SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ray Ainsworth / Horse Training

1 Flora, MS, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I had seen this man on RFD tv and on a local station here in MS. Took two horses for him to train. The horses were to stay 1 month the 1st two weeks he would work with the horses and the last two weeks he would work with me and my horses. My horses were there 2 months and he worked with me and one of my horses 3 times. I paid this man $1, 400.00 and got nothing for my money. I spent many days driving the hour to check on my horses and he was not there, nor had he worked with my horses. This was very costly for me and I hope to save someone from this expense and dissapointment. This man came up with every excuse he could think of not to work my horses. Sick, out of town, <br />
son was sick...so on. I have talked with a few other people that have experienced similar treatment and some even worse. There is no place to write complaints on his web site. I trusted this man and really got burned.

Lo
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ma
      Jun 12, 2009

    That sawed off S.O.B! I know I won't be taking MY Horse to that man any time soon! I'd get my money back! That little sap sucker!!!
    I saw him once or twice, thought he was alright, but after reading this, ain't no way I would allow my horse on his property...

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Jun 12, 2009

    This man gives a bad name to horse trainers. He should have to reimburse the money. He put this lady and her horses at risk.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Jun 13, 2009

    I went out there once and all he could do was show us what HIS horse could do. Any horse can do what his can do if you work with that horse and ONLY that horse. Seems to me he only cares about HIS OWN horse. This Horse Whisper, or so he claims, is a joke. A man that talks to horses? Just who does he think he is? God!!!
    Give me a break; he's nothing more that a rip off artist.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Jun 13, 2009

    Poor Poor Louise... Boy what you could have done with that $1400. You probably could have hired a live in trainer for that. I am so glad I found this site because I heard he was a croc and I ain't talkin bout the plastic shoes either. Better luck next time. Oh yea Louise, can I hold a dollar!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dw
      Jun 13, 2009

    yeah, he rode up next to a buddy of mine and said shhhh, and after 10 seconds or so says, one of your horses back shoes is loose. my buddy (unimpressed), said, i believe he will be ok. then ray says again shhhhhh! 10 seconds or so goes by and he says no, he's LOST a shoe. my buddy says, well, i still believe he will be ok. at the end of the trail ride, that appaloosa had all 4 shoes (and not a loose one in the bunch). LOL

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Sep 19, 2009

    i am so glad to finally find somewhere to post my opinion and it goes without saying that i agree with these people i also sent a horse to ray for two months and just like everyone said he would do he ripped me off he had my horse two months and didnt do a thing with him he was actually worse than he was when i took him to him oh he is a really big talker but that was all it was he seemed more to me to want to impress the ladies i have since met horse trainers that dont have to do all the crazy arm waving and intimidating motions to a horse to get them to do what they want them to do and if you dont watch it he will convince you that you have a horse you cant do anything with only for him to wind up with it i honestly knew after my experience with him it was only a matter of time before his true colors shined through take it from someone who knows stay away from this man and keep your horse away from him you will only be sorry you did i look at my horse every day and see the things that stem from him i was warned about these type of people but only after it was too late dont take my word for it ever wonder why he is not on RFD anymore or his website is not updated anymore? i think it goes without saying

    +1 Votes
  • Ta
      Sep 19, 2009

    oh yeah dont let him fool you about him not wanting to call his so called arm extension a stick because he says it implies you are gonna hit something that may be so but he fails to tell you about the b b gun he has to pop them when they are not doing to suit them he will yell at them about the same time he pops them with a b b now is that the way you want your horse to be trained?

    +1 Votes
  • Rd
      Mar 05, 2010

    ray drove 100 mi.and helped me with my horse and did't charge me a dime thank you ray

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Mar 05, 2010

    I have helped thousands of horses and people and I guess that having only a couple of people that are unhappy is not a bad average. I tell people that I can fix their horse and if not it will not cost anything. I also tell them that I will teach them how to work their horse. I cannot promise them that they have the talent to keep the horse fixed. Even if they do have the talent they have to keep working with the horse the way I have taught them. If they do not the horse will go backwards. It is just like a child in school. They have to keep going to school to be able to learn what it takes to get a high school education. It is a shame that someone would write somthing like this and not be able to prove it.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Mar 05, 2010

    well, I drove a lot longer than 100 miles and he did nothing with my horse and I paid him dearly!
    maybe you got my money's worth...
    Good for you!

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Mar 05, 2010

    AND EZALL??? Do they still sponser him???????????

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Mar 06, 2010

    I have never worked with anyone named louise. But lets assume she is a client. I charge 700 a month. If you read her complaint she states that her horses stayed with me for 2 months. By her own words I did not charge her for at least 2 months. If this is the person I think it is I kept her horse for about 3months and I tryed to get her to come ride. She actually brought her freinds out to she how well her horses were doing and they were very impressed. It is a shame that someone like this can write this without the truth being told. I do have a long list of happy clients and anyone that would like to have this list is more than welcome to call them.

    -3 Votes
  • Lo
      Mar 06, 2010

    I would love for you to post a list of clients and a place for clients to post comments on your web site! $1400.00 got me nothing, nothing. Not to mention the fact that I was out there almost everyday and you were not there. Tell the truth now, for once in your life...try to, how many times did you ride my horses? Just be honest and stop trying to be something you are not, A SUPER STAR!

    +1 Votes
  • Dy
      Mar 06, 2010

    My experience with Ray and his instruction has been nothing but great. My niece is a 1D barrel racer. She has a mare that will not load without a battle and I mean a fight to the finish. Ray got the horse to load and unload with ease in less than 2 hours. His expertise has not only enhanced the horse's performance, but my niece's. One thing that really impressed me was how the horses relate to him and they remember...Jenny's horse is loading beautifully without incident every time. He also took the time to tell her that she needs to spend more quality time with the mare, just out in the pasture, walking, etc. She took this advise to heart and practices it as much as possible. It has made a great change in both of them.
    This was all at no charge, during the grueling heat of August. He also follows up with e-mails, etc. I've never been to his barn without calling and scheduling a time, and he's always there. But the key here is communication and planning, but nobody will ever be able to satisfy all the people all the time. Good job, Ray and thanks!

    +1 Votes
  • Le
      Mar 06, 2010

    Ray worked with my horse at a clinic last year and since then, the relationship I have with my horse is improved 100% - my gelding and I are both happy riding together, he is bit-less, he is responsive, and we both can relax while trail riding - the important aspect to remember with any training received is to be consistent and stay with it! I made a commitment to continue using the techniques as taught to me by Ray, and I couldn't be happier - would recommend Ray anytime, anyplace

    +1 Votes
  • Lo
      Mar 06, 2010

    No, the key here is when someone is paying you to do a job, then do it. If so, you should not have as many problems...there was no place to research for the results of his work when I first went there. I was taken by his sales ability and so were many others. Now, when I ask people about him most of them just laugh, but some say "yeah, I've heard of him". Now of course that is local to his home...so, those of you that are out of state or long distance, you should call some feed stores and try to find locals that have had experience with him. I just wish I had seen SOMETHING like this before I went there. At least I would have gotten what he said in writting. Check out /link removed/ Angie's list and any other source possible before making any dicision about a horse that you love and want to spend the time and money in training. There are reports now on Ray, but nothing was there when I went to him. However, even it someone had told me I don't think I would have believed them. I just trusted him, my bad.
    I am glad someone is having good results from him and maybe this will show him and others that word of mouth is the best advertisement! I wish the best for all horse owners!

    0 Votes
  • Ov
      Mar 10, 2010

    Skirt not short enough!

    -1 Votes
  • Je
      May 23, 2010

    Ray worked with my 14 year old daughter and her 3 year old quarter horse last year at the Mid West Horse Fair. He went above and beyond the hour time space, she was allowed. Every chance he got he was out in the Practice arena with her and her horse. Every thing he did to the horse in the hour long clinic worked and the horse went from a wild unmanageable horse to one that my daughter now can ride and enjoy. Every lesson that he gave my daughter she still does today from stretching her neck to stringent of ground work. We went there with the most uncontrollable horse, to one that my daughter could control and ride with out being bucked off. He did all this at no charge to us. He invited us to his farm in MS any time we wanted to come down from WI and said don't worry about a place to stay or food to eat. Just come with the willingness to learn and he would take care of the rest. So I think it depends on the horse owner and how much you are willing to listen and change and keep at what ever he has to say. As for him not sticking to his word; he stuck by it with my daughter and never once promised something he could not do. He said as long as you continue to do what I have taught you (my daughter) you will have a nice horse here. So far for over a year his teachings have worked..

    +2 Votes
  • Bv
      Jun 17, 2010

    I think both sides are being unfair to Ray. Ray, like many other “gentle” horse trainers, has the admirable ability to take a young horse which is not broke nor handled, and in less than an hour he can sit on the horse. Ray had my horse for two months, which was the estimated time he gave me to fix the problems. My horse had two problems. Ray did not fix either problem. I believe Ray is capable of fixing one of the problems for sure, but I reserve judgment on the second problem. I promised Ray two months and he got it. I can only speculate as to why the problems weren't fixed, but maybe he was too busy with other projects. That horse will never go back to Ray, but I would consider sending him another horse. As a horseman, I have a great deal of admiration for Ray’s abilities. I appreciate and respect his horsemanship skills. I believe Ray has the ability to start a young horse, teach a young horse, teach an older horse and give riding lessons. I believe he has the ability to fix many horse problems. I have referred numerous people to him and will continue to do so. Ray, like all horse trainers, must be evaluated on an individual basis. Ray is a salesman and he has the gift of gab. His flirtatious nature is a part of his sales pitch. Everyone with a horse is a potential client and $700 a month income to him, plus $25 per lesson for the owner. To believe otherwise is imprudent.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
      Jun 23, 2010

    I think everyone is entitled to their own opinion, and under First Amendment law, is allowed to express that. So, my opinion is this: this man is nothing more than a con man and a predator. I have spent a good deal of time around local horse shows and have not really heard anything positive about him. I have had the opportunity to meet him on a few occasions and was not impressed. I didn't see him do anything with a horse that any other "natural" trainer does. With the exception of the B B gun. I don't know of any legitimate horse trainer that would shoot a horse with any kind of gun as a means of correction. In fact, I'm quite certain that it would fall under the heading of animal cruelty, which is a felony in this state, punishable by jail time. Wonder what the Mississippi Animal Rescue League would think about him doing that? I also find it amusing that he laughs at and considers John Lyons, Pat Parelli and Craig Cameron a joke. However, I don't see any of them living in a single wide trailer in middle of nowhere Flora, MS on land that isn't even theirs. And ladies beware: several people have said that he told them that when a lady client says she is dissatisfied with his work it's only because he wouldn't go to bed with her. There is no way I would ever send one of my horses to this man, regardless of his ability. That would just be putting my horse and myself at risk.

    +1 Votes
  • Sk
      Jun 25, 2010

    I cant agree with the negitave statements about Ray i took both my horses to him with serious problems and he has corrected both of them in less than three weeks. I have never heard him in know way bad mouth another trainer or make comments about wommen. He as kept his personal life out of our conversations and has always been pleasent to be around. I have been on several teem sorts where he was sorting and have seen him going out of his way to help any one that needed help. I have used three orther so called trainers and belive that Ray Anisworth is the reel deal. THANKS RAY

    -2 Votes
  • An
      Jul 05, 2010

    I do not know much about this so called trainer, I have met him only once when I went with the co-owner of my horse to see what he had done to fix my horse's problem. Within 2 hours of being there watching him work with my horse I saw Ray exploit everything that my horse knew, whether it was natural abilities or taught to him by another trainer and claim that he taught all of these things to my horse in 30 days when he obviously did not. Out of all these exploitations the one that most amused me was when I received looks of disgust and anger at my lack of enthusiasm when he looked at me and said " bet you never thought you would ever meet someone who could get you horse to walk" with my response being "I have never had a problem getting him to walk" granted my horse loves to shuffle but he has always slowed to a walk when I asked him to do so. Ray's riding abilities were not at a level that I would have expected from a horse trainer. His riding and training abilities are more in line with those of a very basic beginner trainer. That is, he can break a horse, but did not display anything to me that would show his ability to train any horse beyond the initial breaking, which should take no more than two weeks if you want to be generous. So the bottom line is that not only did he not fix the problem with my horse that he was supposed to fix, but my horse came home with a larger problem that he did not have when he went there. He hired a teenager to ride horses for him, and Ray was told not to allow her to ride my horse, due to my observation of her mediocre at best riding skills. This request was made not only to keep an unskilled rider off my horse but to insure the safety of the girl and my horse. Yet he went against my request and had her ride my horse anyway. Paying $700 a month was to have the TRAINER (Ray) ride my horse and correct a problem, and not to have a teenager or anyone else on my horse. So finally the fact that Ray received 1400 dollars to fix 2 problems and instead he exploited other peoples work and said he did it himself, which even if he did he neglected to fix the issues that he was paid to fix. So if you want very limited work done with your horse and yourself, Ray may be right for you but if you need any kind of detailed training for any riding style or specifics I would suggest finding someone else because in my opinion you would be wasting your time and money.

    +1 Votes
  • Ri
      Jul 14, 2010

    My husband, daughter and I have been to Ray's barn numerous times, we were there when this person brought her horse there, she could not even lead it without problems. Maybe if she had gone to the barn to RIDE she might have better resutlts. It was my observation that the horse became too advanced for her.
    Most trainers have someone that rides for them. If you don't like the way a trainer is working with you or your horse-LEAVE! Why would you stay there if you aren't happy, I have always heard Ray tell people if you aren't happy-tell me, if you are happy tell someone else.
    And.. "the teenager with the mediocore riding skills" she can outride this person any day! If she is unhappy with Ray, why does she want to attack the "teenager" riding for him-isn't that a bit low? I think there is a bit of jealousy here. The" teenager" has numerous awards and belt buckles she has won at local rodeos and DRTPA, how may has this person won?
    If she is so unhappy with the progress her horse was making, why did she bring another one up there??

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 14, 2010

    I brought a horse to Ray that was a monster when you tried to touch his ears after I picked him up from another trainer. Well that's the story I told I told Ray at least, but that was not the true story. In fact this horse was referred to as "that crazy grey horse" by anyone who ever saw him. Touching his ears was impossible simply because you couldn't get anywhere near his head without him rearing up, pawing and lunging at you. Not to mention he would rear up when asked to stop if he did actually stop, he carried his head straight up in the air, he spooked at everything, and it took an act of congress to get him caught. Catch this horse in a pasture? No way!! In his stall? ha that would be called a life risking adventure! This horse was truly dangerous as pointed out by numerous people. Ray said he could fix him. I doubted he would be able to fix this horse, but brought him anyway considering I didn't know what else to do with him other than run him through a sale and hope he didn't kill anyone. Ray evaluated him in the round pen and quickly discovered that what I said was the problem was a MAJOR understatement. After working with him about 45 min he was able to touch his head and his ears and even put a bridle on him. I was thoroughly amazed! I couldn't believe the change in my horse. So you think the story ends here? Nope! I was going to just take him home and hope I didn't have anymore problems. Ray had other plans, he said he could fix my horse, which he did, but he knew once I took him home the problem would reemerge due to the fact I didn't know how to keep him that way. He said to leave him at the barn and start coming out in the evenings and he would start teaching me to keep my horse fixed. Well, my dad had recently lost his job and my mom only worked part time, there was no way I could afford to have my horse stay at his barn. He told my parents not to worry about it. It wasn't about the money he could make off fixing my horse it was about the fact that not only could he make my horse safe for me but he could teach me to not only keep my horse correct but also have the knowledge to work through similar problems with other horses. Not only did Ray fix the one problem I told him about he also fixed the myriad of problems he found as he evaluated my horse. He not only told me what he could do, he told me what I could do. It's not that he and only he can fix you're horse, he can teach you to do the same. Granted it took time and effort on my behalf, but it was totally worth it. Now, this horse can't be bought. Previously, I would have begged someone to just take this horse out of my pasture and take him to where I would never see him again. Now, I have taken him trail riding in a HALTER!! I can do anything with my horse now. He went from being a terror to one of the best horses I have ever had. He is now a true all around horse. I have learned how to listen to my horse and get nothing but pleasing results. So in conclusion, I guess I could complain that now everywhere I take my horse I have people constantly confronting me asking me if I got a new horse. I get to smile and reply that no I simply learned how to fix the old one. Thanks Ray!

    0 Votes
  • Ss
      Jul 15, 2010

    The whole point of this board is to make a complaint or say something positive about the services of a particular business or
    person. This is not a place to be bashing people who have had a negative or positive experience with that business or person. As I have stated before, I believe everyone is entitled to their own opinion. However, Ridersmom, you are completely out of line by making a post that does nothing but degrade someone who does not share the same viewpoint as you. You say that you have had good results with Ray; good for you. I believe that you are in the minority, but it's good to know that not everyone feels cheated by this man. Just because things have gone well for you does not mean that they have for everyone else. I think, though, that if you were to really ask around at horse shows, feed stores and even local vet suppliers, you would find he does not have a very good reputation. If you do decide to do that, listen to what they have to say without being prejudiced. As the old saying goes, where there's smoke, there's fire

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jul 15, 2010

    First off, ridersmomII, you just made a fool of yoursel[censored] I am not a “she” please get your facts straight! You need to re-read or get someone who can comprehend to explain to you what I wrote. As far as I know you have never seen me ride, so DO NOT say who can outride me!!! I was not insulting the teenager’s riding skills. She can ride a trained horse and she a good seat on a horse, but she exhibited no further horsemanship skills to me. I said I did not want her to ride MY horse!!! Like most other trainer’s riding employees, she may be on a high school equestrian team, and may have a college scholarship for an equestrian team, but that is BESIDE THE POINT!!! It is MY HORSE and I don’t want her riding MY HORSE!!! Ray was not being paid $700 a month to put a teenager on my horse. If the choice had been to have a teenager ride my horse, he would have been with a teenage rider we know who rides trail horses, barrel racing horses and race horses, exhibits well rounded riding, understanding and horsemanship skills.

    Just so you are aware, I have won belt buckles and money in the DRTPA and as a 16 year old was rated #2 in 4 shows and stopped due to horse injury. I TRAINED this horse to team pen, and he was blind in one eye. I never sat on a barrel horse until first week August 2005, rode my first NBHA barrel show Saturday 8/27/05. Won 1st place Open 4D. In 4 NBHA shows qualified for Open 4D finals in Augusta, GA. Only new rider to qualify. This on a horse whose fastest time when I bought him was over 19 seconds. I was running 16 seconds on him and had not completely opened him up. In 4 months, I advanced to a 1D horse and placed in NBHA shows before I had to stop riding due to my career choice. I have also been offered numerous jobs riding for trainers.

    FACTS: I have met Ray one (1) time. I did not take my horse to Ray – my co-owner took my horse. I did not want Ray or any other trainer working with the horse as he had been to 4 previous trainers. The horse is very dominant with a lot of piss and vinegar. I could ride the horse without a problem – my co-owner wanted to ride the horse where she could control him. I saw Ray ride my horse and did not like what I saw. Ray rode my horse with a very savage bit, jerked in his mouth, jerked him to a stop, could not sit in the middle of the saddle and was completely off balance. I observed the teenager riding, and she is a great and fantastic rider compared to Ray. I did not like the idea of either one of them sitting on my horse. This was at 30 days. I was unaware (I live out of state) until after the next 30 days, my co-owner had taken my horse back to Ray!! She was sold on the fact that Ray’s idea would work – which it would if Ray had enough knowledge to have known how to carry it out – that is the entire problem!!! So to put things in laymen’s terms for the teenager’s mother, not once did I downgrade your daughter, I was downgrading RAY’s ability to train/ride a horse. My advice for you though is unless you want your daughter to regress as a rider I would get her away from RAY seeing as he can do nothing for her except drag her down.

    My horse was very well trained before Ray ever saw him. He could spin both ways, slide, side pass, back up, stand still, lead, etc. His 2nd trainer suggested sending him to a reining trainer. His dominance and no respect for the rider until earned and charging and not coming off cattle was his problem. Just so everyone knows though RAY’s way of gaining respect of a horse ( AKA: BB gun, extremely harsh bit even only at a walk) is beyond incorrect. My horse went to Ray to fix 2 problems. My horse left there with the SAME 2 problems that RAY was paid to fix PLUS 1 more problem. This is mainly to due to RAY just not knowing any better. So the fact of the matter is for the $1400 all we actually paid for was an additional problem!!!

    Ray could be outstanding for ground work problems as reported, but horseback, his skills rapidly decline.

    After 30 days with a different trainer working as an advisor, the horse and my co-owner have done really good. I’ve not seen the results yet, but I am told by a lot of people (who actually know what they are talking about) that there is a big difference. Both the original 2 problems plus the new problem are being worked on. Lots of people, even those who don’t ride, have made comments to both the trainer and co-owner of my horse about the unbelievable difference that has occurred in 30 days with both of them. Maybe ridersmomII is right though – I think there is a bit of jealousy here.

    Knowing what to do to train a horse or correct a problem is only part of the solution. The trainer must know how to apply what he knows, otherwise it is worse than useless because the trainer will cause more problems. Case in point.

    0 Votes
  • Bv
      Jul 17, 2010

    Much detail and data is not and will not be conveyed in my remarks. My original comments were made while I still had the frame of mind that Ray was a legitimate horseman. In light of the facts which have presented themselves over the past few weeks, and I find utterly astonishing, I have forever changed my opinion about Ray in every facet of the imagination!

    UPDATE 30 DAYS WORKING WITH AN EQUINE ADVISOR: My horse went to another trainer who agreed to work in an advisory role and teach me to get the respect of my horse and be able to control and ride him correctly. First thing, my horse had a NEW problem (in addition to his original 2) which he did not have before he went to Ray’s. I am learning to ride correctly, keep my horse correct and collected and to recognize any errors which may occur. I’ve been to 3 shows (ranch sorting), 1st one the day we went to new trainer; 2nd one 2 weeks later; 3rd one 2 weeks after that. At our 3rd show we had the second fastest time in the Open class. My horse went exactly where I told him without arguing, he did not pick his own cows, he came off of cows as asked, he stayed collected, and I was sitting in my saddle, relaxed as I should be. My trainer/advisor and I both received numerous comments and compliments on my riding and how well my horse worked – not only that day but 5 days later still receiving them. The progress that can actually be made in 30 days when one works with a trainer whose goal is to teach you to ride and communicate with your horse is astronomical – as I am a testament to. The difference in my riding is so dramatic, even those who do not ride were telling me they could not believe the improvements in 30 days.

    I am now receiving from another trainer what Ray Ainsworth sold me and was paid to do. I knew Ray’s concept was correct, however it was not until after I picked my horse up at 60 days and began working with my horse that I realized, Ray has no idea how to implement any idea he had with my horse or myself.

    In my opinion, Ray Ainsworth is most likely exceptional when ground work is involved. From my experience, his potential of excellence has been reached once the horse has surpassed very basic beginning stages of training. I did not realize upon my arrival that my horse was already far surpassed Ray’s capabilities and level of expertise.

    The praise, adulation and worship extended to Ray by some writers on this site borderlines on idolatry connotations and I find that disturbing. As a horse trainer, he deserves neither God-like worship nor trodden on by the worst [censor] of Satan. He has in fact helped some horses. He has also NOT helped some horses. The percentage either way I don’t know, but ignoring one side (and calling people liars!!??) does not mean it is nonexistent. Allowing oneself to be used as a pawn in a game is not only reprehensible but self-destructive.

    I truly regret I did not listen to wise counsel offered me in the budding stages of my association with Ray, before I took my horse to him. I am answerable and accept responsibility for my closed mindedness. God gives us all volition. For those who are presented Truth and refuse to accept, that is your volition. Happy trails!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bv
      Jul 18, 2010

    interesting comments on this site: http://local.yahoo.com/info-35402503-ray-ainsworth-the-man-horses-flora

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      May 17, 2011

    Unfortunately these so called "natural trainers" forget to inform the public that horsemanship is not learned in a book or video anymore than playing the guitar or riding a bike. Riding is a "motor skill" that you can "only" learn by riding. Not a few hours at the rental ranch, but hours upon hours of riding, with knowledgeable horse people helping you along the way. If you can't ride a walk, trot, canter completely bareback without clutching (hanging on with your legs wrapped around his belly) or grabbing mane, you are no where near ready to break a horse because you have no balance.

    If you can't see that a horse in limping due to injury, ill fitted tack, or fatigue without you vet telling you. Then you do not have an "eye" for what your horse is communicating to you therefore you are not ready to be training horses. If you have never trained under a professional trainer and have not been riding several disciplines such as western, pleasure, equitation, english, dressage, reining, or roping so that you know why to use certain bits, bridles, leg pressure, and know "exactly" what discipline you are training your horse in, and for? You could danger your horse, yourself, and anyone that comes in contact with that horse.

    Good for you your using a trainer!

    Your trainer should have all of these skills or "they" are in no condition to "train" anything, and learned it all from videos and books too! There is "no" substitution for experience. None! Even if a person is successful a few times. They 1. got lucky 2. Had a horse/es with amazing temperaments to start 3. Have some idea of what their doing but still are putting it all together themselves.

    Beware of the "so called" horse whispers. There are no short cuts for solid, educated, and informed trainers for you, or your horse. (Opinion of a 40 plus year horsewoman who rode at Fox Field Academy for english. Worked under Perelli (before he became a famous jerk) for horsemanship. Trained at Dave Rhodes in Arizona for western pleasure, and reining, and rode her horse bareback from ages 9 to 17 over jumps, through water, up mountains till she dug in like a tick.

    And no, I do not consider myself a "trainer" because I rode all my life. It's one thing to bridle, saddle, and ride a single horse at a time, its a whole nother level to bridal, saddle, and school and be schooled on six or more horses a day for years, and years which is what it takes to become a "trainer".

    0 Votes
  • La
      Nov 27, 2012

    I disagree totally just saying. I know ray and he is a good guy he wounldn't intentionally do that. So just chill

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Dec 01, 2012

    I am astonished at the bad comments about Ray. He has worked miracles with my horses., often without charging us for all of his time. Before Ray, I had been thrown three times, and the stable hands would not touch my horses, not even to put them to pastures. I had to tend to them and they often ran over me. My riding friends have now told me they they were terrified for me every time I saddled up. Even the Vet did not like to treat them. NOW, after a few months with Ray, a miracle has occurred. The horses transformation has been amazing. I would Highly recomend Ray to anyone. However, you must remember that YOU must learn to work and continue to work with your horse. I had to be taught also. Even my husband, who has ridden for over 40 years, believes in Ray's teaching and it has changed his whole approach to riding. Riders at the barn where we board now want Ray to work with them. They have seen the changes in my horses and they are astounded. I once had terrified, spooky, and dangerous horses. Now, I have gentle companions that are a delight to trail ride! Thanks Ray!

    0 Votes
  • La
      Dec 03, 2012

    I was surprised about all the bad comments when i got to this website.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
      Jul 21, 2014

    I knew Ray in 1978 and he did not even ride a horse. He did not own a horse and surely did not train anything. He did however have several different jobs that he was terminated from . I think he was a little dishonest to say the least. I knew him well in addition to his whole family . Please beware he is a crook.

    +3 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 24, 2015

    I just came from watching him at the Grand opening of our Farm and Fleet here in Clinton Iowa. Not impressed at all. After years of working with horses of all ages I saw a man I don't agree with. His poking with his so called extended arm was alarming. One black young horse he was working with, if I dare say working with. Was clearly submissive to him yet still got poked and asked to stay out of Rays space. This horse was soon confused. When a horse is submissive to you. It is then he, the horse is giving you his trust. A trust you earned. I was appalled and soon left this farce of demonstration. After speaking to some of the individuals who had their horses there. I was convinced that they were unhappy and not impressed at all.

    +3 Votes
  • An
      Oct 25, 2015

    I emailed Ray asking for advice about a ground work issue (ear shyness/clipping) with my horse. He volunteered to come to my farm and work with her. Within 20 minutes, he achieved what others couldn't even with the help of sedation.

    I have no opinion on other aspects of his training, but what I saw as far as ground work was fair to the horse. He effectively communicated and communicated to me as a handler on how to continue her education and training.

    He didn't ask for a dime, which is great because as a very broke, graduated grad student, my pockets are often empty, especially with horses involved.

    I think take things with a grain of salt. As I've become more involved in the horse community, I've realized there are always two sides to every coin. I will say, that generally, it's hard sending horses to trainers that are on the road a lot, whether showing or doing clinics, because there is often a lack of consistency. Any major barn almost always has an assistant riding horses. This holds for all disciplines.

    My experience was positive and I am grateful for the help.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 29, 2019

    Beware this man is a phony and pure con artist. He is very charming and convincing when you meet him. He can do problem solving with a horse, but that's where his abilities end. He will take your horse and show you that he can saddle it and get it to walk in a round pen. He will con you out of thousands of dollars to get your horse started and never spend any time with it until just before you pick it up from him. He tells stories about taking his horse to the World in Reining, he even wheres the belt buckle to convince you. He sent that mare to a trainer that did all the training and showing of her. He weaseled me out of thousand of dollars to bred 3 of my young horses, that we cannot trust to saddle and ride, even in a pen. Beware females if you have money, you will be his next victim!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Jun 17, 2019

    I guess Shelby Ray Ainsworth THE MAN HORSES TALK TO moved his scams and deception north after he wore out his welcome in the south. HE HAS NO CLIENTS OR FOLLOWERS DOWN THERE. I spent plenty of $$$ on him with the promise of having some horses started and safe to ride. He did little to nothing with my young horses. I have since taken them to a couple reputable trainers where my suspicions were confirmed, the young horses knew little to nothing. He did manage to scam me out of plenty of money in the process. Many thousands. He even stole from me. I was contacted by people in his past friends and family alike who told me to Run!!! He is a Charming/Convincing/Lying Con Man who will do anything or use anybody for his own gain primarily Money. The things I have learned about him are horrifying at best. He had my horses in his care supposedly on winter pasture for a few months. When was finally able to pick them up after needing to get assistance and be accompanied by police to get them. I found them in a dry hard dirt lot with No hay or water available! It was 93 degrees Hot humid at noon. The very small paddock was made of broken hanging wires and broken boards with nails protruding out.
    All the mares were showing every rib, they were all ganted and sucked in from a lack of food and water.
    YES, this is the man that cares about horses???? It mad me Sick when I found them. I'm putting this out there as a Warning. Do your research on him. He is not the man he tells you about in all of his many sincere righteous holy stories. They are just that Make Believe Stories!
    Contact Hinds County Sheriffs Dept. there is no record of him every being a Deputy there. I could go On and On. He's not what he portrays himself to be.

    0 Votes

Post your comment