SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Sergeant's Gold Flea & Tick / CRAP and WILL HURT YOUR DOG!!!!

Omaha, NE, United States Review updated:

LISTEN. DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT BUY THIS FOR YOUR DOG!!! DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT!!!

This stuff is soooo bad even the 1-800 number for ER calls is not their company!!! THIS STUFF SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS and is very very very very very harmful to your dog, maltest, cockers, and kind of dog this is NOT what you want to use!!! SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK again SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK!!!

SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK is CRAP! Made by SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC - again SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC and that is for net clicks because I WANT PEOPLE TO SEE THIS BEFORE

BEFORE BEFORE they buy it and use on their pet!!! I almost lost my dog because of this crap!! IT IS CRAP!!!

If you are reading this and have used it.

WASH YOUR DOG IN PALMOLIVE GREEN OR DOVE - it gets the crap off! IT IS THE ONLY THING THAT WILL GET THE CRAP OFF!!

At least the 1-800 person was HELPFUL and CARING!!! DONT USE SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC ANYTHING THEY MAKE IT IS ###!

SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC SUCKS

SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC for dogs is horrible.

Call me personally if you want to talk about this - even if you work for SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC in Omaha, NE!!!


jonathan

[protected]@yahoo.com


SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC MAKES CRAP

SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC KILLS ANIMALS THEY ARE TRYING TO HELP!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Df
      Apr 28, 2009

    I put Hartz flea and tick drops on my dogs yesterday and they both started twitching, kicking, whining and scratching their ears… I thought they were getting better later this afternoon, but I think they were so exhausted they fell asleep for a while. They're awake and going spastic again. I just called the vet and they said I should watch them in case they get worse. If they start having tremors, I have to bring them in for intravenous treatment or they could have seizures, go into a coma and die. I'd bring them in for treatment, right now, but they won't administer that treatment unless it becomes necessary.

    Bad, bad stuff. It's literally poison.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      May 17, 2009

    Thank you Jonathan for posting this information on Sergeant's. I now know what caused my dog to flip out.

    My story: On Friday afternoon, my 8 yr. old boxer was given a bath. My husband then applied the Sergeant's flea & tick product down her backside. A few hours later, my dog was going crazy or so I thought. Maggie could not lay down or sit still for long. She kept getting up and trying to lick her back and reach her legs. This dog was up and down all night long...she kept drinking water like crazy. I kept getting up to try to calm her down but she would not lay down for very long...It's like she kept having to "move"...On Saturday...she was doing the same thing but then she threw up. We ended up bathing her again using her Flea shampoo trying to get this Sargeant's off of her. The dog continued to suffer all Saturday...barely touched her food and was in no way "normal". I didn't know could be related to the Sargeant's application until this morning when I googled the subject. We ended up bathing the dog 3 times using regular baby shampoo. We also gave her a Benadryl. The dog is still "moving" but not as often. Our Vet will be called tomorrow. I'm hoping by then she's somewhat back to normal but I'm taking her for a visit just in case.

    I had no idea this stuff could cause such a reaction in our beloved pet! I am angry this stuff is being sold and not taken off the market.

    Thank you again Jonathan for your posting! I really was beginning to think my dog had some kind of neurological damage - cause unknown. Now I know I can trace it to the Sargeant's because before the crap was put on her; she was FINE.

    I called my husband at work and through tears I told him what I read here. I felt so bad because I bought the stuff to prevent flea & ticks and never, ever expected it would cause my dog whatever pain she's been feeling.

    How many other people are going through this with their pets? Gosh, I hope they read here and find comfort in knowing it's not their fault. We as a consumer buy these products in good faith. We follow the directions. I think a HUGE WARNING should be placed on the packaging listing all the possible side effects.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      May 18, 2009

    Hi Jonathan,

    My name is Kelly and I work for Sergeant’s Pet Care Products. First, I hope that your dog is feeling better. We all love our pets, and always want to keep them safe and happy. I myself have a mini dachshund who means the world to me, so I can completely relate.

    I checked our system to make sure that you had contacted our Consumer Affairs department, and saw that you did call to report your experience. Thank you for doing so. You mentioned you thought it was not actually Sergeant’s you were calling, but in fact you reached the right place! After hours, calls go to a customer service provider that is trained by our staff, has full access to all of our records and product information, and passes along all reports to us each day.

    The transcript notes indicate that you used a Hartz Flea and Tick Shampoo in addition to the Sergeant’s Gold Squeeze-On product, and then used the flea and tick shampoo again after applying the squeeze-on. As you learned from our Consumer Affairs department, all flea and tick products are pesticides, and each has a different active ingredient, using more than one product at the same time can result in overdosing your pet. We’ve worked very hard to help educate pet owners about this issue, and want to stress this point again so that more people understand the importance and can avoid this danger. If you’d like to learn more, please visit our website at www.sergeants.com.

    Again, I thank you for calling our Consumer Affairs number right away. This is precisely what we advise all pet owners to do if they experience any issues with any of our products. Knowing the details of these situations helps us to better educate pet owners about the safe and effective ways to use pesticide products on their animals.

    Kelly
    Sergeant’s Pet Care Products

    0 Votes
  • Lw
      Jun 01, 2009

    I put the Sargeants Gold Flea and Tick on my animal last Friday. I had to make a frantic run to the Vet Emergency because he started seizing, foaming at the mouth, couldn't walk, had horrible tremors and couldn't focus on my face. It scared me to death, by the time I showed up at the Vet's I was in tears while carrying my baby in. They immediatley washed this poison off of him and started him on an IV, they administered muscle relaxers to stop the seizures and made him eat charcoal to try and get anything out of his stomach in case he had ingested it. While he was being treated I ran home and washed my other two kids with Dawn soap to get the poison that I had put on them off as well. THANK GOD I was one of the lucky ones, I had a wonderful team save my baby's life and I was able to take him home 12 hours later with minimal side effects. He did have to be on medication for a week to control the tremors and had to have a special diet for his digestion. I have used this product before with no side effects, however, I will NEVER put it on my animals ever again, the only medication they will ever get will be administered by our wonderful DVM.

    Sargeants is a killer, I wholeheartedly agree Jonathan!! It should be taken off the shelf immediately & most of us that did apply the poison as directed should be able to get the company to pay our vet bills after they tried killing our animals.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Jun 23, 2009

    Hi L Weis,

    This is Kelly from Sergeant’s Pet Care Products. I was concerned when I read your post, and hope that your dog is now doing well. It’s very troubling to know that even one pet has endured a reaction from one of our products. We do extensive testing before any product hits the market, frequently going above and beyond what the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency requires of us. And, we are always evaluating and looking for ways to improve our products. Always. We think that it is very important to educate consumers on the correct way to apply flea and tick products to their pet. We have found that in many cases reactions happened because of misapplication. I know we all want the same outcome – for our pets to be free from the dangers of ticks and fleas, but also to have a comfortable experience with the products we have chosen for them.

    It does not appear that you have reported your pet’s reaction to the Sergeant’s Gold Flea and Tick Squeeze-On to our Consumer Affairs department. Please contact us at 800-224-7387 as soon as possible. Once we know the details of your situation, we will help in any way we can. I am especially interested to know what might have happened to cause him to have a reaction, as you mentioned that you have used the product before without any side effects.

    I would like to know how your pet is doing now, several days later. You mentioned that after the trip to the vet, he had minimal side effects, but I’m sure all of us on the thread would like to know that he is doing better and back to normal!

    There is also an interesting article recently published by the ASPCA that you might find interesting. It addresses the safety of spot-on flea and tick products and the kind of reactions being reported, based on their own research. You can read it here:

    http://www.prweb.com/releases/aspca/flea_control_products/prweb2492584.htm

    Kelly

    Sergeant’s Pet Care Products

    0 Votes
  • Tf
      Jul 05, 2009

    This medicine is DEADLY!!! We put it on our pomchi and had to take her to the vet the next day. She drooled excessively all night long. After having the vet give her multiple shots, a bath, and put her on a iv to clear her system of this POISON she is now back home. Its been 3 days and she is just now starting to act normal again, except for the fact that she is now peeing a lot more then normal. In the last hr. she has peed 3 times!!

    My vet said that they have dogs come in all the time with reactions from this medicine. It needs to be removed from stores!! DO NOT USE THIS IT CAN AND WILL KILL YOUR PETS!!! Don't believe me just google it and you will see for yourself...

    Kelly with Sergeants don't bother replying with some b/s... k thanks :)

    Tiffany
    New Albany, IN

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Jul 26, 2009

    Sergeant knows that they are causing suffering. They are making a profit from hurting innocent pets and creating financial hardships (emergency vet bills) for Good People during a bad time in our economy.
    Stop asking us to look at the label and start reading all the countless cases of sufferings caused by your company.

    See the below 4 News Reports!!!

    http://wkyt.videogenesis.net/watch?v=3499

    http://www.nbclosangeles.com/news/local/Pet_Product_Investigation_Los_Angeles.html

    http://www.myfoxdfw.com/dpp/entertainment/pets/SpotOn_Flea_Tick_Meds_Investi

    http://www.thebostonchannel.com/video/19425432/index.html

    Read these EPA meeting minutes:
    Please everyone read this PDF file. Sergeant knows the pain they are causing!

    http://epa.gov/pesticides/health/spot-on-meeting-may2009.pdf

    More Web Sites to show the record of suffering:

    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/pets/sergeants.html
    http://journal.drfaulken.com/problems-with-sentrypro-xfc-flea-and-tick-medication/
    http://www.hartzvictims.org/2008/01/28/danger-sergeants-gold-flea-and-tick-squeeze-on-2/
    http://aspcacommunity.ning.com/forum/topics/do-not-use-sergeants-gold-flea
    http://dogblog.dogster.com/2008/04/08/sargeants-gold-flea-medication-almost-kills-dogsters-lucky-and-nala/

    Sergeant Stop the Suffering or be Stopped,
    Lorraine

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Aug 14, 2009

    This stuff is crap! If I poison my dog on purpose, I would go to jail, yet it's ok for this large company to continually poison pets? And if you have the nerve to complain, you get Kelly, the mouth-piece from Sergeants telling you that you probably didn't follow the instructions. Since she is such a good little lap dog, maybe we should put some on her...as long as we follow the directions, she should be fine, right?
    This poison almost killed my dog, and I followed the directions EXACTLY, didn't use it with any other product, and my dog still isn't back to normal.
    I bet Kelly doesn't use this garbage on her pets!
    Kari, Springfield, Or

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 23, 2009

    As of this writing I have given my dog three baths and have called the emergency number for Sergeants and have registered my complaint. Case # 522118

    There are absolutely NO WARNINGS or side effects listed on this product. Had I known, I never would have used this.

    My dog is still experiencing jitters and shakes and is still agitated. Hopefully it will pass and we can avoid the vet.

    This product should be removed from store shelves.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
      Sep 06, 2009

    My 12 pound shiz tsu is experiencing a very severe reaction right now. The vet I consulted stated that she sees this reaction all the time from this product. My dog is suffering needlessly. As an attorney and a nurse, I believe it is unacceptable to keep this product on the shelf. There are no warnings on or in the box describing the possibility of such a reaction. I know my vet bill will be over $500.00 for treatment. This product is inherently dangerous and causes harm to animals.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
      Sep 25, 2009

    I bought Sargeant's Flea & Tick squeeze on for dogs 9-20 lbs. at Menard's on Sunday. My dog is a 13 lbs. shizh. My husband applied it on Thursday evening as she had been to the groomer's on Saturday she suggested that we should apply Flea Tic medication to her in a couple of days as she had found some on her. About 2 hours after applying it, she started walking around, couldn't be still, scratching and drinking a lot of water. We picked her up and tried to hold her to calm her down, but all she wanted to do was to get down and walk around continuously. My husband and I agreed that it was probably the the tick med he put on her. We thought it might be just a mild irritation to it. So we put her to bed later and she barked most of the night. My husband got up this morning at 4:30 a.m. to let her go to the bathroom. He let her out in our backyard and sat with her until she finished. She still would not stop walking continuously. When I got up at 6 a.m. to go to work, she was still walking and scratching. I noticed klumps of hair in her bed. My Husband bathed her with her regular shampoo and she seemed to calm down.

    I decided to google Sargeant's and discovered that this stuff is no good. I called my husband back and told him to bathe her again this time with the Dawn and called our Vet. We will be taking her in to see him right away.

    Please do not use this product. It can harm your pet. It should be taken off the market.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Oct 09, 2009
    SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK - Product made my dogs very sick
    Sargeant's
    Tacoma
    Washington
    United States
    Phone: 253 -472-2109

    I used this product on my shih tzu and I had to take her to the vet. She was foaming from the mouth and was having seizures. This is a dangerous product for pets of all kinds.
    I think Sargeant's should pay our vet bills and remove this product completely!!!

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Oct 24, 2009

    My 1 1/2 year old Lab had a severe reaction to Sergeants Gold Squeeze on Flea medication. We applied to his skin on Monday. That same night he woke up very restless. His eyes were "wild" and he could not sit still. Well today is now Saturday and after a few nights at the vet I brought him home to more than likely die. If you love your pet like I do DO NOT USE this product it WILL KILL your dog.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
      Dec 20, 2009

    The post from Glory Ervin is exactly what I am experiencing with Rudy, my 13 lbs Shizuh this very minute. We put it on him and in less than an hour he was barking at us and being sassy. We bathed him with his dog shampoo to get the stuff off (no where ON the box does it say to use any other kind of soap) Still, he was aggitated and would sit still. I called the toll-free number on the box and the lady said to bath him in Dawn dishwashing soap and apply vitamin E oil. I called again 3 hours and no change in their advise. I called a local emergency vet clinic and the lady said she hears this ALL the time from this product. She said this stuff is POISON to PETS. She suggested children's benedryl might make him comfy - I couldnt really see a change in him after an hour, so I searched GOOGLE and read ALL these terrible stories. I wish I would have looked here first - this product is nothing short of POISON. I called the toll-free number from the box back and the person was surprised when I told her what the internet said. Something has to be done - when you clearly us a product as instructed and this is the outcome, something has to be done. On the box the only warning is " Sensitivies may occur.." I would be interested in knowing the success rate of this product.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      Dec 26, 2009

    I gave this to our dog on Thursday night and he was up and down all night! This was after washinging it off as best I could too. He was panting, couldn't sit or lay still, and just agitated! It was awful and I felt so bad for giving it to him! Had I known, I would have NEVER EVER used this product! Don't give it to your dogs - it is bad news! Fortunately, my dog is starting to get a little back to normal. He's able to sleep some and is starting to play more. However, he still has spells where he shakes and can't lay still for very long. We are going to try the bath with Palmolive or Dove and see if that helps. Thanks for the suggestions on what works to get it off! I hope that it works!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Jan 15, 2010

    I applied this to our 75 lb. Chesapeake Bay Retriever this afternoon. I have used this product twice before with no problems. Tonight she cannot sit still, keeps licking herself, is going in circles, is jittery and panting. I thought she had injested something. When I googled this and found everyone's posts I immediately put her into the Jacuzzi to wash this crap off of her. I will NEVER use this again. I checked the box and there were no possible side effects listed except "if signs of sensitivity occur..." What the hell is "sensitivity"? What it should say is "if your dog starts acting like they are suffering from crack withdraw, immediately wash this off of them and switch to Hartz Ultraguard."

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Jan 15, 2010

    ju crap a dog jes?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Feb 03, 2010

    THIS STUFF IS SO SCARY, LAST NIGHT I PUT THIS MED ON MY 12 LB DOG AND ABOUT 2 HRS LATER SHE WAS GOING NUTS. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG. SHE WAS DROOLING EVERY WHERE, RESTLESS, CHEWING HERSELF, PANTING, DIGGING THE FURNITURE!! I HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG. I KEPT HOLDONG HER TRYING TO GET HER TO CALM DOWN. THAT JUST GOT ME SOAKING WET. I CALLED THE EMERGENCY VET PLACE AT 320 THIS AM AND THEY ASKED ME IF I HAD USED ANY MEDS OR TREATED HER WITH ANYTHING. WHAT A COINICIDENCE! I TOLD THEM I HAD JUST USED THIS PRODUCT. THE TOLD ME I SHOULD GIVE HER A BATH AND IF I HAD ANY TRY TO GIVE HER A SEDATIVE. SO THERE I WAS GIVING MY DOG A BATH A 300 IN THE MORNING! I WAS SO SCARED. I GAVE HER A TINY PIECE OF A SEDATIVE SHE WAS GIVEN FOR SOME THING ELSE. SHE FINALLY CALMED DOWN A TINY BIT ENOUGH FOR ME TO BE ABLE TO PUT HER DOWN. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. THIS STUFF IS POISON, I WISH I HAD KNOWN BEFORE I PUT HER THRU THIS.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Feb 12, 2010

    This stuff KILLED my dog. I placed this stuff on my 120lb. Chesapeake Bay Retriever about ayear and a half ago with the same symptoms. She had two seizures before I got a hold of the vet. I washed the dog 3 times in Dawn dish detergeant to get the stuff off and then rushed her to the Veterinary Hospital where they placed her on Valium for 3-4 days which seemed to stop the seizures. However, they continued to occurr in clusters of 3 almost every month. Then we started treating with Phenobarbital and Potassium Bromide and at one point went 3 months w/o a seizure. However, as of recent the seizures continued to get worse. She began to lose control of her hind legs as I suspect there was damage done to the nervous system in the spine where you apply the poison. Then she went into seizures for 6 hours (in and out every 5 minutes) the other night until I had no choice but to put her down at the young age of 4. Its unfortunate that everybody, including myself, reading this site has already made the mistake before reading this information. THere is an alternative to using these chemicals on your pet. Since that incident I had been giving my dog Garlic Pills which are just as good if not better at preventing Fleas and Ticks on animals. It is even used on horses. There are also natural flea & tick shampoos that you can use on your pet. You can purchase them at places like allnaturalpet.com. If you know somebody who uses these chemicals (whether it be Hartz, Sergeants, Frontline, Bio Spot, Revolution, etc) please inform them of the side effects and encourage them to use natural products rather than these poisonous pesticides on their pet before it is to late.

    0 Votes
  • Lk
      Feb 19, 2010
    SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK - Product made my dogs very sick
    Woodinville
    Washington
    United States
    Phone: 425-485-5669

    The product I usually buy was not available at my store so I purchased Sergeant's Gold (9lbs to 20 lbs) for my two dogs. I applied the product as instructed and within 30 minutes my two dogs (12 lb Silkie and a 20 lb King Charles) were suffering. The Silkie started whining, twitching and scratching and the King Charles started screaming anytime he tried towalk. I quickly put both dogs in the sink and tried to wash off the product. It seemed to help the Silkie, but the King Charles continued to scream in pain any time he moved.

    Two days later they were both acting uncomfortable the King Charles would no move on his own. He would not eat and had not urinated or pooped. Except for occasional twitching the Silkie was acting normal. I received a call from someone at Sergeant's ( I emailed them) who was very nice and suggested that I bath both dogs again using a particular dish soap and to be sure that I washed between the toes of their feet. She also suggested I change their collars incase the stuff got on them.

    I washed the dogs and it is now the third day. This morning the Silkie spit up some white foamy stuff, but ate and drank normally after that. The King Charles finally walk slowly from his kennel to the dog bowl and ate and drank then he walked slowly to the dog bed in the tv room and layed down and began chewing on a toy. Thankfully he walked without any obvious pain.

    This is a terrible product that should come off the market. I don't think I will ever buy another dog product without checking the internet for possible product problems first. I certainly will not buy a Sergeant's product again. I'm so thankful my dogs survived this.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Feb 20, 2010

    I had serious issues with my beagles. I saw the posting. Has anyone tried calling the Consumer Affairs Department for Sergeant's? They don't answer. It is just endless hold music. Perhaps a class action lawsuit is more appropriate?

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Mar 05, 2010

    I put this Sergeant Crap on my dog today .I bought it at the local CVS.I have had her 14 years .She was drooling terribly, shaking, and could hardly walk about 12 hours after the application.I can not believe that Sergeants is allowed to continue to manufacter and sell this ###! I as well call the number on the box.I gave her 3 bathes with dish soap, washed her mouth out with several glasses of water and put vitamin e oil down her throat.I was told the medicine was probably burning her.This is ### !!! I will be talking to friend tomorrow who is a lawyer.Screw you Sergeant!!! You people make me sick. Your going to pay for hurting my dog! I will also be contacting CVS to let them know they should not be carrying your products!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 20, 2010

    Thank-you for posting this and for talking me through my ordeal this morning, yesterday I gave my 3 dogs SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA&TICK SQUEEZE-ON FOR DOGS-40lbs.to 60lbs.this morning 03-20-2010, I had dog vomit from the 2nd. floor to the 1st. floor, frothy dog vomit everywhere.My dogs are in distress, my Jack Russel was looking for somewhere to hide and retching, I followed your advice, just washed them down, my 13 year old spanial is just acting depressed and suffering, this is a terrible product, will never buy it again.Chris C in Missouri.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Mar 31, 2010

    I wish I had read these before putting this on my Miniature Schnauzer... I feel like a horrible pet owner right now. My dog has been going crazy and itching and scratching for 24 hours. I've already given him 5 baths, last two with palmolive and I've given him 2 benadryls today. It's sad that this company continues to sell such a product knowing they are causing harm. I'm really too angry to continue typing about this subject.

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Apr 06, 2010

    This is the BS response I received back from Sergeants..Needless to say I was not very nice when I responded to them!! I attached a link to this complaint board and will not be giving them any of my information..Please if anyone has not contacteed them do so only so your complaint can be documented with them.The are liars and animal killers.If anyone has idea how we can stop them please let me know. They need to look at the statistics again, don't they???Low my ###!


    Dear Ms. O'Kelley,

    Thank you for contacting Sergeant's Pet Care Products. We are truly sorry to hear that your dog may have had a reaction to our Gold Squeeze-On for Dogs. How is your dog doing? We hope that your dog feeling better.

    We can assure you that the manufacturing and use of our flea and tick products are approved and closely regulated by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Sergeant’s has tested its flea and tick products in accordance with EPA rules and regulations in order to ensure that the products are safe. As warned on the product label, some animals may exhibit sensitivities to ANY pesticide product. However, the number of animals that may experience a sensitivity to these products is statistically very low.

    We are extremely concerned about this occurrence and would like to start an investigation. Would you please respond to this email with your full mailing address so we can mail you an Adverse Reaction Report to complete? We also ask that you please send in a copy of the proof of purchase (box, UPC code from box, tube, or a receipt), a copy of the itemized vet bill, as well as the completed Adverse Reaction Report. Once this information is received, we will ask a Review Committee to look into this matter and respond to you. Our mailing address for your records is as follows:

    Sergeant's Pet Care Products
    Attn: Consumer Affairs Department
    2625 S. 158th Plaza
    Omaha, NE 68130

    Fax: (402) 938-7170

    Once again we are sorry for your inconvenience and appreciate you taking the time to contact us. If we can be of further assistance please feel free to call our Consumer Affairs Department at 1-800-224-7387.

    Kindest regards,

    Danielle
    Sergeant's Pet Care Products
    Consumer Affairs Department

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      May 16, 2010

    I also have been affected by this. My poor wheaten terrier has been acting erratic all day ever since receiving a dosage of this. He obviously is in pain. I bathed him in the Palmolive, and applied the vitamin E...but he is still extremely uncomfortable. I feel terrible that I did this to my beloved dog. My kids are so upset watching him in so much pain...they are extremely upset...we are all extremely upset. DO NOT PUT THIS PRODUCT ON YOUR DOG!

    In defense of the medical team...they were very kind...but I wish I would have known that such a reaction is quite common. This should be pulled from the market immediately!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Jun 21, 2010

    I put this crap on my babys a pitbull and my little chichuua and they started to go crazy my pit started droaling and foaming at the mouth it is scaring me to death i never thought that a product that was sold at the store or is even on the market could do such a thing I'm so scared right now and i don't no what to do for my poor babys if this stuff kills them i will be sure im sueing the hell out of this piece of crap compnay sergants is the worst stuff and needs to do something besides posting i hope they are better help us with our vet bilss from applying your bull crap that posiened them !!! [protected]@yahoo.com im pissed

    0 Votes
  • My
      Jun 25, 2010

    OMG!!! My poor Chihuahua!!! We put this on her night before last and she hasn't been the same since! The next morning she was running around and biting at her backside and salavating like crazy. Everytime she would come to cuddle she couldn't lay still; up and down, up and down! She was so thirsty she was actually walking around in her water dish! I feel so badly that I didn't check this stuff out before I bought it! Thank you for all of your postings. I gave her a bath and she has calmed down a little bit. If she continues to act like a rabid squirl, I am taking her to the vet. My poor poor baby! I will never buy Sergeant's anything ever again for my dogs!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Jun 28, 2010

    I treated all five of are dogs that are all different breeds. All five had reactions! They acted like I poured acid on them. Four baths later and now they are just misserable except for our doxie, she just shakes and crys still and this is day three.

    0 Votes
  • Go
      Aug 02, 2010

    I used the Sentry Natural Defense on my cat. Thinking that the Natural part is better for her. I had to take her to the Animal Hospital last night. She was vomiting and foaming at the mouth. According to poison control this "safe" for use around animals and children can cause kidney failure/neurological problems/seizures/foaming at the mouth etc. Sounds real safe. Cost me around $300 for the vet visits and almost cost me my cat. She is still having a reaction and sometimes foams. The vet seems to think that she should be ok. THIS STUFF IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!!! DO NOT USE ON YOUR ANIMALS... NOT SAFE!!! DANGEROUS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Aug 18, 2010

    I am a victim also of the Sergeant's Gold tick and flea solution.
    I have a problem with Sergeant’s Pet Care Company. In June of this year, I had found a couple of ticks on our dogs, so I bought Sergeant’s Gold Squeeze On tick solutions for Dogs.

    My husband put the application on the father, and mother.

    About an hour later my daughter saw her puppy in the back yard foaming at the mouth and shaking violently, and falling down. This is my daughter’s (Diamond) puppy. Diamond was home for summer break from college (Wash U in St louis MO.)

    Diamond started to scream, “Somebody get my dog”.
    We rushed Fanta to the veterinarians where they gave her IV’s, and treatments for toxic shock, and poisoning, and they kept her for two hours for observation.

    The puppy was throwing up, she had diarrhea. The vets say that she probably would have died had we not taken her in, and that this was the worst case of toxic poisoning that they had ever seen. They also say that Sergeant’s is aware of this product’s toxicity, and the vets warned us to NEVER use those products again.

    I called Sergeants and they say that their products usually do not cause such severe reaction from ingestion, and told me to send all of the paperwork.

    I submitted all of the paperwork, but they refuse to reimburse me because they say that I used their products illegally by “applying” it to a dog below the 61 lb weight requirement on the package, and that the vet say that Fanta weighs only 50 lbs.

    They refuse to acknowledge that this was “INGESTION”, and not an application issue. For the second time SERGEANT’S have replied and refused to reimburse me saying that I “applied” the medication to Fanta. I feel like they are not even reading the information that I’m sending.

    My daughter was traumatized. This was the first time Diamond had met her puppy. She picked Fanta out of the litter just from seeing photos.
    I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and I believe that you all should as well.

    THIS STUFF SHOULD NOT BE ON THE MARKET!
    Naomi---Phoenix, AZ

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 01, 2010

    I put sargents flea & tick drops on our 6 month old lab mix yesterday as I've done before.A little while later I noticed she was acting strange, unable to sit still, panting, whining and as I rubbed her chest to try and calm her down I could feel her heart pounding.She also was drinking alot of water.Then I remembered that I had put the flea drops on her about 5 hours earlier & decided to Google it to see if other peoples pets had any side effects.Boy was I scared after I read all the horrors about this product.At about mid night last night after quickly reading about what to do, I put her in the bathtub & washed her neck with Dawn dish detergent & rinsed her throughly with water, removed her collar & washed that too.Needless to say I didn't sleep too well last night worrying about how she would be.She is much better today but still not 100 percent herself, ocassionally trying to rub her back on the carpet or anything else but much better than last night, I will bathe her again this morning just to be sure.I can't believe this product is still on the market.I was scared I was going to have to tell my little girls that their best friend died while they were sleeping last night!What a horror, I WILL NEVER purchase any of Sargents products again, they can't be trusted.I threw the rest of it away & will stick with Frontline or possibly find something thats organic.Thank God my Dog is doing o.k now.My heart goes out to those who weren't as fortunate. Sincerely, Donna Finley

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Oct 24, 2010

    We bought the Sergeants Gold Flea and Tick squeeze-on for our mini-dachsund yesterday. About an hour after the application was put on, she vomited a LARGE amount of foam and liquid and was shaking and drinking water like crazy!!! Her tail was between her legs (she never does that) and she wouldn't come when I called her she just kept running around the room itching herself and rubbing her back along the floor. She vomited HUGE amounts 4 more times I didn't know so much could come out of such a small dog!!! I gave her a bath (not knowing what to do since there are no suggestions on the box) and she continued to shake and act abnormal for about 2 more hours. I will NEVER use this product again and I will make sure I tell people about what happened and about all these other posts I discovered. I happened upon it by accident because I googled this product to see if anyone else had the same problem. Absolutely horrible this product is still being sold.

    -1 Votes
  • Fl
      Mar 04, 2011

    I put this Sergeants flea and tick drops on my he is a 22 pound pug and i brought the right kind for his size. i didnt even put the whole tube on him and throw the rest away thinking he would be covered. about six hours after the application he is whining and yelping and rubbing his body all over the furniture and running around. the only way i could get him to hold still was to rub his back repeatedly. i took him to the vet as sooon as they opened and they gave me bathing instructions and some antihistimine pills. 5 hours later and four bathes later and he is still in discomfort and whining. I called the sergeants poison control and they told me that it causes a burning tingling sensation on some dogs. THEY NEED TO STOP SELLING THIS PODUCT!!! my poor dog has been in pain for the last twenty four hours and i cant get the crap off. They told me their reviewing my case for a refund. refund my [censor] they wont pay [censor]. All i have to say is my dog better get better or they are getting sued!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Mar 24, 2011
    SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK - Product made my dogs very sick
    United States

    Used SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK, the dog was fine till we put this on her.
    She wouldn't sit still, anxious, panting, you could see she was stressed. This is not like her at all.
    This product should not be on the market.
    It could kill!!! or severly damage your pet!!!
    BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      May 12, 2011

    We just went through this horror with our 8 year old Walker Coonhound. A couple hours after applying the Sargeants flea and tick drops, he started running around the house like he was on speed. Then he just got totally fidgety, jumpy, and couldn't keep still. I tried to get him into his bed and calm him down, but then his muscles started to sieze up and his legs were going in crazy directions, claws curled up, unable to stand. We guessed it was the drops, so my husband carried him to the tub while I called our 24-hour ER vet. They said bathe him with dish soap and bring him in for evaluation. He was way better after the bath, but I'm still shaking from the fear! After the years of documentation of these complaints, why is this product still available? I would think there would have been some class action law suits by now? Unbelievable. Sargeants doesn't even put a warning of any kind regarding these serious allergic reactions, yet they want us to call and give them the grisly details if something happens?! Our dogs are not your lab rats Sargeants!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      May 15, 2011

    I agree completely! This stuff should not be on the shelf! It was harmful to my puppy, she was having tremors I hurried and washed it off of her but the cat is always playing with the dogs and she must of been triing to clean the dogs and we neerly lost her! This is a product that should not be around! Animals are very important to us, we would have been devastated if we would of lost any of them!!

    0 Votes
  • Du
      May 27, 2011

    I used this shampoo on my cat 3 times in the last week (didn't leave it on the first time, and my wife didn't later it in well enough the second time) and we have had no problems with our cat getting sick. Now, I'm not trying to start an argument here, but is it possible that in using this shampoo and another product did cause the health issues with your pet. Regardless, unless there is some kind of scientific proof that this product was to blame, it is in fact illegal to claim that it is "poison" and such. A warning that this happened after taking this product is fine...but when you type it like you did..someone like me who reads more then just one website will likely discredit yours...again mainly because it's more tantrum like and not very professorial.

    -1 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 14, 2011

    Same thing happened to my 3 year old Pug. Applied exactly as instructed on box. 1 hour later she was panting and running aound the house wailing and panting with her toungue hanging out. All night long she would not sleep and was just running around the house. called the 800 number and filed a complaint with a log number. By 9 AM we called our Vet and as stated in other posts he said keep an eye on her and she started to act normally by about 1 PM which was about 19 hours after the application. Sargents can try to cover this up but this stuff is POISON and sould be taken off the market. I have video of my dog suffering so they (Sargents) cannot dispute that this stuff does hurt your dogs.

    DO NOT USE SARGENTS PRODUCTS ... IT WILL CAUSE PAIN AN POSSIBLY KILL YOUR DOG

    John Masson
    email me [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Aug 25, 2011

    I usually use Frontline, but I saw the Gold by Sargeant's at a local bargain store. I figured I'd give it a try, if I find a tick The Dude, I'll go back to Frontline. An hour after application my 45lb beagle was completely agitated, scratching and whining. He then started throwing up foam. I googled and found this blog.
    I've now washed him 3x. He is obviously uncomfortable. Can't sit still. Barking at the couch (he doesnt bark, except at rabbits). I've given him 325mgs of Benedryl, hopefully that will give him some comfort. In the past hour (2.5 hours after application) he has barked at the door to go out (again, he is a quiet dog) and urinated like a racehorse 3x.
    I am writing a letter to the CEO where I purchased this terrible product, linking this website. This needs to be taken off the shelves immediately.

    0 Votes

Post your comment