The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

T-mobil / bad customer services & breach of contract

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 877-533-4009

I am writing in regards to the terrible experience I had with T-Mobile’s customer service and their breach of the contract that we agreed to. I have been a good customer with T-mobile since 2001. I renewed my contract on December 21, 2007 after a sales representative coaxed me into a 2 year contract by saying that they would give us 4 phones, the “Samsung Beat” with our contract. She said that if anything was wrong with the phones in the first month, then they would send replacements without any questions. On December 27, 2007, we received the phones and found that one of the memory cards was not functional and the battery did not last long. We called on December 30, 2007, and the representative told us that she would send another phone to replace the old phone and that we would need to send the old phone back to them. We received one new replacement on Jan 2, 2008. The following day on January 3, 2008, we sent the old phone back by UPS.

On January 9, 2008, I called T-mobile because my other family members were having trouble with their phones as well. The communication during phone calls was not clear and it was hard to hear the other person on the line, the calls would be dropped and the battery would last for one day and then fail. This was a common complaint among are family members who were using the new phone, the Samsung Beat.

When I called T-mobile on January 9, 2008, a customer service representative named Bry (ID # [protected]) answered the phone. I explained the situation to him and he said that I had to send the phone into the company and then they would have to fix it and send it back. I explained that the other representative had sent me a replacement and I had sent the old phone back to the company the next day. Also, in the first 30 days, the phone is supposed to be replaced with a new one, not repaired. He refused to listen to me and was very rude as he told me the only way to remedy the situation was to repair the phone. He put me on hold for 30 min and would come back no information and he made me switch phones so he could do useless testing on the phone. There was also loud laughter and noise in the background and it was evident that the people in the office were not doing their jobs.
I asked to speak with his supervisor who came on the phone after another 30 minutes. He refused to give me his name and his ID number because the conversation was being recorded and he said his information was in the account summary. This made me doubt that he was the supervisor. He was ruder than the previous salesperson and said that I needed to send back the phone and there were no other options. Then he proceeded to hang up on me.

I could not believe the poor customer service that T-mobile gives its customers once they have signed a 2 year contract. They treat their customers with disrespect knowing that they have their business for 2 years. The incompetence of the customer service representatives was also appalling as they would put me on hold for long periods of time and return with no answer. The lack of professionalism was even evident at the manager level as the manager refused to give his name and as he hung up on a customer. I have never experienced such rude and unprofessional business practices. As a customer, I could not believe that T-mobile would have the audacity to behave this way considering that there are so many cell phone companies that I could switch my service to.
They also did not honor the contract with the phones. The original sales representative told me that they would replace the phone immediately within the first month if it was not working properly. However, the representatives last night said that I had to send the phone back to them so they could repair it. This is the most absurd proposition I have heard from a cell phone company who knows that customers rely on cell phones heavily. Therefore, to give up a phone while a designated time of repair is not given may mean that it could take weeks before a phone is returned. Also, it would allow the company to refuse any replacements by sending the phone after 30 days allowing them to deny any responsibility thereafter. It is evident that all of our family members have had complaints with this phone and therefore it is not a single phone problem. Does T-mobile realistically believe that we should give up all of our phones while they continue to charge us for service fees?

I want T-mobile to cancel my two year agreement without any charges with them because they failed to uphold the agreement in the contract of replacing the phones within the first month for defects. They also provided terrible customer service which was appalling. Their unprofessional conduct should not go without repercussions and they should be reprimanded for their unethical business practices. I would like this matter to be resolved immediately and would not like to deal with T-mobile any further.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • No
      31st of Jan, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Rather than say that the whole company is rude, I believe it to be certain individual companies under the T-Mobil brand name doing bad business and being rude.

    I was taken, too, on my upgrade of phones. The girl refused to send me a Sim Card with the new phone that I purchased. I had to go out and buy a new Sim card for my new phone... absurd!

  • Na
      28th of Feb, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I bought the new sidelick LX in Oct and since that time have been unable to use all the features of the phone. After many calls to customer service and many resets of the phone and 2 new phones it still will not work correctly. Customer service was not very helpful and after several calls stated that I should speak with the sidekick division! What news. They could not fix the problems and due to T-Mobile not being able to live up to the service contract I asked to be released from the 2 year agreement. Which of course customer service said they did not have the ability to authorize. T-Mobile is a high priced cell phone service that can not provide simple service.

  • Sa
      27th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes
    T-mobil - worthy
    T-mobil
    chichago
    United States
    Phone: 773 501 2600

    My name is Sadmir my complaint is about t-mobil customer service and honoring the contract agreements. I was with t-mobil since 1999 . I signed a contract with t-mobil in august 2007 for 2 years . I head my phone replaced 3 times by t-mobil in a year do to phone failure and complained about the phone service to costumer service department several time no action taken from t-mobil to fix the problem . Now that my phone broke AGEN called t-mobil to fix the problem. Talked to supervisor et customer service name Tyrell employee number 0732761 to fix the problem and resolved the issue why is my phone braking every 4 months. Action taken from t-mobil to fix and resolve the issue NON

  • Ir
      7th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes
    T-mobil - Overbilling
    Oak Lawn
    Illinois
    United States
    emancoyle@gmail.com

    T-Mobil supervisor Sanford, #8474633, stated that we canceled our text messaging, when in fact all that was canceled was the ring tone service, and an attempt to cancel the internet. They knew we had always had Text family plan, yet they refuse to credit $700+ in text messages. They tell me I can get a payment plan, to pay the $800. phone bill. They must be insane. The call was made to cancel the internet off phone, only to find out that the phone in question, must use the internet in order to make and receive calls. I WAS NEVER INFORMED THAT I WOULD REQUIRE THE INTERNET FOR THE LIFE OF THE PHONE. This is their error, yet they refuse to do anything about it. Other than contacting BBB, Attorney General's Office what other options do I have? Please help. If I cancel the phones, that's an additional $400.

  • Co
      4th of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes
    T-mobil - Breach Of Contract
    T-Mobil
    Indiana
    United States

    I once had a previous flex-account with T-mobil, after receiving bills in very high amounts I deceide to stop doing business with them. I recntly went into one of their stores and Inquired with the Rep what did I need to pay to renew my contract. The Rep told me if I payed 66.25, and sign a new contract for two years that they would wave the previous charges which was for a early termination fee of my previous contract. I thought this was a good business arangement for T-Mobil since they were getting a returning customer and a new contract for 66.25 for the next two years. No longer then 7 hours after signing the new contract T-mobil sent me a text msg, stating I now owe them 335.00 minus the 66.25 I payed for what they told me was new service contract, and they stop my service. T-Mobil lies and does not honor their contracts. The notion of a $200.00 termination charge is currently being challanged in courts in New Jersey, Calfornia.

  • Ri
      29th of Aug, 2010
    +1 Votes

    need copy of my phone recorders.

  • Ti
      26th of Nov, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Not supprised, T mobile sold our daughter a phone model that has proven to be a lemon.T mobile will only replace it with the same model.they won't even allow her to pay extra and upgrade to a more reliable model.. So I have told her to exchange it once a month. Stepping over dollars to save pennies. Rather than provide they, re customers with ethical customer service, they would rather dump defective products on t mobile customers. Gives" customer service" a whole new meaning. Can you say lost customers leads to bankruptcy? Of course it only matters if you care

  • Vf
      17th of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes
    T-mobil - Promised Credit not on bill and awful customer service.
    T-Mobil
    United States

    On November 6, 2010 I was told that my account was going to be credited for minutes charged in one of my 5 lines. Now all the lines have unlimited minutes. Today I got my new bill and there was no credit on it. I called and talked with Andrea, employee number 3014245 who is one of the worst customer service person I have dealt with. She was almost insulting. Not only I didn't get the credit but she question my credibility.

    She refused to let me talk to a supervisor.

  • Ma
      8th of Sep, 2011
    0 Votes
    T-mobil - Bad service
    T-Mobil
    1705 Laurel Ave.
    Hanover Park
    Illinois
    United States
    Phone: 630-400-4594

    I have called T-Mobil repeatetly day after day with no success. I canot call out(my phone Breaks up) my Husband can't call in.and when I tryed to call my Pharmacy my phone broke up so bad that that I could'nt order my Meds. I told T-Mobil and asked for Help and they said that they would check on this and call me back ( twice ) and never did. Please let me know what to do. I need my Phone for Health reasons.
    E-mail martysfirst@yahoo.com

  • El
      8th of Sep, 2011
    +1 Votes

    Is it a signal problem where you work or everywhere?

  • Bo
      25th of May, 2012
    0 Votes
    T-mobil - Would not cancel account
    T-mobil
    St Louis
    Missouri
    United States

    Three months i tried to cancel my account, getting the run around from one dept to another. All the time they kept adding on to the bill more that triple what was to be the end of billing. Did you have a problem like this contact me please.

  • De
      17th of Feb, 2014
    0 Votes

    There's something else you can do, and that is to vote with your check and go to another phone company. I will never use T-Mobil again because they attempted too refuse to cancel my account, and kept billing me even though they were aware that I wanted my account canceled. If they would have dealt fairly with me, I might have returned as a customer, but now never, and the NSA crap is just adding fuel to the fire.

Post your comment