SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Tre Milano (InStyler) / InStyler

1 Review updated:

InStyler as advertised on TV is a fraudulent business. The product was advertised for $14.99 for a trial period of 30 days with a full refund if satisfied. I ordered the product and they charged my credit card the sum of $149.96. The product is horrible and when I called the company, Tre Milano, I was told they would charge me $30.00 to return it. I have talked with the Department of Consumer Affairs in California and they told me that Tre Milano engages in fraudulent practices and they urged me to call my credit card company and have my card number changed so that Tre Milano cannot put anymore unauthorized charges on my card.

I got nothing but a run around when I tried to return this awful product. They sent me a letter saying I was bound by an arbitration agreement and therefore i couldn't sue them. One cann0t be bound by an arbitration one didn't even know about and to which one never agreed. They advertised in the state of Tennessee and Tennessee law controls and they certainly can be sued in Tennessee. If you've been victimized by this company file a complaint with the consumer affairs division of California, the Federal Trade Commission and the District Attorney of San Bernardino, California. Talk with a lawyer that handles class action lawsuits. These people are crooks.

More Tre Milano (InStyler) Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ju
      Dec 22, 2008

    Somebody should do something to put a stop to this company (Instyler). They overcharge me too. When I ordered a very polite customer service representative told me that if I cancel they only will charge $16.46 for restocking fee. I agree, but when my daughter tried the product, it did not work. It is a nighmare. I returned the product, and after I returned it, they charged my credit card $64.75. I called to find out what is going on, and a very RUDE customer service representative told me that there is nothing they can do.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 02, 2009

    I have been charged with a styler 12/1108 I did not confirm via phone this order nor have I received the porduct.

    0 Votes
  • Mb
      Feb 10, 2009

    I tried to return this product but was told that I was 3 days over the 30 day period. The manager (Jose) told me that there was nothing they could do. I asked for the name of the parent company and searched it on the CA Secretary of State's web page.

    Tre Milano, LLC
    11812 San Vicente Blvd, 4th Floor
    Los Angeles, CA 90049.
    Agent for Service of Process is Mark D. Friedman.

    I am not going to waste any more of my time on this product, but wanted to give the contact to others who may want to pursue claims against this company. I will, however, let all my friends know that this product does not work at all as it claims to.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      May 27, 2009

    My only comment is I NEVER buy products from info commercials like Instyler! I had called to order Instyler and some idiot took my order and tried to sell me FIVE more items from magazines, to dinner packages, special shampoo and heat protector! I kept telling him all I wanted was the Instyler, and one more item he tried to sell me & I would cancel the whole order! He said he has to offer me all this crap!
    I got so fed up, I told him to cancel my order. It has not shown up on my credit card account, so I am safe in assuming it is canceled.
    It was so annoying to be offered five different items when all I wanted was the Instyler! From now on, I will NEVER order from infomercials!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      May 27, 2009

    BAD COMPANY!!

    0 Votes
  • In
      Jul 05, 2009

    Thank you all very much for posting your comments. I was interested in this product, and would have tried it out had I read positive reviews... this all goes to show how important the customer service experience is... This product may work for some, and not for others... but no one will want to even try it with the reputation this organization is developing. Thanks again everyone.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 14, 2009

    This process has been an absolute nightmare...from overcharging to the rudest customer service representitives. I urge all the people who have had similar experiences with this company to write to the Corporate Office:

    Instyler Corporate Office
    P.O.Box 10454
    Van Nuys, CA 91410

    This treatment to the general public should not be tolerated. When we buy products, regardless if the purchase is bought in a store, online, through a catalog or whatever, we do not deserve to be talked to like naive children by disrespectful know-it-all customer service reps!

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jul 25, 2009

    To everyone: i'm sorry to hear about your awful experiences but I appreciate you making these complaints known. I was scammed once before many years ago with a product I purchased off a tv infomercial and vowed to never purchase anything from the tv again! My mother was drawn in by the wonders of this instyler and asked me to order for her. I decided to research before giving out my card information once again and i'm just thankful for you sharing your experience and helping me so I can avoid going through this as well.. Good luck to everyone!

    0 Votes
  • Ci
      Aug 04, 2009

    Thank you so much for your honest comments. I was about to order the InStyler but after reading all the comments, I am going to stay away. Thank you again.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Aug 14, 2009

    I want for first say how bad I feel for all of you who have gotten scammed from these people!!! I am 21 and i'm very protective of my money especially how hard I work for it, I don't own any credit cards; if i did i'd only spend however the amount I had on there. Anyway, I hate researching but I really want a straightener that curls and If i'm going to invest my hard working money towards one it made me do the responsible thing... stop being lacidassical and reasearch!!! hehe Let me just say I'm glad I did!!! but on the other hand I feel really bad that those of you who had to experience this bs wentt through quit alot and i feel as if i'm getting off easy. I hope this company gets what they deserve... The saying does go... Karma is a B$*[email protected]!!! I just want to say I really appreciate your advice and comments and i wish you all the best of luck and God Bless!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      Aug 14, 2009

    O! and P.S. I WILLLLLLLL be posting this all on facebook so hopefully this willl not happen to anyone else!!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Sep 02, 2009

    I too was about to order this product for my daughter, but after reading these negative reviews about the product and the company, it has become abundantly clear that it is not worth the aggravation or the time.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Sep 03, 2009

    I purchased the Instyler (they send a set of 2). Was not satsified witht he porduct because the barrel is only rolling one direction - when you use it on the left side of your head you hold the styler naturally; but, to do the other side in the same direction you have to flip it over and hold the handle backwards which is awkward. Also the brush makes the hair super frizzy (even with product). There was 8 callers ahead of me when I called to get a return code as instructed in my package - got through fairly quick. I was first encouraged to keep it longer since I was still in my trial period and offered one $39 pymt reduced - I decline & was given a return code with a 5 day expiration. I did not get back my $14.99 trial fee I paid and paid an additional $12 at the post office to return. It has not been long enough yet to verify they will not be fradulently take any further payments. (Chicago, IL)

    0 Votes
  • Tk
      Oct 07, 2009

    You know, I find this all to be very odd. I ordered the Instyler off the website and was only charged the $14.99 for the trial. The product worked WONDERFULLY on my hair, which is very thick, curly, and normally coarse. I, however, did follow instructions. I, also, am quite used to being uncomfortable straightening my hair as I used a hot iron on a regular basis. Anyone who has EVER used a PROFESSIONAL hot iron knows there is only one way to hold it to avoid burning yourself, making the Instyler rather easy.

    Since the product did what it advertised to do I kept it past the 30 day trial and made 3 payments of 39.99, which ended up to be 42.06 with tax. Worth my money since I had paid more than that for a hot iron in the past. On top of that, I recieved two for the price of one. I'm sure it will make a great christmas gift for someone this year.

    Anyone who is reading this, don't be bothered by people ### because they can't understand directions or contracts, do product rescearch yourself, ie, look at videos on YouTube. Also, if you are hesitent to order it over the phone or online buy one in a store. They are selling in Bed, Bath, and Beyond as well as a few other retail stores that I can not personally verify so I will not advertise it.

    For anyone who says I'm full of it, I included before and after pictures. NOT from Instyler's website, double check if you don't believe me.

    0 Votes
  • Tk
      Oct 07, 2009

    Really quickly, how many of you were speaking to someone who worked ON BEHALF of Instyler? Or are you even sure?

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Oct 12, 2009

    "InStyler - The Amazing Rotating Hot Iron! Try it for 30 Days for Only $14.99" - What do you think about the advertisement line? I though the same and ordered one as a trial. But they sent 2 telling me that buy one and get one free as offer. I called customer connection(It’s a another headache) asked what is the need for the second one and what I am going to do with that? They suggest me to gift the product to any friend of mine(What a great idea?). They also said that the remaining payment of approx $120 + $20 shipment will be detected from my account in 3 installments. Simply said to sell this product they advertise by playing with words. Their intension is not the sell the product by showing any of its quality.

    0 Votes
  • In
      Oct 27, 2009

    To whom it may concern:
    I purchased your product the InStyler, back in September of last year. Never received my item. I waited the usual time of delivery with no success started contacting every delivery service available and my local post office to be told that no one had received or delivered my product.
    I called your customer service department and spoke to the head of the department who's name is Chris. Chris informed that he would not help me, he indicated he wanted the money for which i had payed for as for the infomercial upfront in order to supply me with the item, which i had already payed for the item with the infomercial requested what the cost would be for my 30 day or 60 day trial and indicated in a very rude way that that's how it would be and that he would not spend anymore of his valuable time with me as a customer.
    I still asked him if we could at least attempt this again and he said no that once again the only way anything would happen if i payed the product in full by check or money order and they still would hold it before they sent the product out. I responded that i had payed what was necessary to obtain the product and receive my trial period and that i could not pay it all upfront in the event i did not like it and even worse i had not received it, he said well then it looks like you are out of the money you have already paid and will not be receiving our product.
    I have decided that if i can not get any assistance from you to receive the product and then i would be willing to pay it in full should i like it? i definitely will. if i should not i will return your product and end of story. but if i do i will pay for it as aforementioned. so please be kind enough because i know that your company will not be at any disadvantage towards this problem. in the event i dont get help i will have to request the help of the better business burro.
    Thank you for your anticipated cooperation in this matter and i hope this can be resolved amicably.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Oct 28, 2009

    I agree with TKCANDY I saw the advertisment and like everyone else thought wow for just $14.99. I listened very carefully and found out there was more to it and that it would be 3 payments of $39.99 in addition to the $14.99. That $39.99 was CLEARLY stated or like everyone else I would of ordered, instead I immediately hung up. As for the way it works I donot know yet. I have 6 of them ordered at a very low price that I found via internet. So I see no problems with the addvertising. People you need to PAY ATTENTION! AGREE?
    Carol. Illinois

    0 Votes
  • La
      Dec 05, 2009

    Why do so many people want to look like everyone else? By the way, straightening damages your hair so you get what you pay for...like PT Barbum once said..."there's a sucker born every minute!

    0 Votes
  • Mt
      Dec 14, 2009

    Me and a friend ordered the instylers, it was the 149.95 for two. We flat out bought the irons because our co-worker literally brought hers in for us to try and we loved it. It really is a good product if you do indeed like to straighten your hair, if its thick/curly hair you understand not all store bought irons will do the trick. The instyler is an ideal iron for thick/curly out of control hair that needs straightened. However it’s also nice for course thin hair as well, me and my friend are totally different. She has thick hair I have thin. It works for both.

    When we ordered the rep was kind interested in the sale, tried to offer other items we just declined! No problem. We paid before we received them, we bi-passed the offer. They arrived in a timely matter, when we did get them of course we started to use them right away! My friends iron stopped rotating and we called and they said to pay out of pocket to send it back and gave a reference # to put on the package and to keep the receipt fax them the receipt and they would reimburse the cost to ship the package. And with in 2-4 weeks we will receive the new one. So yes we received the new one after 4 weeks. They were kind about it and replaced it.

    Well one week after my friend received hers my iron fell apart while in my hair, the rotating barrel shaft came out and when I grabbed it, it burnt my fingers OOOOOOUUUUUUUUCCCCCHHHHHHHH it wouldn’t clip back in and the rod wouldn’t match back up inside (we tried to do a quick fix) So I called in AGAIN and went through the same process it took 7 weeks to get mine back. Me or my friend never received the money they promised, (to pay us back for shipping) and I suspect that my instyler I just got back is refurbished. But I just did my hair with it, it seems delayed to start rolling but it rolls and my hair looks better so it’s fine.

    So basically it is a good product when it does actually work, and not fall apart. I am kind of fed up at this point only because if we had to pay shipping fine but don’t mention to reimburse if in fact you won’t why lie?

    I’m glad to have it back to say the least I have a big fat iron that burns my forehead every damn time I use it :( oh and the co-worker bought hers two years ago, she is still on her first one never had a problem and uses it every day! So go figure... I guess if you get one as a gift enjoy otherwise don’t waste your time unless you have it to waste;)

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Jan 03, 2010

    Well I bought the product from a store and they said if I didn't want it I would have to ship it back 2 the instyler people and they will refund me my $100.00 dat a bunch of crap.. I am going to take it back to the store anyway because if I bought it from a store how can they refund me if I didn't pay by credit card I'm sorry they not about to get my information

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jan 10, 2010

    Thanks for all the reviews. I was just looking for the total price of the InStyler and found this page. I won't waste another minute looking into something sold by such an awful company. If they can't provide adequate customer service, I don't care if the product is good. I won't support a fraudulent company.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 22, 2010

    My teenage daughter is currently in the hospital because of a burn from the product!

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Jun 21, 2010

    DO YOU HAVE A DISTRIBUTOR IN EUROPE

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Jul 03, 2010

    To the person who said to ignore us people who can't read directions or understand contracts; what makes you think that any of these consumers are illiterate or stupid? You are fortunate to have received an Instyler that hasn't broken down on you yet. I am not stupid or illiterate, I also followed the directions, and lo and behold my Instyler doesn't spin! I have only owned it for approximately 2 months, and use it an average of 2 to 3 times per week max. I would expect for a product costing nearly $150 to last longer than 2 months. Not too much to expect.
    Considering how many complaints this product has received, I would say it's definitely not worth the risk. Also, I think even stupid and illiterate people have the right to get what they pay for.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Jul 14, 2010

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE !!!

    Package appeared on our front porch the other day. No invoice, no packing slip, no receipt. Opened the box and found two Instylers. The shipping label had a 1800 number on it. I called the number and informed Tre-instyler we had not ordered the product. They gave me a bogus phone # and email address from who they said had ordered the product. They ship only to the confirmed credit card address. Instyler advised we file a police report, not contact the credit card company. WHAT A SCAM. We contacted the credit card company and cancelled our card. They cahrge you $14.99 for the 30 day trial, add $19.99 for shipping and handling for a total of $34.98, then charge you every month there after another $39.99. If we had only filed a police report, they would have continued charging us each month.

    The local Post Office Post Master stated we were not obligated to return the product since we had not ordered it. Since the outside box was opened, the post office would not accept as a refused item. The Post Office wanted to charge us to return a product we had not ordered. I called custome service again to inquire further. The NO-CUSTOMER SERVICE agent was very non-cooperative and when I asked for a supervisor, he put me on hold for 10 minutes, then hung up on me.

    By the way, I have a shaved head, as my wife is dealing with cancer and the treatment has left her with no hair. I shave my head to be like her. THERE IS NO WAY WE WOULD HAVE EVER ORDERED THIS PRODUCT. I do not care if it works or not. There is credit card theft going on here and the public needs to be advised as to the situation.

    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE !!!

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Aug 20, 2010

    I look at it this way for some people the product Instyler may work and for some it may not. And the other thing is, its not the fact that everyone wants to look like everyone else its what you feel works for you. Some people choose to be natural, some choose chemicals and some choose heat. Granted heat may be bad for your hair but it all depends on how often you use that heat on your hair. So there is a site for those who like the product and one for those who do not. The way I see it, its nice to have the likes and dislikes of the product but "YOU AS THE INDIVIDUAL" should not go by with others say. Example I bought a product that I hear bad things about and it turns out the ones who are complaining is going by their experience. You never know it the product doesn't work for you if you don't try for yourself. If you keep listening to what other people say about the products they try you'll never find out for yourself. So I guess my question is "DO YOU ALWAYS LISTEN TO WHAT OTHER PEOPLE SAY?" By the way I found the Instyler at Wal-mart incase anyone wants to know.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
      Sep 13, 2010

    Overcharging for a crappy product that didn't work. Can't return at all past the 30 days. Huge ripoff.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Jan 21, 2011

    I have this item and just today the top of my instyler came off with only 5 months of purchase in Wal-Mart. I was so frustrated since I dint get to finish my hair. I decided to call the company [protected] and spoke with and agent fist and advice him I had send the registration card as they advertise this is in their website www.getinstyler.com for any future claims but he dint want to help me so I decided to talk to main supervisor Chris he dint want to provide me with his last name then I advice him about the problem. This is what he told me that the stylers that are out there in the stores are imitations that come from China and they are identical to the instyler even do I purchase this with Wal-Mart such a huge company will not be buying imitations I told him but he kept telling me that he will not replace it for the reason that this is an imitations item from Wal-Mart he also advice me that the company that is making the imitation products also uses their phone number a website and everything looks exactly like the real instyler even do this item is not cheap $104.00 down the drain just like that wow I was really surprise to hear that from him and this is the reason I’m writing this review this company is not a professional company I don’t even know why are they still in business. I hope this helps allot of customers that are trying to purchase this item is not worth the money for only a couple of months and a good company should always stand behind their product and don’t make excuses read the reviews before you purchase and you will find out that allot of customers have this problem and many more with the top of the rotation falls of and there is no way to fix it. I will be writing to the BBB about this business and I hope allot do to so this company does not keep taking our money.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 03, 2011

    I am pissed. I aw the thing on tv and they advertised it like it only cost $14.99 and you only had 30 minutes to purchase one before the price went up, so I rushed on the computer to order one, because I had school and had to go, but damn. those stupid ### are scamers...I mean. the list the three monthly payments thing in small letters at the bottom. Seriously that is scam. you don't list $14.99 is big font if that is NOT the actual price. I doubt I will be getting my 34.00 dollars for the free trial thing back, but I am closing down my account, I don't have enough money as it is. Seriously! And they are the worse company. I have seen 1000X more complaints and praises of this company.

    0 Votes
  • Us
      Jan 25, 2012

    I am in agreement with the majority of consumers ---- unsatisfied with both the product and customer service. My way of protesting was sending the seldomly used and ineffective product back, as it gives me great pleasure to have them throw the useless product in the trash. P.S. I purchased a Revlon Ceramic Hot Iron for a fraction of the price and its is priceless.

    0 Votes
  • Nl
      Jul 22, 2012

    I ALL,
    LOUISE REPUTATION S GETTING HER SCAM TOO EL KNOW IN ENGLISH SPEAKING COUNTRIES...SHE HAS BEEN REDUCED O CONNING THE FRENCH...I GOT THIS LAST WEEK...ITS THE SAME AD AS CONNED RAY IN THE FIRST PLACE!
    USING OLD ADS MEANS SHE HAS LOST HER MONEY AND REPUTATION.
    SHE KEPS TRYING TYO GET 'BUSINESS' PARTNERS WITH NO RESULT ...I WARN ANYONE THINKING OF BECOMING HER PARTNER...YOU WILL NEVER HAVE A CLEAR CONSCIENCE NOR A REASONABLE BANK BALANCE...IF SHE WERE A CONGENITAL LIAR YOU COULD FORGIVE HER, , , , , , , BUT NO, , , , , , SHE IS JUST A VILE AND EVIL MONEY GRABBING, SELF CENTERED AGEING LIAR WHO HAS DEVELOPED HER LIEING SKILLS OVER MANY YEARS...DO NOT TRUST HER .

    She advertise her villa :


    http://www.vacancesespagne.fr/location/13886/Albir/56/Alicante/16/Valence/Albir.html


    and yes please give me your lawyers name !


    thanks

    0 Votes

Post your comment