SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Purolator Canada / ridiculous policies - or incompetent employees?

43 Tank Farm Road, Belleville, ON, Canada Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: they don't have one

For a company that offers speedy service and presumed professional behaviour, I am incredibly displeased with my recent encounter with Purolator. After ordering a computer online about four days ago, I will admit that the package came to my house fairly quickly, arriving yesterday. Problem #1: Purolator only delivers between peak business hours, when most people are at work and not at home to receive the package. Problem #2: I live in a rural area where the nearest Purolator pick-up point is 35 kilometres away, to the north-west. My husband and I work about 100km in the opposite direction, to the north-east. Problem #3: The Purolator office hours at 43 Tank Farm Road, in Belleville, are Mon-Fri 8am-6pm. My husband leaves our house at 6:30 in the morning and does not get home until about 6pm. There is no way that he could make it to the office during normal hours.
This brings us to today. I had a few hours off before I had to be at work and drove out of my way to go and pick up the package, which was admittedly addressed to my husband. However, it stated very clearly on the pick-up notice that government-issued photo ID showing the same address as the package was required. Not a problem - we live at the same address, and nowhere on the card did it say that this ID had to be in the same name.
My biggest problem with this scenario is that the story kept changing. Beyond the fact that it was a ridiculous inconvenience and waste of my time, if the company is going to deny me release of the parcel, at least have a legitimate, consistant reason why this is the case.
I was initially informed that I could not take the package as it was not in my name. I explained the situation, that there was no way my husband could pick it up due to work and proximity. The representative then told me that she would have it redelivered to my house. But there would be no one at the house - as was the case yesterday - and therein lies the problem. She then informed me that ANYONE could answer the door and receive the parcel, as long as it was at the address. But my driver's license shows the address, I was standing right there, and she would not release it to me. Her next argument was that my husband and I do not have the same last name. Had I chosen to change my name, she would have released the parcel to me, but because our names were different, although we live at the same address, I could not have it. So, this employee is now telling me that I am being descriminated against because I did not take my husband's last name.
They offered to send the package to a different address, if my husband would fax them authorization, but he did not have access to a fax machine at work. And now they are saying that they will accept a fax, which could come from anywhere, as proof of authorization, but they will not accept my valid ID when I was there, in person.
I would never recommend Purolator to anyone and in fact intend to inform everyone I can of the poor customer service and all around bad treatment I received today. So much for fast, professional service, Purolator.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Go
      Jan 29, 2009

    i hate the fact that you pay for shipping and then have to drive 40 minutes to their depot to pick-up a package. i'm with you, this delivery during business hours is downright stupid.

    +1 Votes
  • Pu
      Feb 10, 2009

    Purolator and its drivers have various reasons, which ever they could fabricate by logical means or illogical means.

    I don;t give them any business. Used twice in a decade, both the time they failed to deliver. ON top of that it is waste of time to even talk to their customer service. They just read what driver post on the tracking system.

    Total lies when it comes to deliver. I am at home all the time, but they never delivered, inspite of correct address( have copy of way bill from shipper), but still made stories that wrong adress, customer refused. business closed etc..

    I think they should be out of business... Don;t give your precious money to these scammers.

    +1 Votes
  • Md
      Feb 24, 2009

    how to by pass this system .

    when you send your husband at purolator depot, do not say you are the husband,
    you need to say hi i am from one of the local curier company " mr or miss whatever the name sent me to pick up the package number of the notice,

    they will give it to you without asking any question .

    or send a local courier to pick it up they will probably charge you 8 - 15 dollar depending on the distance, they will pick it up and drop it to your door without a signature .

    +2 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 15, 2009

    i totally agree!!! i waited for over the 3-5 business days for my package to arrive - not complaining about the time, it was pretty quick i guess. but i am on mat. leave so am home most of the time but we were going out of town and i had not recieved my package so i called purolator. the lady told me if no one was home they would try again within 5 business days or i could pick it up. sounds great to me so out of town we went. we we got home 2 days later(sunday) the package was stuffed/hanging out of my mailbox. i was pissed - no one had to sign for it i guess? we live in the city, could have be stolen and then what? i will never use these people again!!!

    +2 Votes
  • Be
      Jan 06, 2011

    A lesson in patience. One bad apple can do so much damage! Thankfully we can count on this company to rectify a sour situation. During x-mas, a package was delivered to my home, from the Tank Farm Rd Purolator agents. I wasn't home, so it went back to await my pick up. I kept in contact with the 1-888 # to make sure it wasn't going to be returned.. I confirmed it's readiness the day before I sent my mother in to pick it up. She was received at the counter by an unfriendly, 'unmannered' (as my mom said) woman seemingly in her 30's ? She didn't greet, but stared - my mother provided our info, and was told in a gruff manner that the package had been returned - and that it was on the truck out back, and she could not have it. My mom left - quite unhappy about the service she'd received. I was informed and immediately got on the phone to the 1-888 #. An agent sent a message to the Tank Farm Rd agent, requesting the package be removed from the truck, but with no guarantee. As this is their way of communicating - I accepted the chances. Later that day I called the 1-888 # again, and was told that the package was now tagged ready for pick up. I sent in my boyfriend.. Upon arrival, the same lady agent didn't greet him, but stared with an unwelcoming face. She was gruff, short, sarcastic, and then became argumentative.. she also refused to give her name. Everyone was so appalled by this treatment - there was no form of service offered. I again went to the phone.. a complaint was made - but the package was being sent back.. I could accept that, the agent though.. was making my whole family turn their noses up at the Purolator company. All it takes is one bad apple to ruin everything..

    The very next day, I received a call from the Tank Farm Rd depot.. I was very pleased to hear that the gentleman on the phone had found the package and was having it sent back. Unfortunately I can't have this lady give an apology face to face.. she should know that her manager is truly making things up by hand delivering our package as soon as it arrives. With the number of couriers out there these days, it's easy to switch, but we already trust this one..
    I won't go inside that location while the same unfriendly lady is working - but it is because of all the other good kind Canadian folks at Purolator that their number will still stay on my fridge :)

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Jun 25, 2011

    I agree, Purolator has to be the worst method of shipping in Canada. They left a note on the front door telling me to pick up the parcel from their depot and I was at home all day. Most people ring the bell, not purolator. We are charged for door to door delivery not pick up 25 km away. Who covers our added expence, then they are closed when you get there. The 800 number states they are there for pick up until 8 pm. They just don't give a damn. . .

    +3 Votes
  • St
      Feb 23, 2012

    I had the exact same thing happen today. Their parcel notice advised that government issued photo ID with the same address is all this is required for someone to pick up my parcel. My wife drove out to Purolator which is very close to her work and they refused to give my parcel to her because she does not have the same last name as me. That is without a question, discrimination against my wife for not taking my last name. It would be wonderful for a lawyer to take Purolator to task. Come on, Purolator, don't hold back on only marital name discrimination. Why not also deny parcels to blacks, gays and lesbians, Muslims, Jews, and single parents. Really let your colours shine!

    +1 Votes
  •   Feb 23, 2012

    Hello, please note that family members with or without the same last name may pick up a shipment, as long as their government issued ID matches the address of the receiver on the bill of lading. There are however certain accounts for which only the actual receiver can claim the parcel.
    Feel free to contact us directly if you need further information on our services or if you need assistance.
    Regards,

    Catherine Côté

    Customer Care Team
    Email: customer.[protected]@purolator.com

    Follow us on Twitter:
    http://twitter.com/purolatorhelp

    Visit us on:
    www.purolator.com

    0 Votes
  • It
      Dec 07, 2014

    You can always have your package delivered to your work. It's better to have these protocols to protect you from losing your important packages. Purolator is only trying to protect your best interests. I rather they make sure they are giving the package to the right person. There are so many fraud situation you may not think about.

    -1 Votes
  • Pr
      Feb 13, 2015

    bad employers they constantly lie and do not care about the employess shut them down I hate them

    0 Votes
  •   Mar 25, 2015

    Hi Jordannnnn,

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience at our local retail in Belleville. I’d like to take the opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

    Our retail hours are set according to the local requirements at each location, which in this case is weekdays, from 8 am to 6 pm. I can certainly understand the frustration, that these hours do not fulfill your needs, and I will pass on your concerns to the local management team.

    Our teammates are expected to provide a meaningful customer experience, as well as provide first class customer service. Should you feel that we did not live up to that standard, please feel free to email the details of the situation to customer.[protected]@purolator.com and we will follow up on it.

    If you are unable to be at the delivery address to accept the shipment, but feel it’s safe for the driver to leave it at the door, you can authorize the driver to do so. The following document can be filled out and left for the driver to take as a proof of delivery: http://www.purolator.com/assets/pdf/forms/SNR_single.pdf. Another option that is available, is to redirect the package to another address in the area where someone will be available, such as to a family member’s house.

    If you have any other questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

    Best regards,

    Jérémie
    Social Media Coordinator / Customer Care Team

    Purolator Inc.

    0 Votes

Post your comment