SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

TD Bank / overdraft fees

Bangor, ME, United States Review updated:

I went into td bank this morining with my son. He had an overdraft fee of $140. Oo. On account history it was a positive balance and showed no returns all for 4/8/13. The overdraft fee was dated 4/9/2013. Thought I had it resovled with the bank to 0 balance so we could close the account. He had one item pending so could not close the account this morning. Got a call from my son who went onto his account and there was another $175.00 over drafts fees listed with no new incoming debits. What they did was put the 4/9/2013 fee of $140. Oo paid first and then the pending amounts listed that was already taken care of and charged the $175.00 overdraft fee for them. They did drop the $175.00 charges.
This bank is a nightmare!!! I also had an incident with them when I opened a saving account. Got a call a few days later stating that they put a hold on my account because they did not have my street address. I would say that their employee did not do their job correctly when I opened the account. I do not requiremend this td bank to anyone!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mi
      May 12, 2010

    It's amazing that TD Banks policy is to post the largest amounts to your account first. The reason they do this is so when your deposit brings your account into the POSITIVE they can take out that large chunk of OVERDRAFT FEEs and put you back in the negative and then charge you for the six tiny withdraws after that (which average 3-6 dollars). It's a total scam that lets them make money on a $2 cup of coffee. In 2 days I deposited $750 out of which they took $385 for overdraft fees... and they wonder why people can't make it today!

    Why don't they charge a % of what they cover for you instead of a flat fee??? Why because they'd make no money that way... The customer service rep I spoke with assured me that the BANK is not making any money with overdfaft fees.. HAHA What a laugher... I told her that I knew she worked at the bank so she had to be "PRO-BANK" I beleive that there is a special place that BANK big wigs will go to EVENTUALLY.

    0 Votes
  • Ov
      May 27, 2010

    TD Bank charged me $350.00 in overdraft fees and my account doesn't even show anything has overdrafted. They offered to return $105.00 which is nothing considering I still don't understand why they took it in the first place. Don't ever use TD Bank they are out for money and their customers

    0 Votes
  • Ov
      May 27, 2010

    TD Bank is not out for their customers but out to resequence all transactions so they can get you with the highest overdraft fees.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Jun 23, 2010

    I first signed up with TD Bank several years ago and up until today, was quite pleased with them. I've even referred several friends who opened accounts. Last weekend I rented a car with enough in my account to cover it. I had funds transferred to my account to cover any additional I needed for the weekend. Long story short, they held the car charge until Monday and allowed several smaller charges go through. Then when the transfer posted, they put the car charges through causing a $105.00 overdraft fee. Then to make matters worse, I called today to discuss it and saw there were two pending charges. No problem. For some reason, I just checked it again and now they've put the two pending charges through and has charged me another $70.00. I have had it with this bank. They are not for the little man. Thanks Regis and Kelly!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 06, 2010

    I was well aware of TD Bank's recent policy of customer use and abuse, but, it did really didn't hit home until after I meticulously planned my BillPay items so that they would not be over-run by check cashing. So...I awoke one Saturaday morning to see three medium sized checks, backed-dated one day, so that they preceeded my seven smaller BillPay items! By doing this, TD conveys the message: "Hey, dim-witted customer, now we have to charge you $35 per over-draft (7 x $35=$245!!!)...and you should be happy we're paying at all!"

    I went to the bank and raised hell. I may as well having been speaking to Ripley's wax figure. No real explanation, defense of policy or empathy.

    I went home and prepared a letter for the "NJ Commissioner of Insurance and Banking". The next day, a TD bank rep offers me "$70 courtesy refund". I was so tempted to tell him where to shove it ... but, I'm a gentleman. Two days later, I received a letter from the Banking Commissioner that my complaint was being referred to the Treasury Department, "Office of the Comptroller of the Currency". A copy of my complaint has been sent to TD headquarters.
    The moral of the story is: Never stop complaining! Do it paper, online, by phone, by blog, by facebook, by twitter...do it all. TD Bank is a rotten, immoral institution that has about as much a place in American society as...hell, I don't know what. Give me some suggestions.

    +1 Votes
  • Fo
      Jul 06, 2010

    I to have been screwed by td bank I get a payroll direct deposit every Wednesday night/ thursday morning. On more than 1 occasion I have checked my pending transactions up to 4 am thurs morning and have been in the positive. Then they update there system and as if by magic 6 or 7 items have cleared plus the $35 for each cleared item and then my check is deposited less the $250 or so for the over drafts. So I go to the bank to raise hell and tell them that i don't see how this happened when my check comes in at the same time as the other transactions their customer service person throughs a check register at me and says I should keep track of all my transactions. through all of 2009 they must have stolen about $2 to $3, 000 from me. So I finally hear about these credit unions how the only person they answer to is you and i switch my account over to teachers federal credit union and lo and behold my payroll is available to me by 9:30 wednesday nite!!! Do you think td bank is ripping off the small person. I would love to find a lawyer to take on td bank in a class action lawsuit for their grand larceny any one else have the similar problem or is there a lawyer who wants to try and take on a big bank

    -2 Votes
  • Ti
      Jul 06, 2010

    If "as if by magic 6 or 7 items have cleared" at the same time as your direct deposit goes in, you obviously made those transactions BEFORE the deposit. Thereby spending money you did not have available to spend. Count yourself lucky they're not pressing charges against you for attempted theft.

    +3 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 06, 2010

    IT IS COMMON KNOWLEDGE NOW THAT MANY BUSINESS ENTITIES, ESPECIALLY BANKS, HIRE GUYS LIKE "STEALTH PILOT" AND "TIRED_OF_STUPID" TO MONITOR THESE SITES AND TRY TO DISCREDIT LEGITIMATE COMPLAINTS.
    WELL... LOOK WHO IS "NOT SO STEALTH". AND, LOOK WHO "SHOULDN'T_BE_TALKING_ABOUT_STUPID".
    WHAT I'M REALLY TIRED OF IS ARROGANCE WHICH BORDERS ON CRIMINAL ACTIVITY...IT IS TIME FOR ALL GOOD MEN AND WOMEN TO PICK THEIR SIDES. THE CLASS ACTION SUITS WILL ONLY BE THE BEGINNING OF THE LEGAL PROBLEMS TD BANK AND THEIR CRONIES WILL HAVE TO FACE.

    +1 Votes
  • Ti
      Jul 07, 2010

    What would they do if they had to take responsibility? Probably die of the shock. And you just wait -- the day is coming when the banks will have to deny these overdrafts, and then these same people will be here whining "how dare they turn down my check/card! I've always paid back the thousands of dollars I overdrafted!"
    I can't wait.

    0 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 08, 2010

    IN OVER 40 YEARS OF PERSONAL AND BUSINESS BANKING I HAVE NEVER BOUNCED A CHECK OR PAID AN BANK EXTRA FEE UNTIL TD BANK TOOK OVER COMMERCE BANK, SO, LET'S NOT TALK ABOUT BEING RESPONSIBLE.

    THE FACT REMAINS THAT TD BANK MANIPULATES WHAT IS SHOWN ON LINE AND OFTEN EXCLUDES REGULAR CHECKS ON THE ONLINE LISTING UNTIL THE DAY AFTER THEY ACTUALLY ARE PUT THROUGH. THIS IS DECEPTIVE, AND... I GUESS WE'LL FIND OUT IF IT IS ILLEGAL WHEN I GET A RESPONSE FROM THE OCC.

    WITH REGARDS TO THE ISSUE OF COMPANIES HIRING PEOPLE (NOT REGULAR EMPLOYEES, FOR GOD'S SAKES!) TO MONITOR AND ANSWER TO COMPLAINTS IS NOT EVEN A DEBATEBALE POINT. IT DOES OCCUR, AND, IF YOU WISH TO BELIEVE THAT OR NOT IS YOUR PREROGATIVE.

    +1 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 08, 2010

    MAGGIE-IF YOU HAVEN'T NOTICED, I'M IGNORING YOU. I READ ONLY A FEW OF YOUR 743 COMMENTS AND I REALIZED THAT IT WAS NOT WORTH ENGAGING YOU.

    STEALTH PILOT-THANKS FOR THE ECONOMICS LESSON. DON'T YOU THINK I ALREADY KNOW ALL THIS. THE POINT IS THAT IN DIFFICULT ECONOMIC TIMES WHEN CASH FLOW IS A PROBLEM, SOMETIMES IT IS NECESSARY TO TRANSFER MONEY FROM OTHER ACCOUNTS TO COVER EXPENSES ETC. IF TD BANK DIDN'T DO WHATEVER IT FREAKIN PLEASED TO MAXIMIZE THEIR PROFITS, I WOULD NOT BE SO PISSED OFF AND WE WOULD NOT BE HAVING THIS DISCOURSE. BUT, TD HAS MANIPULATED THE SYSTEM SO THAT THOSE THAT CAN LEAST AFFORD TO PAY THEIR FEES ARE THE ONES MOST LIKELY TO GET CAUGHT IN THER LITTLE TRAPS.

    I'M DONE DISCUSSING IF WHAT TD DOES IS FAIR OR LEGAL. THE OCC AND THE COURTS WILL DECIDE THAT. ALL I WANTED TO DO BY POSTING THIS COMPLAINT WAS ADD TO THE DATABASE, NOT DEBATE THE ISSUE ENDLESSLY WITH PEOPLE WHO ENDLESSLY COMMENT ON OTHER PEOPLE'S POSTS.

    GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE.

    +1 Votes
  • Ti
      Jul 10, 2010

    I'll bet these idiots sit around waiting for somebody to take responsibility for their housecleaning, too. Their homes are probably a big stinking mess just like their finances. And if they're waiting for someone else to be responsible for their personal hygiene -- YUCK!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 11, 2010

    It's not about irresponsible customers of TD Bank. TD Bank complaints are about excessive fees compared to other banks or credit unions. Does TD Bank offer an interest bearing, free checking account, that has a $500 line of credit available? My bank offers this account. Can TD Bank compete with that?...crickets... Why spend money money on bank fees when you don't have to? I'm glad that I shopped around for a better bank.

    -1 Votes
  • Na
      Jul 12, 2010

    Just filed a BBB complaint against TD for the same reason. Any other suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 12, 2010

    I AM SO TIRED OF THE SHAMELESS, SELF-RIGHTOUS, POMPOUS BANTERING OF THE FEW WHO CONTINUE TO LECTURE US ABOUT BEING "RESPONSIBLE".

    IT IS YOU WHO ARE IRRESPONSIBLE FOR NOT HAVING THE HUMAN COMPASSION NOR TAKING THE TIME TO EVEN TRY TO UNDERSTAND HOW THESE BANKS ARE ABUSING HARD WORKING PEOPLE WHO ARE OFTEN FORCED TO LIVE FROM HAND TO MOUTH. YOU MAKE ME SICK!

    I ALREADY TOLD YOU THAT I NEVER PAID A PUNITIVE BANK FEE IN OVER 40 YEARS IN BUSINESS. WERE ALL THE BANKS DOING IT WRONG FOR ALL THOSE YEARS??? OR MAYBE...JUST MAYBE...TD BANK HAS BEEN GIVEN FREE REIGN TO MANIPULATE CHECK CLEARING ORDER AND CHECK CLEARING DATES LIKE NO OTHER TIME IN HISTORY. THE PARTY IS OVER FOR THEM.

    DON'T CLEAR THE PAYMENTS!!! I WELCOME THIS!!! BUT, DON'T FEIGHN DEDICATION TO THE CUSTOMER BY CLEARING THE PAYMENTS AND THEN CHARGE $35 EACH FOR EACH OF HALF A DOZEN “BANKCARD DISCOUNT FEES”, EACH ONE OFTEN LESS THAN $2.00, GENERATED BY CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS TO A COMPANY. THIS BEHAVIOR IS SHAMEFUL AND YOUR DEFENSE OF SUCH PRACTICES JUST AS BAD.

    THANK GOODNESS FOR FREEDOM OF SPEECH. I DISAGREE WITH THOSE WHO THINK WE ARE “IRRESPONSIBLE” BUT I’LL DEFEND TO THE DEATH YOUR RIGHT TO KEEP SAYING IT ALL YOU WANT. SO HAVE FUN. I LOOK FORWARD TO YOUR CONDESCENDING RETORTS.

    BY THE WAY, “JW3”, I DIDN’T RAISE HELL WITH THE “HOURLY PAID BANK TELLER”. THE “RIPLEY WAX FIGURE” I WAS REFERRING TO WAS A MID-LELEL BANK OFFICIAL. YOU SEEM LIKE A DESCENT YOUNG FELLOW…CONSIDER SOME FATHERLY ADVICE AND FIND A NEW BANK FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.

    0 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 13, 2010

    "40 years? Doubt it."
    ...why do you doubt it? Is it because I don't fit into the the pigeon hole you would like to put me in?

    "You just refuse to accept that YOU are the problem."
    ...and you just refuse to consider the possibility that I am NOT the problem.

    +1 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 13, 2010

    You don't know what you're talking about. You don't know anything about me and you continue to judge and generalize. Trying to converse with you is a total waste of time.

    0 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 13, 2010

    Stealth/TD Bank Rep,

    You never answered my question. Does TD Bank have an interest bearing checking account that has no minimum balance requirement, with $500 available as a line of credit for emergency situations? Let me help you with the answer to my question. It is No. I'll choose the bank with less fees & better products. TD Bank is simply inferior to the competition. They mask that inferiority under a green banner of "convenience" (like we can's use an ATM on Sunday) & national talk show hosts with corny commercials. I'll make a more informed decision & pick a better bank. Do you work for TD Bank or actually just "suck up" to a bank that charges people more in fees than other banks & then try to lecture people that you don't even know about being overcharged?

    0 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 13, 2010

    OK Pilot, (TD Bank Defender)

    By avoiding my question, you are agreeing that TD Bank can't match their competitors' checking accounts in terms of fees & services. Do you really have anything else to arquement about then? Why defend an inferior bank? Please stop before you embarrass yourself further. Did you know that some people actually compare features of accounts & pick the better products & services. As a pilot you'd think you'd understand that concept.

    0 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 13, 2010

    Well said Stealth, you & I agree on something. BUYER BEWARE when choosing TD Bank.

    0 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 13, 2010

    Thanks, BofA+_Must_Die. I hear what you're saying.

    What our friend does NOT get is that:
    (a) NOT all banks behave in this despicable fashion.
    (b) Outrage truly mounts when people realize what banks like TD are doing to their customers.
    (c) Consumers & customers will "retaliate" by simply not using them... and they will die slow, painful deaths.
    (d) Most people who come on to a forum like this one to complain, do NOT do it because they think it will help them get their money back.
    (e) Most people who come on to a forum like this one to complain, do it to voice outrage and help prevent the same from happening to others.
    (f) the concept of "THE GREATER GOOD" is NOT SO ABSTRACT; most people on these sites WANT HELP, and/or, WANT TO HELP for the betterment of society (I know it sounds corny, but, Americans generally do care about America and Americans)

    This bonehead is so fixed on his agenda of exposing all those "terribly irresponsible" people that he's lost all ability to trust, believe, analyze or understand anything. If he is a pilot, then I am the WIZARD OF OZ!

    I'll post if I hear from the OCC...until then..."in bocca al lupo".

    0 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 13, 2010

    BofA_Must_Die:

    My wife and one of my daughters are already banking with a federal credit union and are very pleased. They have tried to get me to switch and now I will. My situation is a lot more complicated because of business related direct deposits from multiple entities. I will have to piggy back accounts before I can leave TD entirely.

    Blockhead still believes I'm some kind of degenerate scofflaw who needs to bury his pennies in the backyard. Idiot. He would never believe that I am a man with a profession and a fairly comfortable life.

    He would rather not believe that I still get angry about unfair practices even if they don't really impact me directly. He would never believe that I still feel that: "it's not the money---it's the principle".

    He would never believe that I worry about future generations, especially my children...because... after all, according to Blockhead, we are all "stupid, spoiled, irresponsible, cry-babies".

    He is completely clueless and he will remain that way.

    Finally, I don’t think he is really mental ill...he does have a personality disorder...and, BY DEFINITION, you will never "win" an arguement with him.

    Take care,
    SVH

    0 Votes
  • Pv
      Jul 14, 2010

    I would like to know who this turns out. I do believe it is a bunch of crap that they can charge this fee.

    0 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 14, 2010

    Stealth Pilot,

    I understand what you're saying, each of us has to take responsibility for our financial decisions. I agree, I made the mistake of staying with TD Bank too long after my first monthly service charge & that led to more fees then I currently receive at my new bank. I think another issue here could be income. I make nearly 50K per year yet that doesn't come close to what you make as a pilot. Could it be that your average balance is more than most people & therefore you never have to worry about minimum balances requirements & etc like most of us. Pilot, maybe you're like many TD Bank employees that are out of touch with what it's like for many customers of TD Bank who actually have to pay monthly service charges & other fees?

    0 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 14, 2010

    Stealth Pilot,

    I'm not saying you work for TD Bank, I'm saying that you probably have a free account (due to making pilot $) & that resembles TD Bank staff. Most people make less $ than a pilot & have to pay monthly service charges & other fees.

    I am a middle aged person & I have never paid as much in fees as I did during my time as a TD Bank customer. Was it my fault? Sure you could say that, but I've learned from my mistakes. I, like many TD Bank customers, somehow missed the letter of the account change. My Simply Free checking became a $15 per month account (I usually had less than 2-3 days during the month with less than $100 so I switched banks. I also take responsibility for a few delayed withdrawls that amounted to being in the negative less than $10 (I incurred $140 in charges in one day for that) I'll take responsibility, yet it's very different now at my new bank. The same mistake would cost me literally pennies in interest from my line of credit. Stealth Pilot, I sincerely wish you financial success. I hope that you never experience the fees that many of us on this board have while banking at TD Bank.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 18, 2010

    Wow, why not just get some overdraft protection? It's better than an NSF any day, and you only pay for it when you use it.

    +1 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 18, 2010

    TD Bank's idea of overdraft protection is multiple $35 charges up to $210 per day. Not to mention they give $15 monthly service charges if you have a penny less than $100 at any time during the month. BTW TD Bank increased minumum balances to customers during the US recession.

    They have never offered me a line of credit nor have I have heard of another TD Bank customer being offered that service by them. TD Bank's products simply don't match their competition.

    0 Votes
  • Bm
      Jul 19, 2010

    STEALTH PILOT

    "When you spend more than you have, that is stealing, and it wasn't that long ago people got put in jail for it. It was called check fraud. "

    You ever here of Credit Cards, jack ###? Credit Cards exist so you can spend more than what you have. I'm willing to bet you have credit cards and have spent beyond what you are worth.

    A $35 overdraft fee is bull ### anywhere you go. I get the fees, I have paid the fees, and I complain about the ones which I feel are not legitimate.

    You ever complain by not getting your exact order at a restaurant, Stealt? I'm sure you have. And it's probably becuase you werent clear about what you wanted, right? Would you say this to defend the person serving you?
    Overdraft fees is theft. If your account is overdrawn by $1, would you agree to pay $35?

    Answer that question honestly...

    -1 Votes
  • Mi
      Jul 19, 2010

    This HORRIBLE Bank just had the audacity to charge me $25 to stop payment on a check that was never received by a utility company that I mailed. I have 10, 000-30, 000 USD in this account at all times, and they say, impossible for us to waive this fee. That's great. I've banked with them for about 10 years. Guess what? They pay me NO interest and use MY money to make money, and then charge me a fee for a simple two second computer input, I told them I'm going to withdraw my money in cash in full tomorrow, BYE BYE TD!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 19, 2010

    StealthPilot,

    TD Bank changed the terms of my checking account. It went from being a " Simply Free checking" to a "Convenience Checking" that had new requirements & new fees. My mistake, as I mentioned, was staying with them too long after they changed the account. My loyalty to TD Bank cost me money. You said earlier that you don't have an account with TD Bank therefore you truely don't understand the account changes & fees & etc like those of us that have actually banked with them in the past & wasted some of our money.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jul 19, 2010

    I was never unhappy with COMMERCE Bank. That was why I was with them from the early 80's until 2009. TD BANK is a different story. I have never seen a bank that had an incorrect balance on your account, and then charge you
    overdraft fees, because you trusted the amount. That is stealing. My husband had the same thing happened, but he stayed with them a year longer. He finally left them this past week, and joined me with Susquehanna Bank. I am Happy Again. TD BANK is Convient and fast now there are no lines.

    -1 Votes
  • Td
      Jul 20, 2010

    Steath Pilot,

    When TD Bank sent their acount change notice to me, in addition to working full time to provide for my family, I was attending college. I truely don't remember getting the letter with the account change info. in the mail. Maybe I overlooked it although there are a lot of other customers that also somehow missed the letter in the mail. When I spoke with TD Bank staff I requested a copy. The letter was very positive. I read 6 pages into the letter before terms of the account change were discussed. Even if I got the letter with finals etc. at that time, It would have been difficult to have to take the time to read it rather than just being able to trust TD Bank bank. We were in the worst part of the recession when TD Bank decided to increase the minimum balance requirements of their customers by $100. I'm sure that TD Bank made a lot of money in the process in fees from customers that were used to having free checking accounts. It was at that busy time that I had to switch my accounts & I feel blessed to have found a better bank with less fees. I come on this board to make potential customers aware so that they can make an informed decision RE choosing a bank. There are lots of less expensive banking options than TD Bank. As someone that has actually been a TD Bank customer I speak from experience.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 22, 2010

    TDBANK CHARGED ME FOR TWO OD CHARGES : ALL DUE TO A ERRONEOUS DEBIT CARD TRANSACTION THAT PUT MY ACCOUNT IN THE RED AND TDBANK'S COMPUTER AUTOMATICALLY CHARGED ME $70. EVEN THOUGH THE ERRONEOUS DEBIT CARD CHARGE WAS REVERSED SUBSEQUENT TO THE OVERDRAFT CHARGE. TDBANK DOES NOT TAKE INTO CONSIDERATION ANY OUT OF THE ORDINARY SITUATIONS. TDBANK RELIES ON ITS COMPUTER CHARGE YOU AN OD FEE AND NO LIVE PERSON REVIEWS ANY OF THE TRANSACTIOS. BUT, TODAY, THEY WILL BE REVIEWING MY ACCOUNT AND THE HAD BETTER REVERSE THE CHARGES...!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Sj
      Jul 22, 2010

    From 10/2/2009 to present day 7/21/2010 I’ve been charged $1085 in bounced transactions. The 10 years I've banked with Commerce Bank, I've only bounced 2 checks. Since the merger, I've been screwed royally. What really pisses me off is when your account is in the negative and you don’t know it, go to Dunkin Donuts for a cup of coffee $1.99, pay for it with TD Bank Debit Card and they pay it. Unbeknownst to me, my account is in the negative. That $1.99 coffee results in another $35 bounced fee.
    I drive a taxi for a living. I go to the bank, EVERY DAY, putting in money. I made a purchase the other day for $65 which at the end on the night caused my account to be overdrawn. I deposited $200 in my account the next morning. The following day I see that my account has been charged $175 in bounced fees! My wife’s Social Security check comes in that morning $642 deposited into account. Next day I’m charged $105 for 3 transactions that they bounced. They money was there, until they charged me $175 in bounced check charges. Their bounced check charges cause another $105 in fees. They did it, not me. In two days I was charged $280 in bounced check charges, but I only bounced 1 item. They are a bunch of thieves. I called and complained, they said they could refund $70. I hate this bank. I used to love Commerce Bank, they were awesome. TD took over and has stolen $1085 from me. I’ve spoken to many branch managers at TD Bank. They all gave me the run around with the line that “TD Bank allows the account to be overdrawn as a courtesy to their customers as not to embarrass the customer by declining the transaction.” In other words, they let you continue to bounce transactions with the debit card and charge your $35 for every purchase. A $1.99 Wawa coffee cost you $37.99, even Starbucks isn’t that expensive! I’ve opted out of that program, and yet they continue to allow the debit card to be used even if the account is overdrawn. It’s not like I constantly bounce checks, either. I go the gas station and fill my taxi up at 6:30am. My account is overdrawn and I don’t know it. Put the card in and the gas station charges the card $1.00 to make sure the card is good. That results in $35 bounced fee. Now the card has been approved, you fill the taxi with $23 in gas. That results in another $35 fee. You stop at 7-11 to get a pack of cigarettes, pay with debit card, card is approved and the $9 pack of cigarettes just cost you additional $35. I go to the bank at 7:30am and deposit $200 I made that night. I think everything is good, I just put $200 in the bank and have no idea the account had been overdrawn. I run my quicken software and update my account and I am shocked. Now, the $200 I just deposited puts my account well into the black. I'm up $180 in my account, so no problem, right? Wrong… Those purchases I made while the account was overdrawn and yet they were approving my debit card will now cost me $105, once again, causing the account to be overdrawn. And the cycle of getting screwed continues.
    10/5/2009 $105 bounced fees
    10/20/2009 $210 bounced fees
    12/2/2009 $175 bounced fees
    12/3/2009 $35 bounced fees
    4/19/2010 $70 bounced fees
    4/20/2010 $210 bounced fees Not a single debit transaction was over $10
    7/20/2010 $175 bounced fees
    7/21/2010 $105 bounced fees
    Do you see the emerging pattern here? The bounced fees imposed from the previous day cause a chain reaction where the following day I'm charged with more bounced fees, like I said $1085.
    I would love to get a class action lawsuit against TD Bank. I would love to get a lawyer and all the other people who TD has victimized and get a class action law suit against TD. I know I'm not the only one victimized here.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Jul 25, 2010

    I paid about the same, I had an overdraft line of credit that was in place to protect me from those fees, and I use online backing to track my purchases, this is fraud and TD bank should be sued.

    +1 Votes
  • Su
      Jul 26, 2010

    Already filed a class action lawsuit against TD Bank for the same reason. I think there is currently 3 open cases against them. Google it and call the law firm that is taking the case and they may need you to be a part of it. THat is what I did.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 27, 2010

    Mr. Cab Driver, I feel your pain. We had Commerce since 1993 and after the computer "conversion" last November to the TD system, we started bouncing stuff all the time. The bottom line is that TD will post all debits first, then credits after on each business day. The "Pending" transactions are complete bull... and that dollar figure is useless! So if you put money in the bank at 8AM (even cash) and then a check or debit card transaction clears that night - GOTCHA - you will be overdrawn! My advice is dump them before they steal more of your hard-earned money. We did so last month.
    Try Wachovia - they have new ATM's at every branch that lets you deposit cash and it becomes available immediately! You can even deposit checks via ATM until 8PM (weekdays) and they are available the same day! Very friendly attitude, and with the Wells Fargo merger coming things should get better!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 28, 2010

    I had Commerce bank for 9 years before TD Bank took over. Since TD Bank took over I have had nothing but over draft fees. I was scammed out of $2700 back in March, I went to the bank the following day and asked them to stop everythig on my account, they stated they could not do so, but they would reverse the fees. To date, they have changed me 875.oo in overdraft fees. That is 25 times someone tried to go into my account and take money, and they allowed it. I am not paying them on cent towards this. The employees at the Branh where I formerly banked are nothing but young kids, who think they know what the right hand is doing. Even my child support payments which have always been direct deposited there were 4 of them that they posted to my balance history, but it never showed up in my pending section, who when I went to the higher up they argued with me stating my money was in there, and that I spent it already which was a bunch of bs. I know my balance down to the penny, and that money was not deposited into my account. These times, this when they had problems with their systems, the last one was in January, and I went up there and cause such a scene, but got no where and never my 704 dollars back of child support. Something needs to be done with TD Bank, they need to go away, because they are horrible. If you have a direct deposit and it happens to come in on a Saturday, you do not get it until Monday or Tuesday, they hold it. I asked since when has this started and they told me September of 09. I said I was never notified on this, I was told Oh, well I dont know what to tell you, that is how it is now. I since got away from TD Bank, and everyone that I speak to says the same thing, they are closing out their accounts with TD Bank and how much they suck and all the overdraft fees they make you pay.

    0 Votes
  • Av
      Jul 29, 2010

    I completely understand what is going on and what TD Bank is doing is technically legal, BUT it will eventually catch up to them. I had a checking account with another bank for 10 years and within those 10 years I never overdrafted-NEVER! I love how when you call TD Bank customer service they tell you that you need to keep a check register and that you dont keep track of your account good enough. Well that's just the thing, I keep track of my account so well that I know when something is going to clear or not. For example: If I use my debit card on Saturday and deposit cash into my account on Sunday (which is not a business day) once they see that I have 5 or 6 items pending the following Tuesday they literally go and backdate and charge $35 on each item and start deducting from the largest to the smallest number (not in chronological order by date of purchase) Once an item is in pending they say they deduct it from your available balance, so I find it amazing that I have an available balance at all times and then BAM my account is negative $200 in overdrafts. Like I said technically what they do is considered legal, but it is just WRONG! They have taken 100's and 100's of dollars from me. I would love to file a class action lawsuit. If there is an attorney out there that would like to take this on, I’m sure if you read all of these complaints we have a case. There is definitely a way to stop them from stealing our money.

    +1 Votes
  • Av
      Jul 30, 2010

    Maggie do you work for TD bank? If you do you should be thanking me for paying your salary. I don't think that me and the 10, 000 other people that have complained are stupid. I have recently switched banks and guess what Maggie.. NO OVERDRAFTS. What a surprise, bottom line TD BANK SUCKS!

    +3 Votes

Post your comment