SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Rooms To Go / poor customer service

AL, United States Review updated:

My wife and I purchased a living room set last October upon moving into our new home. After a few short months the cushions in the sofa we purchased began to go flat as the stuffing was pushed to one side. When you sat on them you had to sit at an angle (totally unusable). So at this point I decide to call customer support and see about getting the issue fixed under their warranty program, all seemed well. Rooms To Go sent out a technician who verified the sofa was defective. To my delight he said the company would either repair or replace the sofa. Then started the waiting, a month went by, I called their support line again to be told that yes the sofa would be repaired when the parts came in. I was skeptical, how long does it take for cushions to ship? Nevertheless I waited, another month went by. This time I emailed them asking what was going on here is their response.

" Dear Christopher Reding,

Thank you for contacting Rooms To Go. In reviewing the order information, it shows that replacement parts have been placed in order to resolve the issue that you have reported. Once the parts are received from the manufacturer, you will be contacted by our service office to arrange for the parts to be installed. We apologize for this delay and any inconvenience that this may have caused.

Sincerely,
Customer Service
[protected]@roomstogo.com"


Seems nice enough, they "apologized" didn't they. Well my question is at what point does an apology fix my issue? I feel like I'm being given the run around and these people aren't going to do anything to help.

Lately we are seeing similar issues with the rest of the furniture we purchased from RTG. Safe to say I will never purchase anything from this establishment again. However in the meantime, I am now stuck with a sofa that I can't use but still have to pay for.

If anyone out ther knows the executive email addresses of the company I would be greatly appreciate you sharing in th comments. I'd like to send them a letter letting them know how their customer service, or lack there of, is failing to meet the needs of their customers needs.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Rooms To Go Customer Care's Response, Jul 27, 2016

    We're sorry to hear about your experience. Are you able to send us the details along with your order info to [protected]@Roomstogo.com?

Cr
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pe
      Sep 04, 2009

    Sounds like your cushion was coming from manufacturer. Doesn't sound like they were at any point rude to you. So you have to wait a little while? Every time you called they told you what was going on. Did they ever cuss? Did they ever hang up on you? Maybe you should say this is a complaint towards the manufacturer and not Rooms to Go which I am not an expert but maybe the manufacturer is in another country? Or maybe not...then again that is a long time to wait. Hope you get this resolved.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Feb 11, 2010

    I was recently at a rooms to go outlet and recieved the worst customer service ever. The week prior I purchased a bed and decided the following week to go and by the entertainment set to match. My sales person Shawn gave me a great deal on the top piece, so I asked to see what the enitre set would cost. Well... he discussed it over with the store manager Lewis to come up with a deal of 300 for the set. I was veru greatful and showed my gratitude by saying at least times this was a good deal for both pieces, and my sales person Shawn agreed. I get a few minutes down the road to recieve a call to say I was charged for only 1 piece and it was a mistake (after the deal was made and paid for) I went back to speak to Lewis who was very rude and said he was sorry for the miscommunication between he and the sales person! but it was nothing he could do for me as a returning customer in 1 week. I then began to negotiate I was willing to pay a little more . But he charged me the same price befor the first deal! I asked how could it go up. He said he could get more if he sold it as a whole and HE couldn't take that kind of lost! Keep in mind this is damaged or repo furniture. So what was the lost? And did they take this from his paycheck. I felt like I had been swindled, decieved and a unappreciated customer. I asked for corporates no. and he told the cashier in a nasty way "give her her refund and corporate's number like he didn't care if I called cause they would just ignore it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 11, 2010

    I see I am not along dealing with poor customer service at rooms to go. I spoke with Charlene Redish today who not provide me a supervisor as request and proceded to hang up on me. I called bacl and spoke with Vickey Wikens who said she was a supervisor. She informed me that there was notes of me cussing I denied this and ask her to play her recorded lines back - she advised me that sups are not recoreded. She told that I had cussed while talking to her per there notes. ( agreat slander cass in the making ) and I ask please provide example - she replied because I said I was pissed off. I informed her that is not cussing that is because I am mad at the rooms to gocustomer service. I also ask her for managment names - she refused and hung up on me. I was able to get the info here it is.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 07, 2011

    I wish I had done more research before buying from this company. In all my years of buying furniture - this has the worst experience ever. First off, I purchased a condo out-of-state and I was trying to furnish it and schedule the delivery on dates I would be in town. I ordered the mattress and sofa on-line - it was delivered on time and without any issues. I made several changes to the order - adding and removing items from order without any problems. The bedroom set that I wanted was back-ordered on-line, so I spoke with the salesperson I worked with in the store and he explained to me about the express delivery policy if the item was in stock, however, I needed to place the order in person - they could not take my credit card information over the phone. I arrange my next trip in order to place the order in person and get an express delivery. I ordered a sofa (out-of stock) and the bedroom set (dresser & mirror and bed (was told was) in-stock). The bedroom set shows up two days later in the wrong size. I wanted a king and he ordered the queen for me. Mistakes happen, I understand. No effort on this companies part to make up for their mistake. They left the queen size bed in my condo and told me to call customer service. Great - now I have a king mattress and a queen sized bed in a small condo. What the heck am I suppose to do with that? At the very least, take the bed back and bring me a frame to use in the meantime. I called the store a few days later, telling them I wanted to mattress protectors removed from the order. She rudlely tells me they were delivered with the bedroom set. I don't even have a freaking queen sized mattress and secondly, they were never delivered. The charges are still on my credit card. I would have just cancelled the bedroom set and the sleeper sofa at this point and purchased this somewhere else, however, if you don't cancel an in-store order within 48 hours - only 80% is refundable. The on-line cancellation policy is different - so beware! Poorest customer serivice I've ever experienced! Planning to file a complaint with the Attorney General's office if the charges aren't corrected on my credit card. Will make sure to tell everyone that crossed my path to stay clear of Rooms to Go!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Sep 07, 2011

    I’m sorry to hear about the problems you had with your order. If you can email us your order details to [protected]@roomstogo.com, we can then look further into your account to see if any options may still be available.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Sep 07, 2011

    In my experience, RTG is about as bad as the reviews I see about Ashley Furniture. I bought a bunk bed and chair for my son from them. Delivery was on time, but they did not assemble the chair or the bed correctly, and we had to take them apart and redo it. Fast forward a few months later, and the bunk bed is already falling apart and we need to buy a new one. My son only weighs 34 pounds. 34 pounds of weight should not damage a bed within a few months time.

    On top of that, they accidently overcharged us by several hundred dollars. They did refund it a few weeks later - but in a store credit. Their online customer service will help out, but they are limited in what they can do. I did contact them at the address Chad left in his comment, and that was the only way I was able to get anywhere, as the sales associates at the store itself were hard to contact.

    I would write my own review, but don't feel like it. :)

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      Mar 29, 2013

    Their home office is in Seffner, Florida. But they are masters at the run around.

    0 Votes
  • Sz
      Mar 07, 2014

    I had multiple problems with rooms to go!!! Started with brown leather that turned orange, then they said I could replace within 30 days. The set I wanted was discontinued, they couldn't help me. Husband went to a work meeting 3 hours away, and ended up finding the discontinued couch in a clearance store. So, he thought I will surprise my wife, and bought it, and they loaded it in his truck! They put 3 big gashes in the leather furniture, but never told him, he started driving home, but thought maybe he would check on the load, to find the big gashes!! He returned it right away. The manager called the next day to tell us, he got another one in the store, we said " we want it, but can you give us a deal on taking the damaged one, and the new one" ? It was a sectional by the way. He said yes, gave me the price, and I said I would call back, I just needed to check with my husband. He said well... i will give you an hour, because i need to put it on the show room floor. I called back 15 minutes later. The manager said " I hope your not calling me for the one set, because I just sold it!!! I also spoke to a guy named EVAN in customer service, that flat out told me he could not help me!! Isn't he suppose to service customers??? He was so rude as well!! Buyers beware of the ROOMS TO GO!!! What a headache!!! I have a picture attached to show the gashes on the couch from them miss handling. The other hash was by the footrest.

    0 Votes
  • Sz
      Mar 07, 2014

    Picture isn't attaching

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      Mar 10, 2014

    I worked for them in sales for a year and a half. They have canned responses. They do not care for customers at all. The positive responses you see on here most likely comes from them. They have people who do nothing except look for complaints on these sights and respond with positive comments like they are satisfied customers. These same people spy on employees Facebook pages and look for negative comments. Horribly, demeaning place to work. The sofa warranties are a joke but sales people are written up if they do not sell 90 percent on all sofa and chair sales. Surprised that the tech said that it was a factory problem. They get monthly bonuses for rejecting warranties. The stores used to get emails telling them how much these bonuses were each month. Now they just go to the managers.
    Sales people got upset when they found out that their customers were being conned.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Feb 27, 2016

    First & last purchase with Rooms To Go. Ordered 2 chase loungers for our new home. They delivered 1. We received a text a few hrs after the delivery guy left to let us know we could expect the other chase lounger in 2 weeks. I called the customer service department who told me there was not a truck in our delivery area until then (they are in Houston) (we are in Austin)...I highly doubt that...but, anyway, Rooms To Go delivery is terrible, please find what you want on-line and don't mess with these people. They have no desire to make the customer happy and an apology don't fix sitting on the floor! My goal this weekend is to find every complaint venue I can to post this to: Yelp, Rooms To Go complaint board, BBB, Planet Feed Back, Rooms To Go review, The Consumer's Voice, Consumer Affairs, scam report, My3Cents.com...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 15, 2016

    My couch was pulling in the corner behind the pillow. Rooms to Go replaced it with no problems. 3 months later, it is happening on the replacement couch. The tech from Rooms to Go just came and took pictures again...I really do not want this set. He said Rooms to Go will not refund my money.
    I don't want to buy anymore Crawford furniture! That's all they carry.
    Any suggestions?

    0 Votes
  • Di
      Jul 27, 2016

    I purchased a living room set in December of 2014, well now the sofa is coming apart I called the company and guess what they only have a 1 year warranty, and I was advised to contact someone that fixes furniture, I paid over 2000.00 for this set and now it is broken. The customer service is not helpful or friendly.

    0 Votes

Post your comment