Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Sony Ericsson / Cell Phone / Cheating by Sony dealer

0% 1
TO -
1) Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications AB,
SE-221 88 Lund, Sweden

2) Sony Ericsson Mobile Communications AB,
DLF Cyber City
Sec – 25A, Gurgaon, Haryana - 122002

3B, Little Russel Street,
Kolkata – 700071

Sub: Complaint regarding Sony Ericsson Mobile Phone model No. J200i

This is to bring to your notice that aforesaid mobile was purchased by the undersigned, on 23rd September 2005 from Shoppers Stop, Forum, 10/3, Elgin Road, Kolkata - 700020, under bill dt. 23/9/2005. On purchase, a Warranty Certificate for one year being IMEI No. [protected]. dt of purchase – 23/9/2005 has been issued to me, a photo-copy of which is enclosed herewith along with the Cash memo of purchase.

However, the Mobile is defective and is giving problems since its purchase. Just after purchase, as instructed in the user’s manual the mobile was left to charge for a period of 5 hours. However, after charging for the stipulated period, it was noticed that the talk time was very very poor, and the battery discharge was very fast, and the mobile getting heated up after use for more than 10 minutes. In fact to my shock and surprise, I noticed that the talk time is only around half and hour at the most, before the ‘low battery’ message is displayed.

I immediately contacted the dealer i.e. Shoppers Stop, Forum, 10/3, Elgin Road, Kolkata – 700020, on 26th September 2005 and verbally complained to the counter person and the shop Manager, where they refused to take any responsibility or liability for the defective set. I was advised by the dealer to charge it once more overnight and then use it again. I did as advised but it was of no use and the talk time remained as pathetic as before.

On contacting the dealer again I was advised to contact your service center, namely Usha Infotech Pvt. Ltd., located at 3B, Little Russel Street, Kolkata – 700071. There I met your Sales Officer Mr. Vibhuti Singh who then had the set checked at the Service center. I was informed by your service center that the set had a manufacturing defect, and needed service. I requested them to replace the set with a new replacement set, but they agreed and that they would “SWAP” the mobile with a new circuit, which would be as good as a new set. I was asked to deposit the set with them. I did so on October 14, 2005 vide complaint ID: [protected], with symptom code – 0602 with remarks – Battery discharge fast. I was informed to collect the set in a day or two. However, on repeated inquiry I was informed that SWAP sets were not available and it would take time. Eventually I got my set SWAPPED on 25/10/2005 and was given to me under receipt dt. 25/10/05 time – 2:51:38pm. I was told that a new circuit had been installed and that the problem had been rectified. However, immediately on being handed over the set on checking the total talk-time in the set, to me utter surprise it showed a total talk time of 89 hours, which clearly indicates that an old circuit / system was installed in my handset. I immediately complained and contacted the Service Officer who accepted the lapse and mistake that my handset had been SWAPPED with a very old handset, and immediately took the set back from me and again had it SWAPPED with another new SWAP SET. I received it under receiving date 25/10/05 time – 3:52:31 pm. I was assured that the problem had been solved and that the performance would improve. However, to my dismay and disappointment I find again after charging the set fully overnight the talk time is as bad as ever. In fact after receiving the set after being swapped on 25th October 05, the total talktime of the mobile phone is showing to be 49 minutes and 30 seconds, and in the meantime it has already been charged two times for durations of more than 5 hours each.

It is with deep regret and disappointment I am being constrained to put these above facts on record, with a request to have the problem solved. In fact it is an instant case of misrepresentation and misleading a customer, where the standards and quality of a product are substandard and does not meet with industry standards. This is evident from the fact that in the brochure and on your website, a talk time of 4.5 hours and a standby time of 200 hours are being promised whereas the actual fact is that it is giving a talk time of less than 0.5 hours on a full battery recharge.

This sort of misrepresentation and false inducement on false representations is misleading and is not expected from a leading brand in Mobile Telephones like Sony Ericsson. You will appreciate that talk time is the key feature and requirement of any mobile phone and if it is found to be so bad, then the utility of the phone is totally negated, especially for a person who travels and tours a lot and have an average talk time of around two hours per day. In fact the phone had to be switched off for most of the past two days due to this problem, and I remained uncontactable, thereby causing me great losses in my profession and daily business.

Request you to immediately look into the matter. Please replace the Sony Ericsson Mobile Phone model No. J200i, with another model of your company. I am willing to the differential price for a superior model within my financial budget, which may be provided to me.

Looking for a prompt and positive assurance from in this matter.

Thanking you,
Yours faithfully,


CELL: [protected]

CC - The President, Federation of Consumer Associations, West Bengal
Premlata, 39 – Shakespeare Sarani, 7th floor, Kolkata – 700017


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
N  1st of Nov, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Sony Ericsson / Cell Phone - not working

I purchased sony ericsson mobile phone W300i model if i talk in this phone other side they could 't here voice also head set no output if i connect . iam trying to rectify from autherised sevice centre in chennai iam not getting if any body knows send me the mail.

chennai - 603202
A  6th of Oct, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
if these kind of issues are every where than think it is from Head of Sony ericsson!!! they only aim at sales and they dont care of about service.

Post your Comment


Reply to