The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Spring Meadows Landscaping / Ripped off

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Do not use Spring Meadows Landscaping unless;

- you want to be ripped off like the previous person who lost his deposit;
- you want to be lied to continually all summer waiting for Jason Friend (the owner) to call you;
- get charged for premium material, yet receive the 'junk' from other jobs that have already been paid for;
- horrendously over-charge, invoiced 3 times actual value of the products & services;
- would not provide actual invoices for materials, has now put a lien on my property
- no scope, no plan, no ethics;

Don't get ripped off too by supporting their business!!

St
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ro
      8th of Nov, 2009
    -2 Votes

    I also have been ripped off by Jason the thief, the same experience that others have stated lots of promises and no work was completed!! hejust keeps you haging on with lies!!
    He also stole my deposit, I am currently seeking judgment against him in court.

    Who knows how many people have been ripped off by this thief!! Jason is nothing more than a common thief, how he sleeps at night knowing how many innocent people he has ripped off is beyong me...

    Ron Calibaba
    Calgary

  • Wi
      17th of Jan, 2010
    -3 Votes

    I used Spring Meadow 2 years ago. The owner was completely unprofessional, rude, shady and always lied. Tried to take my money and not do anywork.

    Jason Friend talks a good game during the qoute process but once he gets your deposit he changes for the worst. Please do your research before hiring him and CHECK the BBB of Calgary!

  • Ah
      9th of Jun, 2010
    +2 Votes

    We hired Spring Meadows Landscaping this Spring 2010.
    We have very high praise for Jason Friend and staff.

    Very strange postings in deed!!!

    I find it very very disturbing that sites like these allow any Tom Dick or Harry to post what they want about who they want with no facts or evidence.
    A great media for competitors to post false or untrue envious postings towards another.

    Yes I do agree with free speech, but come on people at least post a real name, a real phone # or email.

    We hired Spring Meadows and they did an they did an excellent job for us.

    In fact unlike all the other companies who came to our yard to quote, Spring Meadows was polite, professional, bonded, has a business license, WCB, Insurance and warrantied their workmanship for 3 years.

    These postings obviously are not true. That is why you do business ONLY with a bonded company, for your own protection.

    Take a look at their website and you be the judge of the quality of work and referrals they have.
    We are talking about multi-million dollar homes they are doing.

    Sincerely
    A happy customer

  • Me
      17th of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I totally agree with the posting of happycustomer.
    These jerks used fake names and one posted from USA.

    I know of one particular landscaper in Calgary who spends most of his time online posting crap like this all over the internet. Why not spend your time looking after your own business.

    Seriously the rest of these posts are total crap!
    Spring Meadows obviously only deal with high end customers, look at their site.

    We hired Spring Meadows Landscaping 2 years ago and there was no issues at all.

    We hired them because we were impressed that they landscaped a yard of one of the richest men in Canada. What does that tell you.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Review added by Jame S Kinnear (07-24-2009)

    "I would like to sincerely thank you so much for all the effort in making the dinner with His Royal Highness The Earl of Wessex and distinguishing guests on Sat 6th June, 2009 such a huge triumph.

    Thanks for a wonderful Job!

    Sincerely, James S. Kinnear.
    President & CEO. Pengrowth Management Limited"

    (View actual referral & photos of the work)
    http://www.springmeadowslandscaping.com/mount_royal.html

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Review added by Allan & Sheri, Church Ranches, Calgary AB (01-11-2010)
    Thank you Spring Meadows Landscaping!!

    We were very happy with the work you guys did for us.

    Please use us as a reference if you like & thank you again for getting the job done :)"

    We get nothing but complements on our yard. We LOVE the patio, waterfall & the outdoor kitchen.


    Allan & Sheri
    Church Ranches, Calgary AB

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Review added by Lylia (11-27-2009)
    We live in Spring Bank (The Slopes).

    We hired Jason Friend from Spring Meadows Landscaping, Calgary AB.

    Jason and his crew did an amazing job on our yard.

    Pondless waterfall, Dry rock river bed, retaining wall, patio, irrigation, lighting, sod, trees and shrubs."

    Thank you for looking after us Jason.

    Armid @ Lylia.
    Spring Bank, Calgary AB

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Review added by Oliver (07-24-2009)
    Hi Spring Meadows Landscaping,

    You and everyone of you employ are absolutely amazing - dealing with you has been the best experience we've ever had with a company.

    It is very much appreciated.

    Oliver H

    Crescent Heights
    Calgary AB

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Review added by Lionel Anderson (06-01-2009)
    We hired Spring Meadows Landscaping Ltd. The fall of 2008.

    They completed our yard the Spring of May 2009.
    We spent around $200, 000.00 in landscaping.

    We are VERY happy with the job they did.
    They completed our yard in about 3 weeks.

    We have told our friends about Spring Meadows. They do good work.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Review added by John Lynsen (05-01-2008)

    Just seen this company listing on Christian Internet.
    I am a Christian and glad to see the owners of Spring Meadows is as well.

    We actually hired this company in 2006.

    We were very happy with the work they did for us how fast they did it.

    God Bless you and your landscaping company!

  • Ro
      17th of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Oh what a load of crap!
    do not believe any of the above testimonials...if you really want the truth call Alberta Services they will tell you that Spring Meadows Landscaping is NOT liscensed or bonded anymore!!

    Or you may simply check with the BBB Better Business Bureau for all the cunresolved complaints made against this un-proffessional company.

    No matter how many phony testimonials are entered here the truth is that Jason Freind is a liar and a thief who has taken money from many honest people and either did not do any work or provided lousy product and poor quality landscaping.

    Why gamble on this looser? find someone that is trustworthy...ask around.

  • Mr
      27th of Jun, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Instead of believing the good or bad reviews here, simply check with the Better Business Bureau of Calgary. If a company is a reputable contractor they will have many opportunities to prove it before the BBB lists any complaints. As you will see when you research Spring Meadows Landscaping in Calgary, there are many complaints from customers, this does not happen if a company is honest and trustworthy. You can also check this link: /URL removed/ for other reports on this company. My advice, stay away from Spring Meadows and from Panamount landscapes, another company of Jason Freind.

  • Tr
      27th of Jun, 2010
    +2 Votes

    A friend of ours lost a load of money to Spring Meadows and when he tried to recover it Jason Friend said he was in Bankruptcy and he should speak to his trustee. Jason Friend is full of promises, but ultimately full of s**t

  • Br
      27th of Jun, 2010
    -1 Votes

    Spring meadows landscaping has a rating of F with the BBB, that is the worst possible score you can get. It is more than obvious that the above testamonials are all fabrications and that Jason Friend is a pathalogical liar. There are many people, some nice and some not so nice, that want a piece of his hide. If I were Jason Freind I might want to consider setting up shop in a different city or perhaps a different country. All that bad karma is bound to catch up to him soon.

    For more facts on Spring Meadows Landscaping check out this link:

    http://www.bbb.org/calgary/business-reviews/landscapers/spring-meadows-landscaping-ltd-in-calgary-ab-49093

  • +1 Votes

    Oh hi, I am a mad customer.
    I hired ummm hire a husband, and GIL landscaping and Year Round Landscaping.
    They both do bad work and ripped me off.

    DO not deal with them. They went broke, have no money and do bad work.
    They stold $100, 000 from me. Honest, I am telling the truth.
    Oh I also a tree hugger and ummm I protest when my friends invite me. I have no idea what I am protesting but Im just like that.
    Yes I am a very negative person who has issues. Just dont hire them, they are bad boys.

    My name is ummm Ron Don, no let me make up another name, Don Ron.

    Anyways, I am a loser, I have no life and have nothing better to do but sit up all night and post fake posting on the internet. (Just to make them look bad and make me feel better, and so that I can go to hell)

    I also believe everything I see on the internet because I am very stupid.
    You guys all need help. Now I see why you use fake names.

    I traced one IP and see it came from another landscape company... GOOOD GRIEF people!!

  • Ac
      5th of Sep, 2010
    0 Votes

    These complaints were from 3 years ago you fools!!!
    GROW UP, and move on.

    I wonder if this Calibaba person is the same crazy person I knew.
    I met a Calibaba from SW Calgary 2-3 years ago and we had an intimate relationship, and yes they were married.
    I wonder if it is the same person.

    I have never had landscaping done, but do know a guy at GLI landscaping in Calgary who used to work there.
    He told me all kinda of stories of how the owner steals his product and equipment attachments.

  • Fa
      5th of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    Very hard to believe
    I wish other business owners would look after their own side of the street and not use these sites to put fake posts online.

    Spring Medaows has been in business for over 6 years.
    They have won so many awards.
    They do only high end yards.
    I seen there work in 3 garden magazines.

    We hired them this year and they completed our yard.
    They have a year waiting list.

    Grow up people.

  • Fa
      5th of Oct, 2010
    -1 Votes

    In the past 3 years, I worked for 4 other landscape companies in the city of Calgary
    All 4 of them are crooks!!

    They steal product, they steal other peoples equipment and attachments.
    It makes me sick.

    I refuse to post the name of these companies, they know who they are.
    It will catch up to them.

    3 of the 4 companies are huge and very well known in this community.

    I worked for Spring Meadows last year and can testify they are not like any of these other crook companies and Jason Friend is not a bad guy at all. Like me he is a Christian and a good guy.

    These posts are very disturbing. He always paid me.
    I know for a fact that all of their equipment is bought and paid for.
    And yes their is a waiting list to hire Spring Meadows.
    When I worked their they turned away most business.

    All I can say is Jason is very good and honest business owner and operator.

  • Ea
      3rd of Dec, 2010
    -1 Votes

    sounds like Jason Friend himself posted the last 2 comments, hes a [censor] with a terrible reputation within the community, where did these awards come from Jason? not Landscape Albeta thats for sure, just saying your an award winning company dosnt make it so.

  • Ro
      30th of Dec, 2010
    +2 Votes

    Just the Facts.

    1) Jason Friend owner of Spring Meadows Landscaping has claimed on his website that he is member of the Landscapers ASSOCIATION...funny thing is that their is no such thing as a Landscapers ASSOCIATION but if you google it, you will find the Landscapers ASSOCIATION website oh yes but the problem is it was created by Jason (nobody"s Friend) owner of Spring Meadows Landscaping and guess what he gives himself a 5-star rating...what a jerf off!

    2) He has an excellent rating with the BBB he has an "F" oh!! wait F is the worse rating you can get with the Better Business Bureau!! ha haha what a con!!! funny he no longer posts that he is a Member of the BBB? Whats up with that??
    3) Notice on his newly designed website he as all sorts of endorsements from imaginary people with NO last names??? kinda hard to contact people with NO last names...Yah think maybe Jason Thief may have written the endorsements himself???? gotta wonder.

    The Vigilanty

  • Mr
      30th of Apr, 2011
    +1 Votes

    I am so happy I was not the only person ripped off. I had just bought a house on an acreage few years ago. I met with Jason Friend to discuss what I want done. He gave me this piece of paper and drew on it with a pencil crayon(it looked like something from elementary school), very unprofessional. I was told by Jason Friend that he would start work immediately after his other job. Few months passed and finally he got a bunch of students picking up some big rocks for a few hours and then they left. Friend FINALLY showed up with a crew and I was very anxious to get my property prepared for hydro seeding. I was home on vacation for a few days and Jason Friend rang my doorbell and asked me if he can borrow my new tractor I just bought from an auction. I did not want him touching my equipment.
    The job was maybe 1/4 done and he and his crew never showed up. I finally had a meeting with him in late September to show him what was not down and the shotty work he and his crew implemented. He just scoffed at everything and did not handle it professionally. So I never paid him his last payment, then he decided to complain about him losing his buisness and selling off a few of his expensive equipment(yet he asked me to borrow my tractor). The past 3 years my family and I are slowly doing the work Jason Friend was paid too do.

  • An
      29th of Dec, 2012
    +1 Votes

    Check put what that liar actually was http://beaconnews.ca/blog/2012/05/jason-friend-of-calgary-faces-internet-luring-child-pornography-charges/. I was working for him for 2 years. Ended up he owing me 3000$. All I can say that most of those complaints above are true.

  • An
      27th of Jan, 2016
    0 Votes

    https://twitter.com/namingthem/status/201398245447045120

    I am still waiting for my $$$

Post your comment