SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Santander Consumer USA / customer service

PO BOX 75266-0633, Dallas, TX, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 18882224227

Santander bought my car loan from another bank. Although payments were up to date there was a late fee from previous late payment. I tried to pay this twice, the second time it was done to their request (being certain time in the month, clearly labled "late fee") made multiple phone calls to resolve the issue of incorrect allocation of money that should have been put towards late fee. I submitted a request to have fund reallocated. My request was denied.
The disturbing part was the unprofessionalism - being put on infinte hold after asking for a supervisor, misrepresentation (as supervisors) when identifying themselves, and worst was updating my account contact information with their caller id... They called my friend's house (who previously allowed me to use her land line) looking for a payment - that was already paid!!! How unprofessional!!

Ta
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Wi
      5th of Mar, 2010

    I had sovereign and ever since this company (based in MEXICO) took over, I've had nothing but trouble. They send me bills saying I'm missing half a payment, my payoff is MORE than my remaining balance and just the other day I made a payment got the confirmation number and the next day they call telling me I didn't pay! Well thankfully I gave them the confirm # and they found it... BUT the rep set it to be processed the day after it would be 30 days late and it wouldve messed my credit up!!! They also charge late fees and NEVER apply them! I had to call several times before I got someone competent enough to apply them to my account. I'm going to reapply for this car loan with a different company ASAP! They're HORRIBLE and majority of the employees are GHETTO! NEVER USE THIS COMPANY!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
      20th of Apr, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - customer service/harrassment
    United States

    Santander Consumer USA now deals with Drive Financial accounts and its customers. This company needs to make an overhaul on their personel and review the laws in place that they as a company are to follow. They feel as though they can try to intimidate you regarding your account(s) to the point of harrassment. I had a represenattive tell me it had been a while since he spoke to me. So on this day he inquired about a payment, I was unable to make one. He went on to state that it is not possible that I do not have money in my possesion. I informed this man that he had no right to speak to me in any manner he felt fit. My monetary issues did not give him a permit to speak and treat me as if I was beneath him. I stated unless he was is in my household to not assume he knew anything about me. And he had the nerve to say that I was a liar because he could not believe I didn't have money in my pocket. And then they call more than seven times a day non-stop. When you provide them with the legal action in order to stop calling, they still won't stop with no regards for the laws that are in place to protect the consumer and allow them to do their job. They feel they can do what they want when they want with no feeling of consequences. This company needs to be sued for not following the law.

    0 Votes
  • Am
      20th of Apr, 2010

    About 6 months ago I obtained a new cell phone and new cell number under my mothers contract. The harrassing phone calls started a few months ago for a guy named Mark.They call atleast 8 times a day. I keep calling Santander Consumer U.S.A. back to tell them that they have the wrong person, but they still keep calling me and hanging up on me. These calls are harrassing and I had a few instances where the person I was talking to violently yelled at me to take on this debt. I do not owe anybody money and I wish these calls will stop. I have to check my voice mailbox everyday because I will have up to 5 voicemails a day telling me to " please call Santander back". Eventhough I have repeatedly told them that they have the wrong person, ..they still call and hang up on me every time I start talking to the representative. Sometimes they call back to back if I do not awnser. I have already threatened a lawsuit of harrassment but it does not help. I am ready to take action. I just want my cell phone to stay silent again.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      9th of May, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - hard to deal with!!!
    Santander usa AUTO LOAN
    United States

    Transition from hsbc has been a nightmare!!! Unable to contact through websites and get runaround by phone!!! However, they have no problem getting my money without proper authorization!!! I do not recommend anyione dealing with them electonically or you will most likely get into the same nightmare as i...

    0 Votes
  • Bb
      1st of Jun, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - terrrible customer service
    Santander Consumer USA
    United States

    My collector car loan with Sovereign Bank was acquired by Santander. These people are the worst customer service outfit you could be involved with. ALL my online account information is incorrect and they don't know how to fix it. Their customer service is over-seas and obviously was low bidder for the contract. They haven't been able to send monhtly statements or email notices so you have to remember to make your payment. And if you want to pay online or over the phone you are charged a significant service fee. Most of their loans come from dealers and other companies so be careful and find out who the loan is being placed with. If it is Santader... run away!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      2nd of Jun, 2010

    I had purchased a 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe and it was financed through what was formerly Drive Financial.I could not believe the harassing phone calls I received at all hours of the day. They would call 12 time per day with threatening to reposes the car when I was only a few days late. It wound up so bad that I had to take a payday loan out in order to pay off the charges they stated I incurred.
    I could not believe how ignorant the customer service reps were towards an individual. I was told that I was incurring $15 per day after the due date of my payment. I am now told that I owe over $2017 in late fees even though I was making-my payments. I spoke to one gentleman ( a manager ) and was told that I had until 6pm to make a payment of $1500 or they would repose the car that night. I told them come get it.
    I purchased the car in March of 2017 and three days after purchasing the vehicle the calls began to roll in questioning where my payment was. I said according to my contract my firs payment is not due until a month later, they said no and that when the threatening calls began. I am so ready to give this car back and say hell with this company and risk it on my credit due to the harassment.
    The car now sits in a shop with a faulty engine that was Hyundais fault and they took 3 weeks to tell me that they are willing to cover it under warranty. They refuse to help me out with a loaner so I had to ent a car to get my child back and forth to school due to a ankle injury. It just seems I can not win for anything with this car and this finance company. I would be most in favor of joining for a lawsuit on them.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
      2nd of Jun, 2010

    They actually were calling my neighbors homes looking for us. I was like how dare they. How humiliating is that calling my neighbors and my friends harassing and threatening them. Anyone know how to sue the [censor] out of this company?

    0 Votes
  • Li
      10th of Jun, 2010

    I made a payment late and had acquired late fees. The next two payments I made were almost $50.00 more than my normal payment, I figured this would be used to take care of the late fees. Next statement I get shows the late fees have not been paid off. I called and get the run around from them. Will not transfer you to a supervisor when you ask to speak with one. When and if you finally do get a supervisor on the phone they are unhelpful as well. They took over my loan two years ago, also without my knowledge, as seems to be the case with several of you, I am finding out. They took over my account three months before I left my job on maternity leave and then have since decided to be a stay at home mom. I did not know at the time how horrible this company is. I have since tried to refinance my loan with another company, but since I do not have a job myself, and have only my husbands income, not one of my own, no one will work with me. All I can say is I will never do a loan with them again, and recommend no one else does either. Look them up on the BBB Dallas website. (Dallas is the Santander HQ) As of June 7th 2017, their status with the BBB has been revoked to Not Rated and they are under investigation with the BBB. There were over 1000 complaints against them and were refusing to respond to initial inquiries from the BBB. Since I read that I too filed a complaint with the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      22nd of Jun, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - "work out referral"
    Santander consumer USA
    California
    Maryland
    United States

    My family has has been going through a tuff situation these past 6 months. To the point that my mother lost part of her eyesight and had to close down her beauty salon. Before we got behind in the car payments I spoke to a rep from santander consumer usa, we told him about our situation. I told him if we can work out a deal so my mom doesn't ruin her credit and that I am a part time worker/student. He never called back, but we did get a lot of calls from other reps and we had to keep repeating our situation over and over and over again. Looks like they dont have good rep skills, no good note taking. Last I spoke to a rep named "adriana" which assured me that I can just fill out the "work out referral" online, to make a payment, call back and ask for the link. I made a payment friday, called monday and a rep said I was not going to be approved when "adriana" reassured me. I asked to speak to her supervisor and she was rude, she said she's sorry but that I was not going to be able to lower the payments. Not anywhere on the site could I find that work out referral, thay rather have a loss and gain another vehicle.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      29th of Jul, 2010

    It seems I'm in the same boat as most of you. I had my car loan with HSBC Auto and then suddenly one day I'm getting calls from Santander. I fell behind on my car loan by 45 days due to being diagnosed with Leukemia and spending some time in the hospital. I have been dealing with Santander for about 4 months now. I am totally confused as to how they come up with the amount of money owed on my account. I made a payment every 60 days for 2 months straight and then made 2 payments within one month. From my calculations, I should be caught up. I went to the website and it showed I was 31 days past due, then a week later, it said 63 days past due. It also showed my normal payment amount and then over $2, 100 in "FEES". I have no idea what this is. To make matters worse, they continually call me at work. I have advised them that I cannot receive personal calls and to stop. I also said this was against the FDCA and I would file a complaint, yet they continue to call at work. I also get several calls a day on my cell. The last straw was they called my father last week. Oliver Davila told him that he was looking for me and left a number. He then asked my father if he was hiding my Jeep at his house. My father said "No, you can come check if you'd like". My father then called me upset and he has a heart condition. I called Santander and spoke with a Supervisor and told her I would be filing a complaint and to never call my father again and upset him. She informed me that my father must be lying because they would have never said that to him. I am at the end of my rope with these people. I will be taking the advice of others and filing complaints with the FTC, my attorney general, and my congressman. I urge all of you to do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      1st of Aug, 2010

    I have been paying my car loan with Drive Financial which is now Santander Consumer USA on time for almost 4 years. I fell behind on one car payment because of personal reasons in which I called Santander Consumer USA to inform them that I would be only making partial payment. AT first I asked for a deferment on my loan but they informed me that I was not eligible for one due to my account being in good standing. I made the partial payment as well as informed them that the remaining amount would be made by the end of the month along with the next months bill and the representative stated that she would document that information. The next day I got a call from Santander Consumer USA about my car loan and nicely informed the representative about the arrangement that I had made. I continued to get calls for the next 28 days about my car loan. I became very aggravated with the company and nicely instructed them to stop calling and harassing me about my car loan because I had already made arrangements and that I couldn't give them what I do not have. The representatives were very rude and nasty towards me and I asked to speak to the supervisor but everytime I did I was placed on hold or hung up on. They stated that they were trying to help me so my account would not be delinquent but if they were trying to help me then they would pay te additional amount or leave me alone and let me pay my car loan as arranged. Santander Consumer USA is the worst debtor I ever encountered and I hope that they pay for treating their customers the way that they do!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
      19th of Aug, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - they loose payments
    Santander Consumer USA
    United States

    I would not reccomend this company to anyone! If a dealership offers this to people that have fair-poor credit DONT use it! We had 3 occasions were they cashed checks and then NEVER posted them to the account all 3 times I had to fax in copies of the cashed checks and threaten them with an attorney to do anything! Very poor customer service!! Then when I traded the vehicle in they sent my overpayment to the dealership that we bought our different vehicle through! That dealership had never heard of any company doing that before!

    0 Votes
  • To
      20th of Sep, 2010

    Geminibaby...calling neighbors or relatives go leave a message is not illegal. I don't know your circumstance so I don't know if the calls were warranted, but this is legal and an attorney will tell you so.

    0 Votes
  • To
      20th of Sep, 2010

    First, I hope your leukemia is gone and stays gone forever. Second, it seems like they should go over the payment history with you to show you where they gef off saying you're behind. That being said, if Santander PURCHASED the loan paper then they are a first party collector and the FDCPA does not apply to then. They can call you at work as much as they please. They can also call your father to leave a message or for general inquiry. Now if Santander is only SERVICING the loan and HSBC is still the owner, then you can apply violations of FDCPA. They can still call your father but they cannot discuss the account with him unless you authorize it. If I were you, I'd send a written cease and desist letter to them indicating they are not to call. That should do the trick.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      22nd of Sep, 2010

    I called 'payment arrangements' for Citi Financial Auto and was shocked when I was transferred to Santander Consumer! I've NEVER heard of them before last week. 9/8/2017 I spoke to "Renaldo" asked to defer a payment. He said it was subject to "manager's approval" and tried to arrange an "alternate arrangement" with me. I insisted he pass it on to his manager, and he said to call back in 1-2 days. Appalled, I called back 2 days later 9/10/2017 and the woman I spoke with tried to arrange and "alternate arrangement" with me. I insisted on speaking with the manager whose name was "Carl". I explained to Carl that we are BOTH on LIMITED DISABILITY income, and we used the truck payment in an emergency to get BOTH Brakes and BOTH Rotors replaced. (Both brake pads turned out to be paper-thin rusty sheets!) He seemed to have trouble comprehending what I told him, although his English was excellent. To my dismay, Carl put me on 'hold' to 'see' if any deferrals were available. (As if it was a QUANTITY decision, when it was a matter of QUALITY customer service, which he was seemingly NOT TRAINED in!) He came back to the phone and told me there were NO deferrals available. He then tried to offer me the SAME
    "alternative arrangement" the previous 2 agents offered! **This "alternative arrangement" is to make the payment next month! This would be a "double payment" and it is impossible for someone like us on fixed income to accept!** (In thought to myself:) After telling Carl I can barely afford 1 payment, what makes him think I can afford 2 payments?? I let out a sigh, and informed him I did NOT like the "alternative arrangement." He said to "call closer to the due date" to make payment arrangements. (As if to get out of being flustered!)

    0 Votes
  • Ai
      23rd of Sep, 2010

    well i see all these bad things about santander and i had my car with city financial is there any way that i can make sure my payments go tru because i pay 450.00 a month and i struggle and work hard to pay it to have them mess with my money like that . if anybody knows a way i would really be granted [protected]@yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • He
      23rd of Sep, 2010

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FTC SO THAT SANTANDER CONSUMER USA CAN BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS GO TO: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov AND FILE YOUR COMPLAINT ASAP, IT ONLY TAKES 5 MINUTES THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • He
      23rd of Sep, 2010

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FTC SO THAT SANTANDER CONSUMER USA CAN BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS GO TO: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov AND FILE YOUR COMPLAINT ASAP, IT ONLY TAKES 5 MINUTES THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • He
      23rd of Sep, 2010

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FTC SO THAT SANTANDER CONSUMER USA CAN BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS GO TO: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov AND FILE YOUR COMPLAINT ASAP, IT ONLY TAKES 5 MINUTES THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • He
      23rd of Sep, 2010

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FTC SO THAT SANTANDER CONSUMER USA CAN BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS GO TO: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov AND FILE YOUR COMPLAINT ASAP, IT ONLY TAKES 5 MINUTES THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • He
      23rd of Sep, 2010

    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FTC SO THAT SANTANDER CONSUMER USA CAN BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR ACTIONS GO TO: https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov AND FILE YOUR COMPLAINT ASAP, IT ONLY TAKES 5 MINUTES THANK YOU!

    0 Votes
  • Td
      5th of Nov, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - liars/ frauds
    Teresa Driskill
    234 Thacker Ln
    Etowah
    Tennessee
    United States
    Phone: 423-263-4570

    I have never been involved with such a group of liars in my entire life.
    Santander Consumer USA, does not deserve to have the USA behind their name at all.
    They are as the crooks of olden times, smile in your face and stab your back with a smile.
    In my opinion every employee in that company should be ashamed to cash their paychecks,
    they agree with that companies policies. That is a sad state of affairs.
    I have been led on for over 26 days re a deferrment on my payment based on medical situation.
    Now, I find out, no there will be no deferrment..well...okay, but they knew this, 26 days ago.
    Had they just been honest with me and said "No, we are unable to do this", I would have said "thank you
    for your time and goodbye". But no, I was lied to, I was talked down to.
    I work hard at my job to pay these sub-humans their pay, as they surely slide/slime their way out of
    that building to their cars/homes.
    God has a way of taking care of his Children, I am a child of God, All Mighty, He will take this wrong and turn it
    around for His good, I know that, I trust my faith in God.
    So, Santander, you are not hurting me, you have brought God Almighty down to you.
    Stop lying to your customers, treat them with respect as human beings and bring your hearts to the altar
    for God.

    Thank you,

    Blessings,
    Teresa

    0 Votes
  • Do
      10th of Nov, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - terrible service
    Santander Consumer USA
    United States

    I had an account with Citifinancial and Santander Consumer took over the account. The service was horrible and one lady was nice in the beginning and i decided to tell the manager how good her service was...Well to my dismay she seem to careless about the compliment and hung up the phone. I was blown away. I had to make several calls to them and all i got was horrible service. I was beside my self and decided to 'REFINANCE' with a local credit union. I know have a lower finance rate from 12% with Citifinancial now to a 7% with the credit union and my credit score aint the best either. I have never been late on my car payment and i refused to give my hard earn money to these ridiculous, rude people. If you can get out...refinance your loan with another company who would appreciate your business. Im so Done with Santander.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      22nd of Nov, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - personal proerty
    Santander Consumer USA
    United States

    I got a loan for my car from hsbc. Hsbc sold my loan to santandar. I could not keep up the payments due to reduced income and my car was repo'd. When I called santandar to get my possions back, meka from santandar said I had to pay to get back my money and personal possitions. I told her I paid to retrieve my car but she said I had to pay for any personal possion I had left in the car and I had to pay for storage of the car which came out to $250.00 + the 500.00 I had in the car this come to a sum of 750.00 I will be out of. This is not including personal material I had in it. So in toltal to get my car back I will have paid $1650.00

    0 Votes
  • Ad
      7th of Dec, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - everything
    addy0531
    New Jersey
    United States

    Since this company was handed over to them from (Citiautofinancial) it has beena night mare.. From customer service to payments. Every time I tried to call them and ask why was I being charge a late fee for 4 months (Ever since I got them) which calculates to the 4 months late fees.. They put me on hold.. And when I tell them since you guys say you record every conversation then go back to the prior conversations and fights that I have had with your company.. I get no answer.. I hate this company now my nect step is the buissness buerue.. And see how they explain the late fees.. And how im getting charge additional 10.95 added to my account! Someone needs to do something about this company!! All they're doing is scamming us!! Pay attention people

    0 Votes
  • Ad
      7th of Dec, 2010

    (sand ta dare) santander could not agree more .. THESE PEOPLE ARE SCAMMERS . NASTY . EVERYTHING IN THE BOOK I NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH CITIAUTO. ONCE MY LOAN WAS TURNED OVER TO THIS PLACE ALL I HAVE AHD HAS BEEN HEADACHES AND NOONE COULD EVER HELP YOU!! AND EVERY SINCE THAT WHICH WAS 4 MONTHS AGO THERE HAS BEEN 10.95 ADDED TO MY ACCOUNT AND NOONE CAN EXPLAIN TO ME WHY!!! ALL MY PAYMENTS HAVE BEEN ON TIME SINCE DAY 1.. AND MY CAR PAYMENT IS 338.37 WHICH I ALWAYS SEND IN ROUNDED OFF TO 340.00 OR 345.00 NOW I RECIEVED A LETTER STATING THAT MY CAR PAYMENT IS NEVER PAID IN FULL THEY CLAIM I HAVE BEEN PAYING PARTIAL PAYMENTS .. EXCUSE ME: BUT HOW DO U FIGURE YOUR MATH! IT HAS BEEN 4 MONTHS OF PURE HELL WITH THESE PEOPLE .. AND I CANT EVEN GET TO SPEAK TO A SUPERVIOR CAUSE THEY TELL ME THERE IS NONE..HAHAHA.. I WISH I CAN CHANGE MY CAR LOAN TO SOMEONE ELSE !

    0 Votes
  • Al
      7th of Dec, 2010

    I am having the same problem (former Citi-Financial loan). The words "customer service" and Santander do not go together! I am trying to refinance and demanded a 10 day payoff, told it would be faxed to my credit union by 5pm that day, Thursday. Went to close on the new loan on the following Tuesday only to realize it was never faxed. Now they claim it can only be done online! HUH? Did their policy change from 2:30to 5pm that day? I refuse to pay these idiots one more dime! If they try to demand this months payment I will tell them I will see them in court! All this is after 3 unsuccessful previous attempts to get them to even send me my monthly statement and being hung up on as well. Ridiculous! I may be in the "owing" position but I'm still their customer, with a perfect payment record.

    0 Votes
  • Av
      10th of Dec, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - poor service, rude staff, harrassment
    Santander Consumer USA
    United States

    This had been a nightmare dealing with these people. My auto loan was sold to them by CitiFinancial and I've had nothing but trouble since. Today, I tried to make a payment and was told rather than the $438 that I tried to pay, I had to pay almost $700. After reading some of the complaints against this company, I guess I'm lucky they didn't accept my payment, who knows what would have happened if they got access to my bank account!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      11th of Dec, 2010

    This company is ridiculous. I am a former citfi client ~ they transfered my account I sent my payment to cifi not knowing these idiots took over my loan because no one notified me it took them two months to find my check and then I had been making payments on time and for some reason I'm either behind a month or late~ they also told me I could have a deferrment when I was laid off and then I called back and they said they don't offer deferremnets ...did the policy change in 24 hours. I tried to make a payment over the phone (everymonth this happens cause if u mail it is late) I wait on the phone for hours. Till I get a non speaking csr ~ who is rude and cannot get my account number to my checking. Correct after giving to him ten times ~ these people are the worst csr ever. I cannot wait to get my loan out of this hole. And. I just would like to say dundon could at least put lipstick on before he ####s us!

    0 Votes
  • Cd
      15th of Dec, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - loss check
    santander consumer usa
    North Carolina
    United States

    I submitted a payment via a check and no one seems to know where the check or the payment went. The amount of the check was taken out of my banking account. I was told I had to submitt a copy of the check for verification. I have faxed them this information 3 times and was told they have no way to verify that this was sent. The accounting department handles this and it is no way to get in touch with them AND I WILL HAVE TO WAIT until they get to it. This has been going on for 2 mths. Santander continue to call and harrass me for a payment and has threaten to repo my vehicle even thou they cant find a payment or have any interst in doing so. When i call to speak with someone about this issue everyone is so rude and obnoxious and not willing to help resolve the issue

    0 Votes
  • En
      17th of Dec, 2010
    Santander Consumer USA - harrassing phone calls
    United States

    I would like to join any class action law suit about this company. They are very harrassing and do not listen. I bought my car about 2 years ago I told them I lost my job. I asked them to lower the payment. I am now 4 months past due. They send the repo guy to my moms house and they drew guns on here. I got the car in California. I live in Nevada. This company just sucks at one time I had the money to make my payment but I asked myself why should I make a payment to a company like this. I plan on claiming bankruptcy when I get my taxes back. Screw you Santander let the tell me give my car back. You can threaten all you want with me but have you heard of a Sherriffs Title when the judge signs my bankruptcy the property that the car is on is a friend of mine he is gonna get a sherriffs title on the car. I win you lose. You are a company that screws consumers it is about time a consumer screws you. This stupid company has to get a warrent to get on my friends propery and then get a warrent to move their car. This company won't pay for it. I told the repo company I live in nevada the repo company said they can't get the car in nevada because they have to get a interstate transfer and that cost the repo company money. They are not willing to pay that money. Like I said any class action lawsuit with this company I wa nt to join email me info at [protected]@rocketmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Cu
      25th of Dec, 2010

    Chase sold my car loan (after three years with Chase) to Santander and I have had problems with them harassing with needless phone calls 5 days after the due date! Up to every hour! I have never been late on this car loan and from reading the comments I will really have to watch them for f+$#ing up my loan and credit. I think I will refinance just to get away from these ###.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
      6th of Jan, 2011

    I concur with you cause the same thing happened to me. There should be something that we can do about this company.

    0 Votes
  • Iz
      21st of Feb, 2011
    Santander Consumer USA - car loans
    United States

    We had a car loan from this agency. Right from the start, I received phone calls stating that my payments were behind, but I had made them on time from a credit union account. Santander said they never received them, even when I provided proof from my credit union that they had sent the payments. They repeatedly called my cell phone, references, and my employment even after telling them that I could not receive these kind of calls at work. I emailed them and sent a certified written letter. Please do not take out a loan with this agency- it is BAD NEWS!

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      22nd of Feb, 2011

    Send payments certified, return receipt. Costs about $5, but since these are scamming ###; it's well worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Go
      22nd of Feb, 2011
    Santander Consumer USA - paid for vehicle & they keep calling
    Santander Consumer USA
    Las Vegas
    Nevada
    United States

    I finanaced a 2017 mustang with santander consumer usa in january 2017; circumstances arose which allowed me to pay the remaining balance in november of the same year. I received the signed title and the completed contract in the mail a few weeks later. However, the payment center for santander consumer usa does not show that I paid for my car but the payoff center does. They call me daily and have sent me a notice that they intend to repossess my car. I have sent them copies of the check, the title, etc but they still call. I decided that I didn't want to take the chance of having that vehicle repo'd so I traded that car in on another one. This is the best part. The amount santander shows I would owe (If I actually did) four months later is less than what my payoff amount was in november. They are really screwed up!

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      22nd of Feb, 2011

    Sounds like they are screwed up, LOL dam that is funny! Not that it happened just Santander Consumer USA can't count or function properly.
    I would have let them repo the car then take action against them for being stupid, some companies will not change until they get burnned by their own actions.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      14th of Mar, 2011

    will you let me know how this went because i paid off my loan and the same thing has happend it has been a week we faxed them our infon

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      19th of Mar, 2011
    Santander Consumer USA - excellent company
    United States

    I don't know what the deal is with Santander. We went through a bankruptcy and Santander let us pick any car we wanted. Interest was low compared to other banks. We had a problem with the first payment(gave wrong info by mistake) and the payment was denied. We fell 3 days behind before we realized what happened. We got it figured out and Santander was EXCELLENT! They were very nice over the phone and even waived the $10.95 Processing fee. It's been six months now and have yet to have any problems with them. Everytime we call them with a question they are curtious and will try to answer your questions. My last auto loan was with M&T with a 720+ credit score and we had more problems with them than we have with Santander.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
      19th of Mar, 2011

    You must be on crack

    0 Votes

Post your comment