The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Sears / terrible service on website, phone, and appliance scheduling

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

1. Phone Service Complaint, 2. Website Complaint, 3. Garden Tractor Complaint, 4. Scheduling Repair Complaint - 8 hour window!! Sear Lawn Tractor purchased July 2007. Put together incorrectly, returned and brought a new one. Purchased their warranty plan. 8 hour window for a repair call, 3 weeks away! How convenient is that? I am looking into getting this back to sears and going with a John Deere. The website does not let you login, "please visit sears.com and take a 3 minutes short survey about your phone assistance". When I followed the on-line instructions to login, my passwd expired, "please check your email for a new password" doesn't work, no one at the website number is any help, someone will get back to you in 24 hours...

There whole phone system is a big run around, I have been transferred and given phone numbers all morning for "customer relations". Finally the last person I spoke to transferred me and said I would be able to make an appt. Well, she transferred me to never ever land... the customer relations is closed, and there is no recording with directions how to make any appointment.

Too bad! Sears use to be a good place to do business, I won't be back, ever. I can't even get a person on the phone to address one of the above issues.

El
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Be
      17th of Jul, 2008
    -1 Votes

    I called Sears today wanting just one simple question answered, (How much do you charge for a service call to look at my garage door?) which is not working properly. I was passed to 4 different people who in turn gave me a different phone # then spoke to three more people finally spoke to a man who spoke broken english, I could hardly understand him, but he told me $65.00. I was very fustrated by that time and I just might check out other companys.

  • Ri
      28th of Jul, 2008
    -1 Votes

    Bought a Craftsman wire feed mig welder approx 2 years ago. I used the welder approx 5 time before the wire started melting in the gun. Call Sears and at first was told they did not sell welders. The called parts and service (that what they call it I call it bull---t ) I was transfered and hung up on so many times that I give up. I'm so piss off that I can't even think all I wanted was to ask a question about installing a replacement part because even with the new part I was told it need in the manual It stil screws up the wire and melts inside the gun. geee good bye Sears I and your employee I hope you all eat s--and die. No more of my money will you see.

  • Gr
      20th of Aug, 2008
    -1 Votes

    Called Sears to set up appointment to repair my Washer/Dryer (second time in 2 weeks). They told me and confirmed that a repairman would be at my home on August 20 between 8-11 am. It is 9:00 pm now and they have not shown up. We started calling about 2:00pm requesting an ETA . Transferred no less then 20 times and disconnected 6 times after being placed on hold collectively for several hours. Quality of service is deplorable.

  • An
      28th of Aug, 2008
    -1 Votes

    I WAITED FOR A SERVICE CALL ON MY WASHER YESTERDAY FROM 8AM TILL 5PM. NO ONE EVER CAME AND I ALSO GOT PUT ON HOLD, DISCONNECTED, TRANSFERRED AT LEAST 10 TIMES ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT THEY WEREN'T COMING. NO ONE EVER CALLED ME TO TELL ME THAT AFTER I TOOK THE DAY OFF FROM WORK. THIS IS AFTER THE INITIAL CALL ON THE 13TH AND THEY WERE COMING BACK TO INSTALL PARTS.

  • Ph
      11th of Sep, 2008
    -1 Votes

    YOUR PHONE SERVICE IS NOT A SERVICE IT IS A DISSERVICE. I AM A LONG TERM CUSTOMER, BUT I AM VERY, VERY DISSATISFID. I HAVE SPEND AT LEAST 16 HOURS ON THE PHONE WITH OUT SUCCESS TRYING TO DETERMINE WHAT HAPPENED TO MY LAWN MOWER, AND WEEDWACKER WHICH I DROPPED OFF FOR REPAIR 6 WEEKS AGO AT THE LAJOLLA BRANCH. IF ANYONE AT SEARS CAN HELP ME PLEASE CALL. I RECIEVED A CALL
    THAT THE MOWER IS READY FOR THE SECOND TIME. THE FIRST TIME IT WAS RETURNED
    IT WORKED FOR APP, 10 MINUTES.I PAY OVER $1500.00 A YEAR FOR THIS MAINTENANCE SERVICE.EACH TIME I DROP OFF & PICK UP AN ITEM IT A 5O MILE TRIP. SO I WILL GO 100 MILES FOR THE LAWN MOWER. THE WEED WACKER WAS PROMISED 4 WEEKS AGO IT IS UNKNOWN WHEN I CAN PICK IT UP. CAN SOME ONE AT SEARS HELP ME.

    PHILIP J. MOLE
    4138 CATALINA PLACE
    SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA 92107

  • Mi
      16th of Oct, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I have extended warranty on Kenmore washer/dryer. The agitator broke and a repairman came on 10/7/08 and said the agitator was broken. Well duh... that's what I told them when I reported the problem. The repairman had no spare part and ordered it and rescheduled for the morning of 10/16/08. I was out in the yard doing some gardening when Sears called to confirm I was home and she left a message to call her back to confirm I was home. I got the message a few minutes later but I could not understand the telephone number due to her speed-speaking and poor enunciation. I replayed the number and still couldn't understand what she said. They no-showed. I called Sears and eventually was put in contact with someone who rescheduled again for 10/22/08. I spoke to a supervisor who was unsympathetic and unable to help. I am extremely disappointed with Sears.

  • Wi
      3rd of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    for two weeks i have been trying to get an answer from your repair service on repair service order#66036751 as to why my carpet cleaner won, t send out water. All I get is the patented whine "we'll have someone call you" but no one ever does. Why not? I'd like an answer please !!

  • Bo
      26th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    your telephone is very bad and i am canceling my credit card because i had trouble before with sears and it took one year straighten it out after i called the t.v. station it took 20 min and sears called and they took care of it its sad when you have to call the t.v station to get sears to fix something. i was on the phone for 2hr and 6 differnce people

  • Fr
      29th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I, like your other extremely dis-satisfied customers, have joined them in all their complaints. I too have sworn that I will NEVER purchase another sears product. As far as I am concerned--your reputation has gone down the tubes- nor will I recommend your products to anyone. The Sears reliability is below the basement. I wonder if your employees understand English. Prior to this, I wrote another complaint and of course did not get a response so I don't expect one from this one either. GOOD BYE SEARS/CRAFTSMAN FOREVER

  • Jo
      21st of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    I own a sears water softener, not that old. I had a error with code come up on the screen, I tried to get in touch with someone to tell me what this meant. I was told I had to make an appointment, when I questioned the lady on the other end she hung up on me. I called back to talk to a supervisor to complain about my hang up and was told I had to make an appointment. Needless to say I did not get anywhere with her either. After looking at this site I am understanding why. Where did the customer service go and the quality of sears products?.
    Joe

  • El
      20th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Horrible service all the way around; service calls, appts. repair people, sevice department, phone service is beyond explaining, no one helps you. I was so frustrated that I began to think they wanted me to give up so that's when I perservered. I am not at all happy with Sears and after being a customer for 40 years I will never buy another thing from them or recommend them to anyone as I had in the past.

    An extremely dissatisfied cutomer.

    Eleanor

  • Gu
      24th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    i have been a customer of Sears for at least 30 yrs. when i call sears they say thank you for being a sears premier customer, what a joke that is. it doesn't get you any place faster. i also have the CAP plan on all my sears stuff that i own, which means i pay a set price each year to have all my stuff covered if it breaks. In 2000 i bought a sears garden tractor with a snowblower attachment.In 2005 the engine blew so sears replaced it(no charge to me) of cours the engine they put in was defective, so i had to wait for new engine to come in and be installed, well it was delivered all messed up so i had to wait for still another engine to be sent, this 1 made it and was installed (no charge to me) then in 2008 the transmission let go, so had to wait 3 weeks for technician to come over to say i need new one. had to wait 2 weeks to get new tranny installed, then on or about 1 feb 2009 the transmission let go again. so i called Sears told them i need tranny. they said i can't order it, so i had to wait 2 weeks for tech, to come over (all day appt.). on feb 12, 2009, repair guy shows up at end of day to say you need new tranny. so he ordered 1 and made me appt. for feb 24, 2009 to have it installed. well on thursday feb 19, 2009 i called to see where tranny was. the guy i talked to said it was being sent out today and i should have it on monday in time for my scheduled appt on tuesday. well monday i called to check where the transmission is. the lady said she didn't know, i told her i need to find out where it was or i need a to get a new one. well she transfered me to a women in texas, i told her i need my transmission, because i have 24 inches of snow sitting in my yard, i pay plenty of money for mainainence on this machine and yet it's buried in the snow and i have to pay out of my pocket to rent a walk behind snowblower. i am a retired disabled veteran that is why i bought a riding garden tractor. she said it showed it in process and could be shipped anytime. i told her i need someone here tomorrow with a transmisson or and empty trailer to haul this broken one away, and a voucher for a new one. she said she would call me at noon today feb, 24, 2009 and let me know what will be done. i took her at her word, (my fault) she sounded sinsere. i waited and wasted yet another day waiting for sears, to call another lie on sears part. at 5 pm i call to see where my promised transmission was. the girls said it was shipped yesterday, and i should have it this friday.. i said good when will it be installed, she said the earliest was the 10th of march. i told her that wouldn't do i asked to speak to a supervisor she said there was no one she could connect me to. i told her i wanted to speak to someone higher up the chains, after several minutes of insisting, she finally said ok and put me on hold, but i never got aanyone to answer the phone after 20 minutes on hold. so i hung up and redialled the 800 number, i told the person not to bother to get involved in this stuation just to connect me to a supervisor, it sounded like she connected me to someone ina warehouse.

    i will be calling agian tomorrow during mormal work hours.

  • Ka
      30th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    I am so frustrated with the Sears phone service. After calling 3 times to get an ETA on the service tech, I finally asked for a supervisor. I spoke to Kelly...what a mistake. She was rude and said they had done nothing wrong and that they had from 8AM to 5PM to come to do the repairs. If she is representative of the caliber of people they have in customer service, no wonder they are in trouble. This is the last time I will call for service at sears. They couldn't even give me the name of the company that was coming. She said that I shouldn't call 3 times and that they have done nothing wrong. I was the one that was wrong for not understanding their system and that my husband was TOLD that a tech would call 30 minutes before arriving. My husband was not told that..he was told that a tech would call but not told 30 minutes prior. It is now 4:23...I have no faith that anyone will show up. We have spent the whole day wondering if anyone would show up. I don't know if anyone from Sears even reads these but they should.

  • Ri
      7th of May, 2009
    0 Votes

    Any one having a complaint with service on the phone is correct. I tried all afternoon today to get someone to answer the pnone at the service center in San Antonio 410. Iknow if my phone rang for 15 minutes I would get annoyed. Would some one answer the d=== phone.

  • Ch
      3rd of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    In 2007 I purchased a HE top load washer. Since then it has broke twice. Both times I have called to set up a service tech which they sent them to PA. I live in Florida and have always. I have spoke with 7 different people from customer service and no one really gives a flip. I have had to take off work to meet with them only for them not to show. I will never purchase another item from Sears. They have been a nightmare. Believe it or not I am calling from America where I purchased the washer. 4 out of the 7 calls I have made are not even recieved in America. This company has some major problems. I will never recommend Sears for anything.

  • Se
      16th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    My relatively new front end washer began beeping and showing the letter "F" so I called for a repairman. The goof who took my request said she scheduled a service call for 3 days away. Inconvenient for me but I understand. She said I 'may" get a call the night before reminding me of the service call the next day or I may not. But I definitely would get a call the next morning confirming the exact time the repairman would be at my house (8am-1pm). I took the day off from work, lost a day's pay, and waited & waited for the serviceman's call. Finally I called Sears at 11 am to see when he'd be at my house. Huge surprise! (Ha!) No one scheduled the appt. I was furious. Going on vacation next day and needed washing machine to get ready. Now next "confirmed" service call (we'll wait and see) is 11 days away. Only good thing- the goof spoke English.

    My other complaint is about their ridiculous voice mail/answering machine. "Press 1 for such & such, press 2 for..." So I pressed 1 and the voice talked right over it, I tried again, then it said to give a voice response of yes or no, so I did, and NOTHING. I pushed "o" and that didn't work either. Waste of time.

    LOUSY, LOUSY customer service, if that's what you call it. Time for Sears to shape up or get left in the dust! ! !

  • Al
      28th of Jun, 2009
    -1 Votes

    I have been doing business with sears for over 45 years. They are not saints, products not made in haven. But in Jacksonville florida, they give great service. I have had normal problems like not calling when they say they will. I understand how that can be and I don't like and I filed a complaint. But from a 1 to 10 I give their service personal a 9.6. I am sure there are two or three sides to a story but sears well do what they say and you can not ask for more than that

  • Jh
      9th of Jul, 2009
    0 Votes

    Sears used to be a great place to buy because of excellent service. I have been a customer for 50 years, my parents before me were, also. Now service is not in their vocabulary. I tried to schedule by telephone, got transferred to India to deal with indecipherable accent, then told service only available on Monday and Wednesday, ten days in the future. Then the service tech will be there between 8 AM and 5 PM, like I have nothing to do but wait for him all day. Last time no one showed up on the appointed day. No wonder Sears is circling the drain. I won't bother going there to buy anything more, even if I do have a "Preferred Customer" card. Sears is no longer a "Preferred Supplier."

  • Fa
      30th of Aug, 2009
    -1 Votes

    I have never had any issues with sears service getting to me in a timely manner, first I know who to call, most people are just unable to navigate phone answering machine services. If you're having issue with a technician, call the goddamn store where you bought it from and have the department manager that oversees the product you own, IE Lawn Garden or Appliances email the service manager if your region. I have the cell numbers of the techs in my area since everything I own is covered under Master Protection or Repair protection plans. Also you need to learn to be patient, Sears doesn't have 1 of everything just laying around. Manufactureres change their products and it may be "new" to you but that doesn't matter to reality. Also ask for a damn loaner if your service is beyond 2 weeks out, if you don't have a service plan with sears you're just an idiot and you're getting overcharged for the discounted service all of us service plan customers have :). Did you know all the other retailers use sears service for their repairs, yep you buy from lowes or whoever and an A&E truck will show up to fix it ... Guess who owns them .. :) To all the I will never shop at sears again people, grow up all the retailers get the same products repackaged with different brand names, you arent screwing anyone over or making any of them care because for every ex sears customers there's even more ex- home depot lowes people to fill the void that will run in terror from their god awful service.

  • Re
      18th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    I bought a Maytag washer from Sears, after 20 service calls, Sears refused to replace it with problems I kept having and weren't getting resolved. When the complaints reach so many a year, then Sears starts delaying service, because after I believe it's seven service calls, and they can't resolve the problem according to their miserable warranty, Sears is supposed to replace the machine. Well, that didn't happen, and I fought them thru Better Business Bureau in their area, which was Chicago, also filed a complaint with Whirlpool - who owns Maytag. The repsonse I got back from Sears, was they wanted to sent another technician out to repair. I told BBB to forget it, but wanted the complaint to remain unresolved with Sears. Whirlpool had contacted me, and told me to pick out a new Maytag or Whirlpool, and they would prorate the present machine, and I would just pay the difference of the new one. I received a new Maytag washer which was $800.00, I only had to pay $250.00 for the new one, and have warranty repair for one year with the appliance center in my area that I wanted, not Sears. I would never deal with Sears again for anything. I only had one problem with this washing machine and it was totally resolved the next day. Thanks to Better Business Bureau, they helped me to resolve an issue that Sears should have taken care of one year earlier- because that machine was a lemon. At least Whirlpool made good for the problem. The Maytag that was a lemon cost was $700.00, it was not a cheap washer, but a real piece of crap.

Post your comment