The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

[Resolved] Sears / Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer Machine / terrible company!

1 Raleigh, NC, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 919-772-4826

Purchased Kenmore Elite Oasis Washer in April 2007. It is now Jan 08 and I cannot get the washer to work. I purchased Service Contract for washer at Sears and have called in that it is not working. Sears cannot get a service repair person to my home for at least a week. No one seems to want to help with this repair even though we purchased the contract.

Received Alywin Lewis's at Sear's mail address but did not receive an e-mail address. His mail address is: 333 Beverly Road, Hoffman Estate, IL 60179.

Resolution statement

Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, May 19, 2011

To JPSMITH,
I saw your comment here and I wanted to reach out and apologize on behalf of Sears for the difficulties that have occurred with your washer. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and services and it appears we have not met that goal here. We would very much like to speak with you regarding your washer and make sure everything that can be done is being done on your behalf.
My name is Laura with the Sears Cares Escalations team and we are a single point of contact for escalated concerns. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name (JPSMITH) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
Thank you,
Laura D.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Nov 02, 2011

To R and J,

I'm sorry to hear about the issues that you are having with your washer. I can certainly understand your concern with a pricy repair bill and your desire to have a less complicated machine. We do value your business with Sears and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your concerns and to ensure you faith in our products. My name is James and I’m part of the Sears Cares Escalations team. At your convenience, please contact my office via email at smsupport@searshc.com. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer is listed under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (R and J) for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,
James H.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Mar 19, 2012

Dear Roninson,

We have just come across your post and we would like to apologize for the multiple repairs you have encountered with your Kenmore Elite Oasis. We understand your time is valuable and having to continually put aside time for repairs can be frustrating. My name is Stephanie L. and I am with the Sears Social Media Escalations team. I would like one of our dedicated case managers to contact you and look into this. At your convenience, please contact our office via email at smsupport@searshc.com so you don’t have to continue to be frustrated by this. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number your Kenmore Elite Oasis was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide the screen name Roninson for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.

Thank you,
Stephanie L.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Sep 05, 2012

To: disappointed/washer,
We are sorry to hear about the problems you have experienced with your washer. It is our goal at Sears to provide our customers with the highest quality of service, customer service and products that exceed your expectations. This is clearly not the case for you and we would appreciate the opportunity to assist you. My name is Dianne and I work for the Sears Cares Escalations Team and we want you to know we are here for assistance. At your convenience, please contact my office at Smadvisor@searshc.com so we can further discuss your concerns. Please provide a contact number and the phone number the washer was purchased under and we will call you at your convenience. In addition, please include the screen name (disappointed/washer) that was used to post here in your email so we can reference to your issue.
Thank you,
Dianne D..
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Sep 28, 2012

James_09

My name is Liz and I am with the Social Media Support Team. I saw your comment and wanted to reach out to your on this issue. I am sorry to hear that we have let you down with the repair on your Kenmore Oasis and it is a re-occurring issue. Per our records, I do see that we have received your contact information via email. We have forwarded this information to our Case Management Team and will be in touch with you soon.

Thank you,

Liz R.
Social Media Support Team

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Sep 28, 2012

Dear James_09,
My name is Susan with Sears Social Media Support Escalations team. We are a single point of contact for escalated issue which means that we handle issues start to finish with one dedicated case manager. We are very sorry that you are having continuing problems with your Kenmore Oasis washer. We understand your frustration with not wanting to repair a washer that will continue to possibly have problems. I know that I would also be concerned with googling this machine and seeing so many remarks similar to mine. We would like to offer our assistance to help you resolve this situation. We value your business very much and want to make sure that everything that can be done to help you is being done.
At your convenience please contact our office via email at SMAdvisor@searshc.com and a dedicated case manager will contact you directly. In the email, please provide a contact phone number and the phone number the washer was purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. Also, in your email, please provide your screen name (James_09) you used to post on this site, for reference to your issue, and we do look forward to talking to you soon.
Thank you,
Susan R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Feb 11, 2013

carlitosway, I saw your post here and I want to apologize for the problems you’ve had with your washer for the last 6 months. We can understand how frustrating it is when something you purchased does not perform as expected. At Sears, we pride ourselves on making sure our valued customers are satisfied with our products and it appears we have not met that goal here. Please send the following information – contact #, screen name (carlitosway ), phone # used at time of purchase to smadvisor@searshc.com .
Thank you,
Dianne D.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Mar 05, 2013

Dear carlitosway,

Thank you for your update. We appreciate your kind words and we are happy to know your experience with us went well. I will forward your information to your case manager and we thank you again for working with us.

Thank you,
Dee M.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sears Brands Customer Care's Response, Mar 07, 2013

21...SADD, we do apologize for the ongoing issues with your washer. We can understand your disappointment with your washing machine’s performance and would love to help you! With your permission, we would like to connect you with a case manager to investigate and personally work with you to resolve your concerns. At your convenience please contact our office via email at smadvisor@searshc.com so you don’t have to be concerned by this any longer. In the email please provide the best contact phone number or the number to which the items were purchased under (if different than the contact phone number) and we will call you directly. In addition, please include your screen name (21...SADD) in the email for reference to your issue. Again, we’re sorry for any trouble we have caused and we hope to talk to you soon.
Thank you,

Christine R.
Social Media Moderator
Sears Social Media Support

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

Vi
  19th of Jan, 2008
0 Votes

I have the same washer with the same problems. It bunches all the cloths in a ball and shoots the water out onto the floor. I have had the repairmen out 3 x and they are comming out again on the 29 of january. All they tell me is to lighten the loads and only put one sheet in at a time.

Also this washer has ripped my cloths, sheets and towels and has stained the others. They had to replace the fabric dispenser and the transmission and I've only had this washer for 4 or 5 months.

IT'S A PIECE OF CRAP! DON'T BUY IT! THE WARRANTIES ARE USELESS!

Ni
  23rd of Jan, 2008
0 Votes

Having problems with a 2 year old Calypso model. Sears wants to send someone in 10 days, and then they will probably need to order parts. I am cancelling my warranty (they will refund a portion of the warranty contract) and getting my own repair person. Hope I don't need a new machine. Sears warranty is useless.

Sh
  23rd of Jan, 2008
0 Votes

We purchased the Kenmore Elite Oasis HE washer in March of 2006 with the extended warranty. Within 6 months, we had repair people out at least twice. The washer would not drain. Sears sent the same repairman each time. He told us the first time he had not been trained on this washer since they were fairly new. He spent his time on the computer and with a cell phone glued to his ear getting advice on how to fix the washer. Both times, he ended up ordering parts and told us to call to schedule an appt. once the parts arrived. The "brain" of the washer had died and had to be replaced. One of the "brains" he ordered didn't work and we went for over a month w/o a washer due to waiting on parts to arrive. I think overall we've had to call Sears 3 times for problems. Now again the washer is not working properly. The lemon law states if you have a repair person out 5 times within a 12 month period, Sears will replace the machine. Well, lucky us, we keep missing that 12 month period. We've had it with the machine and we're buying a new washer this week. It will NOT be a Sears model. And Vincent, I agree with you. The machine bunches up the clothes and does not clean them. We can put a blanket in and it comes out DRY in the middle. A waste of money and our time having to run to the laundry mat to do our wash.

Kr
  3rd of Feb, 2008
0 Votes

We bought our Oasis HE on January 22 of 2008. When I washed my first load of laundry I noticed there was a little bit of water on the floor underneath the front of the washer. It hadn't happened again until tonight-February 3. I am getting more nervous by the day. All of our clothes come out of the washer so wrinkled that if I wanted to air dry anything I would have to spend 30 minutes ironing a single item. I have pulled clothes out of the dryer that are still wrinkled. As a matter of fact, most of our clothes come out of the dryer wrinkled. My husband and I were very excited when we purchased the set at Sears. We even bought the tower that goes between the washer and dryer. I called Sears and of course they will take the items back but we will have to pay a 15% restocking fee. That's approximately $325.00. I feel like the Oasis HE is extremely hard on clothes even if you change the spin cycle to be easier on clothes. I don't think it is the spin cycle. I believe the clothes get so wrinkled and tangled up due to the washing action. My husband has played with the machine. He thinks we should try the "no spin" on the spin speed. Are you kidding me? I just paid $2400 for this set and I am supposed to use no spin for my loads?! I am VERY disappointed at this point. I absolutely love the look of the machines and the fact that the machines save water and energy. However, after trying to dewrinkle a load of clothes 2 or 3 times with no luck, I don't think we are saving any energy. My husband thinks we should give our machines a chance but.... I just don't see how the clothes are getting clean. As much as I hate to admit this-when the Whirlpool Calypso came out I told my mother I would love to have a set someday. She advised me against it. Mom told me to stay with an agitator. Should've listened to her. I think we should eat the $300 and something dollars, get our money back and go to Lowe's to purchase a new set. Any suggestions?

Be
  4th of Feb, 2008
0 Votes

I must agree with all the complaints here. I hope I can save one person from buying the Sears Elite Oasis Washer (Large capacity). I love the dryer.

The machine twists and tears/weakens my jeans. I wish I'd never bought it. Does anyone know if the front loader has as many problems?

My husband bought me the washer/dryer combo for Christmas. I wish I had my old agitator back..

Pa
  19th of Feb, 2008
0 Votes

We purchased our Kenmore Elite Oasis HE in May of 2006, and just yesterday had trouble with the washing machine working. After reading all the complaints on this machine, I must agree that the defective part should have been recalled by Sears. We trusted Sears with a variety of large purchases, but if they won't stand by a defective part that they are aware of, I will try to start a crusade of my own to not trust Sears again. We spent over $2,000 on the two machines, and if I wanted a throwaway that would cost me the same as the repair bill Sears will not see my business in the future. It seems to my limited knowledge of these machines, that the control boards are very weak, and very well could be the Time Delay switch is shutting down the whole machine. If I knew what wire controlled the Time Delay it would already be cut. I am going to contact Sears and see if they will satisfy me, if not their repair man will not touch this machine. Thanks to all for making comments on this disposable unit.

Ro
  20th of Feb, 2008
0 Votes

I purchased The Oasis He in April 2006 as an early wedding present to myself. This Washer is so horrible and extremely delicate. I had minimal problems for the first year and then for the last couple of months, my washer took a turn for the worse. It "beeps" throughout the ENTIRE cycle, that is if i can even get it to start when i want. When i press the start button, it automatically goes to the delay start option. I have to keep coming back and to attempt to press start throughout the whole day! Also i don't think it is washing my clothes right because sometimes they come out with a mildewy smell and i have to rewash them. I had a repairman from come look at it and he couldn't fix it, he said he has heard that these models are very bad and didn't want to experiment with my washer by attempting to fix it. He said that most Sears repair men won't know what to do either. He said my only option is to find someone that has experience with that machine or else replace it.

Ma
  2nd of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

MY WIFE AND I ORIGINALLY BOUGHT THE MAYTAG NEPTUNE WASHING MACHINE FROM SEARS. IT WAS A NIGHTMARE. THE MACHINE WAS ALWAYS BREAKING DOWN. I LEARNED OF THE LAWSUIT AGAINST MAYTAG FOR THE NEPTUNE. I FILLED OUT ALL THE REQUIRED PAPERWORK AND WHEN MAYTAG LOST THE SUIT I CONTACTEDD THEM ABOUY GETTING MY NEPTUNE REPLACED OR REPAIRED. THEY TOLD ME I WASA NOT ON RECORD AND REFUSED TO HELP ME EVEN THOUGH THEY ADMITTED THEY LOST THE SUIT AND THE MACHINE WAS A LEMON. I CONTACTED SEARS AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY ON THE NEPTUNE BECAUSE OF THE LAWSUIT AND IT WAS A LEMON. WHEN WE BOUGHT THE NEPTUNE IT CAME WITH A TEN YEAR WARRANTY FROM MAYTAG AND A FIVE YEAR WARRANTY FROM SEARS. I GUESS THE WARRANTIES ARE ONLY GOOD AS LONG AS THE MACHINE IS WORKING. WE TOOK OUR LOSSES AND JUNKED THE NEPTUNE THEN WENT BACK TO SEARS AND BOUGHT A KENMORE ELITE OASIS. NOW THIS WASHING MACHINE IS FALLING APART AND IT IS ONLY A YEAR OLD. SEARS PRODUCTS ARE WORTHLESS AND THEIR SERVICE AND WARRANTIES ARE A JOKE. I THINK WE SHOULD ALL GET TOGETHER AND FILE A LAWSUIT AGAINST SEARS FOR THEIR TERRIBLE SERVICE AND PRODUCTS.

Fe
  11th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

I am having problems with my Kenmore Elite toploading washer. The machine is not broken. The problem is that the technology doesn't work.

Problems with Kenmore Calypso Top Loading Washer
For 3 years, it has been a struggle to get our clothes clean. I often feel that I would be better off going to a laundramat. I am very disappointed with this machine. It does not work. Please read the following problems:

1) Clothes, bedding and linens do not get clean. They do not get fully saturated during the wash and rinse cycles.
2) After a complete washing, a twin size comforter is dry in many spots. After drying comforter, there are white spots all over. That is the soap that was never rinsed out during washing. The salesman at Sears said that the machine could wash a king size comforter. It can’t even clean a small twin size.
3) During last service call, while observing the wash cycle, you could see that the clothes are not being tossed around enough so that all surfaces get wet and properly rinsed.
4) I only can wash 4 towels at a time to make sure that they get clean. I also have to select an additional rinse and additional spin. The salesman at Sears said that you can was 12 towels in one load.
5) Brand new towels have shredded. Lots of threads pulled out of them. I returned the towels (thinking that they were of poor quality). I bought new ones and the same thing happened.
6) The towel problem happened since the machine was brand new. A serviceman came to check out the machine. He said it was okay and the problem was with my older Kenmore dryer. He said that the gasket was old and had hardened causing the towels to be damaged. The repair would be costly, so the repairman said that I might as well purchase a new dryer. I purchased a brand new dryer and that did not solve the problem. It was the washer all along. So, I did not need to purchase a brand new dryer.
7) After washing dark clothes and drying them, there is white soap residue that remains on the clothes.
8) The machine is supposed to conserve water and energy. Why should we have to select an extra rinse and spin cycle to get our clothes clean?
9) Please note: We never overload the machine.
10) This machine does not clean our clothes.

Sh
  12th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

This is the most I ever spent on a washing machine, over $1000. I tried to force Sears to take it back from the beginning. They led me through a long process of requiring service calls before I could return and then after I did everything they asked, I was told "Sears is NOT in the business of exchanging washing machines!" and refused to do another thing. I can't afford to buy anything else and this machine has literally ruined my life. It ruins anything washed in it, nothing comes out clean, clothes that have been washed together safely for years have faded all over each other - and I use cold water! Clothes instantly look worn and old after washing in this machine, if they aren't ruined outright, and I have had many things literally torn to pieces. Any thin material or anything with trim is guaranteed to come apart after a few or even just one cycle. Seams come apart and and lace is ripped off no matter what setting you use. There is no longer any such a thing as 'wash and wear'. No hope of just putting what comes out of that thing in a dryer and shaking and folding without having to iron like I've always been able to do with many types of clothing. Everything comes out tied in unbelieveable knots that are almost impossible to get apart, not just wrinkled for that cycle, but with permanent incredible creases that can't even be ironed out in many cases. They are trying to tell me this is less wear on clothing and linens? An outright lie and Sears knows it. Not only is it not less wear, even just one cycle in the machine makes everything look like it's ten years old. Nothing comes out bright or even smelling like it's been washed. I know these machines are tearing up everyone's clothes because they sent a service person to replace the center agitator or spinner with a newly designed piece, unsolicited. It made no difference at all. And the serviceman himself told me they had to replace all of them and that the machines are no good. If I want to save anything I have to handwash or send to the cleaners, which I can't afford. I just heard about a class action lawsuit against Sears, but it's too late for me to join it. I've always had mountains of laundry to do always because I have three sons, so the effect it has had on our life is unbearable. If you buy this machine you will own a big metal ornament and there is no rememdy, you are helpless to do anything about it. Sears is a dishonest thug.

Jo
  29th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

Same problem here. I'm actually looking into lawfirms that'd be interested in taking on Sears. Is anyone else looking into a class action lawsuit?

St
  31st of Mar, 2008
0 Votes
Sears / Kenmore Destiny Washer - Repair Service
Sears
Mississippi
United States

Bought a Kenmore Washer 5 months ago. Washer broke down. I called and scheduled service with Sears and even told Sears what I believed the problem was. They showed up as scheduled and sure enough the part that I said was bad, was bad. However the repair man didn't bring that part with him. Repairman said that he would order the part and have delivered on Thursday and do the repair on Friday. The repairman even gave me a printed document with the date of the repair service. The Wednesday before the repair, Sears called and said that they ordered the part and I confirmed that it would be delivered on Thursday and that they would be here on Friday to repair. Told yes. Friday came and went and no repair. I called and was told that I NEVER had an appointment and that they would reschedule for Saturday, between noon and 5:00PM. I said that is the Saturday before Easter and you need to be here today or tomorrow (Saturday) at 8:00 AM. I was told no. I asked who was going to pay the 5 hours of income that I am out because they didn't show. I work for myself so no paid vacation. They told me again that I didn't have an appointment. Asked them to call the repairman and ask him what the deal is. Never got a response to that. The store told me that I have to understand that I didn't really call Sears to do the repair that they hire outside companies and that it isn't their fault! You have to be kidding! I am not having Sears back in my home. I had someone else fix the machine and am cutting up my credit card and will not do business with Sears again.

Ke
  7th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

I was so excited about the Kenmore Oasis wash machine that I ordered it before it was even out, back in 2006. I saw the machine on Home Make over and was sold. Little did I know this was a HUGE mistake. One month before the year warranty the whole computer system went out. The Sears repairman said "This has happened, quite abit" Thank God I had the warranty because he told me it cost $1000.00 for the computer. It wasn't a month later that there was a foul odor coming from the detergent compartments. Again, I called the Sears repairman and he said it was water setting on the bottom "getting stail" I wash atleast 2 loads aday. How i the world could that happen?He took the drum apart and cleaned it After about 3 or 4 weeks the smell was back, I called him back. He came and the odor was so bad that he said it was sewer back up. Not the washer. So I called a plumber which said, it was the washer not flushing the rinse water and the water backed up. So I called the Sears man again. He told me that the machine was a lemon and to call a certain number. I called and the person told me that it was to late to declare it a lemon. What a Crock!!! I had the Sears repairman to call and tell of all the problems and yet no luck. So I'm stuck with a smell machine that I use the machine clean cycle almost twice a week to stop the smell.

De
  12th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

Oh My God! I have never been so dissapointed in any product in m life. I too purchase the Sears Oasis in 2006. I was so excited knowing I was getting the latest and greatest merchandise on the market. Well what a piece of JUNK...We all need to boycot Sears for selling such an inferior product and not backing it. I have a family of four and like others I wash clothes a lot. It is not convenient to pack up stuff and go to a laundry mat. Right now, I have a washer filled with clothes that's just STOPPED mid-cycle. I am so frustrated. This is the second time in less than 6 months I have had to call Sears to place a repair request. And of course, it at least a week before a repair person can come out. SO WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO!!! My husband was told during our last repair stint... that under your warranty you could get a loaner unit. I'm thinking okay... What that is - is you arranging to have a rental unit brought to you home... you paying the cost up front...and then getting reimbursed by Sears... RIGHT...
I am so frustrated that I am going to INCURR another expense and buy another washers... I just want this washer OUT OF MY HOUSE...

Ka
  14th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

I purchased the Oasis washing machine and dryer 2 years ago. I did not purchase the extended warranty. My thought was that a $2000 set should last longer than a year. I thought they were wonderful at first. The washing machine needs to be recalled. IF I can get it to start, it beeps nonstop. If I do not unplug the machine when the lid is open, it will start spinning and spraying water. This could be very dangerous! It has happened when I am reaching in to get laundry. I will be calling Sears to see how much it will cost to fix, however, I don't think that it is worth fixing. I have been noticing a mildew smell also. I would love to find out the Sears is recalling the machines or that there is a class action lawsuit.

Ch
  14th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

We purchased the oasis over a year ago with complaints from day one about the wrinkled clothes. The sears person told us we weren't using the machines correctly. We also noticed the large amount of lint and the foul smell from the washer(after long nose searching). We were back several times through the year warranty but the salesman said it wasn't the machines fault. Last week we were in the store and the new sales person said the owner (who sold us the machines) had had several complaints against him and they bought him out to get rid of him. Now it's my word against nobodys that this problem was never attempted to be fixed. I would join a suit against them.

Pa
  16th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

Our machine broke down after a few months. It was a sock stuck in the pump. The repairman said that the machines were prone to that. Now it has been over a year, and we are out of warantee. The same problem has occurred. Now I'm trying to figure out how to fix it. I love the capacity, but it looks like this design is really bad. Sears ought to cover these obvious design flaws.

Ka
  4th of May, 2008
0 Votes

i brought my washer in april 2007 i did buy the extended
warranty thank God but trying to get it repaired has been
a true nightmare i have been without a washer since april 19th
2008. they tell me the parts are on back order i have called
repeatly. i called 1-800-549-4505 the customer service complaint dept. several times finally receaching a danille who
stated that i could rent a machine at rent a center and be reinbursed however rent a center wants alot of personal information that i don't want to give out so now im stuck going
to the laundry mat . i have dealt with sears for 35 years and
have never had any problems with service . i agree this washer
needs to be recalled i would also join in a lawsuit.

Al
  10th of May, 2008
0 Votes

We bought the Oasis the first year it was available--2006. It ran well for 2 years and then the computer went bad. It runs through all the spin cycles as the machine is running and once it started running onits' own. The repairman was no help--"needs to be replaced".

Ju
  11th of May, 2008
+1 Votes

I purchased the Kenmore Elite Oasis in March of '07 w/o the extended warranty. Since then, it has ruined $500 worth of our clothing. I didn't realize it was the washer causing the tears in my clothes until right after the 1 year warranty was expired. I should've listened to my husband when he said to buy the washer with the agitator! I will try to call Sears on Monday morning, but I'm not very optimistic. Any advise from anyone who has dealt with the customer service department before?

Post your comment