The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Saturn Vue and Ion / VTI TRANSMISSION

1 Canada Review updated:
Contact information:

Merchant Law Group filed a National Class Action Lawsuit On Behalf Of Saturn Vue and Ion Owners and Leasers Everywhere in Canada

I-Newswire (Press Release) - March 3, 2009 - by:Valerie Hall

All across Canada the rights of owners and leasers of Saturn cars having Vti transmissions are protected by the Saturn Vti Multi-jurisdictional Class Action Lawsuit against GM which is General Motors Corporation and General Motors of Canada Limited. If you are interested in joining the Saturn Vti Class Action it is important to add comments and details using the online form, explaining what happened when your vehicle's transmission failed and how Saturn and GM reacted.
http://www.merchantlaw.com/saturn.html

These Vti failures have necessitated evasive maneuvers to prevent rear end collisions, chain reaction accidents and loss of life. It is unconscionable that GM has neglected its responsibility to properly remedy the problem and instead has knowingly put the owners and their families back into defective vehicles needlessly and recklessly endangering their lives.

In the Statement of Claim for the Canadian Saturn Vti Class Action, the proposed grounds include alleged acts, omissions, wrong doings, and breaches of legal duties and obligations which were unfair and unconscionable business and trade practices and breached statutory warranties of fitness, acceptable quality, merchantability, and durability.

On Nov. 24, 2008 Merchant Law Group filed the Canadian Multi-jurisdictional Saturn Vti Class Action in Regina Saskatchewan for Saturn vehicles containing Vti Transmissions on behalf of current and former Canadian owners and leasers. Later in the same week it was filed in Montreal Quebec.This Saturn Vti Class Action Class Action is filed on behalf of first and subsequent owners and leasers, in all regions of Canada, who have suffered economic loss because of these multiple breakdowns and repairs. Many of them have suffered financial loss after trading in or selling Saturns with Vti transmissions. The filed Saturn Vti Class Action asks the Court to compensate Saturn Vti owners and leasers for this financial loss.

Between 2002 and 2005, GM manufactured, sold and distributed Saturns, including the [protected] Saturn Vue, and [protected] Saturn Ion ( "Saturns" ) containing Vti Transmissions. The plaintiffs allege that the Vti Transmissions were defective due to GM's defective design and negligent manufacture. Consequently they prematurely fail, making the vehicles inoperable, unsafe, and necessitating costly repairs. GM publicly acknowledged an unusually high failure rate on vehicles with the Vti Transmission. But it has not recalled the transmissions and replaced them with a strong chain to solve the problem.

The Vti Transmissions used a "continuously variable" transmission ( "CVT" ). Unlike conventional automatic transmissions, which use traditional gears to shift at a few fixed points, CVT's shift through the use of a belt or chain that runs through pulleys that move closer together or farther apart. Merchant Law Group alleges that the problem with Saturn Vti transmissions is that they use a weak belt and are prone to failure and therefore inherently defective.

In order to generate error codes, GM returns to customers cars with transmissions that have repeatedly stopped operating properly on highways at high-speed without warning, causing sudden and massive deceleration.

These Vti failures have necessitated evasive maneuvers to prevent rear end collisions, chain reaction accidents and loss of life. It is unconscionable that GM has neglected its responsibility to properly remedy the problem and instead has knowingly put the owners and their families back into defective vehicles needlessly and recklessly endangering their lives.

The Saturn vehicles lose power at random in town at intersections and elsewhere on public roads. The transmission failures create an enormous risk to human life, wherever Saturns having Vti transmissions are driven.

GM refuses to honour the new car power train warranty and extended warranty and fails to properly diagnose, repair and replace the defective vti transmissions with safe transmissions.

The plaintiffs allege that GM neglects the rights of the consumer to be warned about this allegedly defective and dangerous transmission. Withholding this important information prevents informed consent before the consumer enters into a new vehicle contract with GM Canada.

Owners and leasers have suffered economic loss because of these multiple breakdowns and repairs. In addition many of them have suffered monetary loss after trading in or selling Saturns with Vti transmissions. The filed Saturn Vti Class Action asks the Court to compensate them for this financial loss.

All owners and leaser who have experienced VTi transmission failure who want to participate in this Saturn Vti National Class Action are invited to provide comments and details which explain exactly what happened when their Saturn Vti transmission failed including a description of how Saturn and GM reacted. If you presently own, lease or in the past have owned or leased a Saturn vehicle with a Vti transmission that failed complete the online form at this link http://www.merchantlaw.com/saturn.html in order to assert your legal rights in this matter. For more information contact Merchant Law Group.

MERCHANT LAW GROUP LLP,
2401 Saskatchewan Drive
Regina, Saskatchewan
S4P 4H8

E.F. Anthony Merchant, Q.C.
Chief Counsel for the Plaintiffs
Telephone: [protected]
Facsimile: [protected],

Contact: Nicholas Robinson
mailto: nrobinson@merchantlaw.com
Counsel for the Plaintiffs
[protected]

Owen Falquero
Avocat de la plaignante
Pour le service en francais:
mailt:MONTREAL@MERCHANTLAW.COM
83 St. Paul Ouest
Montréal, Québec
H2Y 1Z1
Tel: [protected] ou [protected]
*Fax: [protected]
*Veuillez envoyer les fax à l'attention de Owen Falquero

http://www.cba.org/ClassActions/Class_2008/quebec/pdf/12-09-2008_GeneralMoters.pdf --

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • St
      18th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    I purchased a 2003 Saturn Vue with 74, 000km on it, from a used car dealer in Toronto. Right away we noticed a strange noise when braking or accelerating, upon taking it in to Motor City Saturn in Whitby we were told we needed a transmission fluid change. that remedied the problem for a short while, until one day during rush hour traffic my car just stopped moving, I was able to coast to the shoulder where my two young children and I waited for a tow truck. we had the car towed to Motor City, where we were told we needed a new transmission.at this point there was 130, 000km on the car. We were told that unless GM could help out we would be looking at a bill of around $7200.00. GM ended up "donating" the transmission bringing our bill down to $2000.00 but we were warned that by not paying full price we forfeit any more than a 90 day warranty, we took the deal thinking once the problem CTV transmission was fixed we would no longer have to worry about it. Well here we are 20, 000km and 5 months later and our Vue is back on blocks at Motor City. We are now waiting to see if GM is going to leave us stranded.
    Complaints Logo
    Latest Complaints News & Stories Tips & Tricks Questions Videos Images Recalls Groups Submit Complaint

    Recently Discussed Complaints
    1. (0 minutes ago)
    Thrash Aviation INC
    Shoppers Sweepstakes
    2. (0 minutes ago)
    My Grant Site
    Unauthorised charges
    3. (0 minutes ago)
    scent crafters
    bad return policy
    4. (1 minutes ago)
    google moneytree.com
    unspecified charges
    5. (1 minutes ago)
    Privacy Protection Plus
    Scam billing
    Consumer Tips & Tricks
    How to Plan for a Job Change – Unexpected or Otherwise How to Plan for a Job Change – Unexpected or Otherwise
    Save Money On Homeowners Insurance Save Money On Homeowners Insurance
    10 Tips: How to Triumph Over a Job Loss 10 Tips: How to Triumph Over a Job Loss
    Worst rating
    1. Bulldogs R US (-40)
    2. Acai Berry MyTrialSupport.com (-13)
    3. Grant Funding Search (-11)
    4. Planet DVD Store (-11)
    5. Google Success Kit (-10)
    6. Thrash Aviation INC (-10)
    7. Proflowers / Easy Saver 800-355-1837 (-9)
    8. FWM Laboratories (-9)
    9. support@grantmemberservices.com (-9)
    10. Easy Saver (-8)
    Subjects of Wide Speculation
    1. Bulldogs R US (239)
    This is a huge scam
    2. Acai Berry MyTrialSupport.com (64)
    Honesty
    3. Natures-Acai Berry (53)
    Unauthorized credit card charge
    4. Emillionaire Institute/kevin Got His Green (30)
    making $5000 on google from home
    5. FWM Laboratories (26)
    Unauthorized Charges and FRAUD
    6. JAZZWAY LTD (IPHONE 3G) (25)
    SCAMMED SUPPLIER
    7. KmartFeedback.com (18)
    $2500 gift card survey!
    8. caralluma extreme (17)
    unauthorized credit card charge
    9. EMillionaire.com (16)
    Goog income
    10. Secure Gas Redemption (15)
    A scam, can't get any response
    Latest News & Stories
    FTC Charges Seven Credit Repair Companies with Deceiving Consumers Throughout the U.S. FTC Charges Seven Credit Repair Companies with Deceiving Consumers Throughout the U.S.
    Beware of Stimulus Scams Beware of Stimulus Scams
    Consumers Concerned About Energy, But It’s Not Turning Into Action Consumers Concerned About Energy, But It’s Not Turning Into Action
    Stay Away
    1. Direct TV (28)
    2. Total Cleanse (23)
    3. My Grant Site (18)
    4. IDS Grant ONE Day (7)
    5. Acai Berry (41)
    6. Natures ACAI Berry (32)
    7. Grant One Day (34)
    8. American Express (6)
    9. Pure Acai Berry (16)
    10. Publisher Clearing House (2)
    Latest Questions
    How do I Update
    someone posted a complaint using my details and now company is threatening to sue
    How do they track e-mail for fraudulent activities?
    Why are people on her so emotional.
    TOO MUCH INFO ONLINE
    VoteAndDate.com

    Saturn Vue and Ion Complaints - VTI TRANSMISSION
    Review all Saturn Vue and Ion complaints
    Saturn Vue and Ion
    Posted: 2009-03-03 by Canadian Saturn Vti Class Action

    VTI TRANSMISSION
    Complaint Rating: 0 % with 0 votes
    Company information:
    General Motors Corporation and GM of Canada
    Canada
    http://www.merchantlaw.com/saturn.html
    Merchant Law Group filed a National Class Action Lawsuit On Behalf Of Saturn Vue and Ion Owners and Leasers Everywhere in Canada
    I-Newswire (Press Release) - March 3, 2009 - by:Valerie Hall
    All across Canada the rights of owners and leasers of Saturn cars having Vti transmissions are protected by the Saturn Vti Multi-jurisdictional Class Action Lawsuit against GM which is General Motors Corporation and General Motors of Canada Limited. If you are interested in joining the Saturn Vti Class Action it is important to add comments and details using the online form, explaining what happened when your vehicle's transmission failed and how Saturn and GM reacted.
    http://www.merchantlaw.com/saturn.html
    These Vti failures have necessitated evasive maneuvers to prevent rear end collisions, chain reaction accidents and loss of life. It is unconscionable that GM has neglected its responsibility to properly remedy the problem and instead has knowingly put the owners and their families back into defective vehicles needlessly and recklessly endangering their lives.
    In the Statement of Claim for the Canadian Saturn Vti Class Action, the proposed grounds include alleged acts, omissions, wrong doings, and breaches of legal duties and obligations which were unfair and unconscionable business and trade practices and breached statutory warranties of fitness, acceptable quality, merchantability, and durability.
    On Nov. 24, 2008 Merchant Law Group filed the Canadian Multi-jurisdictional Saturn Vti Class Action in Regina Saskatchewan for Saturn vehicles containing Vti Transmissions on behalf of current and former Canadian owners and leasers. Later in the same week it was filed in Montreal Quebec.This Saturn Vti Class Action Class Action is filed on behalf of first and subsequent owners and leasers, in all regions of Canada, who have suffered economic loss because of these multiple breakdowns and repairs. Many of them have suffered financial loss after trading in or selling Saturns with Vti transmissions. The filed Saturn Vti Class Action asks the Court to compensate Saturn Vti owners and leasers for this financial loss.
    Between 2002 and 2005, GM manufactured, sold and distributed Saturns, including the 2002-2005 Saturn Vue, and 2003-2004 Saturn Ion ( "Saturns" ) containing Vti Transmissions. The plaintiffs allege that the Vti Transmissions were defective due to GM's defective design and negligent manufacture. Consequently they prematurely fail, making the vehicles inoperable, unsafe, and necessitating costly repairs. GM publicly acknowledged an unusually high failure rate on vehicles with the Vti Transmission. But it has not recalled the transmissions and replaced them with a strong chain to solve the problem.
    The Vti Transmissions used a "continuously variable" transmission ( "CVT" ). Unlike conventional automatic transmissions, which use traditional gears to shift at a few fixed points, CVT's shift through the use of a belt or chain that runs through pulleys that move closer together or farther apart. Merchant Law Group alleges that the problem with Saturn Vti transmissions is that they use a weak belt and are prone to failure and therefore inherently defective.
    In order to generate error codes, GM returns to customers cars with transmissions that have repeatedly stopped operating properly on highways at high-speed without warning, causing sudden and massive deceleration.
    These Vti failures have necessitated evasive maneuvers to prevent rear end collisions, chain reaction accidents and loss of life. It is unconscionable that GM has neglected its responsibility to properly remedy the problem and instead has knowingly put the owners and their families back into defective vehicles needlessly and recklessly endangering their lives.
    The Saturn vehicles lose power at random in town at intersections and elsewhere on public roads. The transmission failures create an enormous risk to human life, wherever Saturns having Vti transmissions are driven.
    GM refuses to honour the new car power train warranty and extended warranty and fails to properly diagnose, repair and replace the defective vti transmissions with safe transmissions.
    The plaintiffs allege that GM neglects the rights of the consumer to be warned about this allegedly defective and dangerous transmission. Withholding this important information prevents informed consent before the consumer enters into a new vehicle contract with GM Canada.
    Owners and leasers have suffered economic loss because of these multiple breakdowns and repairs. In addition many of them have suffered monetary loss after trading in or selling Saturns with Vti transmissions. The filed Saturn Vti Class Action asks the Court to compensate them for this financial loss.
    All owners and leaser who have experienced VTi transmission failure who want to participate in this Saturn Vti National Class Action are invited to provide comments and details which explain exactly what happened when their Saturn Vti transmission failed including a description of how Saturn and GM reacted. If you presently own, lease or in the past have owned or leased a Saturn vehicle with a Vti transmission that failed complete the online form at this link http://www.merchantlaw.com/saturn.html in order to assert your legal rights in this matter. For more information contact Merchant Law Group.
    MERCHANT LAW GROUP LLP,
    2401 Saskatchewan Drive
    Regina, Saskatchewan
    S4P 4H8
    E.F. Anthony Merchant, Q.C.
    Chief Counsel for the Plaintiffs
    Telephone: ( 306 ) 359-7777
    Facsimile: ( 306 ) 522-3299,
    Contact: Nicholas Robinson
    mailto: nrobinson@merchantlaw.com
    Counsel for the Plaintiffs
    1-888-567-7777
    Owen Falquero
    Avocat de la plaignante
    Pour le service en francais:
    mailt:MONTREAL@MERCHANTLAW.COM
    83 St. Paul Ouest
    Montréal, Québec
    H2Y 1Z1
    Tel: (514) 842-7776 ou (514) 842-7776
    *Fax: (514) 842-8055
    *Veuillez envoyer les fax à l'attention de Owen Falquero
    http://www.cba.org/ClassActions/Class_2008/quebec/pdf/12-09-2008_GeneralMoters.pdf --
    [Complaint comments] Comments [Complaint country] Canada [Complaint category] Cars, Parts & Vehicles
    Share with others: Digg it! Del.ici.ous Furl Yahoo My Web
    Was the above complaint useful to you?
    Post your Comment
    Please check text spelling before submitting a comment

    Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
    Comment text
    Confirmation code



    add copmlaint Submit complaint
    Extra Features
    Register
    Videos
    Mechanic Scams
    Mechanic Scams
    More Videos

    Latest Groups
    Is John7777 Like The Ebola Virus
    Five Points Travel / Dreamworks Vacation / Vacation Club
    BAJA MOTORSPORTS.NET
    sell wow gold
    UNIONTELECOMUSA.COM
    Categories
    Airlines
    Arts & Humanities
    Books
    Building, Construction
    - Flooring Installation
    - Roofing
    Business & Finances
    - Banks
    - Scam & Fake Checks
    - Loans
    - Collections Agencies
    - Tax Services
    - Bad Business Partners
    - Credit Cards
    - Savings & Investments
    - Equipment Leasing & Financing
    Cars, Parts & Vehicles
    - Car Rental
    - Auto Insurance & Loan
    - Car Service Centers
    - Car Dealers
    - Gas Stations
    - Car Driving Schools
    - Towing
    Clothing, Shoes & Acc
    - Dry Cleaners & Laundry
    Computers & Accessories
    Consumer Electronics
    - Mobile & Cell Phones
    - Vacuum Cleaners
    - Washing Machines
    E-Shopping
    Education
    - Colleges and Universities
    - Schools
    - Driving Schools
    Entertainment
    Fake & Novelty ID
    Family & Relationships
    - Deadbeat Parents
    - Sexual Abuse
    - Online Dating Services
    Food
    Furniture
    - Mattresses
    Gambling Games
    Government & Police
    - Passport Services
    - Non-profit Organizations
    Health & Beauty
    - Health & Life Insurance
    - Plastic Surgery
    - Medical Negligence and Deficiency
    - Diet Products
    - Cosmetics
    - Dental Services
    - Vision, Glasses, Lenses
    - Drug Stores
    - Hair and Beauty Salons
    - Weight Loss Products and Programs
    - Beauty & Day Spas
    Home & Garden
    - Pool & Bath Services
    - Security Services
    - Appliances
    - Utility Services
    - Plumbing Services
    Hotels
    Internet Services
    - Hosting & Web Design
    - Internet Providers
    Jewelry & Watches
    Job & Career
    - Bullying and Harassment at Work
    - Work at Home
    - Employment Agencies
    - Employers
    - Employees
    Kids & Baby
    Law & Civil Rights
    - Lawyers and Attorneys
    Magazines & Newspapers
    Movement & Delivery
    Nature & Environment
    News & Media
    Online Scams
    - Lottery Scams
    - Ebay Scams
    - Alibaba Scams
    - Phishing
    - Online Surveys
    - Sweepstakes
    - PTC/PTR Sites
    Other
    Pets & Animals
    - Animal/Pet Hospitals
    - Cat Breeders
    - Dog Breeders
    Products & Services
    - Flowers Delivery
    - Photo Services
    - Department Stores
    - Cleaning Services / Laundry
    - Tobacco Products
    - Retail Stores
    Public Transportation & Taxi
    - Traffic Problems
    Real Estate
    - Mortgage Companies
    - Apartments Rental
    - Home Insurance
    - Timeshares
    - Condo and Home Owners Associations
    Restaurants & Bars
    - Fast Food Restaurants
    Scam Contests
    - SMS Scam Contests
    Society & Culture
    Software & Games
    Sports & Recreation
    - Fitness Centers
    Telecommunications
    - Mobile/Cellular Service Providers
    - International Calling Cards
    Telemarketing
    Travel & Vacations
    - Travel Agencies
    - Vacation Clubs
    TV, Music & Video
    - Satellite & Cable TV
    - DVD Order & Rental
    - Annoying Commercials
    - Movies
    Unauthorized Charges
    - Unauthorized Mobile Charges
    Unsolicited Phone Calls
    Wedding Services
    Suggest new category
    Smile upon Life :)
    A man walks into a hamburger shop and orders a regular meal...
    RSS Feed

    Submit Complaint | Consumer Tips & Tricks | News & Stories | Recalls | Groups | View full list of Companies | Updated Complaints | Suspicious Companies | Complaints by Countries | Indian Consumer Complaints Forum | Latest Complaints | Privacy Policy
    © 2009 Consumer Complaints Board
    If you have any constructive thoughts, creative ideas, or reasonable offers, please, contact us immediately via E-mail
    Site owners are not responsible for the information posted on this website


    Login

    Email:
    Password:

    Forgot your password?

  • Sh
      19th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    vue is junk

  • Ph
      23rd of Jun, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Our 2004 Saturn is experiencing transmission problems identical to the problems, which lead to the Class Action Lawsuit against GM / Saturn for Faulty Saturn Transmissions. The original lawsuit was limited to Saturns with the Vti Transmission. Our Saturn Dealership in Miami says our car does not have the Vti Transmission covered in the class action suit. They also say the transmission must be replaced.

    Here is our situation. The car is currently worth 8, 000 and we still owe GMAC $7, 700 in payments. Saturn of South Miami is telling us the new transmission will cost $4, 418.88. That leaves us in a very bad situation.

    I have done an extensive search on the Internet and found that there are many other Saturn owners all across the country in the same situation. Saturn transmissions are prematurely failing even if they are not the Vti transmission. This leads me to suggest this theory: I propose there might be a basic design flaw in the Saturn that may cause any transmission to prematurely fail and that the Vti transmissions failed first because (by Saturn’s own admission) it is the weakest transmission used in the Saturn Vue.

    P. Jackman Miami, FL

  • Jg
      14th of Oct, 2009
    0 Votes

    My 2003 is currently in the dealership which is closing end of month, my NEW transmission is going to cost 6200 and Saturn, nor GM is covering it, to top it off I'm unemployed and need to borrow the money since I don't know when I will find another job, so imagine, unemployed, without a car, needing a car to go on interviews, etc etc. And no one wants to take ownership of THEIR problem, this is the second transmission on my Saturn VUe, it only has 78k miles and I was told 'due to the age and the mileage we won't be able to offer you anything' the only thing they are offering me is a $1000. certificate toward a GM car...Now..amd I supposed to trust GM ever again?! Umm...I think not!! This situation has really left a bad taste in my mouth especially with the demise of Saturn and the lack of guarantee that this transmission won't go bonkers once again.

  • Va
      15th of Dec, 2010
    0 Votes

    I have a 2003 Vue that I gave to my daughter so that she would have a "reliable" vehicle while at college. We are at 75, 000 miles and getting ready for transmission number 4, none of which were covered by a warranty. We have been treated lower than dirt each time by the GM dealership. The last transmission left my daughter without a car for 2 weeks, this one they are saying a month. Would love to take it somewhere else, but they are the only game in town. I am really disappointed in GM and Saturn as they were supposed to be GM's "different kind of car company". Different doesn't always mean better. I would be willing to join a Class Action Suit in the US. I see that Canada already has one.

Post your comment