SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Sears Kenmore Oven / fire

Massachusetts, United States Review updated:

Our 5 year old Kenmore Elite Electric Range (model 790.9911) caught fire last night and we were very fortunate to have been in the room.
I turned on one burner to heat water and turned the (convection) oven on to warm some food.

Within 2 minutes, we heard an electrical crackling buzzing sound instead of the convection oven fan noise. I immediately tried to turn off the oven and black smoke began pouring out of the back of the oven and the stove would not turn off. Within seconds, flames were shooting out of the back of the oven where the vent grill is. My husband ran to turn off the main power in the house. Fortunately the flames extinguished themselves before catching fire to the cabinets.

The fire department examined the stove and outlets and said all looked to be in order - that it was clearly an electrical fire within the stove.

The electronics of this stove were funky from the start -- the clock never worked properly, speeding up in time whenever the oven was in use. While we lived with this quirk on a $1200+ stove, we did NOT expect it to start shooting flames!

Very dangerous and disappointing.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Apr 15, 2011

    Dear Bad Range:
    My name is Susan and I am part of the Sears Social Media Team. I am very concerned about what I have read here. We would like to help. We are a single point of contact for escalated concerns which means we step into a situation and handle it start to finish with one Case Manager. At your convenience, please send an email to [protected]@searshc.com with your contact phone number and any other information you would like to provide to us regarding this situation. We will get that information over to a Case Manager who will contact you so that you (and others) won't have to continue to be impacted by this. Also, please provide the screen name (bad range) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,

    Susan R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Apr 19, 2011

    Dear Cheryl29:
    We are sorry to hear about the problems that you are experiencing with your Kenmore 790 Series Range . We can only imagine the frustration this has caused you and your family. It is our goal to get your keep your range in working order and to exceed your expectations. This clearly has not been done for you and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist. My name is Susan and I work for the Sears Cares Team. At your convenience, please send an email to [protected]@searshc.com with your contact phone number and any other information you would like to provide to us regarding this situation. We will get that information over to a Case Manager who will contact you so that you (and others) won't have to continue to be impacted by this. Also, please provide the screen name (Cheryl29) for reference to your issue and we do look forward to talking to you soon.


    Thank you,

    Susan R.
    Senior Case Manager
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Jun 18, 2012

    Dear V7757,

    My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We regret to hear that your stove has caught on fire; we understand that this can cause great concern. We are very sorry to hear that through a number of calls into our customer service you were unable to find a proper solution. We do value you as a Sears customer and would like to further assist at this time. At your convenience please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your stove was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name “V7757 ” you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,
    Stephanie L.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Jul 31, 2012

    My name is Tony and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team at the executive office. I would like to first express my sincerest apologies that this has happened to you. I can only imagine fear and frustration that you must have been feeling when you saw this. If this had happened to me, I too would want some answers about what is being done.
    We at Sears value your business more than words can express and we would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about this experience. We would like to have one of our dedicated case managers reach out to you and be your one point of contact within Sears to ensure that this matter is handled in an expeditious and professional manner.
    At your convenience, please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that the item is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Tmac321) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.
    Tony T.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Nov 27, 2012

    Hazardous oven
    My name is Liz with Sears Social Media Support Team; I found your post here and I want to apologize for all the difficulty you’ve had with your oven. We value your business very much and would like to help you. We understand the importance of having a working appliance in the home and to exceed you expectation with our service. It’s clear that we did not meet your expectations with repair of your oven and our customer service. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email, please provide a contact number and the phone number that refrigerator was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your Screen name (Hazardous oven) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

    Thank you,
    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Social Media Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Jan 02, 2013

    traildend,
    I came across your post today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I am very sorry to hear of the troubles you are experiencing with your oven. In addition, I understand how frustrating it is to have the control panel shorten out and buzz. I would like to have one of our dedicated case managers speak with you to further discuss your recent experience. At your convenience please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the oven is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (traildend) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

    Thank you,
    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Jan 17, 2013

    djt2005
    I am Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support Team. I saw your comment here and I wanted to reach out and apologize on behalf of Sears for the difficulties that have occurred with your range. From your post, I can see how frustrating is to have your range malfunction on Christmas morning. We would like to contact you and further discuss your recent experience and see if there is anything we can do to make this right. At your convenience please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the range was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (djt2005) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Mar 17, 2013

    Dear Mr. Brivers,

    My name is Dee with the Searscares Team. I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the problems you have encountered with your Kenmore stove and we would like to help you address your concerns.

    At your convenience please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the dryer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (Brivers) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,

    Dee M
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, May 28, 2013

    Dp-callahan, we are sorry for any distress and inconvenience you have encountered with your oven. My name is Liz and I’m with the Sears Cares Social Media Support team. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and services and it appears we have not met that goal here. From your post I can see that this has been a source of great frustration for you and we would like to assist. We would like the opportunity to have one of our dedicated case managers contact you in order to ensure a proper resolution to your continued concerns. Please send the following information-contact#, screen name (bp-callahan) and the phone # used at time of purchase to [protected]@searshc.com. Thank you, Liz R. Social Media Moderator Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Aug 28, 2013

    Dear Mk Sutherland,
    My name is Liz and I am part of the Sears Social Media Escalations team. We are truly sorry to hear that your stove is giving you problems. Here at Sears, we understand how important a working stove is to your household, and we would like to provide you with some options that may assist in correcting the problems you are experiencing. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Mk Sutherland), phone # used at time of purchase to [protected]@searshc.com.

    Thank you,
    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Sep 03, 2013

    Concerned cooker,
    My name is Liz and I am with the Sears Cares escalations team. We are terribly sorry for the mishaps you have been experienced with your range. From your post we can see that we certainly have let you down and would like to offer some assistance. We would like the opportunity to speak with you to address your concerns. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that you have been assigned to reference your post (Concerned cooker), to [protected]@searshc.com. We look forward to speaking with you.

    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Sep 24, 2013

    Concerned in Pittsburgh,
    We apologize for failing to meet your expectations of your stove. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Social Media Support team. I saw your post and wanted to offer our assistance. If you would allow us the opportunity, we would very much like to connect you with a dedicated case manager to further discuss your situation. At your convenience please contact our office via email at [protected]@searshc.com so you don’t have to be upset by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the stove was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (Concerned in Pittsburgh) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.

    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Sep 24, 2013

    Nervous to Cook,
    I saw your comment today and wanted to reach out to you to offer our assistance. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We are sorry for the troubles you have encountered with your stove. We can truly understand your frustrations with what has occurred. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience and address your concerns. At your earliest convenience please send the following information – contact #, the name and phone # used at time of purchase, as well as the screen name that I have assigned to reference your post (Nervous to Cook), to [protected]@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.

    Thank you,

    Liz R
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Nov 06, 2013

    JLegowik,
    My name is David with the Sears Social Media Support team. I came across this post and wanted to reach out to you. We’re sorry troubles experienced with your range and would be happy to have a case manager discuss this with you and assist you in addressing any other concerns you may have. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at [protected]@searshc.com. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the range was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (JLegowik) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue. We look forward to talking to you soon.

    David W.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Feb 25, 2014

    Hfws115,
    My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We appreciate you taking to the time to let us know about your oven. We are sorry for the mishaps you have encountered with your appliance. We would be happy to have a case manager to contact and discuss your concerns. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (hfws115), phone # used at time of purchase to [protected]@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.
    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

  • Kenmore Customer Care's Response, Apr 16, 2014

    Penny H.,

    We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. My name is Liz and I am a member of the Sears Cares Escalations team. We certainly can see why you are so frustrated and upset over what has occurred with your oven. We would be happy to connect you with one of our dedicated case managers to contact you and address your concerns. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (Penny H.), phone # used at time of purchase to [protected]@searshc.com. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience we have caused you and look forward to speaking with you.
    Thank you,

    Liz R.
    Social Media Moderator
    Sears Social Media Support

Hy
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bo
      Mar 20, 2009

    We had a similar problem with a Kenmore smooth top oven range unit in which the control board popped, (shorted out), and caught fire. Luckily it did not cause a huge fire, but from other complaints I have read on the internet this is a common problem with the model 790 series ovens. There have been serious fires with potentially tragic consequences. These oven/ranges with faulty circuit boards should be recalled and or repaired free of charge with reliable circuitry post haste. But SEARS doesn't seem to care about their the safety and well being of their customers. It just might come back to bite them in their Roebuck. The part I need costs approximately $140 to $180 plus labor unless I put it in myself, which I have no doubt I would be able to do, as a disassembled it for inspection myself. It is not that difficult to replace, but why should I put it in and put my family in harm's way with a part likely to be a fire hazard? This is a ridiculous price anywat for a part that will probably short out at some other time in the near future. I am at a loss what to do. Does anybody have any suggestions or anecdotal information about these oven ranges? [protected]@windstream.net

    0 Votes
  • Do
      May 13, 2009

    Please!!! Contact the Consumer Product Safety Commission!! I recently had a similar problem with my Kenmore range and filed an online complaint with the CPSC. The CPSC came to my house, asked me what happened, took pictures of my range and are building a case against Sears. They need EVERYONE to report this! It's huge problem and Sears will admit to nothing, that is, unless we all report this and get them to stand up and take notice!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Jul 11, 2009

    We have a 3 year old Kenmore dual fuel oven that just caught fire. We turned on the oven and about five minutes later there was a loud grinding sound, popping and then flames came out of the back of the control area of the oven. When the service guy came and pulled it apart it confirmed what we had thought, that the electronic circuit board had shorted out. We called Sears more to let them know about what we consider a serious safety issue than trying to get money of them, and they didn't give a hoot. We reported it online with the CPSC but haven't heard anything from them. Ours is a different oven, but it evidently has the same problem.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Oct 13, 2009

    have the same range, four years old, did the same exact thing. sears is not cooperating.

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Jan 10, 2011

    We had the same exact fire incident with our 6yr Kenmore Elite Dual Fuel range. The model # is 79079389402. Based on the model #, it was made by Frigidaire, which is now owned by Electrolux. Sears had basically ignored our or the first two calls until I stated very firmly that I would take the issue with consumer protection agencies and consider a lawsuit. Finally got connected with a Sears' claims services contracting company, and they opened a claim with Electrolux. Contacted Electrolux and now waiting for one of their adjusters to schedule an appointment. I will definitely follow the advice in these posts to contact CPSC. Everyone with this situation must contact CPSC. Electrolux contact info: Electrolux North America, Inc., 20445 Emerald Parkway SW, Suite 250, PO Box 35920, Cleveland, OH 44135-0920. Phone: 216-898-1800. Fax: 216-898-2337.

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Feb 01, 2011

    Last night (Jan. 31, 2011) our Kenmore Elite Dual Fuel Range (790.79383400) did what was described above by others and caught fire. We heard strange cracking/popping sounds and ran into the kitchen. The clock display was fading out and smoke was pouring out the back of the unit. We couldn't turn the oven off and so had to run outside to flip the breaker. The Fire Department came and said it was definitely the stove and not wiring in the house. I'm not sure what to do yet, but will make some calls to Sears, Electrolux, CPSC, etc. and see if we have any recourse. To us, this isn't just a matter of a part not working after a while; it' a safety hazard and could have resulted in a serious fire.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Apr 14, 2011

    Yesterday, our 5 year old Kenmore "elite" Duel Fuel went up in flames. This is an electrical problem that produced the crackling sound, as described, and then flames up the back of the range. Sears is giving us a run around and making it very difficult to resolve. I feel that this is a defective product and will be contacting Consumer Product Safety Commission today.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 16, 2011

    4 /16 /11 I also own a kenmore range 790 series. I purchased it on 10/15/05 paying 1049.99 on sale. Last week when i turned the oven on and had the same exact problem. Sparks were popping and crackling as black smoke poured out. I also will be contacting Consumer Product Safety Commission. I don't understand the fact that sears can ignore such numerous complaints that is clearly not only a product defect but a huge fire hazard as well.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      May 31, 2011

    We have a Kenmore 790.9612. The front left burner will burn extremely hot and not turn off. The dial must be turned on, off, to lo, and eventually it will shut off. Reading all the complaints here (and here https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/kenmore-electric-range-c3796/page/1.html#c855296) I am very worried about a fire. I do not know that I want the unit repaired as it seems that I can't trust the product at all. Like others, contacting Sears produces no help. They want to charge one of two amounts. This is more than a simple warranty-expiration issue. This is something that has obviously affected many people. We have already filed a complaint with the CPSC. I encourage others to do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Sep 05, 2011

    Glad I found this thread. I have a Sears / GE Oven (model JB960BY3) and a few weeks ago the oven made the crackling and popping sound that others have mentioned followed by smoke pouring out of the back of the oven. I took the oven apart and discovered that the ballast that controls the convection fan had shorted. I went to searspartsdirect.com only to find that part WB8X5102 is no longer available. Searching other appliance parts websites I find the same on all of them "This part has been permanently discontinued by the manufacturer and we don't know of any source for the part". I did find a used one on eBay, but I'm thinking there is a serious defect with the design of this part and don't want to put another in the oven. I'm going to try Sears and the CPSC and let y'all know how far I get!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Mar 04, 2012

    Has anyone had any luck with Sears? Our range just went up in smoke. We were preheating the oven, heard the " static" then the flames came out the back.

    0 Votes
  • V7
      Jun 04, 2012

    Same problem, stove caught on fire along the rear of control console. placed at least a dozen calls to various Sears departments today. Same lack of responsibility, stove is out of warranty. Our house still has the electrical fire smell.

    0 Votes
  • Tm
      Jul 30, 2012

    I have the Kenmore elite dual fuel range model 780 that is about 5 years old and last night while making dinner I was preheating the oven and next thing I know the control board was smoking and flames were coming from the back of the oven. I had to grab the fire extinguisher before my cabinets caught on fire.Luckily I was in the kitchen when this happened or I probably would not be sitting in my house writing this right now.After reading the other posts I see this problem is common for this model.I will be contacting the CPSC to make a report and see what is being done about this.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Nov 23, 2012

    I have been on the phone for hours trying to get Sears to stand behind their Kenmore Elite oven model # 66578003803. They passed me from one department to another until finally the last call was cut off! My gas oven purchased in 2009 and has been going on by itself spontaneously for the last 6 months! The one year warranty is up, but they will not fix it without me buying an extended one year warranty. I have 2 children and have come home from work and my oven is blairing at 500 degrees! It is a fire hazard and I think they should fix it without charging me! I've read other similar complaints. Why should I have to pay for poor quality from Sears? Is it so much to ask that they stand behind their products particularly since it is a common occurrence. I feel duped and ripped off and I am concerned for the safety of my family.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Dec 26, 2012

    We have experienced a serious problem with the Kenmore dual fuel model 790 and will be contacting the consumer protection agency. I went to put the oven on preheat and the control panel started buzzing and shorting and then flames came up the back. I noticed online there have been several other people with the same problem. This could have burned the house down if I hadn’t been right there especially with a gas line coming in.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Dec 27, 2012

    Same problem up here in Alberta. Today, Boxing Day, our 3 year old Kenmore Elite Dualfuel range (model #970-330033), crackled and sent flames out from the space between the interior and exterior oven walls. Thankfully there were several of us standing nearby. I managed to blow out the flames, and immediately ran downstairs to throw the breaker to prevent a nasty end to our holiday meal. What if no one was in the kitchen at the time our Kenmore Elite range popped? It looks like there are quite a few "time bombs" taking up space in kitchens on both sides of the border. Have any of you had success with Sears? Product malfunctions can happen; but with such a key element in all our homes is very worrisome. Tomorrow morning we will begin the Sears "adventure", so many of you seemed to have had to endure. We will only be satisfied when Sears makes such an important and expensive piece of equipment, one that does what they say it will do and one that we can feel secure with while it's "living" in our home. We'll let you know how it goes.

    +1 Votes
  • Tr
      Dec 27, 2012

    be sure to file complaint with the consumer protective service. cspc.800-638-2772

    0 Votes
  • Dt
      Jan 17, 2013

    My wife and I also own a Kenmore Elite Dual Fuel Range, Model #790.7938... We purchased it as a wedding gift for each other on May 6, 2005. On Christmas morning (12/25/12) we were cooking muffins in the oven and heard popping and cracking from the kitchen. My wife and I ran to the kitchen and found black smoke and flames coming out from the back of the clock and electronics. I quickly turned off the oven and the flames stopped. I then turned off the circuit breaker too. We then pulled the oven away from the wall and turned off the gas. Now the oven is locked like it is self cleaning mode and we cannot open the oven door to get the muffin pans out. I am shocked to find that on this site alone there are over 12 users withe similar failure modes. I am a electrical engineer who designs circuit boards that operate high voltage and high current energy. This type of design failure is unacceptable and consumers should be warned of the inherent danger in these products. After reading this website and seeing how many people have this same failure mode my wife and I will also be contacting the contacting Consumer Product Safety Commission. As it was Christmas morning when this failed my wife and I gave thanks that we were home when it did so no one was injured and nothing other than the range was broken. Many time since we have reflected that one of the features we use routinely is the delayed start function, imagine if this failure mode happened one of the days we used this feature. We could have come home to our house on fire!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jan 17, 2013

    I think it is amazing that two stoves purchased the same year have the same problem. and it is still going on. I think people need to be notified asap!! before something bad happens especially with gas close by.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jan 19, 2013

    I responded to Liz from Sears and have not heard anything new. They originally offered me $75 but that covers about 10% of the cost and I have tried to contact my case manager at the Executive office and he never calls back. I am starting to wonder if they really care. I encourage you to go to the the US Consumer Product Safety Commission web page and read the complaints there as well.

    0 Votes
  • Dt
      Jan 22, 2013

    We followed up with Liz from Sears on the 17th as instructed. So far we have heard nothing back. We provided everything they asked for and nothing yet. We agree with traildend that Sears is putting more effort into managing their public image on this website and not really caring about their customer's safety.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Feb 13, 2013

    I just submitted the same complaint for my model 790. I am very lucky to have found this site while
    searching for the cause of my problem. We have dealt with both big front burners doing the same thing, not turning
    off of high until several off and on attempts with the switch. That changed last night when I tried to use it again and
    it stuck on high, only this time the eye never turned off and then sparks flew from the knob, loud pops, burning electronics smell,
    and the burner still didn't turn off. This is a extremely dangerous like everyone here has dealt with. I wish I had called the first time my burner starting acting up but then they probably would have charged $300 for a knob and may still have been a problem!
    Now I have it unplugged, because it wouldn't turn the burner off until then and the whole panel went dead right before I unplugged it
    too.

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
      Feb 26, 2013

    We remodel our whole kitchen just two years ago and purchased a Kenmore flat top electric range 790.9260 and have had issues with since last year. First, every time we would turn on the stove it would blow our breaker. (of course it was still under warranty so we called to have a tech come out). We were told that there was nothing wrong with the stove but that it was our wiring. Shortly after the tech left the stove was working fine and we haven't had a problem until 2 weeks ago. I decided to turn on the self clean and clean the oven then we used it one time after that. However, then next time we tried to turn it on it the bottom element would not come on, but the top heating element would. We then assumed that it was the heating element so we spent $125 on a new one, which is non refundable and had to be ordered online. Only when we installed it the stove still would not work so we took the back off. It was then that we noticed that the main board had melted and was all black and burnt at the oven wire. After reading the other reviews I am glad that our stove did not catch fire but I am still not happy that I have to dish out more money to repair something that is only a couple years old. Sounds like there are a lot more models that are experiencing the same problems as the recalled ones. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER APPLIANCE FROM SEARS AGAIN!

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Mar 07, 2013

    We have a four year old double oven gas range model 66578003803 which has been doing some funky things. Within the first year of ownership we started having issues with the display switching randomly to "Sabbath". I thought the range was possessed only to find out that it was one of the modes of operation. Regardless, we had to have the electronics replaced but was still under warranty (we had to cover labor). Now in the past month the display has been randomly acting up again. In the middle of the night I can hear the timer turning on and off, sometimes during the day too. Often none of the buttons work to turn on the ovens. I was thinking about doing a service call, but after reading this thread, I'm a bit freaked out that this thing is going to catch fire or smoke. I will most likely set the thing on the curb and never look back. We have three kids under four years old in the house and it's just not worth the risk. Two electronic control board replacements in four years, and other comments here make me really nervous about keeping this around.

    We bought all of our appliances from Sears for our new home in 2008 and has been ok, but not great.

    0 Votes
  • Br
      Mar 14, 2013

    My stove is the 790 Kenmore and was brought in March 2008. That would make it about 5 yrs old and last week it started beeping with the clock lights flashing. After a few minutes the clock would go off. NO code would show, it would beep again, then clock lights would come back up. I believe it is the control panel. When I contacted Sears, there was no one who could speak with me for questions, but they could send someone at a $199 charge to look at stove, make an assessment, come back with part at another $199 charge plus part cost. They are scamming people! I told them I could buy a a new stove for that price! Then the purchase of a $230 warranty came up that they said would cover the part. What about the labor charge of $400? After reading all these post, I am glad I unplugged it at the start. I will not be buying another from Sears either!! Stoves should last longer than 5yrs.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Mar 19, 2013

    I have model number 790.9642940c that has popped and sparked twice now and blew the breaker. Called ken more and their service is terrible! I'm switching to a new brand, when we built our home only 5 short years ago we bought everything me more believing we were buying a quality product with a company that would stand by their product...wrong!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Mar 25, 2013

    Our model 790.79913302 Kenmore Elite Dual Fuel Range sparked and caught fire on Friday the 22nd. Like the other purchasers here with complaints, the problem was caused by the electronic control. As I waited for the oven to preheat I could hear a crackling sound and ran to the kitchen to find the unit smoking and sparking. As flames erupted, I ran to shut down the power at the main. Once the power supply was off I struggled to pull the unit away from the wall in a kitchen filled with smoke and ozone. For a person who has had triple bypass heart surgery, this is no mean feat. After ascertaining the problem, I called Sear last evening to order the part. What a fiasco. Using the schematics, I explained to person after person just what had happened and which part I needed to order to repair the range. Each of these representatives insisted that I could order the part for $129.99, but that I MUST have a Sears technician in to install the part. Each of these people foisted me off to another person who seemed just as uninterested as the last one was. IF I had the money to spend, I would be spending it at another retailer to purchase a SAFE appliance. I am horrified that Sears hasn't placed a safety recall on these ranges. My next stop, the Consumer Product Safety Commission, then perhaps to an attorney.

    +1 Votes
  • Ei
      Apr 08, 2013

    Re: Sears Kenmore Elite electric range model 790.9663.3702 serial# VF83618060 purchased 10/08
    Serious safety issue - FIRE hazard. A mild strange odor was noticeable when I turned my oven on to preheat. Thought I had left something inside, but no. Within 5 minutes, this 'burning plastic' smell became more pungent. Then the range sparked and a loud pop. The control panel lit up with configuration I had not programmed in. Crackling noises, sparks and black smoke billowed from the back of the unit. Thankfully I was in the kitchen and pushed the stop button, then turned off the circuit breaker. The smell lingered for almost an hour. I immediately filed a complaint with the Consumer Product Safety Commission.
    After reading other similar complaints, I sent an email to [protected]@searshc.com on 4/5/13. I have had no reply from Sears in 3 days. A service technician came this morning to inform me their was an electrical fire in the control panel. The part would be $200 and labor $140. I was informed by customer service a $65 refund would be issued for the service call.
    In the instruction manual, under important safety instructions - no where does it warn of possible electrical shorts/fire hazard or 'burning plastic' smells emitting from the range. If I had been alerted to this possibility, (yes, I do read the manuals) much of this damage could have been avoided. How many consumers need to have kitchen fires before Sears will recall parts or send warnings to appliance owners? This is a serious safety issue that put my family and home at risk!! Eileen G.

    +2 Votes
  • Ei
      Apr 14, 2013

    Follow up to complaint dated April 8th. Range has been repaired for a cost of $232. No problems with Sears service tech. Someone from Sears finally called on 4/12 (8 days since the incident) and stated that Sears would offer an extended warranty for free. However, they totally passed the responsibility of any recall or warning to the manufacturer, which in my case is Electralux. Sears would pass my complaint to them. How many ranges need to catch fire before Electralux will take this defective product more seriously? Eileen

    0 Votes
  • Bp
      May 26, 2013

    I just bought a new kenmore range made by electrolux the oven came up
    with an f-15 code and the oven would not heat up. i called sears and they sent a new control board and the repair guy should be here in a couple of days.a brand new stove $1500.00 and i have to wait a week to use it without compensation. now i hope i get a good part that doesn't catch fire.

    0 Votes
  • Mk
      Aug 25, 2013

    Our 7 year old kenmore duel fuel stove just shorted out a few minuets ago! I boiled water for coffee and was sitting out side reading and I kept hearing a popping sound, and thought it was the cat playing with something. After the third series, I went in to see what she was up to, and saw smoke coming from the back dial with flashing electrical pops!

    I ran up stairs to wake my husband and then down to flip the breaker.

    Now what?
    Do we unplug the darn thing? Do we call the fire department ?
    Can we use the gas part or the stove?
    MK Sutherland

    0 Votes
  • Mk
      Aug 25, 2013

    Apologies, our stove is a jennair NOT a ken more!

    Maybe this is a duel fuel defect?

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Aug 31, 2013

    I too have a Kenmore electric range model 790. I am truly afraid to use it after reading all of these horror stories of electrical fires! My stove has started making a strange sound when I use the convection feature. Seems to be the fan cuz when I use regular bake, the noise will stop once the oven is preheated and the fan shuts off. My range is 3 years old and this is the first issue I have had.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 22, 2013

    My model 790.77492803 stove has had a problem with the time display for about two years. One of the time segments does not work. Today the display is acting more eratic, with two orange bars lighting with the oven door is opened. After reading all of these posts, I am concerned that it may catch fire. Did anyone have success with the CPSC? Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Sep 22, 2013

    Just tonight we experienced a similar situation with our Kenmore series 790 range. While cooking on multiple burners and the oven, then pressing the "simmer" button, suddenly a loud "pop" that sounded much like a firecracker and a blue arc light came from behind the stove. After reading the comments posted on here and doing my own search as to the issue I am absolutely convinced this is a blown circuit on the circuit board. Rereading the owners manual, due to the fact that there is not mention of blown "circuits" it sounds like it is not a blown fuse like I had originally hoped, and now have to worry that my wife and children will be in the home using a stove, purchased brand new just 6 years ago, are living with a dangerous stove as the means of cooking our food. I am in awe of the number of complaints and the fact there has not been a full recall of these products - either for proper repair or replacement. I do hope that Sears Social Media Support (Liz R. or others) reaches out to me as they have others and handles this problem at Sears expense, not mine, since I did absolutely nothing but use the range as intended.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
      Oct 13, 2013

    Our several years old Kenmore Elite counter top model Convection/Microwave oven has never caused any problems jst recently started with the crackling popping electrical sounds when t is on the convection mode. The microwave function seems okay. However the sound is so loud in the convection mode I am afraid it will catch on fire. Is this a fixable problem?

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Oct 15, 2013

    We purchased a Kenmore Elite 40 in. Dual Fuel Range Model 790.75503 when we built our home in 2006. My wife was getting ready to put cupcakes in the oven when there was a loud pop, flash, and then flames! It blew a hole in the heating element burned for a short period. The stove has been taken care of and in like new...but now we cannot use it at all besides the little side oven. We have a 3 yr. old and a 6 mos. old. I cringe to think what could have happened if my wife would have been upstairs or another room with my boys when this thing decided to malfunction and catch fire. I have Googled the problems and it makes me sick to see that Sears is aware of these issues and also the house fires these stoves have caused and refuses to recall them or take responsibility. We keep the breaker turned off unless we need the side oven to try and make supper. I paid big money for this oven (which we saved for to buy) and now can't afford to buy a new one. If I would have had any heads up to the problems we would encounter, I would have never bought it. When it comes to the safety of my family, I am very defensive! We cannot even leave the breaker on because I read that they have turned on by themselves. This scares me to death!! We are supposed to host Christmas at our house this year, but it looks like it is not going to happen with no oven to cook.
    Sears, PLEASE be the reputable upstanding company you claim to be and stand behind these ranges before it claims a life or leaves any more people homeless!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jl
      Nov 01, 2013

    This is about our Kenmore 790.96612401 glass top stove. Day before yesterday, my wife had turned the oven on to preheat.. Luckily we were both in the kitchen. We heard a bang and flames shot out the back of the stove, smoking the wall in back (it was tiled thank God). We pulled the stove out and pulled the plug and that stopped the fire. I removed the back and found that the oven control PC board had exploded and caught fire. I removed the board and we went to the Sears that we bought the stove from (Florida Mall, Orlando, FL). We talked to the manager of the appliance department. He didn't, couldn't or wouldn't do anything. He said that Sears did not have a customer Service in the store and referred us to an email address and phone numbers. My wife spent over eight hours on the phone, mostly on hold, while the buck was passed back and forth. She was then told she would be called back...(Ha!) Of course they didn't call back. The email was returned saying that they couldn't do anything. I spent an hour on chat with the Sears customer relations...with the same result, NOTHING. I see on the web that these fires have occurred with this stove and Sears has done nothing about it. I also noted there is a class action suit against Sears for the problem and that some stoves had been recalled for similar fire problems. I have photos of the offending circuit board.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
      Dec 02, 2013

    I went into a Sears showroom over the weekend, intending to buy a basic coil-heat electric range. However, there was a 790 model with a great price and I impulsively made the purchase without having done any research (the coil-heat model is a Best Buy on Consumer Reports). Only after the delivery did my wife do some research and found HUNDREDS of complaints about the 790 series: fires, expoding glass windows, unexplained turning on, inability to turn off, broilers running when the oven was supposed to, etc etc etc. I immediately went back to Sears, requested a swap out, and tomorrow the coil-heat model will be delivered and the glass flat top fire hazard will be removed.
    The salesman could only say that he "doesn't pay any attention" to web postings or Consumer Reports reviews. He might sing a different tune if it was his house on fire and not the Sears customers who thought they were buying a quality product.
    I am hopeful that the model I end up with will provide basic, dependable service. The Social Media Support team people who are responding to these postings need to give more than lip service about their concern. WHAT HAS SEARS/ELECTROLUX DONE TO ELIMINATE THIS PROBLEM, WHICH HAS ALREADY CAUSED A RECALL AND BEEN THE SUBJECT OF COMPLAINTS FOR SEVERAL YEARS???

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Dec 03, 2013

    Thanksgiving morning, 2013, our Kenmore range model #790.9661 was turned on. We noticed a strange buzzing, crackling sound coming from it and when we looked at the oven display, it was randomly blinking a rainbow of colors in rapid succession. We tried to turn the oven off and the controls were non-responsive. Flames shot out the back of the range, scorching the tile behind the oven. Thankfully the tile was there and not just sheetrock. The range is 8 years, 9 mos old. Seems like a very short life for a range!

    0 Votes

Post your comment