SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

ShamWow / ripoff

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

i got these so i could wipe off my car quickly when i wash it. the towels do pick up water but not like on the ad where it picks up ALL water at once. they also leave a fabric residue. on the ad the guy states to put them in the washer and then the dryer. when you get them the paper that comes with them states DONT put in a dryer. LIES. i wrote to the guy on the site and told him this. never got a reply. stay away from this product. hes getting 20.00 for 8 towels and if a million people order hes made 20 million in just days.

Jo
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ge
      May 18, 2008

    You should pay better attention to what you read/hear. The infomercial NEVER said you could put it in the dryer. It DID say you could put it in the washer. So you are complaining because YOU were wrong. How pathetic! Wakeup !

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jun 07, 2008

    The "ShamWow" cloths are pretty good -- and I have put them in the dryer and didn't have a problem -- HOWEVER -- they are the same, identical cloths that sell in the Winn Dixie Supermarkets here in south Florida for 99 cents each -- I think they are up to $1.19 each now -- but they are the same exact cloth -- made in Germany, etc. etc. -- so -- it's a ripoff in the sense that they are overpriced -- just imagine what he is paying for the product!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
      Jul 03, 2008

    If you watch the commercial carefully, you'll notice that the shamwow guy picks up the carpet square to show the water under it and then places it back down. If you look closely, you see a puddle of water in front on the carpet...then the camera quickly cuts to another shot and the puddle magically disappears. That's what I call a very dishonest commercial.

    see for yourself: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Le9AmPM-as

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Jul 31, 2008

    Here's the same thing for $1 www.toolsnow.com/browse.cfm/4, 1510.html

    0 Votes
  • Az
      Aug 04, 2008

    This is why you should never buy crap from t.v.
    A very dishonest commercial? Has there ever been an honest one? I have yet to see one.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 15, 2008

    Shomwow is a scamwow!!! They are worse than cheap terry cloths for drying cars. They are not absorbent enough to suck up spills as well as paper towels. They are overpriced. They are like thick felt. they suck do not buy!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Aug 19, 2008

    I read another complaint which said that they only want your credit card number so they can charge you more than you agreed to pay. I ordered with debit card, got confirmation number, they never billed my card and they have no record of my order. Does anyone know why they pull the scam with credit cards and not debit cards?

    0 Votes
  • Eu
      Aug 21, 2008

    I RECENTLY GOT MY ORDER BUT DID NOT RECEIVE THE BUFER ORPOLISHER BALL I ORDERED.
    AM I GOING TO RECEIVE THIS.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
      Aug 21, 2008

    dont ever forget rule number one. NEVER BUY THINGS OFF A TELEVISION COMMERCIAL, do this and ull be fine BILLY MAYES IS AN ### I HOPE HE BURNS TO DEATH IN A FIREY CRASH SUCK MY BALLS BILLY

    0 Votes
  • D0
      Aug 24, 2008

    That's funny you say they shed, I specifically emailed "ronny" to figure this out since I have a black car, he wrote back saying he has never had a complaint of the towels shedding. I'm glad I read this before wasting my money

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Aug 24, 2008

    I worked at a call center that takes orders for products like this. Products like this give other legit ones a bad name. A lot of the smaller companies like this one are looking to spend a ton on marketing and ride out the wave of fools that call in to order. The longer you see ads for the product the better it is. Countless products come and go in a matter of months and the owners walk away with millions. I've personally seen it with a Kinoki knock off.
    Also a good thing to do is get a hold of customer service before you order. If it takes an hour on hold to get in touch with someone or you arent talking to a human STAY AWAY. Try not to order from automated response places. Speaking with a human will allow you to ask questions and they will be honest because they dont make commission off of an order this small.
    Anyways there are some really bad products out there and on the other hand some are really good. I have a bad feeling about the Shamwow just after seeing the infomercial. I believe by law these phone order products have to have a 30 day money back offer. They may make you eat the shipping cost but it offers some security, assuming you can get a hold of customer service.

    In response to the Debit card question...
    There have been times at my work when somebody quoted the wrong price (never intentionally) and the person overdrafted their checking account. I guess Shamwow is worried about having to refund and pay for somebody's everdraft fees. That reminds me you can ask if there is going to be any additional charge 30 days later or whatever, they have to tell you by law. All of the calls are recorded so get them on record saying the TOTAL price.

    I hope this is helpful to you all. Don't be afraid to order off of the phone, just be smart about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 25, 2008

    Awesome. i'm so glad I found this site. Now I will send a link to my hubby and he'll get off my back about ordering them. :) He ordered the similar zorbees or whatever and was way disappointed with them. Then he saw these and thought they were what he intended/needed to get. Had he asked me first, I'd have researched those, too! They totally leave lint on the cars and are cheaply made scraps of material. Blech.

    0 Votes
  • Dw
      Aug 26, 2008

    Try to keep in mind a couple of primary facts here. Ordering Shamwows or any of the other "direct marketing" goods and services inundating your cable TV channels makes you a LOSER no matter what you do.

    Firstly, if you spend your hard-earned money buying this stuff you will ALWAYS find that the products never do in real life as is claimed in the infomercial and the services fall way short of meeting the claims touted by the ad.

    Secondly, even if you send the merchandize back, the over-priced shipping and handling you paid at the time you ordered the given piece of junk more than covers the sellers costs for the product (which you NEVER get back). So, guess what? YOU LOSE.

    Smarten up people. Realize that you will never get a bargain from a "direct marketing ad" whether its from Matthew Lesko, The Video Professor, Billy Mays or the hundreds of other pitchmen out there attempting to sucker you in.

    Take a minute to do some Google research before you commit. You'll be glad you did

    0 Votes
  • No
      Sep 01, 2008

    I `ve purchased the shamwow cloth 4 orange cloths but only 1 blue one.I`m requesting 3 more blue shamwow cloths.How do I go about it. So hard to get customer service.When Iclick on it, I get nothing. my addressis 1450 -1 ave. Grand-Mere P.Q. CANADA zip g9t2z8

    0 Votes
  • No
      Sep 01, 2008

    I want to appologize, I missed placed the 3 blue towels included in the shipping. I am very satisfy with this product. Again, sorry for my complaint, and thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Sep 11, 2008

    Shamwow is deffinetly a sham. First of all i would never buy anything from an infomercial, its kindof like the oxyclean crap, it is not a miracle that they clame it to be. I have seen the commercial amillion times for this shamwow crap and i laugh every time, especially when it comes to the carpet. How stupid. Dont buy crap off the tv.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
      Sep 18, 2008

    I was stoned at Walgreens buying condoms and wound up buying a pack of the Billy Maze rip offs. I got 4 big, orange towels, and 6 small hand towels for $13.99. Pretty much the same price they charge for microfiber car cleaning towels. I have not even used a single one, but they feel like felt fabric. I think they were called "Zap Os" or something stupid like that. Anyway, yes the commercial is bogus for the Sham wows, and they have been around for much cheaper for a long time. Regardless, I still bought some out of sheer stupidity because the commercial made me... yes I am admitting to that awful consumer behavior (gullibility). Sometimes the crap on TV actually does work well. That cold heat soldering iron is amazing...Almost as good as individually wrapped cheese slices.

    -1 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 22, 2008

    i love shamwow i do not no y

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 22, 2008

    it feels nice on my bum

    +1 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 23, 2008

    i love u

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 23, 2008

    i like boy in my bum

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 23, 2008

    hi jarrod i love u

    0 Votes
  • Bo
      Sep 23, 2008

    nick like boy and has too many cats

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 23, 2008

    I was going to try these but since I have looked at the feedback and it seems mostly negative.. I guess I will pass. I did see a couple posters here that were pretty rude to the OP especially mentioned was the washing/drying of these. On the informercial, even here on this site page, the products are shown being put in the dryer after they have been washed so I don't think the OP was wrong for laundering them that way yet they were just about called an idiot for doing it by one guy here. My take on most these infomercials.. The products never work AS GOOD as they do on the infomercial. NEVER. The product you buy from an infomercial may be adequate but it is never ever as wonderful as it is portrayed. Like pretty much everything in life. Things and descriptions are "EMBELLISHED" to promote them better.
    Thanks for the input however. It's been helpful in making my own decision and I won't be ordering these.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Oct 01, 2008

    shamwow is da bomb!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Oct 01, 2008

    I bought some Shamwows. I thought I would save a bunch of money on toilet paper. I am only getting 1 wipe per sheet. Then I have to handwash them.

    0 Votes
  • Ik
      Oct 03, 2008

    I watched the ad and it did NOT say to put them in the dryer...DUH...it clearly said to put them in the washer but made no mention of the dryer...this post is bs...must be another Obama supporter...

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Oct 03, 2008

    I have no dog in this fight; however the infomercial does NOT say to put them in the dryer...maybe you should watch the infomercial before you "shoot your mouth off"...Never accept anything you read on the internet as fact! This is the reason...people lie for some reason...probably liberals and with low self esteem...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 11, 2008

    The commercial uses an editing trick that you can easily spot. When he dumps the cola on the carpet and it's dripping wet, soaked, liquid on the table spilling beyond the carpet, right after that they edit the commercial to replace the dripping wet carpet with a dry piece. Then he says "look, it's virtually dry on the bottom". Yeah, it's dry because it's not the same piece of carpet. TOTAL SCAM - YOU WILL BE SORRY FOR GIVING THIS SCAMMER YOUR MONEY.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      Oct 13, 2008

    WOW!(what a)SHAM!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      Oct 16, 2008

    Ummm, Great to know I almost found myself buying these. I would have to say I have never bought anything off the Television but that commercial make it look crazy good...What I will do instead of buying some ShamWow's I will buy some gold on World of Warcraft (Joking) Well guys thanks for the information saved me money :D

    0 Votes
  • Gd
      Oct 19, 2008

    It seems like this guy is just selling an over priced chamois cloth. And what's with the headset and mic in advertisement these days? Does this improve the "knowledgeable" image of the hired actors or something?

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      Oct 19, 2008

    Scamwow...Scamhow?

    You can see on the commercial that it is had been digitally modified just before he says "we are going to do this in real time", the carpet was soaking wet with liquid under it and around it two seconds later it disappeared, since carpet is not that absorbent especially a small patch like that you can tell this has been modified so a lot less liquid are in the carpet.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Oct 19, 2008

    Actually I saw these at the fair and they let us try them. The carpet thing actually does work. It doesn't work as easy as it shows in the commercial, it takes a little more effort. But it works better than a towel. But spening 25 bucks for it is a ripoff, they have ones just like it for 10 at almost any carwash. (Genie in my case)

    0 Votes
  • Za
      Oct 20, 2008

    SCAMWOW!!!WHAT a SHAM..great trick camera workguys..you losers probably got these from ADOLF HITLER...known for the VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE AND THE AUTOBAHN...LET'S SEE IF THEY CAN WIPE UP chilly BILLY MAY'S BLOOD--SAW THESE "### WIPES "AT A FAIR where people paid good money to get in the fair like $8 bought some"### WIPES" ...THEY DIDNT' WORK..PEOPLE tried to return them the next day and paid admission and never got a refund ...total bill$8x2admission plus like $12.99..alot of people left them in the bathrooms hince"[censored]' I never saw toilet tissue last like 20yrs.BILLY IS LIKE THOSE TELEMARKETERS that was selling vitamins, water purifiers, trips to VEGAS for like $800 in hope you would win a$CADILLAC, $50, 000, ETC.NOW ITS LEGAL ON T.V.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Oct 25, 2008

    In the past, I used to fall for those infomercials and I have gotten a few good products, but nothing that has actually ever done what the seller claims. Since I began to research anything and everything I have ever been drawn to from an infomercial, I haven't bought anything in at least two years. The thing that tickles me is that the research I've done finds all of the idiots (including myself) that have fallen for it. People will say anything for a buck and the reason why is because People fall for it. I would take Troy's advice and do some further research such as calling customer service first and talking to a "person". But I don't believe it's foolproof. I have the Six star knives from Ronco (my son bought them for me two years ago), while the knives are not horrible, they are not nearly as good as the infomercial claims. Also, two of the steak knives broke and I have to this date not been able to get through to customer service to get them replaced. They have a lifetime warranty. If one breaks they are supposed to replace it, but I have been trying for two months to get through and have not yet been able to. I was on hold for an hour and a half once. I even tried CS on the site. I wrote three emails and still have not received a response. It's all about money people... Don't waste yours...

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      Oct 28, 2008

    my son pisses all over the walls of our house and the shamWOW didn't absorb any of it. total scam.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
      Oct 30, 2008

    Shamwow Towels are amazing!!! So I was gangbanging three black guys and afterword I set the Shamwow on my pooter and it sucked out all of the baby gravy! Amazing product that should be an any whores purse.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Oct 30, 2008

    shamwow is not worth spending a dime on them.I baught them n they are not working well at all.Use them once n i trow them in garbage. Shamwow is a piece of ### never buy ### from tv adds.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Nov 01, 2008

    People are stupid.
    First off, that guy is probably not the owner. So "he" is not getting 20 million for a million sales.
    If the company does do 20 million they also have to pay employees, pay for process and materials, insurances, and those advertisements that got you to buy. Its a business. Youre stupid if you think a towel is gonna pick up all water or work that well. It would barely need to be advertised! Wake up

    0 Votes

Post your comment