SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Public Storage / $3000 theft of clothing

Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 3055736202

Have been renting a storage unit from them for 2.5 years. Rent has increased by 25% during that time. Also purchased insurance through Willis, the company they promote when you sign up with them.

It had been four months since visited the unit and as soon as we walked in we noticed boxes ripped open and clothes missing. We immediately reported it to the front desk and called the Miami PD. While the officer was filling out the report she pointed out a gap in the wall between our unit and the one next door where you could force your arm through!. All the stolen items were within and arms length of that opening and it was clear that this was how the items were removed?. When we brought this up with management we were told that 1. All the units are built this way, 2. That the units are exactly as they were when Public Storage bought the building 8 years ago. 3. We are (of course) the first ones to have ever had this problem!

Willis, the insurance company, immediately denied any claim as "the lock is intact and there is no visible evidence of forcible entry". Of course neither Public Storage or Willis wants to answer as to how the property was ever certified and accepted for insurance when, according to Public Storage "every unit is like this and they have been like this since we bought the property 8 years ago".

Bottom line is that all Public Storage will offer is a canned "we are terribly sorry for your loss, if in fact there was one, but we bear no responsibility!. Maybe we can cut a little off your rent going forward."

Public Storage policy is clearly that your neighbors can steal from you and Public Storage, and their insurance company, bear no responsibility. There are far better, far more professional companies out there! Find one before you make the same mistake we did. We had over $3000 of clothing stolen and Public Storage has absolutely no interest, I would not be surprised if it was an inside job as surely the employees knew about the gap and from the number of similar theft complaints that I have read it seems to be quite a racket that they have going.

Vg
Mar 16, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Vg
      Mar 16, 2013

    Ok so you're clearly a Public Storage employee, probably one of the ones who "shops through the gap" of other peoples units.
    Oh, sorry, you're from Wallis and Futuna according to your profile, seems to me that your the one who is ###.
    We lost Calvin Klein, Betsy Johnson, Dior, lots of high end clothing and my wardrobe at home is surely not lacking and I don't need spending money from Public Storage.

    0 Votes
  • Vg
      Mar 16, 2013

    The cops are insisting I tell the truth. I never had the clothing stolen. I removed it myself in hopes of getting if not $3000 from them at least something. They are now charging me with filing a fake theft report. They did and investigation and found out that none of the clothing was infact stolen.

    0 Votes
  • Vg
      Mar 16, 2013

    Okay now that you got the truth you can all forget about this review.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 16, 2013

    Tasha forgot to log out of his Middle Born Triplet account and log back in and comment as Tasha. Bwahahaha! Classic dooshbaggery.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 16, 2013

    Tasha forgot to log out of his MBT account and log back in to comment on his tasha account. Bwahahaha!!!

    0 Votes
  • Vg
      Mar 16, 2013

    Really Tasha, how bored are you that you need to hack my complaint. Must be fun to be you.

    0 Votes
  • Vg
      Mar 16, 2013

    Hmmmm, so you both work for Public Storage and have the entire day to sit around and hack things like this. Momma must be so proud of you both.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Mar 16, 2013

    Tasha does not work period. As a matter of fact she is a high school drop out. She's 15 too young to work.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Mar 17, 2013

    You know what OP I urge you not to use this website. This admin on this website are not helpful and they allow people like Tasha13 to troll on the website while we are treated like we are the ones in the wrong. I have tried to submit a complaint three times and they would not allow it to go through without approval. This is sad because people like Tasha13 are allowed to post rude comments to other people and not get into trouble for it. (If you click on her username she has 30 pages of comments) Yet when we post we need our posts approved. It seems like this site favors members such as Tasha13 and punishes us just for sharing our experiences. The fact that they do not allow complaints for their own website shows just how poorly it is ran and that they have no intent to improve.

    -1 Votes
  •   Mar 19, 2013

    "Get off this website I talked to several members S Lang and they said they don't want you on this website. They don't want narcs on this website.' The several members Tasha is referring too, are her many alias's.

    -1 Votes
  •   Mar 19, 2013

    The admins decided that chapter 13 of the Tasha was getting dull.

    +1 Votes

Post your comment