SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

PTLDispatchers and Saftey/VP of Saftey Lee

1 Review updated:

I was hired on with PTL on July 28th, 2009. Nancy Boggard was my recuriter. She said everything was fine and ok to go. Well here they get me out in Murray, Ky. They have you ride on a Grey Hound Bus for 24 hours and you have to wait for about 2 hours for the little van to pick you up. I was out in the 95 degree heat and had nothing to dring. When I called PTL they were very rude from that point, I should have know something was up. So here they take you on an hour ride to Murray, Ky to some hole in the ground hotel. The pool has not been used for a long time or has not been maintained at all. They make you either share a room or pay for a room, $99.00 also it is taken out of you pay, with no choice in that. The first day they take you next door to the health clinic, to take drug test. Then they take you to the north lot and lock you in a room and they have the a/c set on 55 degrees. Then if you complain about the a/c being too cold they will turn it off and the room will get to 90 degrees. They will feed you, and the food is prison issued food. Then they will do paper work. The trucks go 62mph only. If you complain about the speed they will fire you. The trucks that don't have APU's, if you run your truck more than 40% they will bring you in to have a talk with you. If you do it again they will have a final word. Then the last time they will fire you. But don't feel bad if they keep you there for less than a month. PTL says they have a right to use their drivers up to a month to 3 months and then get rid of you. Louis is the company gofer and he jumps when they say jump. He is the one that is in safety and will tell you to clear out your truck and he will have you taken to the local hotel and have you sit there until 1900hrs and then take you to the bus station or airport. Day 2 more paper work and test drive trucks. Day 3 you will finish up the paper work. All 3 nights you do have home work to do and they will collect it. There is a company person that comes in and tells you their turn over rate is at 186%.See Top 10 Worst Companies in Murray, KYMy best advise to any driver out there do not go with this fly by night company at all. If you want head aches then go with them. If you want a real good job and be treated like a human being instead of like some animal then consider some other place. They treated me like an animal because they wanted me to drive from Mass to Knoxville with an oil leak and there was oil all over my engine and hood of truck. They supervisor said to me that he was not going to take any chances of loosing a HOT load just because I wanted to get the oil leak fixed. Well they finally allowed me to stop and get the oil fixed. Also they will have you run illegal log books. They do advise to run 2 log books if possiable. I ran about 3300 miles a week for the first couple of weeks. Then they have you pick up a truck which was trashed out by another driver. So here I had to baby sit the truck for 5 days. They don't pay any lay over or break down pay until after 48 hours. So I got paid $70.00 for sitting for 5 days. Its $35.00 per day. Then they had me take truck up to their Murray, Ky location and then tell me that they no longer needed my services and I can clear out my truck, short 2 days being there 30 days. PTL brings in about 100 to 150 drivers a week and let go between 150 to 200 drivers a week, this also includes drivers who either dumps their trucks or they don't com back to work. Also PTL does not have enough of trucks to give out so they have no choice to fire their drivers. My best advise again is not to wast your time or effort to work at PTL. This so called company needs to be put out of business period. There is actually more but there isn't enough time or space to tell it all. Driver BEWARE! Also if you don't comply about quitting they will call the police on you. Apparently they must pay the cops something extra to do extra patrolling. When I was there on July 29th and anoth driver told me to get the hell out of here, I should have listened. PTL is for WHITE TRAILOR TRASH HILL BILLYS!!! Look at where their so called corporate offices are out of.TRAILORS. No real buildings at all. They are all WHITE TRASH including the people they have in West Memphis, AR..

PTL
PTL
PTL
PTL
PTL

More PTL Complaints & Reviews

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ra
      Nov 07, 2009

    I have worked at PTL for about a year and everybody seems to be very nice. If people like you have a problem maybe you should look in the mirror!!

    +1 Votes
  • Tp
      Nov 10, 2009

    you must not be a driver then that makes you part of the problem

    -1 Votes
  • Re
      Mar 02, 2010

    I have been at PTL for a few years now, and all I can say is, they have been very good to me!!! I have learned if you are willing to work with them, they will work with you, on anything! My fleet manager doesn't have a problem talking to me on the phone, because he know I only call when I have a problem...I f you can keep the left door closed, and crying to a minimum, you will do GREAT AT PTL!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      May 23, 2010

    I also went to work for PTL and the person that wrote this post is ABSOLUTELY CORRECT!!! I had the EXACT same experience with this company with even more harassment, abuse, neglect, rudeness, etc!!!

    First of all, you have to take a greyhound to get to Paducah, KY. Then after riding on a bus for 2 days you have to stand outside the bus station and wait for the van from PTL to come and get you. They don't get in any hurry. They know exactly how many people to pick up, so it was strange to me that half of the new drivers had to wait for a second van trip. So drivers that have already been riding on a bus for 1-4 days are waiting outside in the hot (or cold as the case may be) are waiting outside for up to 3-4 hours with no food or water or anything else for a ride to the hotel. Note... They have plenty of vans and full time van drivers to keep this from happening. They just don't care! They are rude when they get there and talk to you like you have the plague or something. I mean they don't even say hello. It's something like "hurry up and get your [censor] in the van". I'm not exaggerating.

    Then you get to the hotel and find it really is just as the previous poster stated. A total [censor] hole! Even the hotel employee's were rude. They get a new group of PTL drivers in twice a week and they really just don't want to deal with the new group. You absolutely have to either pay for your own room or have a room mate. They rate is 99.00. Which is amazing since the hotel is so nasty. I honestly feel that if you walked in off the street it wouldn't be that much. (It costs more for PTL employees?!?)

    The next day is spent exactly as the previous poster explained. Drug test first thing. Then waiting for hours and hours to finally get to the terminal. This wait is also unnecessary. Like I said they just don't care. The whole time you are still being talked to very rudely. Even if you try to be nice and start a conversation, they just look at you like your crazy. I simply said good morning as I got on the van, and the driver just huffed and said hurry up and get in! Then the driver got out and smoked a cigarette and left us sitting on the van with no A/C for no good reason at all!!! I was starting to get sick from the heat and started to get out before I passed out. Then the driver yelled at me again and finally got in and took us to the terminal. I've never been treated so horribly! So far I've only described the GOOD things about PTL!

    Orientation was pretty normal although the rude looks and talk continued the whole time. It was paperwork and videos. You did have "homework" every night and they did take it up, but it was no big deal really. Homework took about 15 min to complete. The next day was more of the same rudeness, eye rolling, huffing and puffing, etc..

    Now it's time to get a truck... boy oh boy is this a nightmare!!!
    OK, the man over assigning the trucks comes in and says he has trucks all over the country. (I've never seen a company do this before). He tells us what kind of truck it is (Freight liner or international) and how old. The internationals are mostly VERY old. Then he asks for volunteers to go in the van to get their trucks. Some of these trucks were 2 days away!! They expected that everyone on the van would help drive and just sleep on the van on the way to get the trucks! INSANITY!! Each person was paid a flat rate to go get their truck (it wasn't much) and clean the truck out.

    There is NO AMOUNT OF MONEY worth cleaning out some of these trucks. I was lucky. My truck was in the best shape of the ones I saw. It didn't have trash in it! The floor was full of dirt. Not just dirty, I mean about an inch deep caked up nasty funk on the floor. Including in the sleeper on the carpet. This dirt (or dried mud) or whatever it was was caked with animal hair or some sort. This hair was in every nook and cranny (I'm severely allergic to cats so this really concerned me. If it had been cat hair I would have ended up going to the hospital! Apparently it was dog hair.) Every inch of the inside walls of the truck was BLACK. The drivers seat was BLACK. Not just dirty but caked up with funk. My hands were black from just getting inside the truck. Everything I touched was greasy with black gunk. The walls in the sleeper were black as were the curtains. I can't even begin to imagine what it was or how it could have gotten so nasty.

    The sleeper... OMG!!! The mattress was BLACK with holes all in it!!! Top and bottom bunk!!! The top bunk was wet with urine!!! I don't know if it was human or animal but it was definitely soaked wet with urine! I threw it out both mattresses! The smell was indescribable!!! I cleaned for a whole day to get this truck where I could just stand to be inside of it. Just when I thought it was getting decent enough to actually start the truck and turn on the A/C it got worse!!! When I turned on the A/C I found out that the previous driver had URINATED in all the vents!!! Once again, can you even begin to imagine the smell??? I sat down at this point and considered a good cry... I ended up walking to a dollar store and getting Febreze and just pouring it into the vents. Now it smelled like I had drank the Febreeze and pee'ed it back into the vents. Well, it was the best I could do.

    At this point the truck had been running about 15 minutes total. I got a message over the Qualcomm that I was over idle and to turn the truck off or be terminated!!! Unbelievable!!! I ignored that message! I was hot, tired and very P. O.'ed! I dragged the nasty urine soaked mattresses to the shop dumpster and went it to ask if I could get a new one. I was very polite and my exact words were.." I'm cleaning out my truck and the mattress is pretty bad. It's out by the dumpster if you want to see it. I need a new one please." The little jerk at the shop window leaned out and actually POKED me in the chest and said, " LOOK MOTHER-[censored]ER, I have more important S*&T to do than worry about your [censored]NG mattress!!!" At this point I was used to rudeness, but this was just INSANITY! He had no right to put his hands on me!!! Did I mention I'm female??? Good thing for him cause If I had been a male I would have beat him to a pulp! I'm just sayin!!! I should still press harassment charges on this company. But, honestly I'm not a whiner! They never gave me a mattress!!! I ended up getting on at the other terminal in Memphis. The lady in the office there just ordered it from Freight Liner since I was stuck there all weekend anyway.

    Just a side note. After getting the truck where I could stand to even be inside of it, I got my first load. This load was Approx 100miles and I had to sit from Friday till Tuesday morning to get unloaded!!! While I was sitting there someone knocked on my truck door. It was a lady that had gone thru orientation after my group. She was absolutely in tears and asked me if I would please help her. I was worried about her so I told her I'd try. Come to find out, she had just been taken to her truck by the van and dropped off. Her truck was so bad that you really couldn't stay in it at all! When I walked over and she opened the passenger door Trash fell out in an avalanche. The truck was over a foot deep in trash! Human and animal URINE and FECES! It had been locked up for days baking in the sun! You could actually smell it before the door was opened. It had maggots crawling in it. I told her that I absolutely could NOT help her clean that mess!!! But I let her use my cell to call PTL. They ended up giving her a comchek for 100.00 and told her to find someone to clean it out for her. They just left her stuck with it!!! She found some "girls" in the parking lot and they cleaned it for 150.00!!! So she was out 50.00 from her own pocket! It was still nasty! Nothing could fix that mess! It needed to be burned to the ground! YUCK!

    Ok so... I never met my dispatcher face to face (also a good thing I'm female). He cussed and was rude just in general conversation. I quit even trying to talk to him on the phone because of this, I only used the qualcomm. He refused to call me by my name and would only refer to me as SIR! I asked him in writing on the qualcomm repeatedly not to refer to me as SIR but he would just answer with "ok SIR". Sounds like harassment to me, don't you think?

    On my second load my truck broke down. It would run for about 20 mins and just die. It took hours to get anyone on the phone. They had me try all kinds of things all night long. Fuses, repriming the fuel, etc... I never signed up to be a mechanic, but I was still doing all this without a word of protest. I just wanted to get going again. I was running out of money! PTL won't give you an advance until you have a paycheck coming. They said paperwork hadn't been processed yet (despite the fact that I transflo'ed it all in) so they wouldn't let me draw any money. At this point... I'm broke down, I'm tired, and I'm really hungry, and I don't have anymore money! I'm starting to get scared cause I'm 1000 miles from home, without a dime to my name, broke down, and I need to eat something. A driver gave me a package of ramen noodles and that was all I had until the next afternoon! This was a total nightmare!

    At this point, I'm starting to itch really bad. Come to find out, the truck was infested with bed bugs!!! When I finally got some cash I had to wash my clothes 5 times to get rid of them. Not to mention all the bugspray and crap that I breathed in the cab of that truck!

    Took several days to get truck fixed... It was just more and more [censor]!

    I put in for hometime. I had been out for 21 days total! Notice that I only pulled 2 loads
    It took me another week to get home. I asked for 3 days off. I was not happy to go back out with PTL, but I was really in a financial bind from the past month and thought surely it would get better. The truck was now clean and not infested with bed bugs, and it had been fixed and was running OK.

    As I was getting out of the truck a messaged beeped and told me that I had a load that I needed to leave out with in 2 days. I sent a message back that I had requested and EARNED 4 days, but only requested 3. I would be ready in 3 days! The next message I got simply said "CLEAN OUT YOUR TRUCK". I called and asked why and they said that if you parked the truck for more than 2 days that they would put another driver in it, and then send me to get the next truck that came available. I wasn't about to go through that again!!! So I did exactly that, I cleaned out my truck and haven't looked back!

    I'm sure as soon as I send this I will think of even more horror stories about my short time with PTL. Honestly, I am tired of even thinking about all this again. It was one of the worst experiences of my life, and believe me, I've had some doozies! The previous poster wasn't lieing! If anything he was being pretty generous about PTL. It wouldn't even surprise me if the other 2 people who posted on here weren't some of the recruiters or higher ups with PTL. I didn't meet a single driver that was happy with them. I did meet a few that had been with them for awhile and they said that PTL used to be a decent company but had gone down hill. I also want to add that as of right I don't know of anybody that went through orientation with me that is still employed with PTL. It's just that bad, an I'm gonna scream it on every forum I can find :).

    0 Votes
  • He
      Nov 17, 2010

    I use to drive .. for other companies of course, my first experiance with PTL has been with one of the drivers broad siding me in my private vehicle in broad daylight, dry pavement, and he had the stop sign. Their insurance carrier was nasty and hateful, when I called the company they gave me the run around. My vehicle is still not repaired I'm afoot, and apparently they could care less if they are sued.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      May 26, 2011

    I, LIKE THE REST OF THE PEOPLE WHO HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT PTL, HAVE TO AGREE WITH EVERYTHING POSTED- FROM THE BEGINING OF ORIENTATION TO THE TIME YOU ARE ISSUED YOUR TRUCK. BUT I MADE IT JUST TO THE END OF ORIENTATION, GOT MY TRUCK NUMBER AND WAS CALLED TO THE OFFICE, (OOH IM IN SCHOOL AGAIN)- WHAT THE HELL-, ANYHOW I WENT TO THE OFFICE AND THEY ASKED ME WHY I WAS SHOWING OTHERS THIS SITE, I TOLD THEM IT WAS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC AND WE ALL HAD THE RIGHT TO SEE AND UNDERSTAND WHAT WE WERE GETTING INTO. GUESS THEY DIDNT AGREE, CAUSE THEY FIRED ME ON THE SPOT FOR PULLING UP THIS WEBSITE. I THINK I HAVE A LAWSUIT, BUT NOT TO SURE, I AM GOING TO CONSULT LEGAL COUNSEL ON THIS MATTER. I DO BELIEVE WE HAVE THE RIGHT TO PUBLIC INFO ON THE INTERNET, THEY SHOULDNT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO FIRE ME FOR THAT, THANK YOU WILLIAM R. CHILDS OF BOWLING GREEN KENTUCKY

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      May 26, 2011

    FROM WILLIAM R. CHILDSW OF BG, KY THIS MESSAGE WILL SELF DESTRUCT AS OF MAY 25 2011. DO NOT WORK FOR P.T.L. OF MURRAY, KY THEY OBVIOUSLY HAVE SOMETHING TO HIDE.

    0 Votes
  • Tn
      Nov 06, 2011

    I work for PTL and have been for a year now. I cannot any of the things that I'm hearing. I haven't had a problem with them at all. There a good company to work for they got some bad but they all do and I worked for much worse than them in my 11 years. I don't know if y'all are just lazy or just like to complain about everything but I know your wrong about them.

    -1 Votes
  • Tn
      Nov 06, 2011

    If your company to work PTL a good company with good freight and running lanes. You can make a good living and have a good career with PTL. I work for them and I don't plan on going anywhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Aug 25, 2013

    do ptl have onboard log books?

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Aug 25, 2013

    Do PTL have onboard log books?

    0 Votes

Post your comment