Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Telus Mobility

Posted:    

do not consider telus mobility!

Complaint Rating:  95 % with 19 votes
95% 19
4.75
My name is Daniel and I have been a Telus Mobility customer since December 2004. Apart from not receiving a cell phone signal in my house, I found my Telus cell phone to be useful and productive. During the first year and a half I did not have any issues with Telus' customer service representatives until I received a bill for over $1,000.00 in services for the month of August 2006. Curiously, Telus stopped mailing detailed invoices/bills to my house just before the shocking invoice. Telus' web site also did not display the breakdown of incoming and outgoing calls for the August service. Now Metropolitan Credit Adjusters Ltd. are calling my home and harassing me at my workplace requesting money for an invoice for an outrageous amount that I cannot confirm is warranted or justified, because Telus refuses to send me a detailed bill. I am totally dissatisfied and very frustrated with Telus' stonewalling in providing a simple invoice to fulfill a request from a long-term customer.

During the beginning of September 2006, I contacted Telus' customer service line to request a detailed invoice/bill that displayed all incoming and outgoing calls because I did not receive a bill in the mail and Telus' online web site only displayed an amount owing of over $1,000.00 for August's services. All of my past invoices from Telus Mobility, before August 6, 2006, had been outlined in an itemized billing structure that allowed me to view a detailed analysis of my mobile services. The customer service was helpful to some degree and advised me that I had to pay $10-$20 for a new invoice to be printed and mailed out. I made the point that I was not responsible for the lost invoice and went on to explain that I was being more than generous in agreeing to pay for a reprinted invoice. The customer service representative assured me that the new invoice would arrive near the end of September.

Near the end of September, Telus disconnected my mobile services without warning and I was again compelled to call Telus' customer service number. I explained to the customer service representative that I was going through an unfortunate marital separation and that I needed to see an invoice that outlined the incoming and outgoing calls for the mobile services for the month of August. I understand that Telus requires payment for their services, and Telus needs to understand that I require a detailed invoice to justify their payment demands. The customer representative understood that I was going through a separation and that my self-employed contracts fluctuate my financial situation. Telus' representative agreed that it was hard for me to commit to a concrete payment plan for a bill that was over $1,000.00. The customer representative then stated that I had to accept their payment plan or I would not have my cell phone re-activated. To avoid argument I agreed to Telus' payment plan, believing that I would receive a detailed invoice as had been promised twice in one month.

On November 30th my phone was disconnected again and I had not received any detailed invoices in the mail or a disconnection warning. Telus' online site did not display the itemized billing that I requested back in September. The first representative I spoke to was not the least bit interested in my request for the detailed bill/invoice. I explained that almost two months had passed and I had not received the detailed invoice that I had twice requested. Clearly I am not paying for an invoice that is not broken down in a detailed format, and it is Telus' responsibility to justify their services and provide me with a detailed bill. The conversation with the first representative was not going anywhere and I requested to speak with a manager, due to the fact that no one at Telus would listen to or follow through with my simple request for an invoice. I was directed to Erika and was told that I could not speak to a manager unless my reason was valid. Erika was extremely rude and would not listen to my simple request which was to mail me a detailed invoice that was the same as the invoices that were sent prior to August 2006. Erika continuously accused me of not paying my bills due to my financial situation and did not validate my reason for holding back the entire payment. Exhausted from arguing, I explained to Erika that as a customer of Telus I do not pay for harassment, belligerence, and incompetence for not providing bills; I pay for their professional services. I then requested to terminate my Telus account immediately and Erika began to threaten collection action on my account if I terminated the account. I am appalled by Telus' despicable customer service tactics and attitude, and if the company would record each customer service conversation, Telus executives would realize the extent of the contempt in which their customers are held by their employees.

Telus continues to charge me approximately $15.54 a month for late payments, when the itemized bill should have arrived at my house at least by the end of September 2006. If I had received the itemized bill, I would have paid the outstanding balance to avoid any future service disruptions. When Telus disconnects my phone without any notice or warning beforehand, it is obvious that Telus intends to completely ignore my simple request for an itemized bill, and bully me into submission. As a customer of your company who signed a three year contract, I naively expected to be treated honestly and fairly, but by ignoring my two requests for a detailed invoice you have breached any trust I may have had with the company. I am now wondering whether a fraud has been committed with regard to my account, but I have no way of knowing because I have been refused an itemized bill.

Within several minutes of searching for Telus Mobility customer service problems, I came across numerous complaints regarding Telus’ inability and unwillingness to handle simple problems in a professional manner. These complaints would definitely arouse questions as to the competency and honesty of Telus, and serve as a warning to the general public.

For the most part I do not have any problem paying Telus as soon as they can provide me with a detailed invoice that displays all mobile services for any incoming and outgoing calls for the month of August. If I do not receive a detailed invoice outlining the incoming and outgoing calls for the services given during the month of August 2006, I see no reason why I should pay the bill amount of $1,060.80, which is 934% more than my average bill.

After canceling my account with Telus, I received a gift card in the mail. Rob Durham, Senior Vice President Client Operations states, "Tis the season, and what a better time to say thank you for being with us. You're one of our best clients - and we value your business." Mr. Durham concludes the card with, "We realize you have a choice and are very glad you've chosen us. We're committed to earning your business by providing you exceptional value, a superior network and a client care team that's second to none."

I would like to speak with Mr. Durham directly and explain how rude, ignorant, incompetent and belligerent his team of “customer service” representatives are. Telus' customer representatives make me feel like I am of no consequence as a customer and definitely not one of their "best clients".

This entire situation with Telus has caused me distress, frustration, has ultimately wasted my time and cost me money. I have been forced to remove your unprofessional services and re-print my business office stationery. Almost every client of mine has asked why my mobile phone line has changed and I explain that Telus could not resolve simple issues in a reasonable, competent and professional manner.

As a result of your unprofessional and questionable actions, I have signed a mobile contract with Rogers Wireless. For some time now I have been well satisfied with Rogers' customer service skills and their cable and Internet services. Telus should seriously consider remodeling their customer service operations with quality managers and strict service guidelines. When your employees go out of their way to harass and berate customers and when they refuse to provide a bill, which is a basic necessity, then Telus has a real problem on its hands.

I will not recommend Telus to any of my family, friends, colleagues or business partners; in fact I will make sure they hear of my experience with Telus. It is very unfortunate that Telus cannot practice professional customer service skills and consistent billing procedures in order to resolve simple issues for a long term customer. In the meantime I am contacting the government Consumer Protection Branch.
Complaint comments Comments (8)    Updated: Complaint country Canada Complaint category Telecommunications

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
A  1st of Feb, 2007 by    0 Votes
I strongly agree with the complaints of Daniel. I have had similar experiences with Telus Mobility. They also charged me for text messages that I did not make or receive on a monthly basis... I cancelled my account with them and they are making out as though they cancelled it because of lack of payment. Not only that, they sent a bill in January and even though I made a payment, they sent it to a collections agency. I really have strong feelings for Telus Mobility right now and they are not loving at all..... I do not recommend this company to anyone for any length of time or for any services whatsoever!
A  15th of Feb, 2007 by    0 Votes
I also have trouble with Telus Mobility, they were happy to take my money and open a new account for me. They never closed my old account I assumed they did. They were charging me on both accounts even though I understood the old account was either closed or rolled into my new account, until I got an abusive phone call from a collection agency. I was paying my bill every month and they were happy to take my money meanwhile they were not applying any of the money towards the account they did not close. Their customer service department is like a dictatorship where we are the stupid customers and they have every right to accuse us of anything they feel like and take as much money as they like from us. With Telus Mobility the customer never gets the benefit of the doubt, the customer should shut up and pay up as far as Telus Mobility is concerned or else be sure their collection agency will abuse and harass them. I would never recommend telus mobility to anyone.
A  3rd of Aug, 2007 by    0 Votes
My situation was somewhat similar - when I finally closed my account with Telus after 4 years in April 2007, they continued to charge me for two months afterwards. I did not have a contract with Telus. This was when Bell was first able to take Telus clients and keep their existing numbers. When I called to speak to a rep at Telus to ask why I had been billed for the months of May and June, they told me it was Bell's fault for not pulling the number through properly and that I would have to pay. I told them that it was unfair since I had specifically phoned and canceled my phone in April, and I had been using a Bell phone all of May and June, not Telus. After hanging up and speaking to four different people, I finally reached a manager who listened to the problem, and changed the bill for me to the final amount which was $850. (This was for two full use business cell phones by the way, which is why the bill was so high). When I received the bill at the end of June, it was back up to $1200. Once again, I called to see what was going on, and why that number had changed and why I was still being billed for months I had not used the phone after cancellation. The rep was clearly not listening and so I decided to contact Bell to see if they could help me. Bell got on the phone right away with Telus, and soon after, I received a call back from Bell explaining that the fault was not theirs, it was telus's mistake, and that they had fixed the problem. When I called telus to check about the final bill, they finally assured me that it was back down to the rate it should have been, minus the months, and that the final bill, that I requested, would be in the mail shortly.
Not surprisingly, the bill came, and two days later, I got a call from Collections. Telus gave me not time to pay, and although the payment date on that final bill was July 27, it went to collections on July 10. When I spoke to the surprisingly friendly agent at CBV Collections about the unfairness of the situation, he flat out told me that he understood, and personally would never deal with Telus as they were "well-known" for this behavior, and it happens frequently. He actually told me that I was better off with Bell! I will NEVER recommend Telus to anyone, and will make it my duty to inform as many people as I can.
A  12th of Mar, 2008 by    0 Votes
All of this has been very disheartening to read. Like Daniel, I have recently been receiving bills which are WAY higher than usual, and I have received absolutely nothing from Telus which documents the calls I apparently made (16 hours worth of airtime above and beyond my plan in a single month! And I almost never use the phone!). I am feeling really hopeless and out-of-luck right about now, as it doesn't appear as though I will come to an agreeable solution any time soon (based upon what I've been reading from other customers).

Who is a dissatisfied customer supposed to turn to? The Better Business Bureau will, at best, nudge them in order to inspire some sort of honesty.
D  1st of Apr, 2008 by    0 Votes
You can see your bills details for free on mytelusmobility.com .

So you don't have to pay for getting a print-out...

Also, if you could see details on the paper bill before, did you change your plan?

In these cases, contact customer care by e-mail, I noticed they respond very quickly, plus you have everything in writing.
A  10th of Jun, 2009 by    0 Votes
We have just received a letter from Telus saying, "A review of your closed account(s) indicated there is still an outstanding balance." What are they thinking? IT HAS BEEN TWO YEARS SINCE WE CLOSED THIS ACCOUNT! Does Telus randomly send out these type of letters hoping that some idiot or naive person just accepts it and pays whatever amount they come up with. This seems like a scam. They did not even give an explanation as to what the $50.00 charge was for. How can there be an outstanding balance on a CLOSED account.

We are done with Telus. To many problems and disappointments.
A  7th of Nov, 2009 by    0 Votes
I had to owe telus $280 for two months worth of billing, but i wasnt able to pay on time due to the frustration on trying to figure out why i had to pay $115 a month for a supposed $60/month plan. A week before the paycheck that was going to complete the savings i made so I can pay of this $280 fee, alongside money to buy metropasses, food, and other women necessities, Telus had randomly disconnected my phone in the middle of the day with no warning whatsoever at all! I had to call in and as a softy girl I just agreed to whatever they were saying, that I was the one who made mistakes, that I was the one who caused my bill to reach such high fees, when I clearly only use the phone on my free hours. I added 5 bucks for free incoming and even added another 5 bucks for free starting at 5 so I can avoid such high fees, but nothing worked. That is why I had reached $280 debt. So as I talked to them, the shocking news got to me - I owe them $1009 and something cents. They wouldn't explain to me properly how $280 reached to $1009 in just a month since they disconnected my phone. They told me that there was a phone bill that was added when my phone was disconnected and that was almost $200! I DONT KNOW HOW IT GOT TO $200 WHEN MY PHONE WAS FULLY DISCONNECTED! I can never yell or be angry cause its just in my nature, its hard. but for the Love of God, why does TELUS have to be so INCONSIDERATE! WHY CANT THEY HELP IN EVEN JUST EXPLAINING PROPELY INSTEAD OF JUST SAYING "OH THAT AMOUNT WAS FROM A PHONEBILL AFTER THE $280 WAS ISSUED! LIKE WTF! But thats not the case. I started question where the hell the other $600 and up bucks came from and I did not know that they had added termination fee of over $600 bucks until 2 weeks later. I had less than 6 weeks to pay them or they would send the issue over to the collection agency, and you know what, I AM ONLY 18 AND I FEEL LIKE I ALREADY LIVE ON MY OWN, HAVING TO GIVE MY WHOLE MONTHS WORK PAY AND HARDWORK AND EXTRA HARDWORK TO PEOPLE WHO ARE INCONSIDERATE AND SELFISH CREDIT RUINERS. its really disappointing how even telus workers don't try to talk to Telus and try to make their services better. When I turned 18 i was so excited to have my first phone fall under my own name, paid for it, and signed a 3 year contract of just $30 to $40 some odd bucks. I went through 3 different phones because each phones broke down somehow! First one started reseting its ownself when i try sending a message, I bring it to a telus store in Scarborough Town Centre to get it fixed, but they just amde it worse. They got rid of all the games I had baught, costs over $30! I baught an HTC after since whats the point of having free text if my phone cant text anyways. HTC DUAL SUCKS! IT LAGS, CANNOT FUNCTION PROPERLY! good camera, dats it! dats all der is to it! but having to add the data plan dats what made my bills go over $115 per month which led me to the $280 which led me to the friggin $1009!!! I was so stupid enuff to have baught another 3 year plan to use while I pay of the old phone, an LG Keybo for free with student plan (my fave 5) for 25 to 30 bucks a month. I find out, In two months i reached $400 !!! THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY DID NOT PUT THE NUMBERS I LISTED ON THE MY FAVE 5 NUMBERS, so the lady said they will deduct the fee of the calls with the numbers I will give her that was supposed to be listed in my fave 5 in the very beginning! and until now, 2 weeks later, my phone bill online still says I owe 400 ###ING DOLLARS!

i think itll be more worth if i just shoot myself in the head than dealing with people who wont help, who will charge for the sake of charging. they think its fun, well its not much fun when 3/4 of the world is hating on them and the quarter left DONT even know bout them or wont ever know about them. thats how ### they are!
A  16th of Nov, 2009 by    0 Votes
Telus is the worst. My wife was offrered a package November 4th/09 (we were renigotiating our contract). They gave us a deadline to accept...a deadline!?!?! Do you not want to keep us around for 3 more years? We didn't call back to accept that package.
Yesterday she called again (Nov 15/09). We had a better experience, 20 dollars cheaper than the first package!. After hanging up with Telus and having our new offer on the table I had one more question to ask. I called 5 minutes after my wife spoke with them only to have them tell me that the deal we had five minutes ago was no longer available. "We made a mistake" We were floored. They even lied and told us that they sent us voice messages to tell us. They didn't. They would not honour the deal and two hours later we still had no renigotiated contract. When our contract is up (6 months), we are finished with Telus.

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

TELUS Communications Logo TELUS Communications
Customer Care Service
PO Box 7575
Vancouver
British Columbia
Canada - V6B8N9
+1 866 558 2273
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send