Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Stainsafe / Furniture Warranty Service is total ripoff!

89% 85
I purchase a bedroom set in Jan, 06 from Bassett Furniture in Charlottesville, Va. Along with my $4000 furniture, I also purchased a $199.95 five year warranty from Stainsafe. The Bassett salesman said that virtually anything that went wrong would be fixed without question.

On June 13th, a wooden runner broke and a drawer full of jeans fell out and almost broke my foot. I limped around for three days trying to reach Stainsafe. Phones are ALWAYS busy or you sit on hold until you hang up. At that time you could not file a claim on their website. They have since changed that. Finally, on June 16th I reached an operator (rude, rude, rude with a touch of nasty!) after 23 minutes on hold. I was given a claim number and instructed to fax each and every document I received at the time of sale. I was told that I would receive a "confirmation of the claim in 2-3 business days", and a repair service would contact me in "2-4 weeks".

I tried to call them on June 20th and the phone was busy the entire day. On June 21st and 22nd I faxed a total of three requests for information, none was acknowledged.

I was to be talking to my brother, a police lieutenant in Central Florida, and before I could mention the name of the company he burst out laughing and said "let me guess, Stainsafe". When I got on line and started researching this company, I found so many complaints that I couldn't read them all. Plus, and this was a big plus, Stainsafe in currently under investigation by the The Florida State Attorney Generals Office, (Case # LO6 3-1088)

I called Bassett Furniture and neither the store manager or customer service was very helpful to say the least. (I'm still dealing with them for selling me a warranty with a company that I believe they knew was under investigation)
Long story short. After countless registered letters, phone calls, faxes, e-mails, complaints to the Better Business Bureau, The Federal Trade Commission and the Florida Attorney General, for both Stainsafe and Bassett, the general manager of the store called me. I was promised a refund on the warranty and repairs on my dresser. The repairs are pending and I'm still waiting for the refund as of July 13, 2006.

Addendum to my story:

On July 7th, 2006 I finally did hear from Stainsafe via e-mail. "our technicians are currently not available to provide the service your claim requires" was my answer.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  6th of Dec, 2006 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I bought a Berkline Shiatsu chair from Levitz & 7 year warranty; by StainSafe-all on same invoice. I've followed all procedures & after many phone calls, emails & regular mail; now I get a denial of claim. Said I didn't follow procedure: within 5 days. I even sent copies of invoice, warranty, e mails, w/dates & times. Damage noticed 9-18-06. First notifies 9-22-06; within the required 5 days of notice of damage. The motor won't run. The manufacture warranty was 1 year, StainSafe was to pick-up all claims for 7 years. Now they won't follow through on their part. They were ultimately paid for this service by Levitz; so Levitz says their off the hook.
N  18th of Dec, 2006 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Stainsafe - Do not honor warranty!
United States

I purchased a warranty for my couch through Stainsafe. I paid $179.99 for the warranty and the warranty says along with the sales rep stated that it covers Cracks, rips, tears burns.... My wife called them to report a claim and the rep for Stainsafe gave her a hard time then had my wife describe the damage to the couch and when my wife did Stainsafe stated that the warranty was not covered because my wife said the couch was scratched, the couch is clearly cracked and I even asked to send them a pic to prove by giving pics and they told me that they would not cover the warranty and when i asked why the supervisor just stated that she was not going to overturn the other persons decision. I am 38 years old and this is the worse customer service I have ever seen. I am proceeding with legal options against the company but it is still a shame when you pay good money for a warranty and have a legal claim to it.
A  6th of Mar, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I don't understand why my claim was denied. I have a 7 year warranty that I paid for at the time of purchase. The problems were noticed less than a week ago prior to me sending a few e-mails and phone calls regarding these matters. I have sent by fax four times and through e-mail three times since 2/22/07. Why has my claimed been denied? I have claims on file with Stainsafe prior to these new matters with my furniture. Do I need to obtain my warranty information and receipt for proof of purchase and warranty. This is outrageous and Stainsafe needs to be more compassionate to errors and courteous to a warranty already paid for. I refuse to suffer because of a typo error and I corrected the claim indicating the problems were noticed on 2/22/07 which is the same day I filed my claim. I do not have the funds to pay out of pocket when I have a legit warranty.
A  15th of Mar, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I purchased a $500 oversized stuffed chair and ottoman from Valu City Furniture in Buffalo, NY in 2004. The salesperson encouraged me to purchase the warranty, which would cover any stains and tears to the chair and the ottoman for 5 years.

In July of 2006, my daughter spilled milk on both the chair and the ottoman. I contacted the Stainsafe company and, after sitting on hold for 25 minutes, was told that I would have to fax all documents to their office, including the original receipt and warranty and would receive a confirmation card in the mail within one week and would receive a call from one of their technicians within 3 weeks.

I faxed all documents and never heard anything from the company. I contacted them again two weeks later and was once again put on hold for over half an hour. The salesperson was extremely rude and uninterested in my problem. She told me that they never received my paperwork and I would need to fax it again. I did fax them the paperwork again and this time kept a copy of my fax confirmation.

Once again, I waited and received nothing. I contacted them for the third time and was again told by an extremely rude customer service representative that they did not received my paperwork and I would need to fax them my fax confirmation. I told her this did not make sense, because they told me twice that they did not receive my paperwork via fax, therefore, how would they receive my fax confirmation sheet via fax. She simply repeated her statement that I would need to fax the confirmation sheet, as if I was an idiot.

I did fax the confirmation sheet and called them the same day. After being placed on hold three different times and being transferred to 3 different customer service reps, and finally a manager, at my request, I was told they did receive my confirmation and I would receive my paperwork in the alloted timeframe mentioned above.

A technician did come out to my house in late October. He said that, due to the nature of the stain, the chair would need to be steamcleaned and he needed the permission from Stainsafe to do this. (??? -- why would a cleaning technician need permission to steamclean a piece of furniture???!!!) He said I would hear from Stainsafe within two weeks and they would schedule another appointment for my chair to be cleaned. A month went by and I heard nothing.

I contacted Stainsafe again and was put through all the same hoops of holding, rude employees, and eventually was told that they did not receive the paperwork from the cleaning tech. After finally getting a manager on the phone (this was over an hour on the phone with them -- and I was at WORK!), the manager told me they just received the paperwork that morning and it would need to be reviewed for approval. I would be contacted within a week, if my claim was approved.

For the next THREE months, I contacted Stainsafe WEEKLY to find out if my claim had been approved. Each time I was greeted with absurdly long hold times, very rude and unintelligible sales reps, and finally a manager who said the claim was "still under review". I challenged the "manager" in each conversation as to who was "reviewing" my claim, what exactly were they reviewing, why was this taking so long, etc. Each time, I was answered with vague responses and the same reply that I would hear from them by the end of the week.

After three months, I received a form letter in the mail saying that my claim was denied and that they hoped they could help me in the future.

Do not EVER buy a warranty from Stainsafe. I am currently in talks with Valu City Furniture to get a refund on this warranty, which they are challenging.
A  3rd of Apr, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Sub: Stainsafe Furniture Warranty Scam

Stainsafe furniture warranties offered by many leading furniture retailers are a con. They are based in Palm Beach Gardens, FL. I found many, many others recently dated with the same problems and it has nothing to do with not reading the warranty closely enough or following it to the letter. If you read all the complaints, the company simply does not honor their contracts and is clearly in the business of robbing not only consumers but the poor service contractors they sucker into working for them.

This is my situation in case you're interested:

STAINSAFE WARRANTIES are a TOTAL CON and well-known furniture dealers such as Harlem, Wickes, etc. should not do business with them as it tarnishes their image as well. Stainsafe gives service warranties in general a bad name because of their dishonesty and total non-intention to render services paid for and entitled to. I've dealt with warranty claims before and have never had a problem like I've had with STAINSAFE.

As a result of my experience with Stainsafe, I will:

1) NEVER purchase another furniture warranty from ANY company especially STAINSAFE.

2) NEVER purchase another product from HARLEM FURNITURE "The Roomplace" in Bloomingdale, IL as they also failed to do anything about the situation when I called them about the dishonest Stainsafe warranty service they sold to me.

3)ALWAYS tell friends, relatives, coworkers, acquaintances and anyone who asks my opinion to never purchase a STAINSAFE warranty or buy Harlem Furniture.

Let me start by saying I read the warranty thoroughly, understood the terms of the agreement completely and had a perfectly legal, covered and valid claim.

Here's what happened:

October 9, 2003: I purchased a Douglas Furniture "Casino" leather sectional (Desert color) for $2,399 at Harlem Furniture, 215 Gary Avenue, Bloomingdale, IL 60108. Phone: 630-539-3200. I also purchased the "Harlem 'the roomplace' 5 Year Warranty for A & P Leather" serviced by Stainsafe.

October 14, 2003: The furniture was delivered to my home.

March 20, 2007: I called Stainsafe at 877-211-5518 and spoke with Keyosha about filing a claim for specific damage that occurred to my sectional on March 19, 2007. Before I made the call, I thoroughly inspected the couch to check its condition and take notice of any other damage I could find. I did make a list of minor damages and defects that were not very noticeable without close inspection to report along with the major damage that occurred on 3/19 just in case they would take care of that as well.

Keyosha went through each piece of the sectional and recorded what was wrong with it:

The loveseat portion with fold-out bed was the piece that sustained the very VISIBLE damage noticed and reported within 24 hours: a number of deep scratches, a puncture, and splitting at the seams - which all occurred to the two removable seat cushions. She asked me how this occurred and said that I didn't actually see it happen but I know it had to do with my only child (eight-year old son) having fun and it could have been something like a sharp part on a piece of clothing or a toy or something like that.

In addition to this, I listed all the other faults with the couch I had noticed even though they had not occurred within the specified 5-day report rule just to be thorough: The seams along the very tops of the ALL the back cushions (non-removable)of ALL 4 sectional pieces (loveseat with bed, loveseat with recliner, wedge, and chaise) were forming small tears all along the stitching everywhere the real leather meets up with the split-leather (since genuine leather on couches is usually limited to areas that the body actually touches on moderately priced furniture).

You can see the white stuffing through all the little holes. This is not something you see unless you look for it. This to me seems to be a defect in the manufacture that I wished I had noticed within a year of purchase so I could have contacted the manufacturer Douglas about the issue under THEIR one-year warranty. I also told Keyosha about the minor scratches on the surface of the chaise piece which also did not happen within the last 5 days.

She then proceeded to use this "extra" information against me. She said that since there were multiple damages that could not possibly have occured in a single incident in the last 5 days and I could not describe EXACTLY how the main damage occurred (I thought "eight year old boy" should have explained it all)the warranty does not apply to ANY of the damages INCLUDING the ones that just ocurred in the last 24 hours.

Of course I told her that was LUDICROUS and that I only want the recent major damage to be fixed (which is limited to the two removable seat cushions)and she just kept coming back with "sorry its not covered" even though, right in their warranty in black and white it says that "Rips, tears, burns, and punctures" are covered along with "Cracking and peeling of leather finish". NOWHERE in the warranty does it say that any prior unreported minor damage older than 5 days voids the WHOLE warranty and excludes me from ANY service, compensation or coverage.

I challenge any executive, employee, fan, friend or family member of Stainsafe out there to tell me they're not out of line on this one. The very least I would expect from either Stainsafe or Harlem Furniture is a refund on the bogus warranty they sold me, which they both refused to do, much to their discredit.

Just so I feel a tiny better about being totally ripped off, I will send copies of this [redacted] complaint to the president of Stainsafe (Doug Wright), the supervisor that was on duty that Keyosha named (Kia), to Harlem Furniture in Bloomingdale, IL and to Douglas Furniture although I’m not faulting them with anything other than the stitching problem.

Thanks for listening to me vent and BEWARE fellow consumers!!! Word-of-mouth is very powerful PR be it positive or negative, too bad some of these companies don’t take care of their customers the way they should instead of foolishly putting their reputations and future business on the line.
A  23rd of Apr, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Stainsafe warranty is a scam - still waiting after 2 years of them accepting claim.
A  26th of Apr, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I filed a clain on 12-27-06 for a mattress pad. After eight letters, to NUMEROUS phone calls to count, delays, initial refusal to honor the contract, rude operators, failure to allow me to talk to a supervisor, numerous letters, copies of the same receipt over and over again, involvement of the Macy's where I bought the pad and unit and 121 days from the first filing I finally received the pad.

It is clear to me that this company is in the business of stalling and counting on the customer who paid for the insurance to simply give up and go away. Simply put, this company is a rip off and should be investigated by the Consumer Action Agency.
A  10th of May, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I won't bother repeating exactly what everyone else has said as it is all true and has happened to me. My current situation is that I went thru all the hoops to get a $700 payoff from Stainsafe with notarized release forms and such, well, it is now 3 years later since I turned that in and with repetitive calls, emails, etc. NOTHING! Maybe I will take a little trip down to Palm Gardens and get my $700 dollars worth one way or the other...
A  11th of Jul, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
This is why Levitz went out of business. It's funny that the people who bought the company/name from bankruptcy are going back to the things that caused everyone to not love it at levitz.
A  2nd of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

I am not sure why there are so many negative information about Stainsafe. I purchased a sofa from Ashleys in Brandon in 2003. I purchased the stainsafe warranty. My daughter was sick and vomitted on my sofa, it smells really bad. I called Stainsafe and reported my stain, within 5 days a service man came to my house, he tried to clean the stain but it left a water ring. I called Stainsafe and they replaced my sofa. The whole thing took about 3 weeks. I love Stainsafe and if i should ever purchase another piece of furniture, i will make sure to purchase the stainsafe warranty.
N  6th of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I am a subcontracted service technician for Stainsafe warranty company. I have done hundreds of service calls for Stainsafe in western Pennsylvannia, beginning in August 2006. When i receive a service call from Stainsafe, i have 48 hours to contact the customer to schedule a service call. which must be done within 7 days. If something is repairable, it is fixed at that time. If something is in need of parts, i communicate by fax for what is needed to repair item(s) at that time. The problem that i have with Stainsafe is they do not like to ay for these service calls. The last payment i received was on Feb 2nd of 2007. I have called many times to the tech hotline about this matter and have gotten nowhere. I have recently dropped Stainsafe from my company and sent letters to get payment. I have recently have taken them to civil court to resolve this matter. If their is any one in western Pa that is having trouble getting their furniture repaired by Stainsafe you may fax information to my company: Cratfy Woodworking (724)445-7467. I will give all customers 50% off discount for all or any repairs.
N  7th of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
In '06 we attempted to submit a claim regarding the leather cracking on our couch. We had to call multiple times to even get someone on the phone. My wife gave them all the required info and I faxed in the documents. We never heard a word from them. I resubmitted recently and they declined our claim based on the time between the damage occurring and the time we resubmitted. This is a total scam, you can't even get a real person on the phone. I will never waste my money on one of these warranties again.
A  13th of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
My 86 year old mother in law has patiently been waiting for Stainsafe to respond to her 7 year extended warranty complaint concerning her Berkshire rocker recliner which is falling to pieces via rips and tears throughout the chair. She has experienced every aspect of being ignored and rude treatment when she finally was able to get through to the company. She has repeatedly faxed and mailed required confirmation of purchase only to hear nothing in response. She was confined to her home medically for extensive eye surgery and was not able to write for several weeks. During that time she was able to reach one of their rude agents and a supervisor and was told that her claim was denied due to the five day filing procedure. She told them of her problems and that she could not see to write and was,therefore, unable to follow up with another letter. Their response was too bad..5 days filing is the rule! The chair needs to be replaced by August 31. 2007 when the extended warranty runs out. She has turned it over to me and I have gotten nowhere. Now that I have read your website of complaints I'm sure that she and her chair will join all of the others who have been suckered into spending their hard earned money for this worthless extended warranty! I am intending to file an online "new" claim on her behalf if I can find the online address; can you help me find it so I can at least go through the motion of filling it out and also forwarding it via registered mail? Probably a waste of breath and time, but I feel so bad for her struggling to sit in a chair that was intended to provide her comfort in her golden years. Stainsafe is lower than whale excrement and that's at the bottom of the ocean!
A  24th of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I agree I had the same problem. DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT BUY THE STAINSAFE WARRANTY!!! The service is horrible and your claims will not be honored.
N  28th of Aug, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Stain Safe - Poor service!
United States

I called them to let them know my 3 year old son wrote on our leather sofa with pen. I filed the claim the next day. They sent a tech out 3 weeks later. I called to find out what they would do since the tech could not get out the stain. He said the pen sat too long. They denied the claim. They told me the tech said it was permanent marker. BS. I am currently writing a response to that denial.

Cheri Riccio.
N  5th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Stainsafe - Warranty scam!
United States

I have been waiting one year for replacement of my glass table top. I have a seven year warranty and they are telling me that since they no longer deal with the furniture store, they do not want to honor my claim. When I try calling them, they either hang up on me, or tell me the only communication they will accept is email, mail, or fax.

What a ripoff!!!
N  11th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I want to make you aware of the worst insurance scam yet. Please do not purchase insurance from United American. The sales rep lied about the coverage. The paperwork does not reflect the correct information either. Company has screwed me personally please be aware!!!
N  12th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Stainsafe - Poor service!

I have done everything as requested by stainsafe, sent photos ect. My claim was initially denied because I did not send in the original warranty information. I sent a copy as requested. When I did send the original paperwork (I finally found it) I was given such excuses as our scanner is not working so we can't process your claim to a technician will be out within five to seven days.

9 months later they are still denying the claim! I have provided everything as asked, they will not give a reason. They should be shut down! How is a company this unethical allowed to operate and continue to draw funds from consumers...

A  13th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
totaly agree, Stainsafe should be shut down, they totally rip people off. We bought our furniture from wickes and the stainsafe denied our claim, eventhough we had all the correct paperworks. Somebody should put a stop to their scam and even the stores who offer their service should be held accountable otherwise they keep offering the option and service of stainsafe to the innocent consumer.
N  18th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Stain Safe - Poor service!
United States

I paid 159.00 for the 7 year fabric protection plan. So far I called twice to report a stain within the 5 day period. The claim process is horrible, they ask you so many questions and the same questions about the furniture and invoice are asked when you called for every claim. Anyways, I called the 3rd time within the 5 days to report that my daughter vomited on the sofa and it was kind of all over in 2 places of the cushion. I reported the problem on August 30th 2007. It took the technician 19 days to come and service it. The technician claimed that he tried to reach me before, but that's not true. I always check my messages and there were none from the technician. Not only that, after he contacted me, he couldn't schedule me for another 8 days. The sofa already stinct and now the spots started to dry out. Finally when the technician came today, he claimed the stain safe company that there are more spots and the spots looked like add on spots. THAT'S NOT TRUE. First, it took him so long to come and clean and by that time the spots were way dried out. I AM SUPPOSE TO CLEAN IT? IS THIS THE SERVICE WE GET OUT OF STAIN SAFE? WHAT DID I DO WRONG, I CLAIMED THE STAIN ON TIME AND IT WAS ME WHO HAD TO LIVE WITH THE SMELL. THIS IS A TOTAL RIP OFF. The agent on the phone told me that they will not be able to provide additional services because of this. STAY AWAY FROM THIS RIP OFF COMPANY. I will report this to every single site and reach the consumer and advise to stay away.

Post your Comment


Reply to