SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sleek Cats Cattery / Bad Breeder

1 Review updated:

AVOID THIS SPHYNX CAT BREEDER

I am sharing my experience and Zeke's story in hopes that it may save someone else the heartache and pain myself and my family went through with the painful loss of baby Zeke.

I got Zeke at the end of November 2012, because I fell in love with my brother and his girlfriends' canadian sphynx, Normand. We were all roommates, and thought it would be great for Normand to have a buddy. Zeke was such a sweet little kitten. He was so lively and playful, and always wanted to be around us, he was so loving. Around the end of June 2013, we started noticing Zeke wasn't quite as lively as usual, he had lost some weight, and he felt like he was running a fever. I took him to the vet and they put him on antibiotics, in hopes that it would clear everything up. After about a week being on the antibiotics, Zeke hadn't shown much improvement, and in addition, his belly started to swell up as he continued to lose weight. When I called the vet with these updates, they suggested I bring him in for an ultrasound of his belly. I dropped him off at the vet and received a call later on saying they thought a blood test would be a better option than the ultrasound. After two days, the vet called and delivered the bad news. Zeke had FIP, Feline Infectious peritonitis, which is a mutation of the coronavirus. Cats could have the dormant coronavirus and never get sick, or it could mutate to FIP. Usually mutates to FIP in kittens and older cats because their immune system is weaker than other cats. She informed me that it is fatal and that there are no treatments. She couldn't give me a time frame for how much longer we had with him, she said worst case, 2 weeks, best a few months. The vet kept him on antibiotics to help his immune system fight off any opportunistic infections, since his body was fighting this horrible virus. He had the wet version of the disease, which means that all of his organs were going to fill with fluid and shut down. This news was so devastating. He was such a joy for all of us, and we were all beyond heartbroken that this was happening to him. The vet informed us that it is usually genetic or a result of bad breeding practices, and is most common in catteries. She advised that we inform the breeder immediately as other cats or kittens may be infected, and if this was the case the breeder should cease breeding these cats to avoid another situation like Zeke's.

Zeke came from Sleekats Cattery in Peabody MA, owned by Donna DiGiovanni. I did not buy Zeke directly from her, but I had previously been in contact with Donna, and my experience with her then was just as frustrating then. I wrote Donna an email, informing her what the vet had told me and how broken and upset we all were over this terrible news. Donna's response to my email was very upsetting on many different levels. Her first response to the original email was "I want you to take Zeke here and care for him, for I may be able to save his life" (keep in mind, no treatment, no cure, no progress in 20 years of research with this virus. Also highly contagious, and she wants me to bring him to her cattery) I responded with the information the vet provided about the virus, and asked her what she thought she could do for him that the vets wouldn't be able to. I also expressed that I wanted to spend every moment I could with him if he only had a short time left. We continued to email back and fourth, a total of 9 emails. She asked various questions about his condition and what I was feeding him. She used these correspondents as an opportunity to boast about what a great breeder she was, how knowledgeable she was and how vets and breeders all over the country call her for advice. She also insinuated that I poisoned him, by feeding him a diet with fish in it, as, according to her, cats absolutely can not eat fish. (I fed Zeke Orijen cat food, no grain, all natural, not outsourced, basically the best dry food you can buy) She also, in all 9 emails, did not ONCE say she was sorry, did not offer ONE comforting, or consoling word to me. I informed Donna the day I learned this bad news, July 5th 2013. After this series of emails, I did not hear from her ever again, to check in, to see how he was doing, to see if any of her suggestions worked. NOTHING, not ONE word.

In the following month and a half, I switched Zeke to a raw diet and he showed signs of improvement, his belly shrank down a little, he started to gain some weight back and he was more lively. It was short lived unfortunately, but we were grateful that even for a few weeks he could enjoy us as he used to before he was ill. In the weeks to follow, we watched Zeke deteriorate rapidly right before our eyes. It was the most heartbreaking experience I have ever had to go through. His belly swelled back up and he lost so much weight you could see every bone in his body. He didn't have much of an appetite and didn't really want to move around much. He was just a baby, and it is such a horrible virus and it just was not fair that he was taken from us. We love him so much and we are all so devastated.

Zeke was born on August 14, 2012. He was diagnosed with FIP July 5th 2013. The day after his first birthday, August 15th 2013, I had to have him put down, it broke my heart.

Donna also called and left me a voicemail in July, along with our exchange of emails. In which she was aloof and didn't seem to care at all. She informed me that this was the SECOND cat out of 113 litters to get FIP (The other one wasn't her fault either…) The general statistic for FIP is 1 in every 5, 000 cats, Donna's statistic however... if you average 4-6 kitten per litter, lets say 5. So 5 X 113 = 565 kittens average, in her career as a breeder. Out of 565 TWO have had full blown FIP. 1 in every 282 of Donna's cats has FIP, in comparison to 1 in 5, 000. WOW. I am writing this in hopes that no one else would every have to go through this horrible and painful experience. If this woman is breeding and selling FIP or coronavirus positive cats, she should be shut down. No one should have to experience what we went through with Zeke. Her cats could have the dormant version of the coronavirus, and when she breeds them, she's passing it down to the kittens, and Zeke's sad story could be a reality for someone else. Based on her behavior, it is quite clear, SHE DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THESE CATS, AND DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THE PEOPLE WHO BUY THEM. The only thing she is concerned about is the money in her bank account.

We posted Zeke's story on sphynxlair.com and the response was overwhelming. We are so appreciative for all the prayers and support. We also got a lot of interesting responses with people expressing their frustrations with their dealings with Donna as well. Many complained she was pushy, rude, unprofessional, condescending, and bullied them if they had any disagreement with her. Based on my interactions with Donna, I would definitely agree with every one of these. I would strongly suggest if you are buying a sphynx kitten, DO NOT BUY FROM THIS BREEDER, DONNA DIGIOVANNI SKEEKATS CATTERY. If you do, you should be prepared for a potentially horrible outcome with your new kitten, and also be prepared for the headache of dealing with her. If you have already purchased a kitten from Sleekats Cattery, I would suggest you educate yourself on FIP. If anyone has any questions I would be more than happy to answer them, I would also be happy to provide all of the email and voicemail correspondents with Donna, or pictures of Zeke to show the horrible reality of what this disease does. I am opening up my life and Zeke's story, in hopes to deter even one person from purchasing a kitten from this breeder. If she is breeding cats with the coronavirus, she should be shut down, period. I would not wish what we went through on anyone.

Sleek Cats Cattery

Sp
Aug 30, 2013

More Sleek Cats Cattery Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      Sep 30, 2013

    i just went through this on friday, 9/27/13 with my beautiful persian lucy.. she was 6 1/2 months old and suffered with FIP and it was the most heartbreaking experience i have ever encountered. i know she contracted it through the breeder's home, which was filthy and they werent taken care of. i felt that i saved lucy from her house by taking her . now my home feels empty without her and watching her in pain has been stomach turning and heart wrenching. i feel from here i need to find justice for lucy, by reporting this breeder so she cannot cause this pain to anyone else or any animals. do you have any recommendations on how i would go about doing this??

    -2 Votes
  • Um
      Oct 17, 2013

    We recently purchased a peterbald from this same breeder, not knowing that there were complaints on her cattery. After a few days it became apparent that our new kitten was sick. After a trip to the vet we were given a diagnosis: feline herpes. She knew this kitten had it (gave us some poppycock story about washing his eyes and them being irritated with soap when we purchased him). To this day she denys it. I only hope and pray that this is all that is making our kitten unwell, having know seen this post. I am so sorry for your loss--dear owner of poor little zeke.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Nov 06, 2013

    I noticed neither one of you want to say your name and neither one of you have a signed contract w/me the owner of Sleekats cattery. First of all Katie, the first reviewer, I will collect all my FB and E-mail messages to you and your room mate whom refused to even give me your name who posted a picture of Sleekats Pontiac, aka Zeke, kitten on FB which one of my clients who has 3 cats from my cattery saw and told me. You never contacted me until I threatened going to court for an injunction. You had another cat under your care which was very sick whom I believe gave my kitten the corona virus and with you feeding Sleekats Pontiac "All Natural FISH" which I told you two times not to feed any cat for it kills them. My kitten could not fight off the corona virus for it was more than likely trying to survive from poisoning from it's all natural "FISH" diet which you had Zeke on. I did every thing in my power to get the get cat back which you refused. I did everything in my power to treat the cat and give advice on how to treat Corona Virus. Once again you refused. I guess you are the EXPERT seeing Zeke is dead now under your care. I have 120 litters to date and 116 litters at 2.3 kittens per litter (little miss expert who knows all). You are a very sketchy person at best. I couldn't even get your name for well over a month, and not once spoke to you via telephone for you would not give me your phone number! I noticed that you leave out all the information that makes me a caring positive breeder and reword the truth such as "previously in contact with Donna". Let's get this straight I'm the ONE whom hunted for you trying to get any and all information about you. It wasn't until I mentioned bringing your room mate to court did you contact me. I had asked her for your name and she refused. I do have all correspondence which your room mate states how sick Norman was. Once I put all this correspondence together I will not only post it here I may even bring you to court for slandering my business. Oh and the 2 siblings are alive and healthy and both are pictured on my FB constantly. The owner of Rage has two of my cats and the owner of Spence purchased three of my cats. Odd yours is the only one whom is not alive and you are the only one I did not sell the kitten to. Your kitten was taken home on Nov. 10, 2013 for the original owner, it is unclear the exact date you got the kitten. I do know you had the kitten within 2 weeks of sale. I have no idea why someone would purchase a $1, 200.00 kitten and never contact the breeder within 2 weeks of sale and tell her that she re homed the animal. I had contacted the original owner at least 4 times prior to you owning this kitten. Megan told me on Dec. 01, 2012 "he's doing great". Odd that she did not even have the cat at that time, you did. I find it strange that you never contacted me telling me you had a kitten from my cattery. In fact it seemed you and Lauren did everything possible so that I did not know who the owner of this kitten was. Megan too refused to give me your name and contact information. I'm thinking and this is only speculation, that I refused you a kitten from my cattery and you got this Megan to get you this kitten.
    Now Alexis is the second BAD reviewer. She too did not sign a contract w/me. Joseph her husband filled it out under his name and not Mr. & Mrs. which is very weird. After back & forth e-mails w/Alexis and then finally her husband where I had asked from them to return the kitten just like I did in Katie's case, they refused. I then asked if I could make a house visit. After a few minutes of whispering, he agreed. At that time I had a client visiting her second Sleekats baby here in my home, her first being 8 years old. I asked Michelle if she would come with me to Natick, Ma. to make a house visit, Michelle agreed. I had already offered to take this kitten back, offered their many back and also brought another kitten with me for exchange. They had received the heartiest kitten in my cattery at the time. The reason why I wanted them to have this kitten because they had 3 young girls whom while in my home the youngest one refused to let go of a 7 wk. old kitten where her parents had to literally pull the kitten from her hands.
    When entering their home in Natick, Ma. Joesph lead me to their living room where this bald 14 wk. old kitten laid in a bay window on top of sheets with a fan blowing. The woman that was with me, Michelle, gasped and said "Oh no you can not have that kitten in that window like that it's to cold". Her fear was that the drafty cold air was blowing on the kitten causing this kitten to get sick. I went over and picked the kitten up and it's body temperature was on fire and he was shaking tremendously. I then handed the kitten over to Joesph and said (Alexis was not there in the home at this time and was picking up the children from school) "can you not feel how hot this cat is and feel the shaking in the bones?" FYI- a bald hairless kitten can not be kept warm while in a bay window laying on top of a cold sheet that do not conduct heat! I had brought a kitten wrapped in a warm blanket from my house to exchange but clearly would not at his point in time for fear of the same lack of care in terms of keeping this kitten warm. I then took my blanket that I brought and wrapped their extremely sick kitten in. By Alexis's written own admission, their sick kitten was seen by her vet 2 weeks prior and the kitten was not sick and not given any medications what so ever for anything! It is now 2 weeks later and this kitten is shaking and body temperature is on fire. There was no sneezing, no eye or nasal discharge which had been written and was spoken verbally to me. The cat never had these symptoms and did not that day. This would lead me, being a breeder of the hairless cat since 2004, that this was a bacterial upper respiratory infection due to cold temperatures not suitable for any hairless kitten. It also didn't help that they had a rabbit caged on the floor in the same room. In hindsight, this could be the purpose for the fan blowing, to mask the smell of rabbit poop and urine. I did write down my name & number & what I felt needed to be prescribed for them to give their vet that day. After e-mailing them that night for the outcome of the vet visit, this was the first response the following morning from Joseph and this is what he wrote :
    Hi Donna,
    The vet did not think that Maximus' case was too serious. She said that it was an upper respiratory infection. She prescribed doxcyclin. He took his first dose last night and seems to already be feeling better this morning. The fever was not too alarming to her and she did not recommend specific medications for lowering the fever because it was not at health threatening levels and would actually be a sign of his own body fighting the infection. It seems to have already gone down this morning.
    She also prescribed ethyromyicin ointment for the eyes. He is still eating (actually had a very hearty appetite last night), drinking and using the kitty litter box, so we are not too worried at this stage. The vet seems confident that he should be feeling much better by Monday.
    Thanks again for you continued care for Maximus. We will keep you informed.
    All the best,
    Joseph
    NOW one would ask why this woman would slander my cattery. I can only suspect... when I was in their home Alexis's did return home and held the "exchange" kitten that I had brought and stated she wanted two. I then yelled "NO"! I couldn't help myself...it just came out. I was so afraid that another kitten of mine would have the same fate after being in their home. I also took their family photo off my website for they are not the type of family I search for in terms of care givers for my hairless cats. This was written the same time that where someone from their IP address went into my site to the "Kittens and Families" page where I had removed their family picture.
    All potential families are mentored prior to picking up a kitten. All need to have certain products and then are required to use them. One being a heating pad where the kitten can have some added warmth which this kitten clearly was NOT laying on. By her own admission the eye & ear medications which all hairless cats need she did not administer as well.

    +2 Votes
  • Sl
      Nov 06, 2013

    Oh lawyer told me today not to have any correspondence with you in light of the slandering of me and my business. For he wants to proceed forward.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Nov 08, 2013

    Where does he write "Herpes Virus" ??? Thank Goodness for E-mails!
    Hi Donna,
    The vet did not think that Maximus' case was too serious. She said that it was an upper respiratory infection. She prescribed doxcyclin. He took his first dose last night and seems to already be feeling better this morning. The fever was not too alarming to her and she did not recommend specific medications for lowering the fever because it was not at health threatening levels and would actually be a sign of his own body fighting the infection. It seems to have already gone down this morning.
    She also prescribed ethyromyicin ointment for the eyes. He is still eating (actually had a very hearty appetite last night), drinking and using the kitty litter box, so we are not too worried at this stage. The vet seems confident that he should be feeling much better by Monday.
    Thanks again for you continued care for Maximus. We will keep you informed.
    All the best,
    Joseph

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Nov 08, 2013

    MOST LIKELY is not a conformation for HERPES Alexis. A blood test would confirm that the cat did not have herpes. Did you tell your Vet that the cat was laying in a cold bay window on top of sheets with a fan? Vet's are not mind readers and do not know what your care has been. I did however see this along with a client of mine who owns two of my cats the day I made a house visit to your house in Natick, Ma. If you wanted to prove me wrong as an experienced breeder then you would have gotten this blood test. But now on the other hand it would prove you wrong. I will stake my reputation on the fact that Sleekats Maxiumus did NOT have herpes virus. His illness was due to your care or lack of, being not kept at a temperature that is require for a 14 week old totally bald cat. No heating pad, no blanket and non sufficient clothing. Any sports store sells 40% wool socks, such as the one that was given to you, where you can make a nice warm sweater for the animal with.
    -
    The vet says he has an upper respiratory infection most likely due to feline herpes.
    He is even playing more and seemed most grateful when I steamed up the bath room last night and helped drain his stuffy nose!
    Thanks for checking in,
    Alexis and Joseph
    YOU KNOW WHEN A BREEDER DEFENDS THEMSELVES EVERYONE SAYS HOW RUDE THEY ARE. I GUESS WE ARE NOT TO DEFEND OURSELVES ARE WE? WE ARE TO WALK ON EGGSHELLS AND LET TWO IGNORANT WOMAN SLANDER US. THIS WAY THEY MAKE THEMSELVES FEEL BETTER TAKING THE CARE AND BLAME OFF OF THEM. NEITHER WOMAN CAN BACK UP WITH WHAT THEY HAVE STATED NOR DID EITHER WOMAN SIGNED A CONTRACT WITH ME.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Nov 08, 2013

    Herpes Virus (Rhinotracheitus) FVR - My kittens are all vaccinated three times against Herpes Virus at 5, 10 & 12 weeks of age. They say most cats carry herpes. It causes one half of the respiratory diseases in cats. Initial signs are nasal and eye discharge, sneezing, coughing and weight loss. If a cat from my cattery was to get sick, it would be a mild form. With this being said, if your cat gets cold or gets stressed respiratory virus may develop.


    L-lysine has been recommended anecdotally to suppress viral replication. A more recent study supports the use of L-lysine for treatment of ocular signs of FHV-1 infection. However other subsequent studies on L-lysine use and FHV-1 showed an increase in disease severity and incidence of detection of FHV-1 where L-lysine was used, bringing into question lysine's usefulness in FHV-1 infections.

    I really don’t know how much more a breeder can do to prevent this virus in any cat. I have tried my absolute hardest to breed these animals and protect them. I do not cut edges or cost when it comes to my cats.

    Corona Virus- It is written that most cats also carry Corona Virus. In my cattery when a kitten is born Momma nurses and give babies colostrum for the first three days. I also supplement with bottle feedings up to 4 to 5 weeks of age. At three to four weeks of age solid food is introduced where I begin to hand feed each baby. At 5 to 6 weeks of age Momma is taken away from baby because the antibodies from Moms colostrum is now wearing off. This assures kitten does not get Corona Virus through Momma milk which will kill them. This I believe this is “Fading Kitten Syndrome”. When a kitten continues to nurse and kitten dies shortly after. Most cats can live and tolerate the corona virus. Every time you bring your cat to the vets office you open your cat up to a world of virus. Most people only bring their animals to the vet when they are sick with a fatal illness. My belief is when you bring your hairless cat to the Vet just about everyone in the place touches your cat. You may have just introduced your cat to Corona Virus and any other virus that has been in that office. If the Corona Virus mutates to FIP, this can be fatal in most cases without the use of Clindamycin, (the use of Clindamycin has worked in saving many a cats life which almost all vets disagree with. Breeders have used this antibiotic with great sucess). When one gets their animal spay or neutered, the animal is at high risk of contracting the Corona Virus. Now the cat is in a weakened state from this surgery. This is when FIP can develop and about 3 to 6 months later the cat will die. Once again I truly don’t know how much a breeder can do to protect any animal after they leave their cattery. I have and still do go out of my way to recommend treatment and care for any one of my animals born in my cattery.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Nov 24, 2013

    Wow this woman is crazy there are dozens of complaints against this breeder on sphynxlair forum saying she is a bad breeder, a liar, and in denial. I'm glad I read this review and got on sphynxlair forum and found out before purchasing from her.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
      Dec 31, 2013

    To all that May be reading this post, My attitude toward the initial complain is that I agree...
    My dear sweet kitty Stella has just lost her battle to FIP. Stella was from the same cattery that Zeke was from. She was 10 months old and have been fighting her fight with dry form FIP for a few months. This is a difficult disease to treat as you may all well know. My Family is heartbroken and sick about all that has transpired. I am in no condition to discuss details, but watching your little one struggle to stay alive as this disease progresses is something that I wish would never happen again. When contacting the breeder in reference to the outcome of my Stella"s condition and the concern I had as there have been other Kitties within a short time frame from her cattery that had died of FIP.( I will not mention a number, but there are more) The breeder responded in an unfavorable way with anger, hostility and profanity. As I understand, problems can arise. This is an ugly disease and there is sometimes outbreaks that happen that are not expected. I get it... but why continue to sell your Kittens when you are aware there may be a problem. Is that being a responsible breeder ?? This woman does love her cats and I do not doubt that she may BELIEVE she is doing what is best. I was yelled at, accused of not taking care of my cat initially with "Clindamycin" as she suggested in the beginning when I had called to ask if any of her cats had food allergies as Stella was having a hard time digesting her food. Yes, she had offered to take her and try to fix her, I could not let her go as she was quite ill and needed one on one care. The cattery was not the right place for her. (this was a concern, maybe another post). I had been back and forth to the vet, who I very much respect and with whom had conferred with a feline internest at Cornell Vet school. The diagnosis had taken some time as dry FIP symptoms are not always in your face as fluid in the belly. The blood test were run, x-rays sample etc...protocol was followed, we helped Stella in every way we could. She was nothing but a little bag of bones in the end, brave and sweet as ever. I miss her and my heart hurts. Why this post? because I need to tell my story. I want to let others know so they can make an informed decision. The last words I heard from the breeder was "leave me alone, you are haunting me, I am going to have a heart attack, YOUR cat must of picked up Corona from the house you moved into ( The house was vacant for 6 months and no previous cats), you did not listen to me and therefore your cat died, you vet did not diagnose in time, and that I could shove something (could not understand what?) up my @#$, do not call me ...on and on. In a message she also asked if I wanted her to slit her wrist ??? If you are considering this breed of cat (sphynx), please be informed well on the care, Chose a cattery wisely, ask for references, read the contract .This breeder does not have a health guarantee on the contract. please read carefully. The state of Mass. has a lemon law for pet purchase, does not cover but a couple of weeks. Please look over your options. I think the a good word for my experience with this breeder is " unstable " Beware of medical advice and ask what medication protocol is being used and why. Talk to your vet if there has been medications used.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      Dec 31, 2013

    My Daughter Amanda and I Florence have purchased 3 kittens from Sleekats Cattery and we did everything that Donna told us to do, We bought and used every ointment and medicine that she told us we needed, We also bought a heating blanket and soft furry kitty beds to keep them warm. Now the last Kitten we got was Spence which is the brother to the kitty who Died, ZEKE. Spence has never had any issues. Neither has the other 2 cats that we have gotten from sleekats cattery. We have never fed them anything that has fish in it .Now i was the one that contacted Donna and told her that Zeke was on EBAY FOR SALE FROM THE PERSON WHO BOUGHT HIM FROM DONNA. NOW WHY WAS HE BEING SOLD ON THAT SITE FOR 1. I FOUND OUT WHO BOUGHT HIM FROM THAT SITE AND CONTACTED DONNA RIGHT AWAY AND SHE DID EVERYTHING IN HER POWER TO GET THAT CAT BACK SEEING THAT THE PERSON SHE SOLD HIM TO WAS TRYING TO GET RID OF THE KITTEN. He was not cared for properly from the minute he left Donna's house! I have been to Donna's house and it is spotless for having it be a cattery and Donna takes pride in what she has given to us and that is precious cats . You cannot take these hairless cats home and treat them like cats that have fur . If your hairless cat gets sick its probably because your not doing something right. I would not buy from any other cattery . Donna is a professional Breeder and i recommend her to anyone that wants a healthy and loving beautiful little soul. I will stand beside Donna on this situation because she is absolutely right in everything that she has said about this matter. I will swear on Gods name that every thing i have said is the truth.

    +1 Votes
  • Fl
      Dec 31, 2013

    One more comment for jimmy89 People have Babys and they die because of a virus or disease does that make them Bad breaders? Can you really tell me that sphynxlair has not lost 1 kitten ever at their cattery.? I beg to differ.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
      Dec 31, 2013

    There are kittens from this cattery that have been confirmed and died from FIP. Zeke is not he only one that had this problem in the past few months. Donna Loves what she does, and it seems her intentions are all well, yet there is delusion. I will ask this to you Florence, What would you say to Donna if your cat died of FIP at 10 mos. old and you did everything possible to save your baby? I do not believe you have all the facts straight, it is a complicated issue in catteries. Once there is a problem with numerous kitties in a short time who die from FIP who came from the same cattery, something is wrong and there is an ethical responsibility for the breeder to make changes. Problem number two with this, the response from the breeder in reference to this situation: I had just lost my kitten to FIP that I had gotten from Sleekats. Donna initial reply was, so sorry for your loss, warm regards?? Then when asked how the situation is going to be handled as My kitten was not the only one ( I will not speak for others, nor give the number) I was screamed at, cursed at, accused of being the cause of my kittens death due to the fact I did not give her "Clindamycin" as she had prescribed. She has been doing this for years, no doubt she may know a thing or two, but she is not a VET! My kitten was cared for very well by a Doctor, her lab work was reviewed by the best internist. FIP is not curable. There is no health guarantee from Sleekats. Not only was I yelled at, she talk too much about her clients to other clients. I was initially sucked in to thinking that she was saying was true, like a kitten dying from poisen ?( MY BAD) It seems that what she was telling me were her rendition of what she needs to believe to cope. I sure hope that Donna really gathers herself, get healthy in her spirit and finds peace. FIP hits hard. It is a disservice to believe clindamycin is a cure and not to look at why several cats from your cattery have died within a short time frame. These cats have been diagnosed with FIP or suspected unless proven otherwise. I will continue to tell my story, no intention to slander, just to provide a voice for these kittens that have died. Thank you

    -2 Votes
  • Fl
      Jan 01, 2014

    You are not being honest at all Because i know she tried to get that kitten back from you and you would not respond to her. That i do know because you deleted all of us from your page so we couldn't see the pictures you were posting. You bought that kitten from the internet you don't know what that cat was in contact with before you got it. Why don't you just admit this fact. You are only doing this out of spite because you tried to bye a kitten from her and she refused to sell you one. So you buy a sick one from the internet and then blame it on her cattery. I have nothing else to say to you because i have been truthful in my statements . You have serious issues to try to ruin a persons lively-hood when in all reality she did not sell you that kitten, she cannot help what happens to any kitten when it leaves her premises. When you bye any animal from the internet you have no idea where it has been and what it has been in contact with. You are slandering her because you cannot prove anything you have said. You should ask the person that you bought it from on the internet what happened to your cat. THAT IS THE PERSON THAT WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR YOUR ISSUE.

    +1 Votes
  • Lr
      Jan 01, 2014

    To Florence 1hr 4 mins ago, I want to ask what post are you responding to? LLLT or Jimmy's???

    -2 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 01, 2014

    The last post posted was from another client of Sleekats cattery, Florence you are responding to Zeke, I posted yesterday to let others know that there are other families that have had kitties from this cattery die. This is awful, I am confidant in the care of my kitten, she was loved and had a great home and family. FIP does not discriminate. You may want to educate yourself about this virus . I am the owner of Stella. I shared my story yesterday, I am LLLT. Again, you are reacting and not fully informed. I have lost my baby Stella recently. There are also other kittens from this cattery that have died from FIP in the past several months. Donna is aware and knows very well who these kittens and families are. There is a denial that is taking place here. Donna can say what she has to, believe there is not a problem and lay blame to the owners of these kitties and behave as a victim. The real victims here are the kittens and their suffering. This is a horrible disease. If these kittens produced are genetically succeptable to corona mutating to FIP, something needs to change. You may be very fortunate and I pray that this remains so and all your kitties are not affected. No slander, just facts. I know that the intention here is no harm, but denial can be dangerous. I was yelled, cursed, blamed, called names and actually asked if I wanted her to have a heart attack among other things. I was just asking her "what happens now? and asked for clarity as to what protocol was if a kitten died from her cattery within a short time. As a client, that is a reasonable request. there were so many things said and many of them were contradicting. I just wanted clarity. This is not good business and my experience with Donna was not professional.

    -2 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 03, 2014

    If you are going to tell your story Laurie Tucker as you state, one must tell the WHOLE story. This is an e-mail sent to Laurie after her continued harassment to me. I had done everything humanly possible to help her but nothing I could say or do was good enough for her. Even committing suicide would not be good enough for this woman who had 2 cats from my cattery.
    "OK Laurie,
    From day one I explained to you about the corona virus, herpes virus, respiratory virus, conjunctivitis and etc. All of this is on my website which you were told to read.
    You signed a non refundable contract w/me as well which clearly states the cat is be in good health at the time of delivery to buyer, which in fact Stella aka, Sleekats Rene, was.
    When you told me your cat was sick I asked you if it was the corona virus and you said NO it was a food allergy. I also asked you on three different occasions for the cat back and you responded NO. I told you at the very beginning to put the cat on Clindamycin and you said NO. You said you had a great vet from Cornel who said it was not corona that it was a food allergy. I said odd that a cat that was on a chicken diet for 8 months would all of a sudden be allergic to it. I asked you then once again to put the cat of clindamycin and get a corona test which you did not.
    This is how it works... corona effects the white blood cell count which shows "infection". This is when the cat will produce more "antibodies" for corona. The more antibodies that are produced the higher the titer count of these antibodies. Which in turn the higher the antibody titer count the more likely the corona will mutate. After many weeks of non treatment of Clindamycin for the infectionn of the corona virus it will mutate to FIP at the very end of the cat's life.
    You resentfully asked why was Brenda's four cats were alive and yours was dying??
    Brenda and her Vet listen to my recommendations thats why. I can not help the cats who's care takers don't even as much as say a word or take my recommendations. The only known drug that will stop the production of these antibodies is the drug called Clindamycin.
    No FIP did NOT initiate from my cattery. FIP is secondary to the corona virus."

    I want everyone to know this is my and other breeders opinion through our experience of breeding. I have bred 120 litters of hairless cats for almost a decade. To have a very few number of loss to destroy one is just disgusting. I work hand and hand with other breeders of the hairless cat. Do NOT think we do not have no feelings. I can not tell you how much depth my heart has and who I am. I would do anything and I mean anything to help any one of my cats. But the client has to take my recommendations.
    *Zeke was put in a home with a Canadian Sphynx that was sick and had severe diarrhea. I was told that this cat had a food allergy. Both these cats shared the same litter box. Now I once again ask is it possible that Zeke being a 12 wk. old kitten got sick from the sick Canadain Sphynx that was a rescue cat so I was told. This was another woman that would not listen to not even one word I had to say. She said she was well educated in the care of a Sphynx. Hard to believe when you just rescued a sick Canadian Sphynx. You said Zeke was on an all natural FISH diet. I asked you please take him off that for cats will die from fish. You refused! I asked you to put the cat on Clindamycin, you refused stating the Vets know more than I and other breeders. How could this animal fight any infection when you were poisoning it system with the all natural Fish diet you had him on. I also offered to take the cat back which you refused. At this point I knew it was no use and this cats was going to die. Once again I could NOT do anything more to save my Beautiful baby from this fait.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 03, 2014

    LLLT aka Laurie Tucker if your going to your story please tell the whole story. This is what I wrote Laurie Tucker yesterday after another harassing e-mail that she sent me.
    "OK Laurie,
    From day one I explained to you about the corona virus, herpes virus, respiratory virus, conjunctivitis and etc. All of this is on my website which you were told to read.
    You signed a non refundable contract w/me as well which clearly states the cat is be in good health at the time of delivery to buyer, which in fact Stella aka, Sleekats Rene, was.
    When you told me your cat was sick I asked you if it was the corona virus and you said NO it was a food allergy. I also asked you on three different occasions for the cat back and you responded NO. I told you at the very beginning to put the cat on Clindamycin and you said NO. You said you had a great vet from Cornel who said it was not corona that it was a food allergy. I said odd that a cat that was on a chicken diet for 8 months would all of a sudden be allergic to it. I asked you then once again to put the cat of clindamycin and get a corona test which you did not.
    This is how it works... corona effects the white blood cell count which shows "infection". This is when the cat will produce more "antibodies" for corona. The more antibodies that are produced the higher the titer count of these antibodies. Which in turn the higher the antibody titer count the more likely the corona will mutate. After many weeks of non treatment of Clindamycin for the infectionn of the corona virus it will mutate to FIP at the very end of the cat's life.
    You resentfully asked why was Brenda's four cats were alive and yours was dying??
    Brenda and her Vet listen to my recommendations thats why. I can not help the cats who's care takers don't even as much as say a word or take my recommendations. The only known drug that will stop the production of these antibodies is the drug called Clindamycin.
    No FIP did NOT initiate from my cattery. FIP is secondary to the corona virus."
    PLEASE DO NOT ACT LIKE I DID NOTHING! I spoke to you via telephone expressing my concern and sadness many many times.

    +1 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 06, 2014

    Once again I have many FB & e-mails. I can NOT help my cats if the care giver will not let me. The Vet mis diagnosed the cat over 2 months prior to death saying it was a food allergy.
    Monday, December 16, 2013 8:22 AM
    hi Donna,
    i hope that today will be a better day for you, maybe a little venting was good!
    i am serious about getting another kitty in the future. When one comes around that you feel is a good fit, let me know.
    i am not ready immediately, but  can be in a few months.You are an awesome lady, top notch breeder and as
    i feel, a good friend.
    have a great day!
    hugs,
    laurie
    Dec. 23, 2013
    I can assure you that however your opinion in
    that matter is just your opinion. 
    I am so very sad.
    I do appreciate your initial concern and that you offered to
    take her for some time. I do not feel selfish in not
    allowing that, I can assure you that she has had the best
    care and has been loved beyond words.
    Laurie,
    I am so deeply sorry Laurie. My heart bleeds for you.
    I know above all know how precious these babies are.
    I am sick over what has happened and have not slept easy for weeks and weeks.

    I REALLY DON'T KNOW HOW MUCH MORE I COULD HAVE DONE. IT ALMOST SEEMES THAT SHE WANTS ME TO SUFFER AND SUFFER. AND LAURIE DEAR BOY HAVE I. YOU HAVE DONE A WONDERFUL JOB. COMPLAINING TO TICA REALLY??? THEY DO NOT HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH MY CATTERY. THEY ARE ONLY A REGISTRY OF THE HISTORY OF AN ANIMAL WHICH I USE MY OWN PEDIGREE SOFTWARE PROGRAM AND NOT THEM. THE CONTRACT I HAVE THAT YOU SIGNED, IS WHAT THE TICA ASSOCIATION TELLS BREEDERS TO PUT IN IT. I AM THE BLAME BECAUSE STELLA WAS MIS DIAGNOSED FOR WELL OVER TWO MONTHS. I ASKED 3 TIMES FOR THE CAT BACK, I TOLD YOU FROM THE BEGINNING TO PUT THE CAT ON CLINDAMYCIN, I TOLD YOU TO GET THE CAT TESTED FROM DAY ONE. THIS DID NOT TAKE PLACE FOR ALMOST 2 TO 3 MONTHS. THE CAT WAS TESTED AROUND DEC. 23. STELLA PASSED SHORTLY AFTER ON DEC. 30.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 06, 2014

    THIS IS LINK WITH INFORMATION ON FEEDING YOUR CAT AN ALL "FISH" DIET.
    http://www.littlebigcat.com/nutrition/why-fish-is-dangerous-for-cats/

    0 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 06, 2014

    It is unfortunate that this has to continue, I will hold my ground as you well know. I understand your dispute and I know all about FIP, It did not initiate from your cattery. I never said anything about Brenda resentfully. I would have no reason to be resentful.. so who are you talking about???? I believe you have your stories wrong, maybe some one else you were dealing with that had a sick kitty. ...Yes, my kitty had a food allergy...she actually had hives.. again you have your stories wrong. Donna, you have corona in your cattery, not FIP (mutation of corona) the kittens from your cattery have developed what may be suspected FIP . You told folks you had a cat you kept in a room in your cattery for a year that had corona. I do not want to go there as to how many cats have developed the same exact symptoms and died from your cattery within a six months period of time. YOU MAY BE BREEDING LITTERS THAT ARE MORE SUCCEPTABLE TO DEVELOPING FIP AFTER A CORONA INFECTION. Yes, we all know that you care for these kittens, Clindamycin does not cure corona, I will not put my kitten on medication unless prescribed by a vet. She had been on Clindamycin as I said in the beginning... you are confusing your stories. I had initially asked how can this happen, there is so much more to this than what could be said in a letter. Some of these cats had no other way to get exposed to corona but your cattery. FIP is rare, not so common to have so many in such a short time. You are indeed wise about some things and possibly dangerously ill informing your clients as to the use of antibiotics for viral infections. As a matter of fact, wrongful abuse use of antibiotics actually may cause a disturbance in the healthy gut flora and there fore decrease the bodies natural ability to fight off infection. Harassing? no, just asking clarity as to how you handle this situation. I really hope you find some peace in your spirit. I know what our exchange was and the only harassment here was the continued foul mouth screaming, name calling and accusations of me killing my cat. I was very professional and not once did I step over the line and respond in a negative way.I wanted an answer to a question that you failed to answer with your abusive and explosive outburst . I deserved an answer that was not a threat. I actually thanked you for your response when I had gotten an answer. I explained I did not any longer wish to hash this out and wished you well, best of luck in doing what you love. I also may recommend that you do not talk about your clients with other clients, this has obvious not worked to your advantage and is not good for business. You have spoken ill of everyone you do business with at one time or another. I did not pay mind, just lent an ear, I do not care what you think of them. I had you pegged as being a harmless character and no harm done. I am very sorry that all that has happened, has happened. I do not for see a future that I would recommend your cattery to anyone looking for a sphynx. Your cats are beautiful, they are very sweet and I am so lucky that I had Stella in my life, yet your professionalism and the way you handle dispute is difficult to handle. We loved her and were so sad that she became ill. I did not have the nercropsy report done because it would have done nothing but give you information you would refuse to digest. We were financially and emotionally drained. All arrows in the end pointed to FIP... If not FIP, then Lymphoma. Would that have mattered to you, NO... because some how, someway according to you, I killed my cat because I did not follow your protocol of Clindamycin. If I am wrong and Clindamycin has been medically proven to wipe out the Corona virus, please tell me where there is documented evidence. I believe that you have a gift, you do have a wealth of information and experience that could be helpful t others in this business. Yet, and I hold my ground, you do not know all. I can walk away from this and say I did my best, I covered my bases and I have said my piece, as you yours. We can only agree on one thing as I have stated, to disagree. I want to heal right now. You have made it very clear where you stand, and there is where I will leave you.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
      Jan 06, 2014

    I have noticed in all of the comments from those who had their kittens die the one thing they didn't do was to give them the clindamycin, and my vet will tell you that all vets still treat these sphynx's like all other cats because they still don't know the make up of a sphynx because they have only been around for a short amount of time. They have not been here like the average household cat. My question is why didn't you use the medication's that you were told to use? I just don't get that, if someone told me to use it that it would help my sick cat, that would of been the first thing i would of done. My cat Spence was Zeke's twin brother he has never had a issue but then again we used clindamycin as told too. Gee i wonder if that worked, i would say yes seeing they were born together and Spence is still healthy and vibrant and the only thing we did different was, I followed the breeders advice. You can talk all you want about the vet's but when it come's to the Breeder they know more about these cats than any vet. 2 Different vets have told me that. Each one of you that lost your kitten have one thing in common you didn't use the Clindamycin .It was probably the most important medicine you could have given your kitten but you didn't and now your looking to blame someone.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 06, 2014

    ONE MORE TIME, Miss Florence, I did use Cindamycin, was the first thing used, we could not use it again as she had severe reaction. Donna was told, she must of forgotten to leave that out. You may want to be informed before you continue to give you poor opinion, read before you write. There could be something valid to your response. Be well

    -1 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 06, 2014

    http://www.siamesekittens.info/fip.html
    this is a good understanding of what we can be dealing with, fair explanation, could not say it better

    0 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 06, 2014

    I really hope that we as people who love our pets and have an appreciation for those who breed, and the breeds we love and or represent, that we can make an effort with fair and good practices to do good by all whom are involved in the process. I do understand things happen, what is the responsibility of those who we trust to maintain integrity and health of the breed if something is going wrong? Do we ignore? I ask breeders a question, would you not want to know if the potential health of your offspring may be compromised? How would you handle a number of deaths of your offspring within a short period of time?

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 07, 2014

    LAURIE YOU TOLD ME 2 DAYS PRIOR TO THE CAT DYING THAT THE CAT VOMITTED THE CLINDAMYCIN UP THAT YOU ADMINISTERED SO YOU CHOOSE NOT TO GIVE IT TO HER. AS YOU JUST STATED, IF YOUR NOT GOING TO GIVE YOUR ANIMAL ANY MEDICATION THAT WAS NOT PRESCRIBE BY A VET THEN WHY WOULD YOU USE THE GENTAMYCIN SOLUTION FOR THE EYE AND QUAPDRIPTOP OINTMENT FOR YEAST IN THE EARS. I RECOMMENDED THAT WHICH I AM ENTITLED TO DO PRIOR TO THE POINT OF SALE. YOU REALLY NEED TO STOP CHANGING THE STORY TO PASIFY YOURSELF. THE BLOOD TEST THAT YOU GOT AT THE VERY BEGINNING WAS PERTAINING TO A FOOD ALLERGY AND IT WAS NOT A BLOOD PANEL WHICH WOULD HAVE SHOWN INFECTION ON A WHITE BLOOD CELL COUNT AND THE GLOUBINS WOULD HAVE SHOWN PRODUCING A HIGH NUMBER OF ANTIBODIES WHICH WOULD HAVE INDICATED THE CORONA VIRUS INFECTION. THIS WAS NOT DONE UNTIL DEC. 23 NOT TWO MONTHS PRIOR. SO NOW YOUR SAYING ONCE AGAIN THAT THE CAT HAD A FOOD ALLERGY AND NOT CORONA. YOU ARE SO IGNORATE. ANY CAT CAN PICK UP CORONA W/ONLY ONE TRIP TO A VET'S OFFICE, ONE DAY AT A CAT CONVENTION, ONE TIME SHARING A WATER BOWL W/ANOTHER CAT, ONE PERSON COMING INTO YOUR HOME W/CORONA ON THEM...IT IS EVERY WHERE. MAKE UP YOUR MIND. TRUTHFULLY YOU WERE MY FRIEND UP UNTIL THE VERY END WHEN I TOLD YOU THAT THE CAT WAS GOING TO DIE BECAUSE IT WAS NOT GIVEN THE CLINDAMYCIN FOR THE INFECTION AND THERE WAS NOTHING MORE I COULD DO. THAT WAS THE TURNING POINT AROUND DEC 23. I AM DONE WITH ALL YOU SLANDER. THE FACT OF THE MATER IS ONE OF THE 2 CATS YOU PURCHASED FROM ME DIED AT 10 MONTHS OF AGE. YOU FELT YOU AND YOUR VET WERE BETTER CARETAKERS AND KNEW MORE ABOUT THE RUSSIAN HAIRLESS CAT THAN I A BREEDER OF ALMOST 10 YEARS AND 120 LITTERS. THESE BREEDS ARE EXTREMELY HARD TO BREED AND WHEN I STOP BREEDING THE BREED WILL MORE THAN LIKELY GO EXTINCT. BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF HAIR AND DOMINATE HAIRLESS GENE, THEY HAVE AN EXTREMELY WEAK IMMUNE SYSTEM AS YOUNG KITTENS AND NEED TWO YEARS TO DEVELOP. I HAVE TRYED TO SAFE GUARD THIS ANIMAL W/A 16 PAGE WEBSITE, PRODUCT SHEETS, DISCUSS CARE & VIRUS W/ALL CLIENTS AND MENTOR THE BEST I CAN. THERE IS NO OTHER PERSON ON THE FACE OF THIS PLANET THAT KNOWS MORE ABOUT THIS BREED THAN I. I HAVE SOLD 24 BREEDING CATS TO BREEDERS ALL OVER THE WORLD THAT I HAVE MENTORED. MOST HAVE GONE OUT OF BUSINESS FOR THE HIGH LEVEL OF CARE IN BREEDING IS CRITICAL AND INFANTS HAVE A HIGH FATALITY RATE.
    PLEASE DON'T USE YOUR EXCUSE "I JUST WANT TO TELL MY STORY ABOUT THE FIP DIEASE AND NOT SLANDER YOU DONNA."
    IF THAT WERE TRUE YOU WOULD HAVE NEVER MENTIONED MY CATTERY OR MY NAME AND WOULD HAVE JUST TOLD "STELLA'S STORY".
    I DO NOT HAVE A CRYSTAL BALL SO I CAN FORESEE THE FUTURE OF ANY ANIMAL.
    I HOPE SOME DAY YOU ARE BLESSED WITH THE SAME EXACT TREATMENT THAT YOU HAVE GIVEN ME. YOU ARE A VINDICTIVE VISCOUS WOMAN WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DESTROY MY REPUTATION. I AM A GREAT BREEDER OF THE DON SPHYNX AND PETERBALD CAT. THERE IS NO BETTER. I AM SECOND TO NO ONE IN BREEDING THE DON SPHYNX AND PETERBALD CATS!

    +3 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 07, 2014

    Laurie your statement above - "It is unfortunate that this has to continue, I will hold my ground as you well know. I understand your dispute and I know all about FIP, It did not initiate from your cattery." -
    Laurie not only did you send me an e-mail stating "FIP initiated in my cattery", but you also filed a complaint with TICA stating that as well.
    And now you know all about FIP really Laurie??? Once again, your the expert. Not even been diagnosed up until days prior to Stella's death. Get off your high horse and stop thinking you know it all for you are not a GOD of any sort...Nor am I
    Bottom line is, beautiful loving Stella died and your vet did not know how to save her.
    IF ONE TAKES THEIR TIME AND READS ALL THE COMMENTS THAT HAVE BEEN WRITTEN, THEY WILL FIND THAT I HAVE BEEN CONSISTENT AND TRUTHFUL IN MY WORDS AND YOU HAVE DANCED AROUND AND CHANGED YOUR STORY REPEATEDLY.
    THANKFULLY I HAVE E-MAILS, FB MESSAGES and now this SLANDER SITE TO PROVE ALL THIS.
    i am deeply sorry this has happened. I feel your pain so much greater than you will ever know Laurie. This has turned you into a crazy woman. Surely not the woman I once knew and trusted my children with. It does show me how much you Loved my baby and for that I will always be grateful. I am ending all of this now and will not respond to any more any comments. May peace be with you my dear.

    +1 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 07, 2014

    OMG sociopath which is it a Food allergy, FIP or Lymphoma or all three???? as you can tell I read just bits & pieces of your ###!

    -1 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 08, 2014

    LLTL have you gotten another kitten? I am sorry for the loss of yours. I hope so and it is horrible the breeder would attack you after you lost your cat to such a horrible unreadable disease. My experience was wonderful with my two bengals. I hope your next experience is better. God bless and I hope there is a special place in he'll for unethical breeders.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 14, 2014

    As a DVM and having spent much time and research on FIP and the Coronavirus it should be noted that much is still an unknown on WHY cats, dogs and yes people contract the Coronavirus and even more research is needed on exactly WHY this mutates into FIP in cats (Side note; the [protected] outbreak of Sars-CoV virus in humans which caused a pandmic outbreak is a Cornavirus) ...I have had a kitten die of FIP after receiving it's first rabies shot...only a few months passed then I lost her. I contacted her breeder at the onset of her illness and conferred with her...we tried an unusal approach not commonly reconized in the VM field ... the antibiotic Clindamycin. She did extremely well...as I handed her over to her breeder to treat her in a manor which I could not, 24/ 7 care. ( I am receiving Chemo once a week for my own health issues and had to take a short term leave of absence). While in the breeders care she thrived!!! Only by bringing her home ( on my own decision) was her health comprised again (stress)... she was too weak .
    Yes there is no cure for FIP. The Coronavirus however can be somewhat managed with Clindamycin and the right care for your cat (depending upon the breed), this does not mean your cat will NOT develop the FIP virus. Right now there is no clear reason why one cat develops it an another does not... I also have the twin brother to my kitten that passed from FIP and he is healthy, happy and beautiful almost a year later...titer count on his blood work 1/400... A very good count. Yes he was treated with Clinamycin early on after his sister became ill... it may not be a cure but does seem to provide a barrier of defense against the futher mutation into FIP...not a cure. I have 3 healthy and beautiful Peterbalds
    all from the same breeder...Donna DiGiovanni ...Sleekats Cattery.
    Donna loves all her cats and takes what she does very seriously...and has been a great help in my research. For those who have found her rude and defensive... I have only found her to be gracious and very helpful...perhaps it could be in the approach to the subject matter... emotions run very high when someone loses a beloved pet. I personally know as a fact that Donna takes full pre-cautions (as much as any breeder could) to insure that all her cats are healthy...nor do I believe that she would sell a kitten that she thought in any way could have a health issue.
    To claim that Donna is a bad breeder is like trying to say that one can predict who will or will not get cancer in their lifetime...right now we do not have that full capability Donna is an excellent breeder with a great record over many years. So before passing judgement please try and learn as many facts as you can... before buying or adopting any pet.

    or

    +1 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 16, 2014

    Thank you Calyssi, You have been most informative, I am actually stumped. I have spent a tremendous amount of time trying to understand what happened. Truthfully, exhausted. Right now I really want to heal. Is there an explanation as to 5 plus cats dying from this cattery within a short period of time with similar lab work and symptoms suggested FIP?? may be not. Stella had been diagnosed with IBD and she had unfortunatly developed sensitivities to poultry. Clindamycin had not done a darn thing for her. The end result, she had succumbed to FIP.. I do not wish to rehash all that transpired (it was very difficult to watch this happen)and the the test results that had lead to that conclusion. Her records have been reviewed by a couple of feline internist, all the same conclusion, FIP unles proven otherwise.I opted no necropsy, I wanted to bring her home then and bury her, no more poking her, I was stricken with grief. I would be happy to forward her records to you for review, I did everthing possible. There are alot of emotions involved, it does not help that the person with whom I once trusted became obscene and inappropriate in her behavior. Again..there are many things I refuse to share, I can also copy and paste conversation, I will not go there as it would never end. What I can say right now, my efforts at this point will be to help raise funds and awareness for FIP research. I also have done my homework, when you go through this, you do become well informed. I do not believe Donna had a malicious intention, no doubt she loves these kitties yet there is a problem that has arose and I will stand my ground, the breeding program may very well need adjusting. Other catteries have had this happen, they also recover.I too have had at one point a good rapore with Donna. There was at one point a SNAP. details are not needed. I will pass along to those who I am in contact with your experience with clindamycin as a "barrier of defense" . Maybe it will be helpful??? There is very recent findings in reference to FIP research. As a DVM, you may want to check this out. Peace, I am glad your kitties are well.

    -1 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 16, 2014

    slynn1- No, I do not have another kitten, Bengals are beautiful <3 enjoy

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 16, 2014

    Bengals are a handful! I love mine! I have a brown girl as well as a silver girl. My silver has allergies, but besides that very healthy. I have been lucky because they do not have stomach issues as some seem to. Both are well socialized and friendly to our family. I hope LLLT that your kitty gives you as much enjoyment as I have with my two. I am sorry your experience was so horrible. The breeder I used for the Bengals was wonderful and after reading all the complaints about breeder, I realize how lucky I was to find an ethical breeder. I am sorry for your loss, I have lost kitties also, and I know how heartbreaking it can be. I cannot believe how unprofessional this breeder has treated you on these post. If any potential clients read this, and choose another breeder. How she can be so compassionless is beyond me. I hope your experience with your new kitten was positive.

    0 Votes
  • Lr
      Jan 19, 2014

    Good morning to the complaint board,
    I have a few questions that I would like correct answers to. First question is for Calyssi: as a DVM, do you see a (connection, pattern, problem) regarding the cattery mention in all of the above posts? FIVE beloved kittens known to have died from FIP. You did not give a time frame when your kitten/cat pasted from FIP. Since August 2013 starting with Zeke,
    1 in September/ October, 2 in December. (I known there is 1 other but do not recall the month) If your baby died this year that is 6! Way to many for coincidence!
    Corona is a virus that is known to be found in catteries and houses that have more than 6 cats. The kittens and cats become stressed, whether it be from neuter/spaying or stress from getting immune i.e.: rabies vaccine. In regards to Clindamycin it might help at the start of the corona virus, masking what the cat is going to succumb to which is the fatal disease FIP.
    My bad for not realizing the Cattery we r speaking of, was missing KEY guarantees within the contract! A hard lesson I've learned.
    As with LLLT I too was knocked out by the wrath from the owner of the Cattery we speak of. Her behaviors r unacceptable, inexcusable and down right nasty! Professionalism is not a word that describes this owner.
    We the people that lost our beloved kittens r devastated beyond grief. No money or another kitten (which was offered by her) will bring our babies back to us. : (

    +2 Votes
  • Ma
      Jan 23, 2014

    I totally agree with this breeder for he is the one who truly knows his breed. I have been to the website and it is by far the most informative website i have seen. The things i do notice is that what few complaints this breeder has. How 2 people can put such trash about this breeder without proof is total slander and a defamation of character suit should be filed. Where does this LLLT who never says her name or address, get her information from. Had she listened to this breeder perhaps her cat would be alive. How selfish of you not to let the breeder take that kitten back the three times this breeder asked. You were not an expert on this cats care now were you. Your story changes repeatedly. It also looks like this Laurie Tucker has made dummy accounts which she is complimenting herself. shame on you. You also write that fip did not initiate in this cattery. So what are you complaining about. If your cat died it died under your care with the choices you made and you made alone and no one else. A food allergy is not fip.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jan 24, 2014

    I find what you say Mark Hall suspect since this is the only post you have posted on. When I got my cats from a breeder they were healthy and did not have health issues, besides my silver Bengal's allergies! I got a discounted price because of that! A ethical breeder would not even answer on a complaint board, or in the very least show some compassion for the loss the customer's felt. Which she did not! There is no cure for this disease, and eventually the cat will die from it. It is heartbreaking! The kittens were under the care of a vet, which is an expert at the best way to handle this disease. She should look into her breeding program if 5 or 6 kittens have died of this disease and stop breeding her females! It is sad when a breeder is just in it for the money!

    +2 Votes
  • Ll
      Jan 30, 2014

    Dear Readers,
    In reference to my previous post on the subject relating to my kitten Stella, I want to further report that Donna from Sleekats Cattery has gone out of her way to contact me recently to give her apologies to our unfortunate situation . Donna has been forthcoming to inform me of her changes and great attempts to go through and over her cattery to insure the health of her future kittens and breeding program. I am more than moved by Donna's sincere sacrifice in time and hard work that has brought her to the realization the need for change. The sphynx is a very special breed of cat and in the life of a breeder that deals with instilling health and integrity of the sphynx, this is a great undertaking. To have problems arise as such that had happened, is not uncommon, what sets a breeder apart from another in this case is how the problem is dealt and managed. Thank you very much Donna for what you have set out to do. I know that you will be successful with your new start, I will continue to support efforts for a future free of FIP and to hopefully be a voice for those that may need guidance. I will place hope for other breeders that they may follow your example (with less pain) to find a way to overcome this adversity. Peace

    +1 Votes
  • Sl
      Feb 04, 2014

    I did send Laurie Tucker from New York an e-mail asking her to call me. Laurie did call and we spoke for 2.1/2 hours. I told her that all my future kittens will be tested and that way no one will say FIP initiated in my cattery. No one has proved FIP by any narcropsy, not even you Laurie Tucker. By the way, when Calyssi had the narcropsy done after death, it did "NOT "come back positive for FIP. We now think there is a connection w/this Rabies vaccine. Laurie told me you were going to have a narcropsy done but you did not. I knew at that point you had something to fear. I think you were afraid that this test would not have a positive to FIP and all your statements now would have proved to be libel. All along this horrible journey you told me this cat just got sick and had never been to a vet prior. You just admitted to me on Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014, "that after the cat's Vet visit where the vet gave the cat a Rabies shot that the cat got ill with fever, rash and was scratching her face and neck". You told me something about "egg being in the rabies vaccine". You also told me your very own "Vet told you that her cats all have corona virus" and you told me that "90 percent of cats carry corona". You told me that Lori, a client of mine in Rhode Island, who she and her partner own two of my cats, when test for corona virus that it was "NEGATIVE to any corona virus". Why would all of you would keep this from me. Not one of you have publicly apologized for this slander and loss of my reputation as a breeder.
    I am currently searching for a Pro Bono attorney to file Declamation of Character, Libel and Mental Anguish law suit to try and prevent this from happening again to other people. No one should have the right to destroy one's reputation prior to a court of law saying that those statements were proved to be true. I was publicly lynched without a trial.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
      Feb 04, 2014

    I am sorry But I am a dog owner and have bought 3 dogs from the same breeder. When my 1st Puppy came his dew claw had grown back a bit, which for a hunting dog is not good, we called and he offered to pay to have it removed or discount us on another pup. We opted to wait, which worked out and we indeed bought a 2nd pup which we got 2 discounts. When the 2nd pup came with a bug from the warm area we purchased them He immediately thanked me for letting him know about this, and offered to pay our vet bills in full.I recently purchased #3 I know it is a cat complaint sight, but the difference between a "REAL BREEDER" & a person who OVERBREEDS! It seems like at $1200 a kitten with 6 kittens she has gained more and the families have lost their babies, their money, not to mention countless vet bills. A GOOD breeder would at least reimburse half of the kitten price or vet bills!! Just my opinion, I have seen so many bad breeds come from over breeding I do volunteer at a shelter. I am sorry for those of you that have lost Kitties/family members MLT!!

    0 Votes
  • Lr
      Feb 04, 2014

    MLTC
    Your comment is so very true.
    Whether it be a dog, cat or horse all animals are indeed loved by the persons who purchase them. (Hoping their pet lives a long and healthy life) only to live a couple of months is devastating. No money can bring our beloved pets back.
    As you commented, half the money or monies towards vet bills would be helpful, but not even a (I'm so sorry for the loss of your kitten) was given! She yelled at us accusing we had poisoned our babies! Cruel and so untrue accusation!
    I think about my baby everyday and some days I ball my eyes out wishing I could hold him one more time.
    The above breeder just can not except that (corona) NOT (FIP) is in her cattery.
    No one has slandered her.
    People who have dealt with her are baffled at the way she handled and continues to handles clients.
    #We the people who have dealt with her are getting the message out to future clients, so they don't have their hearts broken.#

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Feb 05, 2014

    I did offer Laurie three times to get the cat and Laurie Tucker refused. Why should i pay for the vet bills when the cat was clearly mis diagnosed as a "food allergy" and not a reaction to a Rabies shot that Laurie Tucker herself told me on Jan. 28, 2014. A couple of months means two. Stella was born 02/22/2012 which you took home at 12 weeks of age and died after Christmas 2013. Do the math ...you had the cat for over 8 months not two months. You always leave important information out to make your "Stella's" story more plausible for you. You also neglected to tell everyone that you wanted to get a third cat from me. hhmmm odd you forgot to write that statement although I do have it in an e-mail that you sent me on Jan. 30, 2014. "Any more thoughts on Lux? I know she may be promised". Your now saying I said you poisoned your cat???
    MLTC you NEVER purchased any dogs off from me for I do NOT breed DOGS. I guess you need to be included in the defamation and libel suit as well. I will go file a complaint tomorrow in Civil court.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment