SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Travelocityadvertised 5 star hotel secret hotel - gave me 4 star

Review updated:

After searching for several days for the best price I could get a 5 star hotel for, I noticed the "Top Secret" option. It offered a 5 star hotel for $88 and a 4 star hotel on the same street for $45. I purchased the 5 star, not caring what I got as long as it was 5 star. As soon as the purchase was complete, it revealed my secret hotel and said "you are confirmed at this 4-star hotel". I just went through the process to purchase a 5-star hotel, not a 4-star. I confirmed on the main site that the hotel I got was NOT a 5 star hotel, so I called to get the error corrected in some way. Well, after speaking to the customer care representative and her supervisor, I was told that there was nothing that could be done. The purchase was final and if they cancelled the reservation, I would still be out my money. Wow!! I believe this could be called false advertising! This is not my first time purchasing hotels using this process, but it was the first time using Travelocity... and my last!

Jd
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Aug 17, 2006

    This company is a joke, i paid for 3 flights for me and 2 friends, 4 days later i get the email confirmation stating that 2 of us are on the flight together and the third has been chaged without our permission or knowledge!! it took me a further 5 days 25 phone calls to try and get it sorted and it still isnt, i have been hung up on, i have had 4 call back requests ignored i have been lied to and to make it worse no one is taking ownership of my issue!! i have written them a letter asking for comphensation and have had no response! the call centres are all based in India so every time you call its a totally different person who always claims that the previous person you where speaking to has gone home for the day.

    This company has no idea about customer service, once they have your money they dont want to hear from you! the only reason i phoned the call centre was the website advertised price would go up by £50 when you would try to book!!

    Another holiday i had booked with them completely lied about the hotel location, it claimed to be 500 metres from the main station, what it failed to tell you is that the 500 metres is over water onto a little island which i wouldnt drive through at night let alone walk from the wahrf!!

    Absolute disgusting in every respect steer clear from travelocity!

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 17, 2006

    Do all these travel agencies share the same customer service team?

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 17, 2006

    I think they all must use the same call centre, most are based in India....nothing against people from that country but service is terrible!! Shows that sving a few bucks it more important than repeat business.

    0 Votes
  •   Dec 01, 2006

    I made hotel reservations through Travelocity. The fine print stated "a cancellation fee MAY apply". Further down it stated that if cancelled within 24 hours of date of check-in, a cancellation fee WOULD apply.

    I cancelled 10 DAYS PRIOR TO CHECK-IN DATE and they are charging me a $25 fee! When I questioned why and explained what the fine print says, they could not explain why it says a fee MAY apply and not that it WOULD apply, and when I pointed out that I was cancelling with 10 days notice and not with less than 24 hours notice they tried to tell me that it means if you cancel within 24 hours of MAKING the reservation - which would make absolutely no sense and is quite clearly NOT WHAT IT SAYS! I will tell anyone and everyone that I can that they should NOT use Travelocity. There are numerous blogs, forums and such out there that detail again and again, where Travelocity screws people over with their fees! PLEASE PEOPLE - TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!!!! Thank you for taking the time to read this...

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Dec 08, 2006

    Do not ever use travelocity. There 100% guarantee is a joke. They can't even get their own service right. Too many "technical" difficulties and incompetent customer service people. The hold time on the phone is outrageous......

    I booked a $5400 trip to Hawaii for myself and my family through this company on October 25th, 2017. I tried to book everything myself on the website, but the promotion code would not work. I called the customer service # and had to have them book it. This process took 1 HOUR even though I had already spent all the time researching and planning on my own and all their service rep needed to do was plug in the flight #s and hotel info that I gave her. I had even picked out the seats on the plane....ridiculously long processing time for her to take an hour. I even had to remind her that we had upgraded our rooms as she was just going to take the first thing that came up.

    At the end of this hour long process with the rep, the promotion code STILL did not work and then I had to pay almost an $11 booking fee (for work that I had done myself). I had to make sure she notated my file to process the $100 refund and then issue me the $200 future promo code credit. When they finally gave me the credit, then refunded a credit card I used 8 months earlier on a different trip!!!

    Even after all of this hassle, I was still pretty happy about getting our trip taken care of. That is, until the next day!! When checking the website the next day with my trip id # I was unable to find my trip. I called the customer service # and was unable to locate it via the voice response system. When I got through to an agent I was treated very poorly. I was left on hold for over 15 minutes even though he had already taken down my credit card information that I had paid with to supposedly check what was going on. During that 15 minute time span, he never checked back with me to let me know what was going on... was he even working on it?? was he on a break?? who knows???

    After becoming fed up with this unprofessional treatment, I hung up and called back. The lady who then helped me still could not figure out what was going on. She did keep me informed while she was checking on things, but I was left feeling like there was a PROBLEM. I contacted my credit card company to confirm that the money had been authorized and it had been.

    The supervisor told me to contact their consumer relations dept and they would make it up to me! WHAT A JOKE!!

    After 6 weeks, no one called me and I still could not access my trip info. Wondering if we still had a hotel resv ( I already confirmed w/ the airline) I called in to Travelocity again. After another hour long phone call they finally fixed their "technical" problems of giving me a recycled trip id. I still can't view it.

    Their idea of making me 100% satisfied is giving me a credit of $50 on a FUTURE trip! WHO CARES!!! I want to be satisfied on this trip. They couldn't even offer us a show ticket or any other comp. Why would I ever want to use them in the future.

    USE SOMEONE ELSE!!! The little bit of money you may save over expedia is so not worth the stress of wondering if they are going to mess something up.

    0 Votes
  •   Dec 29, 2006
    Travelocity - Frightening travel experience
    United States

    I purchased 2 airline tickets from Travelocity through their online service on September 25th. These were round trip tickets departing from Ciudad Juarez, Mexico (El Paso, Texas border) to Mexico City on December 23 and returning on December 27th.

    Both tickets were charged to my Chase Visa credit card and paid in
    advance.

    Travelocity provided me with multiple online confirmation emails as well as a Travelocity trip ID. The most recent confirmation email was sent by Travelocity and received on December 22.

    On December 23, upon arriving at Juarez International Airport, I was informed by the Check-in agent that without a paper ticket I would not be able to board the plane. According to the agent, the ticket did not show up as paid on his system and neither my confirmation number nor the online reservation printout would be sufficient. The agent informed me that the ticket showed as "not paid" on his system and that I needed to go to the Azteca Airlines ticketing office in the airport "to try to solve the problem".

    Upon arriving at the ticketing office, the ticketing agent once again reiterated what the check in agent had informed me; that I would not be able to travel unless I paid for the tickets again. The agent called Azteca Airline's customer service line to reconfirm the information she had on her system and subsequently informed me that what she had on her system was
    accurate. She then informed me that I could use one of their phones to call Travelocity which I immediately agreed to. The agent called another airline employee to lead me to another office to use the telephone.

    I tried Travelocity's customer service number multiple times to no avail. No Travelocity agent ever answered. The airline employee informed me, in the meantime, that if I "did not pay for the ticket at that moment I would not be able to board the plane and also that all remaining flights were booked", which meant I would not be able to take my trip.
    He then left my wife and I where we were. We had to find our way back to the ticketing office.

    Once back at the ticketing office, the agent asked if we were going to pay for the ticket or miss the flight leaving me certainly no other choice but to hand my credit card again. The total charge was 7,574.30 pesos, which is roughly 700 dollars. I was given a receipt and then informed that I needed to rush otherwise I was going to miss the flight.

    My wife and I were forced to run up the escalators and then ask the security check point officers if we could cut to the front of the line, which was very long. We just made it into the plane.

    Once I arrived in Mexico City, I contacted Travelocity to inform of the situation as well as seek for reimbursement for my ticket. The first agent I spoke deeply regretted the situation and informed that I would receive reimbursement. However, he informed me he needed to speak to his supervisor first. I was left on hold for 35 minutes and then the call "somehow" got disconnected. The entire call lasted 1:11 minutes. I called back immediately and was on hold for 12 minutes before an agent answered. After explaining again what had occurred, to my surprise, I was informed by the agent that "2 paper tickets" had been delivered to my home through FedEx and that those tickets should have been used to check in. Additionally, I was informed that a "C. Savino" had signed for the package. No "C. Savino" lives in my residence. I asked to speak to a Supervisor and requested that it be quick as I was calling long distance. I was left on hold for 27 minutes before an extremely rude and difficult to understand supervisor came on the line simply to inform that no refund would be issue as I should have had the tickets in my possession for check in purposes. I tried to explain the situation again but again, I was abruptly interrupted and informed that no refund would be issued. The call was ended. The second call lasted 52 minutes. Both calls totaled 2:03 minutes and cost $61.50.

    I have purchased tickets as well as a vacation with Travelocity multiple times over the course of the last year and a half. I am absolutely disappointed and traumatized by the horrifying travel and customer service experience.

    The credit card used to make the repeated purchase was the card I had brought to pay for the travel expenses thus greatly limiting my ability to use it for trip expenses. In addition, the poor customer service treatment received by Azteca Airlines employees on such difficult and psychologically straining situation was absolutely unacceptable.

    I vouch not to ever use Travelocity or Azteca Airlines again and hope both companies re-evaluate the communication between themselves as well as the handling of such situations. Travelocity's Customer Service Department is unprepared to handle urgent customer service situations. I hope no other passenger goes through such ordeal.

    I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau as well as the U.S. Department of Transportation. In addition, I will be contacting the Attorney General.

    My consumer rights must be respected.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 08, 2007
    Travelocity - Non-existant flight, non-existant customer service
    Australia

    I booked a flight on Travelocity from Istanbul to Genoa, paid to have the tickets sent to me by FEDEX. 2 Weeks ago I received an email telling me the airline had not confirmed my flights. After $318 of phone calls from Australia being placed on hold for 53 minutes at one stage I still have no idea if I have a flight on not. They will not speak to me email me or call me.

    0 Votes
  • Er
      Apr 20, 2007
    Travelocity - Hidden Travelocity fees
    United States

    Beware of Hidden Travelocity Fees!

    Until recently, I had been using Travelocity and Expedia pretty much interchangeably for reservations & travel arrangements. I will no longer be using Travelocity.

    I recently had to cancel a motel reservation. It wasn't a last-minute cancellation and I was in full compliance with the cancellation policy of the motel chain. The motel charged me nothing. Travelocity, however, charged me a penalty EQUAL TO THE PRICE OF THE ROOM ! I sent letters to both the motel chain and Travelocity. The motel chain apologized, and assured me that they had levied no charges to me or to Travelocity. Travelocity provided no refund, and pocketed approximately $300 of my money... for nothing.

    Do not use Travelocity! If you have to cancel, even with plenty of advance notice, they will still keep your money... ALL of it !

    Eric Cruise
    Rommel Fence
    Poland, NY USA

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Jun 20, 2007
    Travelocity - &Everything will be right&--YEAH RIGHT!
    United States

    So Travelocity has that decree that "everything will be right or we will work with our suppliers to make it right" (I don't know if that is the exact wording but that's the basic gist of it)--they DO NOT go by this! I booked a plane ticket in March for a flight in June... in April I got an email stating that my return flight had been changed from a 5 PM outbound to a 2 PM outbound. As a friend is having to bring me to the airport for my return flight and the airport is nearly an hour from where they live, this change in itself was annoying. However, in the process of visiting Travelocity's website to see for myself why my flight had been changed I noticed that the price for the flight they put me on was $100 less than the original flight I had booked!

    I called Travelocity to complain and after being on hold for the better part of a decade (yes, I am exaggerating a bit) I finally spoke to a customer service rep who could barely speak English and would not listen to what my complaint was. He kept focusing on the flight change itself, which supposedly was because US Air had canceled that 5 PM outbound flight, and would not listen to my real issue--that I was angry that they had put me on a flight that was $100 cheaper than the one I had originally booked! I finally asked to speak with a manager and this person was, if anything, less helpful. After leaving me on hold for another 30 minutes, he got on the line and proceeded to tell me that he had discussed my complaint with the customer service rep I had been speaking to. This in itself was enough to anger me, considering that customer service rep wasn't listening to my complaint in the first place!

    The manager proceeded to tell me that the only thing I could do was make a record of my complaint number and, after I returned from my trip, fax my complaint number and my complaint itself to Travelocity and they would see about refunding me the $100 difference. Having always been told that it is best to complaint about an issue when it happens, not after the fact, I decided to take matters in my own hands and mail a formal letter to Travelocity. I did so in April and have not heard from them since. My flight with them is this weekend and I plan on calling them tomorrow to try one more time for my refund, but I'm not planning on having much luck.

    The worst part is, US Air won't do anything either because I booked with Travelocity. So much for "working with their suppliers". I will NEVER book with Travelocity again, and most likely I won't use any other online agency (i.e. Orbitz, Expedia) either.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 02, 2007
    Travelocity - Horrible Customer Service
    United States

    I am so used to canceling hotels reservations with 24 hour notices with no fee. I had no idea that they would charge me one third of the reservation to cancel. I will use them again except to shop but will use other routes to book.

    0 Votes
  • La
      Aug 15, 2007
    Travelocity - Charged for overseas delivery of tickets and then didn't send them
    United States

    I purchased airline tickets from travelocity to fly inside the US, but I purchased the tickets from outside the country. Travelocity said that it would charge me approx. $50.00 for delivery of the tickets--I accepted the charge. The next day Travelocity informed me by e-mail that they could not deliver the tickets to the address that I requested and instead sent them to my destination! A family member obtained the tickets and sent them to me. BUT, I have now got a $54.95 bill on my debit card from travelocity for shipping the tickets.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Sep 14, 2007
    Travelocity - Customer service and Re-issue dept sucks!
    United States

    I have been dealing with Customer Service and the Re-issue dept since 09/05/07 till now 09/13/07. In trying to re-issue new tickets. They have been horrible to work with on getting this matter resolve. These people are not properly trained. I have getting the run-around, getting disconnected and repeating myself over and over again to a new representative every time I call back after being disconnected. They DO NOT update their system, so the next agent is not aware of the issue on hand. They also LIE!!! They say they will call you back if phone line gets disconnected and furthermore, they screw up my tickets and they stated, they were going to overnight the tickets at their expense but when I checked the FED X tracking# it showed the tickets were FEDX-2day arriving Monday by 7pm when my flight is schedule for Monday at 5:45pm. Now, you tell me how is that possible!! Travelocity representatives are inadequate, unprofessional, rude and liars... I will never ever deal with Travelocity ever AGAIN!!! Oh, and if you have no other alternative but to get tickets thru Travelocity, please avoid agents, Mark, Michelle and Shawn.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Sep 21, 2007

    BAIT AND SWITCH -- I have purchased tickets from Travelocity for years without a problem until my recent trip. I searched for a flight and selected a round trip ticket. I failed to check the final price as I assumed it would be the same as the price listed on the search page. I got the airport two days later and learned that I was charged FOUR times more. I checked my confirmation e-mail and learned that they changed the ticket price from the search page to the check-out page! I contacted Travelocity upon my return and was told that there "low price guaranty" is only valid for the first twenty-four hours after you purchase the ticket, nevermind that I provided them with information that my business associate purchase his ticket for a fourth the price the day before the flight. Travelocity's position was that I should have postponed my business trip to sort out the details with them before flying. The consumer relations people (I understand why Travelocity does not call them customer service) responed to my requests for a refund in e-mails containing broken English, incomprehensible wording, and basically unprofessional writting. DON'T BUY TICKETS THROUGH TRAVELOCITY!

    0 Votes
  • Ph
      Oct 05, 2007
    Travelocity - Poor service!
    United States

    I purchased a round trip flight from San Jose to Cozumel for December. I was told that I would need to have a paper ticket sent to my house. This is a bit of a problem as there are no house addresses in Costa Rica, no mail boxes and it's the rainy season. I have a PO Box, but they would not send it to a PO Box. So I had them mail the tickets to a friend who then forwarded them to the PO Box. Big surprise, they got lost on the way down.

    I have emailed Travelocity and have communicated with someone who clearly has a good grasp of English, though not his principal language. He informs me that Travelocity cannot re-issue the tickets so we can try to mail them again. I'm told my only option is to show up the day of the flight, fill out a form reporting the tickets lost and then purchase replacement tickets at the terminal desk.

    Poor service!

    0 Votes
  •   Oct 16, 2007
    Travelocity - Travelocity stole 666$ dollars from us!
    United States

    Travelocity
    www.travelocity.com

    We had arrangement with Travelocity for a trip to Nassau, Bahamas. Our flight should been on Tuesday, 2nd October 2017, 6am with Delta Airlines. The problem is that nobody from agency has let us know that we need visa to get to Bahamas so we couldn't get in to the plain without that. When we called the agency to ask for our money back they offered us only half of amount of money back that we payed for this trip. The main problem is that they don't want to refund us the money for our airplane tickets and we talked to Delta Airlines and they told us that is the responsibility of the agency to refund us money back for the tickets. When we spoke to TraveloCity they have just keep saying they don't want to refund us that money. My trip id with TraveloCity is [protected] and my name is Nemanja Jezdic. We even tried to postpone our flight for a next day because in that time we could get visa, but agency wanted that we pay additional 700 dollars just for airplane tickets.

    Can someone please help us with this problem because TraveloCity practically stole 666$ dollars from us which is amount that they should refund us for airplane tickets.

    Best regards,

    Nemanja Jezdic
    phone: [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Feb 23, 2008
    Travelocity - NO TICKET,CHARGED ME FOR ONE
    Travelocity
    United States

    Be very cautious.....2 horrible experiences with Travelocity, they charged my credit card for a ticket that I never received and then they basically told me I was screwed. Would not reimburse me for the charge on my credit card even though the ticket agent herself was telling her the ticket had been voided by Travelocity themselves.....the cost of the ticket ended up costing me $700.00 because I had to purchase another ticket. Horrible service, you call Customer Service and your dealing with some idiot from India with a heavy accent that you can barely understand him.....I am telling everyone I know about my experience....be careful. I tried to fly from Chicago Ohare to San Antonio and the ticket had been cancelled by them for no apparent reason, they still charged me for the ticket and will not reimburse me, they basically told me I was out of luck. Thanks for nothing !!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Feb 26, 2008
    Travelocity - Horrible Experience
    Travelocity
    United States
    Phone: [protected]
    www.travelocity.com/

    Unfortunately we booked our vacation through Travelocity, which due to stress and worry about how and when we would get home, where we would stay and hundreds of dollars in international phone calls in which nothing was ever resolved, in fact we would tell our story again and again before being transferred and disconnected. We were stuck with no transportation when paid for in advance, we had no where to stay our last night, we had no luggage our first day, and worst of all we spent our entire vacation calling Travelocity, and received no help again and again! Our trip was not a vacation what so ever. Since they were unable to help us while we were in Mexico (We tried for 4 days via phone and internet), we are trying to get help now that we are home. We need reimbursed for the money we paid to them for transportation from the airport to the Riu Yucatan in Playa Del Carmen. There was no one there to pick us up at the airport. We waited for over an hour looking for Olympus Tours Cancun-Riviera Maya Transfers that we paid $285.00 for (both ways) but no one ever showed up. Travelocity was notified that our flight was delayed 24 hours when we called them on Feb. 16th and confirmed that someone would be there. Not only did they tell us that there would be transportation waiting for us but they changed our flight coming back a day later which is what we requested. However, they did not extend our stay at our hotel. We were kicked out 24 hours before our flight left Cancun. We were on hold most of the week trying to get this straightened out with them until my phone went dead, and then resorted to the hotel phone and email. There will be phone expenses that will need to be covered. We called every number they provided [protected] & [protected]). They would answer but then I would be put on hold. Then someone would come back and I'd be put on hold again, and then the phone would be disconnected. We are talking International phone charges here. I then went to the internet. And it started all over again. We have copies of every conversation that took place over several days to no avail. Also our trip was cut short by one night and day, so they need to reimbursed us for this also. We had to pay for our last night out of pocket. And last but not least our luggage was lost and we had to go out and buy clothing. The luggage showed up at 9:00 p.m. the following night of our arrival. We have tried calling and emailing them for the last four days now that we are back home, and nothing has been resolved. The people we speak with always say they will transfer our call and forward our email.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Apr 08, 2008

    U.S. Airways started flying from Heathrow and Gatwick airports Uk from 29th March 2017.
    Please could you warn travellers that Travelocity however do not mention to customers at point of sale or on the e-ticket after purchase that U.S. airways flights fly to USA westcoast etc from London via Philadelphia !!!

    I have been trying for the last 12 days to get a refund - or change my ticket .Their sales operators do not have the full flight schedules available for US Airways at point of sale - (their customer services supervisior admitted that to me last night after a finally got to speak to him !!!)

    As a result, when the e-ticket comes through to the purchaser on e-mail after point of purchase it does not mention ANYWHERE that the ticket includes a two hour refueling spot at PHIL.They are going to call me back later today to see if I can get a ticket change. But they did warn me that it was v.unlikely.

    A journey from heathrow to San Francisco and then to Arcata( N.Cali) is now going to take me over 19 hours.

    So please make your audience aware as ticket operators + flight schedules on line do not mention it. I only found out myself after I placed my flight number into the flight search engine on the Heathrow BAA Website after seeing that I would be flying out of Terminal one - not my usual Terminal 3 ( I do this route every year).

    I also spoke to Gatwick U.S airways team y/day and they said that all ticket agents should ensure customers know this prior to Purchase . It was they who advised me to speak to Travelocity sales management . I had been e-mailing them daily before that and they were constantly ignoring my requests.

    0 Votes
  •   Apr 22, 2008
    Travelocity - Total inefficiency in booking an airline ticket
    Travelocity
    United States
    www.travelocity.com

    I attempted to book a flight at a price quoted. After booking they told me the price had risen and there was a charge for delivery of paper ticket. (Originally they said it was an e-ticket) I'm travelling so a paper ticket wasn't an option.

    Then they sent me a document saying 'This is an e-ticket, no paper ticket will be issued"

    Then they asked for an address to send the paper ticket to. Then I got another e-ticket. This went on for a bit so I decided to cancel and use an agent who knew what they were doing.

    Asked Travelocity if I could cancel without charge.

    'Yes' they said as the booking wasn't ticketed.

    Then they said 'No'

    Then they said 'Yes'

    And so on and on...

    Finally I had to cancel my credit card so that I wouldn't be charged twice. And of course all this took time so prices had risen.

    If you want efficiency and to deal with friendly, intelligent people avoid Travelocity like the plague.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 28, 2008

    Well I do agree with our comments about reissue procedure sometimes they are quite crazy and messed up, I personally to tell I work for travelocity and i know what happens, it not completely travelocity fault, as we are travel agency airlines impose certain change rules which u wont find directly with airlines.
    But on second hand of scenario we offer best fare possible if u compare we offer the lowest fare possible and try to offer best in customer services.


    With Regards
    Victor

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 28, 2008

    Hey Raymond its sad to hear that u had bad experience with travelocity I work for them in ticketing department, I do not deny but let me ask u this did u check with your credit company if your ticket are voided by travelocity u should get refund for same.
    if u have not received 1 yet I will request u call customer service, fax in your trip id num and credit statement to CRD for travelocity and will be glad to resolve this problem.

    With regards
    Victor

    0 Votes
  •   May 06, 2008
    Travelocity - Never use Travelocity
    Travelocity
    United States
    www.travelocity.com

    We booked our all-inclusive trip to Mexico through Travelocity. The first page of the confirmation states all inclusive room for 2 adults and 2 children. Wrong. In fine print at the very end of the confirmation it states the hotel "may" charge extra for children. When we got to our hotel in Mexico we could not check in until we paid extra for our children to stay with us. I found this to be very misleading. The hotel even said we were the 4th or 5th family that week to have similar problems with Travelocity. I would never recommend to use Travelocity.

    0 Votes
  •   May 26, 2008
    Travelocity - Unfair charges for room cancellations
    Travelocity
    11603 Crosswinds Way, Suite 125
    San Antonio
    Texas
    United States
    www.travelocity.com

    I cancelled a room reservation due to a contractor I was doing consulting work for cancelled a meeting and was charged the price for one nights stay even though I canceled 24hr. prior to my check-in time.

    I feel I should not have been charged for this cancellation as I notified the motel people and TRAVELOCITY 24hr. ahead and besides, I do not have control of the weather which caused the cancellation of work to be done.

    I have cancelled rooms in the past when.

    made directly with a motel do to weather or other problems beyond my control with out any charges and having given shorter notification. I will make reservations directly with motels in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
      Jun 10, 2008
    Travelocity - Terrible customer service
    Travelocity
    United States
    www.travelocity.com

    The customer service for Travelocity is horrible and when you call the 800 number you're always transferred to someone in India who can only read off of an approved script. I did a little on line searching and found a direct line to their San Antonio office and wanted to share it:

    Call Denise at [protected].

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 21, 2008
    Travelocity - Avoid this company
    Travelocity
    United States

    This is our account of the most frustrating experience we have ever had with any company, ever. In December 2017 we invited family to visit us in Canada and booked a flight through Travelocity.com from Mexico City to Vancouver Canada. The online booking process seemed simple and the price was fair. Three and half months later, all seemed well until we attempted to arrange seating on the plane and discovered that the tickets had been cancelled. I phoned Travelocity and was told that there was a problem with our credit card that led to the cancellation. This was hard to believe since our credit card was charged the full amount on Dec 28 2017 and we paid the bill promptly. We really had to scramble to get alternate tickets on the correct dates to match our resort booking and ended up arranging a flight from within Mexico. Our family members arrived, loved Canada, a good time was had by all.

    LET THE MADNESS BEGIN! Now, I'm not a big fan of paying twice for the same service so I fully expected a refund from Travelocity since they charged us, we paid them, but they never delivered the tickets having cancelled them without our knowledge. I phoned again on April 11 2017 and they stated that a refund had been processed way back on Jan 3 2017. I checked our credit card statements and found no such refund. They then stated that a refund would take 30 days. (Get used to hearing that by the way, everything this company does seems to take 30 days.) 35 days later I phoned again only to be told I would have to wait another 10 to 15 days. I continued to phone them periodically over the next few weeks. Each time I was directed to a call center in some far away place, (sounded like India). After many calls I noticed a pattern in their language that made me feel like their only goal at the call center was to delay, defer blame, deny responsibility, in short, to avoid at all costs having to issue a refund. It was absolutely infuriating. I gave up trying to get them to do the right thing and filed a dispute with my credit card company. They finally coughed up a refund in July 2017, 7 (SEVEN!!) months after the initial charge. However, the airline charged us a cancellation fee of 100 dollars per ticket, which meant we would be out 300 dollars for the three tickets we purchased and fully intended to use had they not been cancelled without our consent. The seven month delay came during a time when our Canadian dollar was gaining value fast against the US dollar and as a result our refund in Canadian dollars was actually short approximately 200 dollars for a total of 500 dollars. This is what it cost us in actual dollars for the mistake of doing business with Travelocity.com. If I include the time spent on the phone trying to get someone to take responsibility for this it would jump into the thousands. My advice: Go to your local travel agent; someone with a desk you can pound on if things go bad. It's well worth the extra few dollars rather than enduring the freak show and monetary loss we went through!!

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 22, 2008
    Travelocity - Use them only to research best prices
    Travelocity
    United States
    travelocity.com

    My wife and I booked ten day motel accommodations through Travelocity with confirmed rates at 4 hotels. Several weeks prior to travelling we changed our route slightly and needed to cancel a one night reservation. We called Travelocity and were informed that we would not be able to cancel that one night and would be charged the $85.00 one night charge. During our trip we inquired of another hotel in that chain why we couldn’t cancel without charge. They stated that had we booked directly through them that it would have been no problem to cancel. According to the management our problem was that we booked through Travelocity. I learned a valuable lesson. Now I only use Travelocity to research rates but now book directly through the hotel/motels websites.

    0 Votes
  •   Jul 23, 2008
    Travelocity - Never again!
    Travelocity
    Tennessee
    United States
    travelocity.com

    A year ago, I had to cancel a family trip to Orlando. We had booked all our reservations through Travelocity and we had to cancel because of an emotionally stressful event that occurred with our son. At the time, I called Travelocity and was directed to an agent who helped me and who refunded our hotel fees, but not the airfare or the tickets into Universal Studios Orlando. They did offer credit on the airfare, however. Today I contacted them to get information on the credit and how would I use it, and discovered that all of our information regarding the trip had been reassigned to a different person including both the Trip ID number as well as the flight confirmation number! I spent nearly an hour on the phone with THREE agents in India, trying to locate the information just so I could determine how much credit I actually had left. It took threats of state and federal lawsuits (literally!) to finally get someone who understood what I needed, and even then I had to provide my entire credit card information (which left me uncomfortable). I will try to contact the trip insurance people to see if they may get me a refund of the money, but if not, I know that I will never use Travelocity again once I use up this credit.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Nov 19, 2008

    If you are travelling to another country, you should always check to find out if they are any required documents you must bring. Although travelocity should have mentioned this to you, it is ultimately your responsibility to properly research any trip you are going on. If they are willing to refund you any money at all, you should gladly accept it and hopefully you'll have better luck in the future!

    0 Votes
  • Kl
      Dec 11, 2008

    I booked flight and hotel in Nashville with Travelocity. A day or so later, I booked a dinner cruise and received confirmation and copy of credit card charges. One month later, I get a call from the vendor letting me know I did not have a reservation. She called me because she noticed that Travelocity and NOT responded to their e-mail telling them the event was sold out. I tried to find out from Travelocity what happened and all they could tell me was they could refund me. I would have gone to Nashville thinking I had tickets had the lady not called me from Grand Old Opry. When I found out that seats had opened up - I asked Travelocity to re-book and the person who spoke terrible English could only give me a refund. I sent an e-mail to Customer Service and got a reply that my flight and room were confirmed - when the complaint had nothing to do with the flight and room. Hope they did not mess that up. Numerous attempts to speak to supervisor has failed.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Jan 16, 2009
    Travelocity - Bad service
    Travelocity
    United States
    travelocity.com

    I booked flight and hotel in Nashville with Travelocity. A day or so later, I booked a dinner cruise and received confirmation and copy of credit card charges. One month later, I get a call from the vendor letting me know I did not have a reservation. She called me because she noticed that Travelocity and NOT responded to their e-mail telling them the event was sold out. I tried to find out from Travelocity what happened and all they could tell me was they could refund me. I would have gone to Nashville thinking I had tickets had the lady not called me from Grand Old Opry. When I found out that seats had opened up - I asked Travelocity to re-book and the person who spoke terrible English could only give me a refund. I sent an e-mail to Customer Service and got a reply that my flight and room were confirmed - when the complaint had nothing to do with the flight and room. Hope they did not mess that up. Numerous attempts to speak to supervisor has failed.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Feb 12, 2009

    I totally wish I would have read comments about travelocity before actually booking with them, and it really never occured to me that every agent was indeed from INDIA.. i know the accent, but the names throw you off... how clever. My situations is not even worth posting, because it is the same ###, just different take off and landing. I can't belive they are even allowed to get away with this. The only thing Travelocity saved me was a heart attack, because I took up weed smoking just to deal with them, which in fact has cost me more money because now I love weed.. good thing I am going to Jamacia in afew days.
    I have told everyone I know to NEVER book with Travelocity, they are some ###! The fact that they confirm everything then call you and leave voicemessges that there are concerns with your flight is ridiculous. I don't even check my voicemails! The best one was -- my flight was in US dollars and my credit cards is CANADIAN... What happen to doing the f-ing currency exchange.. what a bunch of ###S! Next time I even see an indian person i am gonna spit on them.. LOL

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Feb 19, 2009
    Travelocity - over charged
    www.Travelocity.com
    Texas
    United States
    Travelocity.com

    Booked a room through there website and was charged 124.52 for two nights... went to check out and the hotel told me that i had to pay for the room billed me 96.34 .went to get this right when I got home. 2 phone calls and 45 minutes later and a 3 way call with the hotel. the hotel gave me a refund and at the same time I ask the lady at the hotel what the standered rates was if iI called and booked the room myself and she said 96.34... the manager from travelocity said I could file a complaint with travelocitys consumer.relations If I emailed them they would review my complaint. call the hotel yourself first ...

    0 Votes
  • Bj
      Mar 21, 2009

    March 18, 2017 I booked through Travelocity and confirmed (in confirmation email) what I thought were two airline tickets for $776.40 (TOTAL). What I was billed was $2088.40 from Jet Blue. The hardest part is that I used my debit card...so now my checking account is shot!

    Now the two companies are blaming each other. My trip is supposed to begin on March 25th but as of now I have no money and no tickets!!! No one is calling me back from either company. I just sent both CEO a letter. Let's see if either Hugh Jones (Travelocity) or David Barger (Jet Blue) have the decency to resolve this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Mar 27, 2009
    Travelocity - Paid for ticket/never sent to the carrier
    793 Bristol Ferry Road
    Rhode Island
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    In the summer of 2017 I booked three one ways for Feb 2017 travel through Travelocity. The first two legs were with Continental, the last leg was with United.

    When I arrived at the airport for the last leg my luggage was checked, I had a seat, but United refused to issue the e-ticket. Long story short I had to stay overnight at the airport and fly home on a Southwest ticket the next morning.

    Travelocity customer service has been totally non-responsive. DO NOT USE TRAVELOCITY. THEIR "CUSTOMER SERVICE" IS NON-EXISTENT.

    0 Votes
  • Gz
      Apr 01, 2009
    Travelocity - Horrible Customer Service
    travelocity
    United States

    we are trying to use credit that is due to us ...they have lost records, made up convesation notes, and treated us like we have all the time in the world to stay on the phone for over 350 minutes, and still no resolution!!!DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR BUSINESS

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Apr 24, 2009

    I have been trying to cancel a ticket. So far i have called them 4 times and i couldn't get an "available consultant" even though I waited till the calls get disconnected after 13-14 minutes automatically after saying "Thank you for calling Travelocity"!!! Mailing also sends an auto reply and no action so far (it has been 2 days since i mailed them). Do they actually refund or the entire thing is just fraud??

    0 Votes
  • La
      Jun 04, 2009
    Travelocity - Incompetence Exemplified!
    Travelocity
    Canada

    I tried to book a return flight through Travelocity, things went reasonably smoothly as far as paying for the flight through the website and so on. Later I got a phone message and several emails asking me to contact them regarding the flight. I called them and, after being kept on hold for nearly an hour, was then told to call another number. I spoke to some guy who told me that the flight couldn't be confirmed because the airline in question only issued paper tickets and Travelocity can't handle that. It turns out that both of these statements are untrue but more about that later.
    So, I was basically told that Travelocity couldn't confirm my flight, I was not given any options or alternatives for my situation. I asked the person on the 'phone if that meant that I needed to completely rebook my flight with the airline and was vaguely told yes.
    After this, I looked at my bank account and realised that Travelocity had in fact taken payment for these flights, meaning that I couldn't even book with anyone else because I didn't have the funds. I wrote Travelocity a strongly worded email complaining about this, the response to which was to ask me to call again.
    I called again and spoke to someone else being given the same run-around regarding paper tickets and not being able to confirm the flight. This time I asked very pointedly and repeatedly if I needed to completely rebook my flight with the airline and was told yes.
    At this point, I emailed Travelocity again and told them, that if they couldn't book the flight, then why on Earth did they still have my money? Could they either confirm the flight or return my money immediately.
    I then called the airline in question (Air Canada) and was told by them that I was in fact booked on the flight and they could confirm that. However, they said that they *never* issue paper tickets and so Travelocity were making a completely bogus claim. In addition, their records show that I hadn't yet paid for the flight. So, somewhat happier in that it at least looked like I would get my flight for the price I paid, even if it took some time for Travelocity to get their act together, I checked my email. Another mail from Travelocity informing me that 'they were sorry that I had received an unfavorable impression of them in this instance' (note the distinct lack of an actual apology) and that they had cancelled my itinerary and refunded my money. I was so close!
    I booked the flight on Sunday, went through most of this rigamarole over Monday and Tuesday. It is now Thursday and I still have not received my money back.
    I note that the flight I tried to book myself on is still available through the Travelocity site. I would have thought that an agency that makes the guarantee ' We guarantee your booking will be right, or we'll work with our partners to make it right, right away!' would have at least tried to have modified my flight.
    As it stands, Travelocity have taken my money, wasted my time, and then given me the finger. I would at least take my business elsewhere if they would only give me money back!

    0 Votes
  • Kk
      Jun 04, 2009
    Travelocity - Horrible Customer Service
    United States

    i will never book a room with travelocity they charged my card 2 times then lied in say they didnt i had my bank on the line the indian man was still argue with her stating they didn't, travelocity are so disorganizatize... PLEASE WHO EVER NEVER BOOK ANYTHING WITH...

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jun 10, 2009
    Travelocity - BAD Customer Service
    Travelocity
    United States

    On June 9 2017. I called Travelocity to make changes on my trip package and the representative had me on the phone for 52 Mins.
    After being on hold numerous times, the representative came back and told me that I could cancel my hotel reservation and get a full refund. I was happy to hear that, because due to an EMERGENCY I had to cancel my trip. The representative seemed helpful and told me that I would receive an confirmation email in 5-10 mins. 30 Mins has passed and I didn't receive anything, an hour passed still haven't receved anything. I decided to call Travelocity again to see if the cancellation went through.

    The second representative put me on hold numerous time again but was able to confirm that the cancellation went through, I asked her to give me the amount of my refund, and then realized there's a difference of $70 plus of money that weren't going to be credited back to me. I asked the second representative about the difference of $70 plus and she replied "oh, that's the penalty fee". I was upset because
    the first representative didn't mention anything about "penalty" fee and I even ask were there going to be any "penalty' fees.
    I asked the second representative to explain what the fees were, and all she could say is "I apologize for any inconvenience" over and
    over again. Its like she was reading a script. That made me even more mad.

    I've read numerous complaints about Travelocity and scams. I am scared that I won't get my refund. 4 hours has passed still no confirmation email... This is my first and last time booking with Travelocity.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jun 13, 2009

    Air canada certainly will use paper tickets, although most carriers are moving toward e tickets the fact of the matter is that from airline to airline and sometimes flight to flight if it involves code shares sometimes the airline wont have a ticketing agreement with the other carrier or system incompatablity arises and forces a paper ticket. Usually a travel agency will issue one and will waive a delivery charge if it wasn't brought to your attention at first but sometimes it is not possible due to regulatory aspects of the trade. The records showed you had not paid because you had an authorization on your card not a charge, so many people go off the handle about that, fact of the matter is that all travel agencies get nearly squat in the form of commision from airlines and the airline always is the one to place the charge did you happen to check your account? you would see most likely a small service authorization from travelocity and a large authorization (the ticket itself) from the airline then of course they charge baggage fees seperately. In short, no one took your money take a pill. One big thing you screwed up on, was calling the airline, once you call an airline they will either A: pass the buck B: Do nothing at all or C: compeletely take over your itinerary and at that point your PNR (passenger name record) becomes something that the agency, no matter who they are.. can touch. As far as a refund goes, it's a hold since you stated yourself that you have not been charged (And almost never will until the ticket is HK1 holding confirmed for 1) Therefore you should call your bank and see if they will take a fax from travelocity (any good bank will) stating that the charge will not process and they can expedite the release of the authorization. Too many people like this float about the internet spouting bs about companies and individuals, when the user themselves can barely connect to an exchange server to read email. Fact is, nothing in life is perfect and if you would have done yourself a favor and been less of a neurotic douchebag you probably could have saved a little grief. Now if you'll excuse me, there is an exceedingly obvious thunderstorm in my area that has caused my cable to go out, and I am going to yell at an Indian national about something that is clearly out of his control. (yes that was a jab at you)

    +1 Votes

Post your comment