Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Sherwood Bridal / Never buy or order dresses from this store

United States Review updated:
75% 4
I post this in order to help any brides considering purchasing their dresses to refrain from going to Sherwood Bridal - Bridal Wardrobe (Ajax, Ontario). You may not get your dress on time for your wedding and it will likely cause you heartache and chaos. I have around 4 weeks to my wedding and 6 months ago I ordered my dress and veil. I was promised the dress a month ago and the veil 5 months ago (all items are paid in full), yet I still do not have my dress.

In June 2006 Global TV Consumers Report News program did a story on how Sherwood Bridal was not delivering or providing brides with their dresses on time (some brides had to go to other stores the week before their wedding) refer to: http://www.canada.com/globaltv/ontario/story.html?id=f5c1d9d5-29ed-4103-ba16-4ec321639cf0 for news show and details. I also advise you google this store are their are many brides in a similar situation regarding Sherwood Bridal - Bridal Wardrobe.

My story:
January 2006: purchased my wedding dress and veil in full from Sherwood Bridal/Bridal Wardrobe. I was promised my veil in February and my dress in May 2006.
February 2006 - February came and went and no veil
May 2006 - May has come and gone and still no dress and still no veil
June 20th - promised my dress again - still no dress
June 29th - promised my dress and veil again - still no dress and veil (this time I contacted Sherwood Bridal's lawyer (Julian Porter Q.C.) and spoke to Dawn his assistant to encourage Sherwood bridal to contact me with an alternative date and time. Rose Navarante called me and verbally said I could pick up my dress and veil on June 30th at 5pm EST.
June 30th - at 12.15pm EST I was sent a fax from Sherwood bridal to my office saying I could pick up my dress on July 4th 2006 that the dress was at CanPar courier offices. They did not have the money to pay for my dress. Yes I have paid for my dress in full - however apparently they have not paid the distributor for dresses owing (which puts me in a very difficult situation - as they owe the distributor over $2000 and my dress is with the dresses they owe money for). So my dress is stuck in Sherwood Bridal limbo.

I have since found out that CanPar courier has tried to deliver my dress to the store twice and twice Sherwood Bridal has not had the money for the package (courier number C[protected]). I contacted Villa/Chris/Marella at Princess Bridal in Montreal they are distributors for Demeitrios dresses; I was told by the distributor offices my dress was sent out on Tuesday June 27th to the store.

I have now opened up a BBB file on Sherwood bridal (file number 1148390) as I still do not have my dress and Sherwood bridal have not fulfilled their continual promises of delivering my dress and veil.

Please Google this store you will see so many similar situations such as mine.

I am not a naive young girl who is getting married and over emotional. I am a woman in my late 30's with two stepchildren and an executive. I consider myself level headed and fair in life and in business. However, my dealings with Sherwood Bridal has been nothing but stories, lies and spin concerning my dress, its whereabouts and when I can expect to receive it etc.

I paid $1400 for my dress and veil and I have still to receive my dress (it is now July 1st, 2006 and my wedding is in August 2006).

I truly hope if you are getting married and you are in the Greater Toronto Area - you consider another store and avoid Sherwood Bridal/Bridal Wardrobe.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
N  29th of Apr, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Post your Comment


Reply to