SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

The American Mall Model SearchSCAM!

1 Review updated:

I tried out for the AMMS. I paid $150.00 like a dummie. I forced my mom and made her feel guilty for "not" believing in me. So she paid the money (mind you shes a single mother) I got my pics and got a 1 yr contract with Model Productions. They said something about being able to land a part in Miley Cyrus new movie "Wings." Then it said I had to pay $75.00 more for business cards. Way to crush my dream. Thank you.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ir
      Dec 07, 2009

    awww man :( freakin jerks i guess they got me to ... i have to go back for the talent part ... well thank you

    -4 Votes
  • Ba
      Dec 16, 2009

    wow...i just paid them $70.oo and i to have been called back to do the photo shoot...but now i wont, thank you so much!!!

    -3 Votes
  • Tp
      Dec 16, 2009

    yeah i had to go back friday...thanks to ya'll I dont have to go through the same mistake how can they do this to people and get away with it???

    -3 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 16, 2010

    I am so glad i didnt pay that cash down..i had told my boy that we will take our own pix which i did. Took him to a nice affordable photographer and sent out his portfolio with bigger names such as gap kids. I had a gut feeling about this mall model and thank god i followed it! I can't believe that this actually is still on going. Why is this not against the law!

    -3 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 16, 2010

    Complete SCAMMM!!! why don't anyone sue this company!! I am sooo happy i followed my gut feeling and ended up leaving once they were going to ask for the first down payment. If they really want you to be a model no down payment is needed. I went home did some research on this company and bamm! all these letter of people being scammed. I hpe they get what they deserve for all these poor people who have been taken advantaged of. I took my son and told him a lie of us needing a portfolio and whisk him away from that place. He came out with a happy smile regardless just knowing that he did the run way. I did get his picture taken at a lagit photographer place and sent it to gap kids directly during their annual casting call and he made it. No fee required, very proffesional, and no money came out of our pocket not even a penny...beware of this model search Mall crap!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Co
      Jan 20, 2010

    NON OF YOU KNOW WHAT YOUR TALKING ABOUT. GET THE FACTS STRAIGHT. I DIDNT HAVE TO PAY ONE PENNY TO THEM AND FOR CHRISTMAS PRESENTS THE OPERATORS ROBIN AND BRYAN ARE PAYING FOR ALL 75 OF THE INTERNS (ME AND THE OTHER INTERNS) COMP CARDS (BUSINESS CARDS). I HAD THE BEST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE AND IM ONLY 17 YEARS OLD! I GOT A ONE YEAR CONTRACT AND I GOT INFORMED BY PHONE SO THEY COULD MAKE SURE MY ADDRESS DIDNT CHANGE AND NOW IM WAITING FOR THE ENVELOPE TO COME IN THE MAIL! I AM SO EXCITED THAT I GOT THIS OPPORTUNITY! THANK YOU BRYAN AND ROBIN FOR OPENING DO MANY DOORS IN MY LIFE! :)

    +3 Votes
  • Se
      Jan 22, 2010

    You must work for them, because it is a SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Jan 28, 2010

    I've been very impressed with the professionalism of the young woman that ran the contest here in Roanoke, VA. Lauryn...known as LA. $150 is cheaper than what you pay at Sears for your babies portraits...not a bad deal if you ask me.
    My daughter won an exclusive contract with the company and they have now asked her to come and work for the company. They have been in business since 1982. Last year they had 16 complaints to the BBB. They had over 4000 contestants in Roanoke alone. DO the math.
    The complaints usually come from people who are mad they didn't get picked for a contract. I will admit it is not the usual way one would think you get a modeling job, but it is sure working for my daughter!
    Good luck to everyone!

    +1 Votes
  • Tm
      Mar 02, 2010

    I am totally going to have to disagree with you. Just because you have to pay for certain things does not mean that its a scam. They are telling you what you are paying for and its for your own benefit. They have been doing this for 25 years. If it was a scam, they would have been caught by now trying to rip people off. They have 19 stages around the US, they have been publicized in malls and by Oprah.
    At first I was iffy about the whole thing too, but I got to intern for them and I learned a lot. They work so hard to make this happen.
    Just because you won a contract doesn't mean that you are automatically gonna get a role in a movie or whatever. You have to work for it.
    Those business cards will help you get jobs. Thats how it is in the business world. You have to advertise yourself so you can be successful.
    I am only 17 and I may not know everything, but I do know that AMMS is not Fake. They want to work with you and help you reach those goals of being discovered and becoming huge.
    BUT there are some consequences like paying for photos, business cards, etc. and having to go to auditions.

    +2 Votes
  • Sl
      Mar 19, 2010

    You notice that all the people that are posting in favor all work FOR the company (interns, scam artists, etc), none of them ever claim to have gotten a MODELLING job with them.

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
      Mar 27, 2010

    i had to pay 150$ but eveything came out very perfect you peeps are crazy iam going to make a movie with miley and thta true they gave me the stuff to get ready your stupid

    +1 Votes
  • Ar
      Apr 02, 2010

    what do you once you win the modeling contract?

    +1 Votes
  • Ho
      Apr 26, 2010

    you guys, im nervous im only 13 i got a contract and i really honestly cant understand all those stupid business words they use in there and i had my mom help and OMG! she couldnt understand it either check that out.

    -2 Votes
  • Ho
      Apr 26, 2010

    i am sooo nervous i just got a contract and i CAN NOT understand any of the stupid business words in there and i asked my mom for help she couldn't understand any of it either how PATHETIC is that. THAT STUPID AMMS COMPANIES ARE TOTAL [censored]ES!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
      May 07, 2010

    I just got done with the first audition, and I passed! Ashley and Jammel were really nice about everything, and everyone that was there tonight. I am not sure is this is a scam (really hope IT IS NOT) but, They are in this business since 1982, that's even before I was born. My point is that if all this was really fake then I don't see why they haven't been stopped, you know what I mean? By the way, they DO tell you at front how this works, even before you even ask. I have 2 days to think about it, and if I go foward with them I hope for the best. If not there are more ways to do this modeling thing. Whatever you decide to do have fun doing it, I did!

    +1 Votes
  • Gq
      May 16, 2010

    My daughter made it through the 1st day, paid the &150.00, had the photo shoot, but there are no pics and now there phone suddenly doesn't work. Sounds like a scam to me. If I do not hear from support soon, something will be done. I have 15 people from the contest on my phone, if this is a scam we're going for a class action suit, any else interested let me know!

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Jun 16, 2010

    I was a contract winner and now i have to pay more money for business cards no way. Plus i didn't evn get my pictures i called about a thousand times and no answer they just packed up and left. Moy mother gave them money she didnt have and they just leave!! OMG!! dude complete rip off...they make you fell pretty but let me tell you all something you dont need them to tell you ur beautiful.
    Another thing i saw them at my hometown in Holtville its a lil town and they totally were FUGLY dude. no make up hair gross and to top it off there car was crap!! dude never again will i try out!!

    -1 Votes
  • Kr
      Jun 17, 2010

    If you see AMMS in your local mall...Run for you life! I took my 2, almost 3 year old daughter to try out. I filled out the peice of paper and they did call...actually several times to setup a so called "audition". So I took her there 7:30p and it looks very legit. The stage with the lights, the music and the tv's. So I get there and wait with all the many other people in line to get a number and a brochure. Once we get through that line, we wait in another line to talk to the girl in charge. The brochure states that you must pay $150 for 1 style, $240 for 2 styles and $300 for 3 styles. I was told by several people in the model world that if your child or you is good enough to be in pictures, then you should NEVER HAVE TO PAY A DIME...EVER! So I let her do the free audition, walk the platform and then we waited. After everyone walks the catwalk, you wait a few minutes and if your number is called, they want you to go up in front of the audience. They called my daughter and guess what, all the other kids that auditioned. Of course they did, because they want the parents to feel special and they say, your daughter is so cute and beautiful, she did so good! Then want you to wait in line again to give them a deposit of the package you pick, come back the next day to do a photo shoot and then come back again to do a talent show! My almost 3 year old is going to do a talent show for 45 seconds? So after I sit there, all the red flags start to go off. The girl even approached me afterwards and said she did so good because she saw me on the phone being hesitant about signing up my daughter. I then contacted my friend who said do not sign up, it's a scam. Noone should ever make you pay for photos period! So I left with my daughter, got online and saw the many, many scam posts. BTW, Im in Nor Cal and this company is big in Atlanta and Florida! JUST DON'T DO IT!

    -1 Votes
  • Em
      Jun 29, 2010

    how do i sighn up????? for amms????????? i realy want to do it????????

    +1 Votes
  • Kr
      Jul 08, 2010

    They are awful !! To make you think you kid has a shot, how disappointing! My daughter was crushed, and thought I should pay, and was mad at me! It made me so mad that they could crush their dreams! Shame on them and it pisses me off! What an outrageous scam!!

    -2 Votes
  • Cc
      Jul 10, 2010

    I'm a mother of an 8 n 6 years old. On May2010 spoted the AMMS at the mall and as everyone here had said, I went through the same process and instead of paying $150 for each child they gave me a discount and paid $100 for each child for the photo. They gave me the CD the same day the photo were taken and it was notthing even close to professional!!! Even my youngest child can take a better picture than that.
    After the final was told would receive result in the mail within 2 weeks and now is July2010, I just received the result and both my child was choosen to be the modeling winning contract. State will have 60 days to complete the short form which is the contract, also provided a printing casting card company with it for me to do my child printing. If I decide to continue with this it will probably cost me more then another $200 to print the casting card that require with the contract.
    So I came in here to do a research and after all these review of the company it had help me made the decision final!!!
    Thank you for all the advise I find in here and wish I would have did the research before I even paid a penny.
    PS IS UP TO U TO DECIDE TO BELIEVE IT OR NOT

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 14, 2010

    Oh boy, I feel like an idiot. I just paid them $70 today for the portfolio shots of my 9 year old daughter. We're supposed to go back tomorrow for her shoot. I thought since they only chose a few people as winner that is was legit. But I should have known better when they chose a kid who looked like an idiot on the runway in an older age category. So, now what? How do I get my money back?

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Jul 20, 2010

    It seems to me there's alot of sour grapes in this forum. I just got a contract as well, and I'll be paying the $150. NO AGENCY will pay for your portfolio. I don't care if you're Megan fox, it's your obligation to cover small expenses like that. I'm sorry but they gave you the 80% / 20% contract as it is. Every comment mentions "not having the money" and "single mothers". Maybe that's the real problem here- the fact that you people think you're going to take a free ride to fame.

    +1 Votes
  • Li
      Jul 23, 2010

    its reaaly fishy, my son did one win the first audition, but I hada funny feeling. They were taking credit for something that opra did for a model, when it had nothing to do with them ... I offered my potifolio and they said that they wanted thier photographers.. Duh.. They tring to make money...

    0 Votes
  • St
      Jul 27, 2010

    I just attended and BROUGHT my portfolio. The person in charge did not seem to know what a portfolio actually looked like. I opened it to the beginning. He didn't even look at it. Instead he asked for 5 different photos and a signed waiver from the photographer, which he would like in less than 24 hours. An actual portfolio (such as mine) will have many looks and many photographers. Perhaps getting a waiver is a custom I wasn't made aware of - but in the business of acting, no waivers are required from photographers who take your headshots. However, headshots are mainly used for internal business. In the business of modeling, this is the first time I was ever asked to get a waiver from my photographers - and I have been in business since 1999. The American Model Search is currently in Indianapolis as of July 2010. I've read about how people post they will get people in the movies - and I've been on that side - no one gets there without an agent to talk to the casting director who requests them for the audition. I say bravo for the mom who did the right thing by listening to her kid, doing her research, getting involved with professionals and working the proper steps to getting her kid in a gap ad. Indiana has an agent already who deals with models and actors. I can tell you I've dealt with her and in 18 months got one modeling job for about $150 or less and no acting auditions or modeling auditions. I paid a private photographer to do my headshots and I got a reprinter to give me about 100 copies for about $100 or less. Business cards you can get now for about $5 - depends on quality. For people just starting out you should never get professional services with professional prices until you are a professional. Start smart, work up professionally.
    Also- the literature from the search says to consider modeling as a hobby. How much money do you waste on hobbies and uncompleted projects of nonprofit? They also did not leave a message on my machine - I had to call them back as a missed call to know when and where they were having auditions. If they were professionals, they would have left a message. People who don't leave messages don't care. I also find it interesting that the fees for the photos seem to keep going down. Right now they ask $50 upfront and provide a waiver box for those of us who are already union with portfolios and don't need to pay for their photo session.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Jul 29, 2010

    I would like to know how one can get a refund for the deposit made to 'reserving our spot' for the photo shoot - we have not taken the photos yet, can we still get a refund ?

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Jul 29, 2010

    Emily are you dumb or are you dumb. Are you really reading these posts? I'm not even going to waste my daughter freaking time.

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Jul 29, 2010

    Dear Rearest Red,

    You need to shut ur trap because you dont know what you are talking about. Are you a single parent? Do you have any freaking kids? I will be damn if i pay $150 for a freaking freelance photographer to take pics of my child when i can go to Olan Mills and pay $150 for those simple pics plus more. You need a life. Lets be realistic here. Would you really waste your time if you had kids to pay for pics and crap your kid and tons of other kids would get? You need to go back to bed and wake up. Then start talking after brushing your teeth.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 29, 2010

    A real modeling agency will NEVER ask for money. They will ask for a percentage from each pay check, but that's it. They may mention you need headshots, but duh, of course you do.
    Any "agency" who asks for money is a scam and you should run far away.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 29, 2010

    Actually I dont know what to think.. I too was very excited for my son...he did such an awesome job, with the audition, runway and his talent...and his pics wer off the charts...I love those pics... after the talent division we recieved his disc in the mail per express...they are great pics...and before hand he had been notified by phone that he had WON A CONTRAT... yess! they did ask for more money for the com cards and buisness cards...i too thght it was a scamm because i have beem scammed myself before trying to be an inspiring model...but i called and they were still willing to work with me to hold his contract...unfortunately! i still didnt have the funds...So I GUESS SOMEBODYS LUCKY KID JUST GOT HIS CONTRACT HERE IN TEXAS however were not worried cuz alot of those auditions are out of state and that means more money...traveling!! i will sign him with a local modeling agency now!!! :)

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 29, 2010

    Maybe it's your inability to grasp the English language that is making the concept hard for you to understand.
    A modeling agency will never ask for money. NEVER. I'm not sure why this is difficult for you to grasp, ChristiansMommieDearest, but it's true. Yay, you got some pictures, that's all you're getting. There's no contract waiting, nothing. He never had a shot with this so called "agency" because it's all scam.
    By the way, it's /aspiring/ not 'inspiring'. Please tell me you speak properly around your kid otherwise he has no chance accomplishing much if he talks like you've portrayed yourself here.

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 29, 2010

    okay Mrs...or whatever you seem to be very upset. Im sorry your child didnt get her wish, and now that im reading your post " I wonder why!!!".. I truly had another post from my phone for you, but some how it didnt seem to upload...I just think thats a sign to not to STOOP to your level of ignorance...because i dont know you and you dont know me! I am gonna say one thing; THIS IS PART OF THE BUISNESS...YOU GO IN HOPING AND TAKING CHANCES ...YOU TOOK THAT CHANCE SO IF YOU DID NOT TAKE HEED AT THE BEGINING WHEN YOU FELT UNSATISFIED THEN THATS YOUR OWN FAULT AND LOSS!! IM VERY RPOUD OF MY SON FOR STEPPING UP TO THE PLATE, PERFORMING AT HIS BEST FOR THE FIRST TIME IN HIS LIFE, HE IS 8 YRS OLD..THE WORLD IS NOT OVER WITH AND DOSENT END AT THE AMMS...I RECIEVED BOTH DISC AND HIS CONTRACT IN THE MAIL THE NEXT WEEK AFTER THE PHONE CALL..IT WAS BOTH AND EXCITEMENT AND A DISAPPOINTMENT...EXCITED FOR THE SIMPLE FACT THAT HE OUT DID ALL THE OTHER CHILDERN THAT WAS IN HIS GROUP AND DISAPPOINTED WITH THE CONCEPTS OF THE CONTRACT...ITS OKAY!LIFE GOES ON..SO SHALL WE..THESE ARE MEMORIES TO SHARE WITH OUR FAMILIE, AND TO CONTINUING BIGGER AND BETTER OPPORTUNITIES AHEAD...SO GET OVER IT, AND FIND YOUSELF SOMETHING ELSE BETTER TO DO INSTEAD OF TRYING TO INSULT OTHER PEOPLES THOUGHTS AND IDEAS ON THIS SITE...GOOD U BELIEVE YOU WERE SCAMMED!! GO TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUERAL, PROTEST A SIGN, AND GO TO YOUR LOCAL NEWS PAPER...DONT NOONE WANNA HERE WHAT YOU HAVE TO SAT; IF YOUR MISERABLE..SEEK HELP AND GET OVER IT!!!because i laughed at your defense at first, because i wasnt pertaining to you or anyone else's thoughts...if you think so; i apolojize...i didnt even read your post, so im quite puzzled..but thats just life on the internet i suppose. No more comments!! Im done with this and You Ms, or Mrs...GET IT TOGETHER..."YOUR" CHILD WILL NOT SUCCED IF HE OR SHE HAS AN ATTITUDE LIKE YOU! ; )

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 29, 2010

    "OOOOH YEAH;LOL...SINCE WE ALL GOT A TEACHER ON THE SITE OR BETTER YET THE PERSONAL "SPELL" CHECKER...I BETTER CORRECT MY ENGLISH..LOL!! WHILE IM TYPING...BEFORE I BE LABELIZED AS HAVING A SPEECH PROBLEM...HOW CAN A PERSON NOT SPEAK CORRECTLY JUST BECAUSE THEY MISPELL OR FORGET A LETTER OR TWO???? DAMM U DONT HAVE NOTHING ELSE BETTER TO DO; TRY ANGER MANAGEMENT, HUN!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 29, 2010

    You just made a huge fool of yourself, honey.
    You have abused the English language yet again. Here's hoping Christian is your one and only child, that you never breed again, and that he ends up with a better grasp of the language than you have.
    Your kid didn't "out do" anyone. Everyone who shoves money at these people gets a contract. Ever hear of a vanity press? You pay them money and your stuff gets published, not because it's good but because you had the pocket change to put your garbage out there, some with this scam of an "agency".
    By the by, MommieDearest, I have no children. Never said I did and I probably never will (by choice, I'd rather adopt) so your assumption that I must be upset about them not being accepted is trash. Way to make an [censor] out of yourself. I also can't be "defensive" towards something like this as I have nothing to be defensive about. You mistook my disgust at your inability to use proper words where needed yet you pop out a kid to raise with the same stupidity. I would say you're just ignorant but considering you're CHOOSING not to learn that makes your behaviour just stupid.
    From the general stupidity and lack of any maturity whatsoever I'm guessing you're actually a child, upset that mommy wouldn't shell out money to some scammer so you could have the title of actress/actor/model/whatever to shove in someone's face.
    Just so you know, little one, just because a person sends you a piece of paper does not make you a star, it means you paid $150 for a piece of paper. Put that on your wall, that will be your greatest achievment.

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 29, 2010

    *snicker* Anger management advice from the person who doesn't know how to lay off the shift key + 1 and capslock.
    ...
    Labelized...
    XD

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 29, 2010

    GET OFF THE SITE LADY OR SIR: LOL!! IM SO LAUGHING AT YOU..SO HILARIOUS..!! THERE YOU GO AGAIN. YOU'RE A TEACHER I MUST GUESS!! LOL...

    CHRISTAN IS 1 OF TWO;NOT THE ONLY CHILD !I MUST SAY I AM "BLESSED" TO HAVE..(LOL, STILL)

    BY THE WAY I KNW WHAT IM DOING. U MENTION IGNORANCE HOWEVER NO ONE DID NOT GIVE YOU THE IDEA TO COMMENT IN REPLY TO WHAT I HAD POSTED...YOU TOOK IT UPON YOURSELF TO LASH OUT AT ME...FOR WHAT??WHO ARE YOU? SO WHO'S REALLY THE IGNORANT ONE???

    BY THE WAY, I AM A GROWN ADULT! A CHILD BY FAR!!!

    GET A LIFE!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 29, 2010

    All right, sweetie. I do believe you're too young for this site. Get your mommy to give you a bottle and go take a nap. You sure are bratty right now, you obviously need the nap.

    +1 Votes
  • Ha
      Aug 02, 2010

    What a waist of my time and my daughters I can't beieve they can get away with this! I saw all the kids looking up to their parents saying please pay the money even though its back to school and most people can't afford [protected] dollars but we can't see our kids disapointed so we pay. I just hope I can put a stop on the check and just learn from this without being 50 dollars out of pocket.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
      Aug 02, 2010

    Its True every thing is true this is not a scam!!! SO JUST STOP MAKING UP CRAP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      Aug 02, 2010

    How can people on this complaint board say that AMMS is NOT A SCAM? It is COMPLETELY A SCAM!!! Guess what, everyone who pays them their money will receive a contract, EVERYONE! If you want to get your daughter, son or yourself into modeling then you need to send a 1 5x7 head shot and 1 5x7 body shot to any major modeling agency with your name, age, height, weight, clothing size and shoe size on the back of the cards. That will get your foot into the door anywhere. If they want you, then they will call you to come in and talk about a portfolio. Then you will have real pictures done by a professional photographer! I live in Northern California and the AMMS has been in our mall in Pleasanton for about 4 months now. They must be doing very well and getting a ton of money from people out here, because they are still paying the fees to stay in our mall. I posted earlier about my experience and I promise you, if you pay, you will not get any money back and your so called "contract" will be pretty much a piece of paper that says you are under contract and they get %20 of your profits if they book you on a shoot or audition. No modeling agency would ever take that much from you and you would most likely be connected with an agent who would book you on shoots, etc. Don't pay these scammers a dime, unless you want to be taken to the bank. Anyone who says they were "picked" and said they had to pay more money for some 5 dollar online Vista Print Cards for bookings for an extra $150, then they got scammed at the mall having to pay money for their pictures! Don't believe the "Oh my, they picked me hype" because if you fall for it, you will be the next AMMS VICTIM!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment