The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Truman Foreclosure / Promised Refund of $1600. No Show

1 951 NE 167th Street, Suite 234Miami, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 786-735-1991 ext. 4601

After 3 months (and $1600 paid up front - I was an idiot) of dealing with Truman Foreclosure Assistance and their incompetent staff I finally received this email from Randa Quraan. Keep in mind this was after I contacted them several times inquiring as to the status of my account as Countrywide had put my home into foreclosure.

Read this entire report to protect yourself from these scam artist as they continue to disgrace the Jewish faith.

**********************
April 28th 2009 - Letter from Randa Quraan of Truman Foreclosure. My response is below which explains the case in full. By the way, Randa has disappeared off the map and all emails to her now bounce.
**********************

Sorry for the delay in my response to you unfortunately I had a family emergency and was out of the office on Friday and Monday. I received your voicemails as well. I spoke to your bank and they advised me that you were pre-approved for a Fannie Mae Assistance program and nothing more at this point. Now what the Fannie Mae assistance program does is pay off your delinquent balance that you currently owe and it gets added as a second lien on your home that you will have to pay off over the course of your loan so it can be for instance10k over a 30 year period. Your lender is advising me that as of right now this may be your only option at this point. I didn't want to say this over an email wanted to speak to you verbally, but I am aware that you do not have much privacy there. Please let m eknow if this program works for you. If it does you must call your bank and notify them of your decision.

Thank you,
Randa Quraan
Senior Mitigator
Truman Foreclosure AssistanceLLC.
951 NE 167th Street, Suite 234
Miami, Florida 33162
Toll Free: [protected]-HELP
Office: [protected] x4632
Fax: [protected]
Email: randa@trumanfa.com
Website:www.trumanfa.com

*****************************
April 28th 2009 - My response below. Continue reading...
*****************************
Thanks for the response and I hope all is well with the family.

So this Fannie Mae loan payment would be in addition to the $1300+ payment Countrywide is charging me now?

If so what have I accomplished through Truman?

Thank you.

*****************************
April 28th 2009 - Randa Quraan from TFA response below. Continue reading...
*****************************
Thank you...

Well for one you wouldn't lose your home and have to worry about coming up with the large delinquent payment you currently owe. This is in addition to the country wide loan. Pursuant to your lender this is all they can do for you I can put in another call to them but they were very persistent with the fact that they couldn't offer you any other program at this point.

Thank you,
Randa Quraan
Senior Mitigator
Truman Foreclosure Assistance, LLC.

*****************************
April 28th 2009 - My response below. Continue reading...
*****************************

Randa,

So if I can't afford the current inflated mortgage payment
why would I be able to afford this mortgage payment AND an additional loan payment?

The reason for the delinquent payment is, in part, due to Truman's advice not to make any payments whatsoever until my case was resolved? I followed this advice and now the payment for following that advice is a second lien on the house?

My question remains - just what did Truman do for me that warrants a $1600 payment?

* I received no lower interest rate.
* I received no lower payment.
* I'm out $1600 for your 'services'.
* I lost 3 months of valuable time.

I find it mind-boggling that Countrywide would not accept a lower monthly payment but instead want to proceed with foreclose on yet another house in the southeast Michigan area.

I pulled this section off your website which describes the services offered to clients. I cannot see where Truman was successful with any item on this list? Can you?

Lowering Interest Rates - NO
Adding Missed Payments to The Principal So You Become Current - NO Accepting a Small Payment to Bring Your Mortgage Current - NO Forgiving The Missed Payments - NO Forgiving a Portion of The Debt Owed - NO

Please advise who I would talk to about obtaining, at least, a partial refund of my $1600. Per you're guarantee you did NOT improve my situation (I gained nothing but lost valuable time) and you did NOT offer me a viable strategy to avoid foreclosure. (The 'plan' to pile on more debt on someone who can't afford current debt via an FHA 2nd Lien is not a viable strategy)

After 5 months of dealing with this mortgage fiasco I've ceased being bitter - just tired. Upon receipt of your email below I did contact a local lawyer to review my situation and offer options on my financial situation as a whole. This appointment is Thursday morning and I will be offering up all Truman documentation for his review. I'm sure, being lawyers yourselves that legally you have covered yourself from having to ever refund anyone's fees but I will provide the docs for his review nonetheless.

I was really hoping for a better result than this. Please give Charlie Gerencer and the rest of the team a pat on the back as he did an excellent job selling your services. I wish the product lived up to the pitch.


***************************
No response from Truman
***************************

*****************************
May 1 2009 - My response below. Continue reading...
*****************************
Dear Truman Foreclosure Team

Per the reasons listed on my email below I am requesting a refund of the $1600 paid to Truman Foreclosure. As stated, Truman did absolutely nothing to better my situation and, in fact, worsened it with the advice to make no payments until my mortgage situation is resolved. I followed this advice and 3 months later I am facing foreclosure.

Please respond in writing no later than end of business on 5/4/09. If no response is received I will file a complaint with the email below to the SE Florida Better Business Bureau and the Office of Attorney General of Florida.

I hope we can end our business together quickly and amicably.

**************************
May 1, 2009 - David Bouffard CEO of Truman did forward me a waiver I needed to complete to receive my refund.
**************************

**************************
May 13, 2009 - After having an attorney review the documents I returned the signed release form.
**************************

**************************
May 14, 2009 - Truman Acknowledged receipt of the documents.
**************************

**************************
May 27, 2009 - I inquired as to the status of my refund. No response
**************************

**************************
May 28, 2009 - I inquired as to the status of my refund. No response
**************************

**************************
May 29, 2009 - I inquired as to the status of my refund. No response
**************************

**************************
May 30, 2009 - Received the following response from Mr. Bouffard:

Please accept my apologies for not responding sooner. Your request for refund is currently under review and should be addressed on Monday. Please let me know when would be a good time to discuss your case.

Kindest Regards,

David Bouffard
CEO
Truman Foreclosure Assistance


*************************
May 31, 2009 - My response below to Mr. Bouffard:


Mr. Bouffard,

Frankly, there is nothing further to discuss. My complaints have be written in detail and will be filed both electronically and in writing to the SE Florida Better Business Bureau and the Office of the Attorney General of Florida. My plan was to do it this weekend but I will wait until the end of day Monday due to your response last night.

Please note I have laid out my argument in previous emails (these emails threads are included in my complaint) for why I should receive a refund and have followed your instructions to the letter to receive this refund. (Now, over two weeks after my request for a refund, you want to discuss my case? )

The simple truth is Truman failed me miserably, either through negligence and/or incompetence, in obtaining a loan modification. If legal action is required to obtain my $1600 refund then so be it but my first step will be to file complaints with the agencies mentioned above. I am also considering writing a detailed summary of my Truman experience to post on my blog and submit to local newspapers both in Michigan and SE Florida. I am taking this matter very personal and do not want to see others make the same mistakes I made.

I came to Truman for help and paid you for that help. Not only did Truman not help but the length of time it took you to fail has put me in a very precarious situation. I am asking you now to do the right thing and refund my payment as you did not earn it.


**************************
June 2, 2009 - I filed a complaint with the West Palm Beach BBB and notified Truman that I did so.
**************************

**************************
June 3, 2009 - I received the following response from Mr. Bouffard:

I have reviewed your file with our attorney, and have determined that you are approved for a refund. Your file has been submitted to our finance department and you should be receiving your refund check shortly.

Thank you for your patience,

David Bouffard
CEO
Truman Foreclosure Assistance

**************************
After this response I waited two weeks, a reasonable time, for my refund. Nothing. I then contacted Truman numerous times by phone and email inquiring as to the status of my refund but, as usual, no response.

On June 24, 2009 I filed a complaint with the Florida Attorney General and notified Truman that I did so. Still no response.

In closing avoid this company at all cost. How the state of Florida allows them to stay in business is a mystery. If you have issues with Truman below is the name and addresses of the top people at this scam company. (Funny, Mr. Bouffard isn't listed here as he is probably just a puppet for the owners.)

Principal Address
951 NE 167TH STREET
234
MIAMI FL 33162
Toll Free: [protected]-HELP -->>> what a joke
Office: [protected] x4632 (Mr. Bouffard)
Fax: [protected]

Mailing Address
951 NE 167TH STREET
234
MIAMI FL 33162

Registered Agent Name & Address
HERTZ, ELI
951 NE 167TH STREET
234
MIAMI FL 33162 US

Manager/Member Detail
Name & Address
Title MGRM
ITZKOWITZ, JACK
951 NE 167TH STREET, SUITE 234
MIAMI FL 33162

Title MGRM
HERTZ, ELI
951 NE 167TH STREET, SUITE 234
MIAMI FL 33162

Title MGR
HERTZ, MARK
951 NE 167TH STREET, SUITE 234
MIAMI FL 33162

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Kp
      16th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    I wholeheartedly agree that this company is fraudulent, shoddy and should not be allowed to practice.

    Here are some phone numbers of the perpetrators should you wish to try to get through to them or fill there phones up with messages - some of the numbers already have full message boxes:

    Eli Hertz (Owner) 786 413 6898 or 305 653 9306

    Rick Sofrani - 954 305 9338

    Jack Ibowitch - 305 389 4990

    Also contact the law office of Donahue and Ramadan LLC who are involved with Trueman foreclosure and to whom my checks were paid although they are not so helpful either however being an LLC firm there may be more resource:

    1 800 539 3938

    I too have filed a complaint with BBB and FTC of Florida

    Shame on these people especially in this time of recession!

  • Lo
      30th of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes

    They are many companies that are legitimate and can help homeowners stop foreclosure and keep their homes.

    Mortgage Assistance Group is one of those companies that holds an "A" rating with the BBB and has help over 500 homeowners keep their homes.

    They give a discount to the homeowners who have been scammed and treat each client with respect and dignity.

    You can reach them at 623-486-4505 and at www.mag-az.com.

    Thanks and good luck,

    Randy D.

    P.S. If you know someowner they can help, They will pay a $100 referral!

Post your comment