SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Skechers / no warnings on shattering an ankle

United States Review updated:
Contact information:

Two weeks after purchase... shattered my ankle breaking the tibia, fibula and talus. Interesting part is we had just had a health fair and my bone density came back great. Simply turned to open the back of a vehicle and foot stayed planted but leg gave. Surgey (5 pins, plate and additional screw), 34-36 visits to physical therapy, still ice 6 months later, still swells in the ankle and uo the leg, still difficult to walk when I stand to much. Quality of life is not what it was prior to fall. Hard to go down stairs, curbs, get in or out of the pool or hot tub, hard to do some chores since my ankle tires out. Have a job where I have to stand a lot and by the end of the week, walk with a more pronounced limp than when I have rested it. Have to ice daily and once I ice have to use crutches for the rest of the night or let the ankle rest for at least 6 hours.

Skechers

Ko
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jk
      Jun 27, 2011

    Bones will break if you twist them enough. Next time you turn, lift your foot.

    +2 Votes
  • Id
      Jun 27, 2011

    Seems like a person who would have blamed any shoe

    +2 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 27, 2011

    Love, love my Shape-Ups®. They are the most comfortable shoe ever. Broke my foot in 7in heels. Now I wear Shape-Ups® to keep pain away. I don't see how this could have possibly happened. Love Kim K.

    -7 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 27, 2011

    Ok... So like you must be like super fat, had the like wrong size, and hello, like you totally need to lace these kick-### Shape-Ups® all the way to the top. If you don't you are totally going to fall if you don't like walk right. And being totally fat n crashing down on your kanckle is really going to bust your ### like all up n stuff. Still, poor u. Cause now you can't wear a correctly sized, and totally laced up pair of Shape-Ups. So u gonna get fatter, making it that much harder to walk off the kanckles. So sad. Hey... u could like get lipo, or a stomatch staple.. I. Totally heard peeps can totally slim down. Like look @ Star Jones. She kind of got, well not skinny, but smaller. But then her gay husband left her because she was like not the fat funny hag he was used to. And now Star wanted sex. Before, he was like, I don't think we should, cause you could have a heart attack or stroke. Not. To mention, Star was too embarassed bout the smell from the sweat cheese in her roll. K, k. Nuf bout Star. Get well, and purge if you need to lose some weight being you are too big to put that much weight on your metal foot. Rice cakes are good. But don't dip them in frosting, peanut butter, ranch, or Crisco. Loves. Kim K... ps. Try Quick Trim Kim K...

    -6 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 27, 2011

    7in heels are nothin.. I have a hugh collection of higher ones. Just requires insoles and some bone removal and a little bone shaving here n there.. It not like I wear them all day. Just like to openings, shoots, and like dedications n stuff. OK.. gotta run.. Loves Kim K...

    -8 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 27, 2011

    Who you like callin Ghetto. I am not like black @ all. And I like live in BH, Miami, and now in Manhatten. So like go play basket ball or like be nice to people. I like totally feel sorry for the heavy girl who broke her foot. Hang in there heavy girl. You'll like get better and maybe lighter. K? K! Loves Kim K.. Slim Quick is the best!

    -7 Votes
  • Ki
      Jun 27, 2011

    So like I said... I AM NOT BLACK. Not that color matters to me.. But I was never in a ghetto. I am Italian. And why are you like being so mean to me. I am not an ###. Like, I said, I feel bad for her... so u like go back to the ghetto. That is if like you never left. Cause people who hate on others are like not happy with themselves. You need to love too. K!k! Loves Kim K...

    -7 Votes
  • Cr
      Jun 28, 2011

    How do you shatter your ankle wearing a pair of shoes? I'm old have these shoes & have no problems wearing them, but I also wear all kinds of other shoes with no problems. Maybe the Author of this complaint just is'nt ready for any kind of shoes yet? Maybe your a Birki Girl & Dont know it? Do know that you could'nt walk to your Car in some of my shoes. And I dont even have any 7 in. heels.

    +2 Votes
  • Cr
      Jun 28, 2011

    Hey Archerop, We here at Cranky Old Lady Central Aim to Please. Dont get how anybody buys a pair of shoes & Cant figure out how to walk in them? Evidentally she did'nt watch the DVD That came with them? Guess some people just have not evolved as yet & quite possibly should'nt own shoes.Yabba, Dabba, Do as Fred Flintstone would say!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jun 28, 2011

    Honey when I was young & had the body for it I disliked wearing clothes as well. Whats your take on shoes?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jun 28, 2011

    Brenda Honey you only have to be wearing shoes while driving if the heat pulls you over & only cuz they have that badge & gun.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jun 28, 2011

    Brenda Honey, we at cranky central aim to please, is as always my pleasure to be of assistance to you as feet need fresh air just as other body parts do especially on hot summer days.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Jul 01, 2011

    this one is funny. must be her first day on her new feet. judging by the size of those kankles in the OP picture, shapeups arent gonna help you unless you wanted them to blame for breaking your ankle so that you have a reason for physical therapy or anything physical at all.

    but damn, thats an aweful lot of skin around those ankles and foot. but, considering how much weight they have been holding, is it any wonder that you broke an ankle

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jul 01, 2011

    Thanks jbfirebird, i needed that best laugh i had all day.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Jul 01, 2011

    you more than welcome. i do what i can

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jul 02, 2011

    Was very much appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Jul 04, 2011

    Since when did ghetto = black? So, like Kimmy Kims is totally like, ignorant to drop a cherry atop her delusional sunday. Like, I'm totally amazed you could take time from your busy schedule between "Manhatt'E'n" stardom and fretting over Star Jones' marriage to comment on someone's complaint about like, sneakers. Loves reality

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jul 05, 2011

    I went to 2 Parks today wearing these shoes with my almost totally blind Dog & I did'nt shatter either one of my brittle old ankles. I still say this girl is'nt ready for shoes! Gotta learn to walk before ya can run.

    0 Votes
  • Kd
      Jul 05, 2011

    I agree. When did ghett0 = black? You have no class, so you automatically assumed this person was overweight and had cankles? You know what that makes you, ghetto! Definition to me: UNCOUTH! You have no manners or class. Get a real life. So maybe or maybe not did the shoes cause this mishap but who are you to judge or make random ficticious judgements on a situation you don't know. Seriously?

    0 Votes
  • Jb
      Jul 05, 2011

    i made the educated assumptiohn about being overweight and the cankles. if you look at the xray, you can see it

    -2 Votes
  • Cr
      Jul 06, 2011

    How are we off the topic of shoes once again & back on the topic of the ghetto? What does the ghetto have to do with shoes? Are you trying to say that people in the ghetto dont deserve to have shoes? And what does the ghetto have to do with shoes & shattered ankles? The Topic of the complaint is shoes can we all just stick to the topic of shoes & stop with all the ghetto road trips? Since it has nothing to do with the shoes. Still dont see how a pair of shoes can be blamed for her shattered ankle? And for the record I do have these shoes- Do you? A section of these shoes are rounded & they give when you walk on them, So does the person who's claiming that she shattered her ankle by wearing these shoes walk heel to toe Or, does she walk on the sides of her feet?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Jul 06, 2011

    Hey Brenda, you have good taste I love the Eagles too. & You know me I love my shoes, unless it's too hot to wear em, Lol.

    +1 Votes
  •   Jul 07, 2011

    "get in or out of the pool or hot tub" I don't know why, but including this line in the post made me laugh :)

    +1 Votes
  • Cr
      Jul 07, 2011

    Why would anybody have those shoes poolside or to wear after the hot tub Or did she have them on in the pool or hot tub? Either way it makes no sense.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Oct 16, 2011

    I had same problem after wearing Shape-ups. If you are fans of Shape-ups, it is fine you can keep doing so. Just consider there are many people who have suffered serious pain after weearing the Shape-ups. We just here to alarm that there are possible side effect after using Shape-ups.
    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/sketcher-shape-ups-c471139.html

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Oct 17, 2011

    I have these shoes, have even worn them in the Park while walking my dog, even up and down small grassy hills and concrete steps, And i have never had a problem with these shoes.Theres a learning curve to get use to wearing and walking in these shoes.Heres a thought would you also go out and buy a pair of 4" Platform Pumps and not wear them around the house to break them in and get use to them before you wear them out in public? If so, then maybe your just not ready for shoes?

    0 Votes

Post your comment