that's not my job to show u how to clock in!" I was told my salon manager should have shown me how to do all that b4 I started my new job. Well, crazy thing the salon manager was cool. I have to conclude that every single manager is stressed beyond what is deemed a healthy work environment. President Ronald Regan used to discuss a Trickle Down Theory many moons ago, my point is: there must be a really uncaring power hungry purely money driven force behind this company. The disturbing treatment has to be coming from the top and Trickling down. Our store is always getting horrible reviews of the way they are being treated. I would have to advise that the upper echelon of this company really get a clue of how horribly true these above complaints are which is very disturbing that in the USA these politics are occurring. I believe that people are going to reflect how they are treated and sure we are responsible for how we choose to react. I see this generation of entitlement along with a major amount of tossing verbiage around that is absurd. These complaints; however, are sadly all true. I have experienced it all too. I do feel horrible writing this, but we the people should be treated with respect, equality, and a positive working environment. I surly hope you all go out into the workforce learning we have been employees here to learn something valuable. Integrity is in ULTA's verbiage "Do What's Right", what they mean is Do What's Right for their pocket books. I can say their is not black and white with this company. There are many grey areas. But, one has to be in the elite group to get away with certain things. I suppose learn to go out be positive and attract positive. My late friend, CEO, and owner of a fabulous hair care company always taught the C.A.S.H slogan. Care for your clients, workers, etc. Attitude: it's important to always exhibit an excellent attitude. Service: always provide everyone surrounding you the best service no matter what have people around you be blown away by this character trait. Health: In the beauty industry there are so many people that will sell a product just to make money. Goal is to genuinely care about the health of your clients because what we put on to the skin will seep into the blood stream, filter through the liver and can cause dire consequences for our clients future as well as our own. Therefore; take from these inexperienced business people and run. Gain the knowledge a business such as this will not flourish it shall end in ruins. I love their training in so many ways and I see it could've been a great success. But, seeing posts here of things I too have experienced breaks my heart. Remember the love of money is the root of all evil. These upper management are sure creating a discourse in a wonderful possibility. My request is ULTA please pull ur head out of the darkness and start shining light so it trickles down to the customers creating a happy atmosphere. In the short run it may seem as if it's too expensive, but long term people will ALWAYS REMEMBER HOW U MADE THEM FEEL. Apparently this company is not so brilliant in the study of 'ontology'. Have a blessed life people and I am truly saddened to see many have had the similar experiences.

    0 Votes
  • La
      May 16, 2016

    Definitely a horrible place to work at was called names by managements, harassed in which reports were filed but nothing done, money was being played with. just a continuous list. Ulta also disriminated pn several of my clients. I was fired because of a write a year prior. i feel if i was suppose to be terminated because of the write that i should get the money i made since the write up until my termination.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jul 01, 2016

    Going to file a claim of discrimination today. I will not go to a workplace where others are being treated favorably or getting fair hours over myself. I will not tolerate this in today's times and when I fought with prayers for equality for people and get treated this way? No...with courage and faith I will move forward on this and send out another message. Anyone who is berating or insulting those who are complaining as if we are all imbeciles or inept...I have always been 100% in customer service and taught customer service to others in a structured classroom. And have made millions for companies based on my customer services skills. I'm a veteran. I'm the only BA who smiles and greets customers and smiles when they come to the register when all the other young girls...show stern, arrogant looks...never having anything polite to say...never ingratiating..but this behavior is allowed. Management is an issue here. I will stand on the grounds of discrimination...and file this complaint. Others do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Jul 21, 2016

    Just wanted to bash this son of a B DM from district 1506 Jameson penaloza, by far the worst effin district manager for such a great company. No professionalism whatsoever, and you'll only be acknowledged if you come from "bath and body works" otherwise you'll be treated like a piece of trash, worthless and unfair, better yet treated like a poor ###. There is no growing with this company at all, company ethics are great but if you're working under some ### like him, be prepared to be treated like a piece of ###. He threatens people that he doesn't favor, and gives them threats about being fired...wow ~nice one. You can report any unethical behavior but he'll just turn away and let it be, all and any policies broken because he doesn't follow through like he should . He has his own clique of favorite GMs within the district that he will literally lick their ### for, but if you aren't in his favorites list you'll be treated with disrespect and pretty much like a unworthy [censored]ociate. Funny how far he got so fast...one lucky mofo I tell ya... Unprofessional whatsoever, posts disgusting topless photos of himself on social media, how professional is that????? You'll get what you deserve one day, and hopefully you won't last much longer in this position because you sure ain't no DM material. Never mind working as a DM but chilling at his GM stores his "clique" and basically hanging out all day doing non work related things... I hope someone reports his actions and discriminatory behavior, you sure will get what you deserve :) to my fellow haters and mistreated persons out there, do us all a favor and REPORT him ASAP !

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Sep 04, 2016

    I was let go from Ulta because, and I quote "I'm slow" (lie) "I am not leading my team" (I do not have a task team, I have a task duo, Me and my lead), and "the DM checked the backroom camera that morning, and the backroom was a mess" (I had just went through 20 boxes to get product for the planograms I had to set that morning). Due to truck not being completed ( and the current ad set not being completed because I do not have a task team. My task team should consist of 5-10 people. Currently, I have 2 including myself. I cannot lead a team that I do not have. I also cannot complete my tasks on time without a task team or support from the management team. I'm only one person and I cannot do everything. They just throw people on my tasks, that cannot do the job. I also was not trained correctly and discovered on many occasions that I was doing things wrong based on what I was originally taught. I eventually started looking up and researching processes to do them correctly as in re-training myself. This resulted in differences in the instructions on documents versus what my district manager wanted which were two different things. I was not given the proper resources to execute my job efficiently, nor was my task team properly staffed which resulted in my termination. The GM and CoMgr do not do their job. They come and go when they want to. My old store manager used her office day to get her hair done all day. They can't even make the schedule. My DM does not like me, and never have. They hire people that do not want to work, and usually lasts 2 weeks. I felt like they were trying to get me to quit. I had a 2 hour conversation with my GM, begging and pleading with her about what I needed in which I told her I need 5 people that works like me and who can just be on tasks, and that on my tasks days, I need another manager scheduled because I cannot do my tasks and GEM. NOTHING CHANGED. They would schedule me with out another manager, which leaves me on the floor focused on the customers and in doing that, I could not work on my tasks. 80% of the time I did not get a break because the next manager came in when it was time for me to get off. I usually worked 6am-3pm with out breaks. I stayed late to get my tasks done. I was the only African American Manager with 10+ years of retail management. I did everything Ulta wanted me to do and worked my self death because I wanted to have my own store, which they knew from my interview, while everyone was getting promoted and moving to new stores but me. Then out of no where, I get fired. I have not signed any write ups or anything. Also, the Prestige manager got fired because she was actually not doing her job, An African American Prestige BA whose been with the company for 6 years applied for the position, and the old GM said absolutely not. She did her job well and was basically running the department because we didn't have a prestige manager, and they would not give her the position. But to save face and not look like the racist company they are, they hired another African American lady. But, Ulta promotes from within right! I am highly qualified to manage a store or at least be setup for success with training to do so. Which will never happen because my skin is not the right color. Also they fired the only other African American manager that I knew of at another store. Oklahoma City

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Mar 30, 2017

    I have been a Skin Therapist at Ulta in Clarksville, TN for over a year and even with new management things have not gotten any better. The last straw was recently while on break I overheard the associate manager telling the GM and Arch Expert that they should hire someone else and fire me. Then the Arch Expert noticed that I heard her and shut the door. I was infuriated and demanded answers. Another coworker and Prestige Manager noticed that I was upset and agreed that I should call her out on it. Then later on the Associate Manager along with the GM wanted to talked to me. She "apologized" basically saying that she was "joking" didn't want to victimized me (Whatever). She also stated that she makes jokes that can be inappropriate and unprofessional. If you knew that then why would you do it? Does not make sense at all. As sat there all I can think was that the apology was fake and forced because she got caught not knowing I was on break. I also have been having issues with her micromanagement and condescending remarks when I would ask questions. This is an example of workplace harassment. Apology or not she will not get away with it. No one should let it slide. Ulta needs to do better in protecting their employees and hire better management.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment