SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Redboxunauthorized charges

1
A Review updated:

Redbox charged $83 dollars on my credit card but I returned the DVDs. They will not reverse the charge. I am hopping mad!

Responses

  • V
      Jun 24, 2009

    I started using redbox a couple of months ago. All was fine until one day I went to return a DVD and box where I rented was down. No big deal, came back the next day, still down, next day, same thing. I called redbox they told me that if I wanted to be credited for the three days I should have called sooner. I explained to them that this was the first time this had happened to me and I didn't know the procedure. Surely the could see that the box had been down all week. The customer service rep was rude and abrupt and told basically told me too bad. She refused to put me through to a manager. They just charged my card and as of now have not responded to three emails I have sent.

    Every company is great when they are making money and things are running well. It's how a company responds to a complaint that shows their true colors. Redbox failed miserably. I would strongly recommend that you do not give this company your credit card.

    0 Votes
  •   Aug 07, 2009

    This was the best thing since sliced bread or so I thought! I have been charged twice when i rented once. I have not been givin credit for codes entered. I cannot get through to a real breathing person. Do not bother with this machine It will ripp YOU off! Not to mention..the machines are filthy breeding grounds they are never cleaned off.that screen is always discusting! NETFLIX is the way to go. MUCH better selection and customer service-a few more bucks, but not in the long run.I am convinced redbox thinks people will not bother to argue the 1.06 charge because its not worth the effert. WHATEVER no more never again will i rent from this RIPPOFF MACHINE...neither should you...

    0 Votes
  • S
      Aug 10, 2009

    Get this, we have never ever rented a movie muchless through redbox. but somehow we got charged $2.15 and a month later we were charged $51.67. we are in the fun process of having this fixed. we have no idea how they would have gotten our debit number, but this is bad bad business.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Aug 25, 2009

    watch out for the time, I rent the DVD 11:30 the day before, return next day at 9:15 anh the total tim eI keep the DVD only 21hr 45 min, and they charge me
    for 2 day, the tricky when they email the reciep for me they only show charger only 1 day. but when i look in the bank account they charging 2 time . so becarefull with redbox ( ripofff )I never ren the movie
    at red box a gain

    0 Votes
  • A
      Aug 31, 2009

    The same thing happened to me. I've been trying to contact someone at Redbox but all I get is a recording stating that all circuits are currently busy.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Aug 31, 2009

    Me as well, except I have actually used them. I called my bank (Chase) and they have reversed the charges pending a investigation. The number did not work for me either.

    -1 Votes
  • M
      Sep 11, 2009

    I have rented maybe a dozen movies or so from Redbox over the past year, but just recently noticed what seemed like an excessive amount of $1.09 charges from Redbox on my debit card statement for the months of July and August. When I compared those charges to my e-mail receipts from Redbox, there were over 7 unauthorized charges. I also returned all of the movies on time, so I know that it can't be from late fees. It seems that the charges were just sporadic enough that someone unsuspecting (such as myself) wouldn't even notice the additional charges. I haven't been able to contact the company yet, but after reading some of the other complaints on this site, I've come to the conclusion that Redbox is intentionally making unauthorized charges on people's accounts with the hopes that the will not notice them. I will never rent from Redbox again!

    0 Votes
  • R
      Nov 06, 2009

    same thing happened to me today i also bank with Chase maybe they got hacked?

    0 Votes
  • C
      Nov 16, 2009

    Redbox charged me for a dvd I know that I returned. 26.95 and I know I won't be reimbursed for. Then they raised their prices from 1.00 to 2.00 plus tax, without notifying any-body. I did'nt know that was legal!!

    0 Votes
  • J
      Nov 24, 2009

    We are on thephone right now with redbox- they have no record of these charges... no record of us having an account - we just cancelled the cc card. Redbox is requesting we send them a copy of our bill...sorry i am not sending a cc invoice to so company that cannot even find a charge they made.

    0 Votes
  • K
      Jul 23, 2010

    I rented 1 movie from a Redbox in my area and returned it the next night. When I checked my Credit Statement it showed that Redox charged me $26.68 for the movie. I logged onto redbox website and looked at my account. It showed that the movie was returned. I called Redbox and asked why they billed my credit card for $26 bucks they said that they had a glitch in the system and some customers who rented a movie on 7/19 got chared for purchasing the movie. They agreed to refund my money but it would take 5 to 7 days. Come On!! They steal your money and you have to wait to get it back. Get this she also told me Redbox was also going to credit me $1.68 because they took the money out for a billing test. I'm not ever going to use Redbox again, I've been using Blockbusters express kiosk. They have the newer releases before Redbox but the down side is they don't have enough Kiosks in the area.

    0 Votes
  • R
      Aug 21, 2010

    The charges are for movies that you rent and clicked NO THANKS on the email field. It's your fault. Not RedBox's.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 22, 2010

    I rented a movie using a credit card that had nothing to do with the bank account. Redbox hit my checking account for over $60.00! That is crap!! I will never use that service again. Someone with access to their customer accounts is ripping everyone off.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 22, 2010

    Check with Coinstar. They own Redbox. They have over 60K locations. I'm going to try that avenue for reimbursement.

    +1 Votes
  • R
      Aug 24, 2010

    You're lying about the CSR not giving you a manager. We don't track supervisor calls so they wouldn't be punished or anything for it, and while a CSRs call is put to a supervisor, the CSR doesn't get any phone calls. Extra break? Why wouldn't he/she put you through?

    0 Votes
  • F
      Nov 20, 2010

    We are dealing with the same thing. We have been charged (on two separate occasions) $49.00 for DVD's that were returned the very next day. Not only was the 50 dollar charge an issue, but the resulting overdraft fees were worse. Redbox has offered to refund $20 of the total $230 they owe us. When I first spoke with them, they could not find any record of us ever renting from them. I spoke with a supervisor who finally found us and said all movies had been returned on time. Apparently, nobody really knows how to work their system. I will never throw money down the drain at redbox again. And I hope nobody else will either.

    0 Votes
  • G
      May 31, 2011

    I rented ONE video game from Redbox. It was returned. Two weeks later they charged my debit card and my husbands card $51.oo EACH! When I called for an explanation they could not figure out what we had rented and refuse to tell me what they think my husband rented, saying it was against the law?! They claimed they would send a technician and of course we have heard nothing back. $102.00 to rent one video game! NEVER USE REDBOX!!!

    0 Votes
  • C
      Dec 20, 2011

    Try working for them. They USED to be a great company. That was before CoinStar bought them out. They shafted their merchandisers till Hell wouldn't have it and they're still doing it. Promises made and broken, routes "reorganized, " meaning you'll wake up someday and find your income slashed by half or more. LOUSY company. If your'e thinking of working for them, think again. It's not worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Q
      Feb 14, 2013

    Redbox is a rip-off, to put it nicely. They have been charging my credit card for several addtional days, when in fact i returned the movies at the scheduled due time. I have CHARGES on my account every month for no less than 29.00 for no more than3 movies. When asked for my account to be investigated and to send me a copy off all movies i've rented and return, they replied, "NO", THEY WOULD NOT SEND THIS TO ME...grrr establishments like redbox needs to be shut down...

    LESSON LEARNED THE HARD WAY and expensive way...
    Sheila

    0 Votes
  • S
      Dec 28, 2013

    I've been using Red box for a few years now and never had a big problem. I've had movies not come out of the machine after I was billed, movies that wouldnt play, and kiosks that were down. I've had to buy a movie my dog got ahold of and had to pay numerous days when my husband forgot to return movies...all no big deal and either my fault or Red box made it right after the "lecture" from their CSR about needing to call asap.
    I own 2 businesses and work a full time 10hr day job and normally check my email while on the go...considering I get several emails a day from red box about new services or coupons or rentals and returns I don't really study their emails. I TRUST red box to do their job and check my movies in without fail when I spend the time in the freezing December weather to check my movies in at their outdoor kiosks.
    Yesterday I got an email that I was charged $53 for 2 movies not returned and today another email about an additional $53 and 2other movies!
    I called red box because all 4 movies were returned together and I have rented several others since then, considering the 5 rental at a time limit if I really had 4 unreturned I wouldn't be able to rent more than 1 at a time and that's not been the case.
    Red box states they have no record of the returns and could do me a "favor" and meet me halfway and only charge me half the charges, $53, for movies I DO NOT HAVE!!
    I am livid!!! For starters my account history shows I have no problem paying for what's my fault, and why a month later do I get charged when I've rented several since then without trouble.
    The icing on the cake?
    2 weeks ago I signed up for red box instant and downloaded the app to reserve movies, all 4 credits were used BC the app crashed so I called customer service, the lady looked into my account with the same cc number and email and gave me additional credits BC I in fact DID NOT have rentals out and the system glitches. I immediately canceled my membership BC I felt it was a bad idea, and continued to use the kiosk rental. This lady confirmed to me that my account had NO rentals at the time.
    SO PLEASE TELL ME WHO SCREWED UP? Obviously me for trusting a company to do its job and deliver service I could trust after putting my card on file with them.
    I will not use red box again and I will bash them every chance I get...I work in customer service and whenits obvious our system is messed up we fix the problem, and we certainly don't meet the customer halfway for our screwup!

    0 Votes
  • B
      Feb 11, 2014

    First if all Id like to say customer service representatives should speak clear english when you choose english from the phone options. I rented two dvds and a bluray from these crooks and they charged me 87 dollars. This was from a kiosk outside of a gas station which did NOT state the terms of use or length of rental. After two weeks they assumed i wasnt returning the movies and sent unauthorized charges to my credit card! I am beyond livid. Even after offering to return them they said theres no way to prove i returned them and refused to refund my money and offered me coupons instead. Its safe to say i will never rent anything from these ### again. Screw Redbox!

    +1 Votes
  • C
      Feb 01, 2016

    I recently Rented Movie from RedBox and they offered me free Game. As I returned Movie and Game after 9PM next day they charged by $6 ($3 for each day) for Game and charged me $4 ($2 each day). If Game is free for 1st day, how come they charge for 2nd day. When they say returnal period is 24 hours, how come they came with 9PM time. More crazy is, they don't even mention 9PM return time anywhere on receipts or rental box. If you talk to customer care, they say refer to "www.redbox.com/rentalterms ", without putting 9PM time on receipts they are looting people. I don't know why no one sued them yet.

    0 Votes

Post your comment