SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

travel insurance / Non-payment of claim

1 ON, Canada Review updated:

Tripmate.com's web site claims that "payments will be finalized within five working days after we receive all necessary information."

They have all the necessary information in their hands since the beginning of this year, and my wife still hasn't been paid the modest amount of US $146, which is her medical claim. They have been dragging her for almost four months now. See here-below Tripmate's activity log regarding her claim.

I believe Tripmate follows unethical business practices: they delay payment for months and months until you give up and forget about your claim. Customer: stay away from those crooks.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tripmate Activity Log
Claimant: [my wife's name]
Claim: MAI-xxxxxxx
plan number: 925
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
04/16/2010 FYI MESSAGE
04/15/2010 REFERRED TO CLAIMS ASSISTANT
04/15/2010 3RD REQUEST FOR EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS
04/09/2010 FYI MESSAGE
03/26/2010 FYI MESSAGE
03/25/2010 REFERRED TO CLAIMS ASSISTANT
03/25/2010 2ND REQUEST FOR EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS
03/25/2010 CALL TO PARTY OTHER THAN CLAIMANT
03/24/2010 FYI MESSAGE
03/22/2010 FYI MESSAGE
03/06/2010 FYI MESSAGE
03/04/2010 REFERRED TO CLAIMS ASSISTANT
03/04/2010 REQUEST FOR EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS
03/04/2010 CALL TO CLAIMANT
03/04/2010 FYI MESSAGE
03/03/2010 FILE TO CLAIMS DEPARTMENT
03/01/2010 REC'D MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION
02/27/2010 FYI MESSAGE
02/16/2010 REFERRED TO CLAIMS ASSISTANT
02/16/2010 2ND REQUEST FOR EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS
02/16/2010 CALL TO CLAIMANT
02/16/2010 CALL TO CLAIMANT
02/16/2010 CALL TO CLAIMANT
02/16/2010 CALL TO CLAIMANT
02/16/2010 FYI MESSAGE
01/29/2010 FYI MESSAGE
01/26/2010 REFERRED TO CLAIMS ASSISTANT
01/26/2010 REQUEST FOR EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS
01/26/2010 CALL TO CLAIMANT
01/25/2010 FYI MESSAGE
01/14/2010 FILE TO CLAIMS DEPARTMENT
01/13/2010 LOSS NOTICE PRINTED FOR FILE
01/13/2010 PURCHASE OF PLAN CONFIRMED
01/13/2010 PAYMENT FOR PLAN CONFIRMED
01/12/2010 ACKNOWLEDGMENT LETTER SENT
01/05/2010 RECEIVED COMPLETED CLAIM FORM
12/21/2009 CLAIM FORM COMPLETED ONLINE
12/21/2009 CLAIM REPORTED ONLINE

More travel insurance Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • To
      27th of Apr, 2010

    Traffic rank of Tripmate.com is 1, 105, 307 (source: www.alexa.com). This is one of the worst rankings of all insurance company in the United States.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      6th of Jul, 2010

    Same exact problem here...my activity log looks exactly like the one you posted... same exact excuses. I sent everything they needed. They tell me they're waiting on info. from our resort...I called our resort in desperation...our resort says they have sent it twice! Tripmate refused to make a call to the resort to sort out the confusion. They say it's against their policy and they just have to wait for our resort to send it????!!! Ha! Someone needs to file a class action law suit...hmmmm...wonder if an attorney would like to take them on...the history of fraud -at worst and incompetence- at best is a mile long...wish I had known this before purchasing trip insurance. At least I wouldn't have lost my money AND dozens of hours of time and aggravation! I plan to post on every forum I can find to warn people...trip advisor ...frommers...fodors...etc... Something truly must be done!

    0 Votes

Post your comment