SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Singapore Airlinesrefusal of compensation for delayed flights

Review updated:

I have been hearing complaints of bad service from Singapore National Carrier - Singapore Airlines, from friends, colleagues and family members and recently found this to be very true indeed. I was onboard a morning 8:30am flight departing for Hong Kong, and it was eventually re-scheduled for a later departure time (at 11:30), due to a maintenance glitch, which the engineers failed to resolved, hence my "weekend" trip to Hongkong was thus shortened. Having paid a couple of hundred dollars more just to get onboard an earlier flight, I would imagine that SIA would at least compensate me, however they came back with a long email of ###, and claimed that they will not be able to compensate/ refund my tickets. This is increasingly annoying considering that they have ruined my holiday. Obviously the customer services management find it okay to toy with their paying customer's time and money. Any recommendations on how I can bring forward this matter to further shame the airline. Seriously I strongly do not think they deserved those international awards granted to them with such a service. I will be writing in to our local newspaper, as well as various traveller's magazine.

Jt
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Fu
      Aug 29, 2010

    Completely agree with you!

    Singapore Airlines is too complacent and arrogant...good for you in letting the media know.

    When you do write to your local papers and travel magazines, please be sure to pass on the relevant email addresses. I want to write in to them and tell them how Singapore Airlines has treated my family as well.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Apr 10, 2018

    @Furious with Krisflyer I would be happy to learn about a group who could assist us with our complaints of misconduct by Singapore airlines to its passengers, and where by the passenger can reach the call center and public relations easily and issues can be dealt with on a fair and personal level and not have a list of untruths and a shower of haughtiness and arrogance and denial to an incident. I agree, Their customer service is most shocking, and lacks any kind of basic etiquette. Absolutely no hint of apology or customer respect.
    Please let me know if you have found a sympathetic and trustworthy representative who can attend fairly to complaints that are raised..
    It's even more frustrating to receive a bunch of made ups and blames made to all but their own staff... by the head of customers affairs herself ... there is no one to turn to...have you found anyone id love to tell the media ????

    0 Votes
  • Kk
      May 13, 2012
    Singapore Airlines - SIA irresposible act
    Singapore

    On the 25 April 2012, I was supposed to fly to Jakarta with SQ956. The SQ counter told me that even though my itenary has been confirmed, still they would not be able to put me on the flight due to overbooking. I arrived at the check in counter 1 hour and 15 minutes before departure, which is not late at all. Due to this incidence, all my meetings and prearranged schedule has to be delayed and at the end I have to fly with other airline, in which in terms of pricing and sense of safety shall be on the lower standard compared to SQ. And the ground staff saying that they will not be any compensation or anything they will just take us to the other airline check in gate, which is in terminal 3 Changi. And when we arrived 5 ( me and other 4 deserted passangers due to the same overbooking problem) of us couldn't board on the supposed to be closest timing to our original flight as baggage checked in closed already. 5 passangers were in panic due to we all need to be in Jakarta the soonest for meetings etc. At we had to board the next flight with cheaper airline, much longer delayed and paying SQ price, at the end they agreed to reimburse back all of us, 150 SGD each. But what about the loss of times, money and loss of meeting opoortunity that we had to bear due to SQ failure to deliver the service that it supposed to. And do not expect SQ really undertand and follow up properly or at least understand what it means by world class service standards. If only from 1 instance you know that they didnt trait the customer fairly with sense of responsibility and sincerity.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Jul 10, 2013
    Singapore airlines - Delayed baggage componsation complaint
    Navjit Kaur
    Sydney
    New South Wales
    Australia
    Phone: [protected]

    Hi my wife travelled on Singapore airlines on 23 June 2013, her handbag was lost by airline and later they send it to me but due to delay my wife has to spend $2500 on clothes, gifts for couple as she was going to marriage, now I made a componsation claim which they refuse to pay her name is navjit Kaur traveled on 23 June ref no [protected] tag no 8704539

    +1 Votes
  • Ne
      Oct 09, 2014

    My plane from Singapore to Zurich was late due to delayed incoming plane from Shanghai. After finally preparing the machine for my planed Zurich flight the total delay was 4 hours and 32 minutes. I wrote to Singapore Airlines customer service only to get a reply that none of the European customer protection rights were applicable. A second email did not resolve anything. I am frustrated and upset. Consider not to fly with them.

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      May 11, 2015

    Its taken three years for Singapore airlines to admit fault after me and my son were delayed by 12hours stuck on hot plane with no food and water while they tried to fix mechanical fault. I'm still waiting for the compensation cheque and they're only offering 600euros per person too

    Need to add we were stuck on plane for 6hours on tarmac unable to get off to.use toilet or get food and water, we were then 12hrs delayed to get to final destination. Customer service is rude even though they've admitted to the CAA that it was Singapore airlines fault therefore compensation is payable

    -1 Votes

Post your comment