Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

St Francis Hospital / Bad service

United States Review updated:
5
Had surgery at St Francis Mooresville campus on 12/11/06. After "numerous" phone calls from myself to the hospital to obtain a "correct" bill, I finally received an accurate billing statement dated 1/1/08. On 1/14/08 at 3:55 I called the central business office listed on the statement and spoke with Natasha who offered a couple of billing options or stated that I could just money "whenever". She was specifically ask if this would pose a problem or lead to a collect situation - she said "no" ! I sent a payment that day. On 1/25/08 I received a phone call from a "collection agency" in Chicago by the name of Harris and Harris regarding this account. I went over my notes with dates/times/names from the past year in dealing with St Francis and they suggested I call St Francis. I called and spoke with Jessica who confirmed my notes and then said she could take my payment via Discover, but first had to put me on hold. Jessica came back on the line and said she had spoke with her supervisor "Aaron" who was going to attempt to pull the account back from the collection agency. She would not take my payment and stated she would have to call me back next week! I called back the collection agency to let them know of my call to St Francis - the agency had already received a call from them and were holding things while they tried to straighten out the mess. So what is going on? St Francis billing dept is not even affording a patient an opportunity to get payment to them... it seems someone just wanted to "clear" off their desk.
Va
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Ba
  27th of Aug, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Exactly!! You have to remember it's all about the money. The more insurance you have the better care you get. If you goto the ER for example, and have no insurance, you're lucky if you get directions to the nearest drug store.

And at least you got medical attention. I have a rare condition that needs constant care, and a primary care guy that doesn't care.

Again, it's about the money. He is with collins medical, and I know for a fact that they don't accept medicare/medicaid, but made the exception for his patients.

Some exception, they are now using the maybe if we ignore her she will go away routine.

I don't think so!!
Ol
  15th of May, 2017
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
My Wife had Foot Surgery The Doctor Dr. Vesstal was extremely Good at what he does, but sorry to have to say his office Staff is very Rude, and my oh my Don't crowd their lunch break, we are elderly people and were 7 minutes past their 15 minute cutoff, we had drove 65 to 70 miles an hour to make it on time, had a awful time getting her loaded in the car, then had to get her unloaded at the Doctors office, then treated terrible, and dirty looks, and made to sit and wait till the office was completely empty, punishment...What a terrible way to treat patients always thought people got in this profession because they cared about others...
Ro
  26th of Jun, 2017
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
In July 2016, a Jennifer Stewart a wonderful and blessed nurse practitioner in Indianapolis while I was at a clinic for sinus and throat issues observed a small tumor about the size of a pebble which was attached to my right tonsil that was inside my mouth. Per Ms. Stewarts instruction I went to my primary Doctor Erhard Bell who I have known for over 40 years. Doctor Bell spends time coaching track and field and is a good man but his actions as my primary doctor may end up costing me life. In July 2016 Doctor Erhard Bell did not use a scope or lighted device to check my throat and he did not run any biopsies or tests which allowed the cancer to grow.  I Subsequently went to see Ms. Stewart again in November 2016 and she informed me the tumor was much bigger and to go ASAP to my primary doctor Erhard Bell to have the cancer tested and once again when I went to my primary doctor he did not use a scope or lighted device to check inside of my mouth as well as he did not offer me any tests or biopsies. In November 2016, I fell down during a road race and went to Doctor Erhard Bell three separate times before he sent me to see a specialist who determined through tests I had torn three of my four hamstrings as well as I had strained my MCL. On  I2-12-16, after I observed a large lump on the right side of my neck which was attached to two of my lymph nodes and  I went to my primary doctor Erhard Bell and he told me I had a little drainage but after 4 trips to him he reluctantly gave me authorization to see a Specialist Dr. Fang in Indianapolis who the very next day on 12-13-17 said that I should have been tested in July when I first went to Doctor Erhard Bell and Doctor Fang also the tumor which was blocking two thirds of my throat and went inches into my throat. Dr. Fang who is a wonderful caring doctor and surgeon asked me if my primary doctor Bell "was totally blind" when my primary Doctor Bell claimed there was nothing inside of my throat. As it ended up, as a result of my primary doctor Erhard Bell I waited over 5 months of what started as a little pebble spread from tonsil to down my throat and into my tongue and into two of my lymph nodes and I ended up with Stage 4 Cancer and have been unemployed since my November thanks to him. Fortunately the Good Lord Placed Dr. Sarah Ali who is a wonderful Doctor who really is thorough and she truly cares about her patients  and another wonderful man Doctor Peter Garrett in Indianapolis over my care and I have came a long way but by no means am I out of the woods and will be lucky to live 5 years despite the fact I have three children and two grandchildren who have been devastated. Doctor Erhard Bell crucified me versus treating me properly when I had stage zero cancer and allowed my cancer to grow to stage 4 which has left me virtuously unemployable. A close friend of mine told me that her son also went to see Doctor Erhard Bell after he observed a legion on his face. My friend of mine told me that after her son was told by Doctor Erhard Bell that the legion on his face was nothing to worry about her son went to another doctor who ran tests and informed her son that he had melanoma cancer. Had it not had been for Jennifer Stewart, Dr. Sarah Ali, Dr. Fang and Doctor Peter Garrett I would have already been deceased.  I have a 17 year old daughter who is autistic and has a functioning IQ of 60 who needs her daddy but as a result of my primary doctors negligence without Christ am doomed. Despite the fact that I am 58 years old Doctor Erhard Bell has never given me a physical and when I have visited him he gets me in in a few minutes without thoroughly examining me or even listening to my complaints which this last time may cost me my life due to his negligence. When I visit Doctor Bell he normally spends more time on his lap top computer than he does interacting with me. I will not be back as a patient with Doctor Bell because when I originally went to see him I had stage zero cancer and five months later I ended up with stage 4 cancer. I have always respected St Francis Hospital and still do. I thank Christ for a hospital that values the sanctity of life. I have been blessed by Doctor Sarah Ali, Doctor Fang and Doctor Garrett who are wonderful doctors who did everything humanly possible to correct the negligence of Doctor Erhard Bell which has left me according to the doctors who really cared about me a 50% percent chance to live 5 years and a 25% chance to live 10 or more years. Had the cancer been treated at stage zero my survival rates who have been in the upper 90%. Please review my charts because I have my own paper trail of the times I went to visit Doctor Erhard Bell. PS I have photographs of the injuries I sustained when falling down that Doctor Bell told me would heal on their own which have still 7 months later not fully healed. Sincerely Roger Gammon.

Post your comment

Submit
     

Reply to

close
Send