The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

SBI Credit Card / unwanted charges for promotional offers

1 India Review updated:

These are the mails going on from 30/05/07 but have not resolved the dispute yet and now sbi have started harassing me by sending legal letters for the charges I am not liable to pay.


Hs00181301000100
Tuesday, 4 december, 2007 5:27 pm
From:
This sender is domainkeys verified
"sonu thaker"
View contact details
To:
Feedback. gesbi@ge.com, head. sbicards@ge.com
Cc:
Sonut007@yahoo.com
Hi,

Please note that yesterday, I got a letter for collection of dues which was also forwarded to my employer - can I ask why the same was sent to my employer, when the billing itself is under dispute and I have not been provided proofs for the same???

I have certain disputes regarding billing of my credit card for which I am not being provided any concrete proofs even after speaking to en number of people and en-number of mails sent to sbi for the same.

Also I have even asked for details of some senior person and your sbi office address with whom I can speak to and resolve the issue - which is again not given to me till date?

Yesterday I called up your number and spoke to mr. varun chawla (ist line supervisor) and according to him if sbi has sent documents - I am liable to pay for the same - further I was told that he can show me the proofs of pod recd by sbi. on asking for verification of the voice log on which according to sbi I have given my consent - I was told that they cant be provided to me and simply I will have to pay the dues.

My question was the documents were sent to me for my reference and not by my consent. I was told that for sending any doucments my name would have to be registered and that was the reason I gave all my details - that doesnt mean I have given my consent for the policy.

If according to sbi the documents were sent with my consent for the same on telephone - I hereby demand that the voice log should be heard, including myself and sbi officials, and proved that I actually gave my consent for the same failing which I am not liable to pay for any dues

Further I also got a call from sbi gurgaon on 20 or 21st of october that my issue has been resolved and full reversal was made to my account and that the same will be reflected in my next statement... still why I am being sent letters...
Cant that be verifed from your records.

I am again stating that you cannot force a cutomer to take the policy without customers approval for the same and if any billing is disputed the same should be reolved to the satisfaction of the customer - this according to me should be the policy of sbi.

Also till the matter is under dispute please ensure that no more letters are sent to my employer as this again is diminishing my personal standards.


waiting for your early revert.

Thanks

Sonu thaker


Re:'caseid=[protected]'hs00181301000100
Saturday, 24 november, 2007 10:27 am
From:
"feedback. gesbi"
Add sender to contacts
To:
"sonu thaker"
24 november 2007

Dear mr. thaker,

Thank you for writing to sbi cards.

This is with reference to your communication dated november 20, 2007 regarding your sbi card account.

Insurance related: we wish to inform you that as per your request we have cancelled the royal sundaram insurance policy on your sbi card account and rs.3, 457.00 has been credited towards the same is reflecting on your statement dated june 17, 2007.

We wish to inform you that as per policy in case the royal sundaram insurance policy is cancelled within a month from the date of debit, then the entire premium amount along with the administration charges are reversed. however, in case the cancellation is done post the free look period, then as per the short period rates applicable only a partial reversal (50% of the premium amount) is given on the account and also the administration charges are not reversed.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you in this regards.

In case of any further queries on the sbi card, we would request you to reply at feedback. gesbi@ge.com using the same subject line or call our 24 hours, 7 days a week, at our local helpline number [protected] or [protected] (for bsnl and mtnl users).

Yours sincerely,
Manager - customer service



— original message —
From: sonu thaker (sonut007@yahoo.com)
Date: tuesday, november 20, 2007 10:20 am
To: customer. services@in. royalsun.com (customer. services@in. royalsun.com); feedback. gesbi@ge.com (feedback. gesbi@ge.com); head. sbicards@ge.com (head. sbicards@ge.com); sonut007@yahoo.com (sonut007@yahoo.com)
Subject: hs00181301000100

Dear mam,

Thank you for your revert.

Please note as mentioned by you and as explained by me again and again, when I got a call from telemarketing person regarding the policy the details of the policy, I requested him that I cannot remember the points of the policy if told to me verbally, hence if there was some documentation that I was provided, I can go through the same & then think whether or not to opt for this policy. here please note that I did not at any point of time gave my confirmation that I was interested in the policy.
I was told that for sending any documents he would have to register me and for that he would require my details and did not at any point told me that I will be receiving any kind of bills for payments and that my policy would start without my confirmation (you can refer the telephonic talk I had with concerned dept)

I gave my details totally unaware of the trauma and the harrasment I was going to face for giving my details for the same.
Again I would here like to add - if I was given a 15 days lookup time for the policy, and if I didnt confirm the same within 15 days - why was I not called up for confirming that the policy has started and I will be receiving the bills for the premiums??? what if I was not in town and was unable to contact sbi or royal sundaram??? what if I had not recd the documents in time - had anybody called up whether I have recd the documents and gone through it and whether I was interested in the policy in the first place??? this doesnt mean that now I will have to take this policy forcibly and make payments for premiums.

Again whatever half reversals or anything has nothing to do with me and it is purely between royal sundaram and sbi and I am not going to suffer because of the goofup made by some person from any of the concerned dept.

I already have suffered and harrased a lot for the issue and my family members have even being threatened for this and if the same is not resolved soon - I will see to it that I will go legal and claim compensation for the harrassment going on from past 8 months now.

I again humbly request you to close the issue.

Thanks
Sonu thaker





Re:'caseid=[protected]'fwd: re:dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker
Tuesday, 13 november, 2007 11:11 am
From:
"feedback. gesbi"
Add sender to contacts
To:
"sonu thaker"
Dear mr. thaker,

Thank you for writing to sbi cards.

This is with reference to your communication dated november 07, 2007 regarding your sbi card account.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and for your displeasure whilst you felt our service levels did not meet your expectations.
We wish to inform that we have referred the contents of your communication to the concerned department for necessary action at their end. we shall shortly get back to you on the status of the same.

Further, we would like to share with you that your card account currently stands inactive for usage.

In case of any further clarification, we request you to reply at head. sbicards@ge.com using the same subject line. you will receive a response within 3 working days.

Yours sincerely

Avp - customer service


Flag this message
Hs00181301000100
Friday, 9 november, 2007 2:57 pm
From:
"customer services"
Add sender to contacts
To:
Sonut007@yahoo.com
Message contains attachments
Pic19690. jpg (49kb)
Dear mr. thaker,

Thank you for your email dated november 07, 2007.

Further to our email dated november 07, 2007, the enrollment for this
Policy was done based on your confirmation provided to the telemarketing
Team of sbi credit card division.

The inception date of the policy was from february 28, 2007. as a process,
We provide a 15 day free look in period to review the policy document from
The time you receive it and get back to us for any clarifications. based
On the request from the bank on may 30, 2007 to cancel the policy issued to
You, the policy was cancelled on short period rates as per the policy
Terms and the refund amount of rs.3457/- (50% of the paid premium having
Been retained and the balance 50% refunded) was sent to the bank (sbi cards
And payment services) for necessary reversal into your card account xxxx
Xxxx xxxx 4904 on june 08, 2007.

Hence, we regret, we are unable to refund further premium. we request you
To contact the bank for further assistance.

The short period rates of cancellation are as follows:

(embedded image moved to file: pic19690. jpg)


Wishing you and your family, a happy and a festive diwali. assuring you of
Our best service always.

Yours sincerely,
Irudaya mary
Customer services
Royal sundaram alliance insurance co. ltd.

Other products we offer are health, accident, home, travel and car shield

'caseid=[protected]'dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker
Wednesday, 7 november, 2007 1:29 pm
From:
"headcards"
Add sender to contacts
To:
"sonu thaker"
Dear sir / madam,

Thank you for writing to sbi cards.

We acknowledge the receipt of your email and we shall revert to you shortly.

We would request you to mention your sbi card account / card number in all your correspondence to enable us to process your request at the earliest.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.

Warm regards,
Sbi headcards team

— original message —
From: sonu thaker [sonut007@yahoo.com]
Sent: wednesday, nov 7 2007 1:26pm
To: feedback. gesbi@ge.com [feedback. gesbi@ge.com]; head. sbicards@ge.com [head. sbicards@ge.com]; customer. services@in. royalsun.com [customer. services@in. royalsun.com]; sonut007@yahoo.com [sonut007@yahoo.com]
Subject: dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker

Dear sir / mam,

It seems you have not gone through my mail properly. firstly where you have mentioned as "speaking to your telesales person and post your confirmation" - I want to know when and how I have confirmed for this policy?? do you have any papers with my signatures confirming the same?? or any phone conversations wherein I have confirmed to opt for the policy???

Also please note you telesales person described the features of the policy over the phone and I had just asked him to send me documents for the same so that I can go through the same and then decide whether or not to opt for the policy... and that doesnt mean that I wanted the policy. please note I didnt confirm that I wanted the policy and your telesales guy also didnt tell me that sending me the documents, I will be billed for the same.
Infact I was informed that you will have to revert back after some 15-20 days if you want to opt for the policy - hence my question is why was I not been informed or called before debiting any kind of charges on my card???
Also you are not doing any favour to me by reversing half of the charges as I want all my charges to be reversed as I didnt confirm the policy and have not made any other transactions on sbi card.
Where you have stated that my card is blocked - I want to inform you that I have already cut my card and have handed over to sbi representative on 09.06.07.

You just cannot force anyone like this and sell your products and compell him to pay amounts for which one is not liable for.

Anyways further this is to inform you that I am not going to make any payments unless I am not provided with the explanations and proofs that I have asked for.

Or else send me name and address of your senior person / legal person with whom I can discuss this issue in person.

Thanks & regards,
Sonu thaker

Ps : by the way wish your team a very happy diwali.



Hs00181301000100
Wednesday, 7 november, 2007 10:13 am
From:
"customer services"
Add sender to contacts
To:
Sonut007@yahoo.com
Dear mr. thaker,

Thank you for your email dated november 05, 2007.

We wish to inform you that the enrollment for this policy was done by the
Sbi cards and payment services pvt ltd. and the inception date of the
Policy is february 28, 2007.

This policy has been despatched from us on march 06, 2007 (through first
Flight courier vide airway bill number c05712755) and we understand that
You have received the same on march 09, 2007.

As per the request received from state bank of india, reference number
Sbi/2007/25320, your policy was cancelled and the amount of rs.3457/- (50%of
The premium) had been sent to your bank for the necessary reversal in your
Credit card on june 07, 2007.

We request you to liaise with state bank of india (credit card division)
For further assistance.

The reference number for this interaction with us is spa/ 2007/12ac529.
Please quote this reference number while interacting with us on this
Subject in future.

Assuring you of our best service always.

Yours sincerely,
Padma. s
Customer services
Royal sundaram alliance insurance co. ltd.


Re:'caseid=[protected]'fwd: re:dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker
Tuesday, 6 november, 2007 12:37 pm
From:
"feedback. gesbi"
Add sender to contacts
To:
"sonu thaker"

Dear mr. thaker,

This is with reference to your communication dated november 05, 2007 regarding your sbi card account.

We would like to inform you that as per your telephonic discussion with out telesales executive and post your confirmation, royal sundaram insurance was been booked on your sbi card account.

We would like to inform you that rs.3457.00 towards royal sundaram insurance has been reversed on your sbi card account. the credit for the same is reflecting in the statement dated june 17, 2007.
Please note that as your request was received post 30 days of the transaction and as per the terms and conditions of the royal sundaram insurance policy we regret our inability to provide you with more reversals on your card account and also the administration charges are not reversed.
Further we wish to share with you that as against the outstanding balance of rs.6268.92 billed in your statement of account dated july 17, 2007, please note that we did not receive any payment before the payment due date, thereby your card account was levied with finance and late payment charges.

Kindly note that in case the payments are missed or outstanding on the card is received less than the total amount due, then interest charges are applied on the balance amount, thus the payment starts revolving on the account, this is also applicable on all the fresh charges incurred, in the same month by the cardholder.

Hence, we regret to inform you that we are unable to reverse any charges levied to your card account. as on date, your card account holds an outstanding balance of rs.8478.33 payable to us and we would request you to send in the payment for the same at the earliest, to avoid further charges.

Kindly note that as on date your account is temporarily blocked.


In case of any further clarification, we request you to reply at head. sbicards@ge.com using the same subject line. you will receive a response within 3 working days.

Yours sincerely

Avp - customer service




— original message —
From: sonu thaker (sonut007@yahoo.com)
Date: monday, november 05, 2007 11:41 am
To: head. sbicards@ge.com (head. sbicards@ge.com); feedback. gesbi@ge.com (feedback. gesbi@ge.com); customer. services@in. royalsun.com (customer. services@in. royalsun.com); sonut007@yahoo.com (sonut007@yahoo.com)
Subject: fwd: re:dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker

Dear mr. ajay bharti,

Further to your mail dated 31/05/2007 regarding resolving of the issue in the below mentioned mail for policy for royal sundaram – please note the following –

There was one representative sent to my residence on 09/06/2007 for payment collection that too without calling me or contacting me. on asking reason to mr. sanjay chougle (officer collections) for sending the person directly to my residence I was told that your number was not available or busy whereas I had recd en number of call on that day. anyways on explaining him the whole issue he told me to send the copies of the mail sent to you alongwith a request for cancellation of my card. the same day I had handover the mail copies and 8 pieces of card’s (mine as well as my wifes ad-on cards) to the representative after assurance that the matter will be closed off.

Months later after the above was done, I again started getting calls from sbi for payments. on asking again I was informed that only half of my charges were reversed and I still have to pay half of the amounts plus the interest levied. here even I was not notified by any sbi rep or mr. sanjay chougle that only half of the amounts are reversed and the reasons for half reversal and was told that the same has been printed on the account statement sent to you.

Thereafter I was told to make complaint to sbi once again for the issue and on 24.09.07 I made a complaint for the same and had a talk with ms. preeti and the complaint number is - [protected].

My complaint is –

Why wasn’t I called for confirmation of the policy before debiting the charges to my credit card a/c - did sbi or royal sundaram at any point of time gave me a call for the confirmation of the policy??? – if so please let me know the proof of the same.

Please show me any proof bearing signatures on any of the documentation regarding the policy???
- as according to the talk with the representatives it is not possible to debit any charges without having the same.

I was told that you would be getting a response regarding the complaint within 10 days. but again I have started getting calls from sbi regarding payments. but after calling your number again I was informed that nothing can be done on the issue and you will have to pay outstanding dues.

Over and above this for en number of calls I have made on this issue I was never been transferd to any senior person whom I can contact and resolve this issue.

On 25/10/07 again I got a call from sbi andheri midc branch and spoke to a so called senior person mr. deepak roy (tel no. [protected]) and explained him the whole story again. he assured me that he will be looking into the matter and resolve the issue. but again when I contacted the branch I was not made to speak to him and was told that he was transferred and in a very rude manner was told that this things will go on if you don’t pay your dues.

On 03/11/07 I got a letter from sbi stating if I didn’t pay the dues they will be contacting my employer and i’ll have to face the consequences.

After all this mental stress and harrasment I have now decided to go legal if the matter is not closed down and I also hereby inform you that I may sue sbi for the mental harrasement given to me from such a long period of time and including my family and my employer in the same and defaming my character.

Please go through few of the following points which are imposed by rbi ombudsman for credit card grieviences –

Interest rates and other charges :
The bank / nbfc should not levy any charge that was not explicitly indicated to the credit card holder at the time of issue of the card and getting his / her consent. however, this would not be applicable to charges like service taxes, etc. which may subsequently be levied by the government or any other statutory authority.

Wrongful billing :
The card issuing bank / nbfc should ensure that wrong bills are not raised and issued to customers.in case, a customer protests any bill, the bank / nbfc should provide explanation and, if necessary, documentary evidence to the customer within a maximum period of sixty days with a spirit to amicably redress the grievances.

Right to privacy :
Unsolicited loans or other credit facilities should not be offered to the credit card customers.in case, an unsolicited credit facility is extended without the consent of the recipient and the latter objects to the same, the credit sanctioning bank / nbfc shall not only withdraw the credit limit, but also be liable to pay such penalty as may be considered appropriate.

Fair practices in debt collection :
In the matter of recovery of dues, banks / nbfcs may ensure that they, as also their agents, adhere to the extant instructions on fair practice code for lenders (circular dbod. leg. no. bc. 104 /09.07.007 / 2002–03 dated may 5, 2003) as also iba’s code for collection of dues and repossession of security.in case banks / nbfcs have their own code for collection of dues it should, at the minimum, incorporate all the terms of iba's code.
Banks / nbfcs / their agents should not resort to intimidation or harassment of any kind, either verbal or physical, against any person in their debt collection efforts, including acts intended to humiliate publicly or intrude the privacy of the credit card holders’ family members, referees and friends, making threatening and anonymous calls or making false and misleading representations.

Redressal of grievances :
If a complainant does not get satisfactory response from the bank / nbfc within a maximum period of thirty (30) days from the date of his lodging the complaint, he will have the option to approach the office of the concerned banking ombudsman for redressal of his grievance/s. the bank / nbfc shall be liable to compensate the complainant for the loss of his time, expenses, financial loss as well as for the harassment and mental anguish suffered by him for the fault of the bank and where the grievance has not been redressed in time.


According to the points imposed by rbi, I am very much liable to get compensation as I was not at any point of time given any valid proofs, documentations etc and was not satisfactorily answered for my complaint raised with sbi instead am threatened to pay dues for which I am not liable to pay.


This is the last time I am mailing to sort out the issue once and for all and send me a letter stating no dues from my side.

Hoping a favourable reply from you end as well as from royal sundaram regarding this issue.

Thanks and regards,
Sonu thaker



Re:'caseid=[protected]'dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker
Thursday, 31 may, 2007 10:55 am
From:
"headcards"
Add sender to contacts
To:
"sonu thaker"
Dear mr. sonu thaker,

Thank you for writing to sbi cards.

This is with reference to your communication dated may 30 2007 regarding your sbi card account.

Insurance related:
We have taken note of your request regarding cancellation of royal sundaram insurance, and would like to assure you that the same has been forwarded to concerned department. we would be intimating you shortly on the status of the same.

Collection follow up:
We would like to share with you that collection follow-ups were done on your card as the account was past due. however, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that may have been caused to you.

Please be advised that the information communicated to you through our representative was intended to keep you informed about the outstanding balance on your card account, in order to prevent any further charges being levied on your card account.

We understand the disappointment, which may have been caused to you. however, we would like to reiterate that the communication was sent to you in good faith and to keep you updated on the outstanding balances payable to us on your card account.
In case of any further queries on the sbi card, we would request you to reply at feedback. gesbi@ge.com without altering the subject line or call our 24 hours, 7 days a week, at our local helpline number [protected] or [protected] (for bsnl and mtnl users).

Yours sincerely,


Ajay bharti
Avp - customer service


— original message —
From: sonu thaker (sonut007@yahoo.com)
Date: wednesday, may 30, 2007 07:09 pm
To: head. sbicards@ge.com (head. sbicards@ge.com); feedback. gesbi@ge.com (feedback. gesbi@ge.com)
Cc: cutomer. services@in. royalsun.com (cutomer. services@in. royalsun.com)
Subject: dispute for card no : [protected] - sonu thaker

Dear mr. ajay bharti,

My name is sonu thaker and my credit card no is [protected]. I am writing this e-mail to you in regards to the issue I am facing from your collection team regarding insurance charges from royal sundaram.

Some days after I got my sbi card, I had got a call from your executive regarding this insurance policy that you were offering. the executive told me many things about it and was too lengthy to remember each and every point about it. hence I told him that if possible can I get some documents regarding the same so that I can go through it and then decide whether or not to opt for the policy. your executive told me that for documents to be sent, he will have to register me for the same and I gave all my details unaware of the problems and the trauma I will be facing. after getting the documents I called up local number and instructed that I don’t want to opt for the policy and not to send me any bills regarding the same.

After some time I got a call from executive regarding the minimum amount that is payable for the bill sent to me. I told them that, I had already instructed not to send me any bills and hence wanted the charges to be reversed. but after talking to en number of executives and supervisors the same thing was not resolved. earlier even nobody was aware of what these charges were for and they just kept on telling me that you have made some purchases and you will have to pay the money and we will be sending our persons to collect the same. even after requesting them to transfer the lines to some superior person with whom I can speak to.. I was always told that you can speak with us and we will be resolving the same.

I am getting calls on a daily basis for the same thing. most of the names are neha, gagan deep singh, anup, rudra pratap singh etc etc etc…. once I also had talk with pravin who claimed that he is the supervisor and he assured me that he will look into the matter and resolve the same and I will not be getting any calls from sbi.

From last one month I have been getting calls from your collection department practically early morning each day – to my mobile as well as my residence number.

On 29/05/07 (yesterday) I got a call from rudra pratap singh who is an executive at your gurgaon or noida office (tel no from which I receive call is +[protected] / +[protected]). he started the conversation that – “oh you are the same person who has disputes regarding the policy” – I had got several calls from that guy earlier and he very well knew what the issue was. I asked him if you know the issue why are you calling me up again and again and irritating me – doesn’t you bank cost anything calling up a guy in mumbai from delhi – his reply was that it is free for us. that answer hit me and I told him that because you have free calls to make you keep on harassing us – his reply was “ aapko shoukh hai outstanding rakne ka”.
That very moment I lost my temper and gave him bad words (I am really sorry for that – as it was just out of frustration for receiving the same calls again and again on a daily basis) as he was not ready to keep the phone and was arguing illogically. seeing this my manager who was also aware of this calls being made to me daily also got frustrated, snatched the phone from my hands – gave bad words and told him to close the call. he also told him that “ did bank gave you bad words before issuing the card to you “
After I disconnected the call this guy again called up and asked me to use bad words and told me that he was enjoying it. I again disconnected the call after fulfilling his request.

After this rudra pratap singh called my residence number and threatened my parents that he will be sending some guys for collections and that you son will not be spared. after this call my dad (who is also working in bank of baroda) who has just been through a bypass surgery was so tensed and his bp rose to a very high level that he needed medical attention and he also didn’t go to work.

Sir…this came as a real shock to me and now I have also decided that if this situation continues, I was also go for legal help. I am also a senior officer in collections dept in an nbfc firm. I also know how money is collected …. but certainly not in this manner…what has my family to do with this issues…why are they being threatened and harassed???
As far as I understand.. if premium has not been paid the policy gets automatically dissolved and I am not supposed to make any claims on that …you cannot force anybody to use the policy if they don’t want to!!

I am using icici card / hsbc card for a very long time now and am a regular payer. you can check the same if required. since my brother (who is an asst manager in centurion bank of punjab) is using sbi card and that there are a lot of good things that the card offers I opted for this card. but now I am cursing myself and the day when I chose to go for this card.

My only reason to write this big mail is that there are some systems and process and sbi as the name is enough doesn’t seem to follow it or maybe executives like rudra pratap singh are spoiling the name of such an esteemed organization.

I want an reply on the above issue and also for your as well as the company benefit …I would prefer some strict action is taken against executives like rudra pratap singh.

I have already called up you customer service number again and have informed them of the incidences and have instructed them to cancel my royal sundaram policy and my complaint numer is [protected].

I am very much upset about the whole issue and am very much frustrated with the way your guys speak to cutomers…once again I am requesting you to instruct your collection dept not to call up my residence number as they already have my cell number and can speak at any time with me in person. I was looking forward to use sbi card and to use the great offers that they give but the above incidence has not left me with any other alternative then to cancel the card.

Expecting a favorable response from you and customer service team.

Thanking you,

Sonu thaker
[protected]

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • So
      28th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have being wrongly levied charges for promotional Insurance offer given to me without my consent of opting for the same.
    I am being sent legal letters and am being threatened that my matter will be taken to court for charges which i am not liable to pay. There are no proper responses given and senior officials as well as the tele calling reps have a rude attitude.

  • Ja
      20th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    unwanted charges for promotional offers.

  • Ja
      20th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    thanku

  • Py
      15th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    Sir

    Today I saw your complient division and I want to make one complaient and some insurance bills are adding to my account which I rejected long back. If it so I am not going to paying to pay the same.Except the bank amount only I am goin to pay. I am not having phone number to make complient, so I am sending the information through you.
    My card Number is 5064685444186868 .
    So please do the needful help .

    Thanking you Sir.

    Yours truly

    P.Yoganandareddy
    Cell no; 9247818382

Post your comment