SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Steers / vegetarian for 26 years and given a beef burger

United States Review updated:

I was extremely hungry and decided to stop at Steer to get something to eat. I went to the cashier and ordered a Veg burger as I am a vegetarian for the past 26years. I told her please be careful as i am a vegetarian. 10minutes later she came with my burger, chips and coke. I began to eat my burger not knowing it was a beef burger as it tasted like a soya pattie. I noticed the same cashier coming with a burger and began to ask who ordered a veg burger. I asked her what burger she gave me and she said it was beef. I instantly became sick and nauseous. I am a vegetarian and made it crystal clear to the dumb cashier and what did she do???? GIVE ME A BEEF BURGER!!! I asked for the manger who apologized for the mix up and she gave me back my money but can she take away the taste of the beef burger. I WILL NEVER EAT AT STEERS AGAIN AS I CAN NOT TRUST THEM!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Yo
      Feb 11, 2011

    There is no such thing as a vegetarian who is sickened by the idea of eating meat. Micro particles of meat are everywhere and a person would have to eat exclusively from a self contained synthetic food source.

    You didn't make a comment that the burger was murder or the issue was that it was killed for food. Meat is inside everything from a piece of gum to a head of lettuce.

    +2 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 11, 2011

    You went to a place called STEERS for a veggie burger... ummmmm Enough said.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Feb 11, 2011

    Of course there is such a thing as vegetarian who is sickened by the thought of eating meat. He went 26 years without eating the stuff. And its ok to go to a place called steers for a veggie burger as most resturants these days offer veggie choices. And MEAT is not in gum but animal by products probably are.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      Feb 11, 2011

    molliewollie. A couple things that should be common knowledge but are not.

    1) everything we eat has micro particles of meat which means it is impossible to go 26 years without eating meat. There are standards that control how much is allowed on other food items before it is considered contamination.
    2) Anything you get from a factory, especially gum, has animal parts that have been broken down in the processing. In the case of gum you are eating cow fat, which has meat attached to it, as part of the recipe and they they allow so much in the form of "other' which includes mostly various types of insects that got into the preparation process. Insects are meat, fyi.
    3) If you eat any food with refined sugar your eating cow bones.
    4) If you eat any dessert mix your eating cow blood. (cakes, pies, pastries, etc) Many other, non-dessert, mixes also contain cow blood. Some mixes contain cow skin, or other cow parts.
    5) Nearly every vitamin manufacture uses internal organs of the cow
    6) Medicines often contain 1 or more parts of a cow. The more common ones are blood, milk, hooves, horns, brain, internal organs, and fat.

    This is just a couple of the truths hidden to let people believe that being a vegetarian is possible in America. This doesn't even address the fact that dead animals are used to make plants grow and from a morality stand point the volume of non-meat products consumed in the US requires animals to be killed to make the soil rich enough to produce that quantity.

    In the real world being a vegetarian who NEVER eats meat is impossible. You can be a vegetarian who never seeks meat as a primary food source, but you will inevitably eat some though the course of eating non-meat foods.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      Feb 11, 2011

    Stealth Pilot, incorrect as usual. There is an acceptable level of "meat" and "meat byproducts" allowed on soy foods. Soy burgers have been criticized by the more hard core groups for barely being under these allowed levels and so a person who gets used to eating high meat content soy burgers is often unable to tell the difference.

    Also there is a difference between vegan and vegetarian. The author is a vegetarian not a vegan.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      Feb 11, 2011

    Stealth, it is such a small amount that it is not considered to even be an ingredient.

    Take the upcoming taco bell law suit where the taco filling is sold as "beef" but doesn't actually have the right portions of beef & fat to be legally called beef.

    Meat in non-meat burgers is the same. The FDA knows that all processed food has meat but in small enough quantities it doesn't need to be listed.

    Another scenario where small numbers are ignored is calories. If a food item has less that 5 calories the person who made the food has 2 options that can list 0 calories or 5 calories. You will not find a food in America with 3 calories because under 5 is considered negligible and so many of the companies who make these foods put down 0 calories so they can say it is a 0 calorie food. In reality it is somewhere between 1-4.999999999~ calories.

    I would say that it is mind boggling that people do not know the reality of the world we live in and understand that we live in a world that none or zero of something doesn't mean none or zero. It really means a small enough quantity that it is below a certain threshold.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      Feb 11, 2011

    If you ever looked the box of "beef" it said "taco filling", but the menu calls it "beef". Technically only 35% of the filling is beef and the rest is stuff like water, wheat oats, soy lecithin, maltodrextrin, anti-dusting agent and modified corn starch. In order to call a product beef it can not contain more than 30% fat and may not contain water, phosphates, binders, or extenders. In the near future expect taco bell to replace beef with taco filling, mixed meat, or some other way that gets they away from calling it just straight up beef.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
      Feb 11, 2011

    I enjoy taco bell food and I don't have any problem with lawsuit that might change how it is advertised, but it does show that not everything is as straight forward as people say it is.

    Zero doesn't mean none
    none doesn't mean none

    I also feel that a vegetarian who is trying to avoid meat because of one of a million reasons is totally acceptable and it is their right to be upset when they order 1 product and are given another. The problem I have is the position that they NEVER eat meat and that it is the end of their world that they know they ate meat now.

    In simpler terms "those in glass houses shouldn't throw stones".

    and pilot the major difference between vegetarian and vegan is that vegetarians do not eat meat and vegans do not meat or animal byproducts. Both of which are under the same understanding that small quantities from "non-meat" and "non-animal-byproducts" are acceptable, but when people are so full of themselves that they can not see the forest through the trees they forget that it is impossible to avoid any animal from being digested. This is even more true for insects since insects are literally in everything... even our clothing.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Feb 11, 2011

    I don't think there's anything wrong with a non meat eater taking the position that they NEVER eat meat. Obviously they mean they try, in their everyday life, to avoid meat. If they have strong ethical feelings about the slaughter of animals for food I can see where it would be as you put it "the end of their world" to know they ate it. To each their own.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      Feb 12, 2011

    Kind of weird to have a "strong" ethical feelings about meat and eat at a place called Steers.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 12, 2011

    THATS WHAT IM SAYING...

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
      Feb 12, 2011

    It's not like there's alot to choose from when you're out and about. Most restuarants feature meat dishes, but most still have a few veggie options. That's like saying you can't have a strong ethical opposition to the death penalty because you live in a state that utilizes the death penalty.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      Feb 12, 2011

    That would depend on where you live. The OP doesn't provide that, but in a major city, where many of the Steers are located there are many options. Then there is always..the eat at home option instead of ### about everything.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Feb 12, 2011

    Wow, it's a complaint board, which is what the OP did. Steers offered a veggie burger, it was a perfectly fine place for him to have stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      Feb 12, 2011

    The waitress gave him the wrong burger. Mistakes do happen. Live with it

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      Feb 12, 2011

    If he ordered veggie, and she brought him beef is that not considered a mistake by the waitress?

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      Feb 12, 2011

    Not a vegatarian, so wouldn't know. It's just a silly little complaint to me. It's not like the OP had a Vegatarian neon sign and they purposely gave a beef burger.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      May 11, 2011

    Lay off of the cashier, cashiers handle money, not food. Besides, I hate to break it to you, but if you call yourself a "vegetarian for 26 years" and still eat fast food on a regular basis, you have more than likely eaten several significantly sized traces of some form of mean over the years. Sorry...

    0 Votes

Post your comment