SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Pro-Tech Contracting of Georgia / Deceptive and Fraudulent business practices

1 3988 Flower Road Suite 640 Atlanta, GA 30360, GA, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 404.234.1215 & 404.333.3224

A neighbor of mine got a new roof through an insurance claim for roof damage. I spoke with him and got the details since we both have the same insurance company. I decided to use the same roofing company since his roof was already done and completed by Pro-Tech Contracting. I filled the claim with my insurance company for roof damage back in December 2009. I went through all the processes and received the check from my insurance company. I mailed the check off to my mortgage company to be endorsed and sent back. Then I met with Pro-Tech and singed the final documents, chose the shingle color and signed over the insurance check worth almost $6000.00 to Pro-Tech since my friend had his roof done and all seemed to be OK. This was done in December of 2009 and I still have not had the roof work done. I have spoken to Jim Cavanaugh the owner of Pro-Tech Contracting many times and he insures me the work is going to be done. The last time I spoke to Jim at Pro-Tech was Monday March 15, 2010. I was told the materials would be delivered Thursday March 18 and the work would be done on Friday March 19, 2010. The materials were not delivered on Thursday so I called Pro-Tech and left a message. I did not receive a call back. Then on Friday I still did not get a call back from Jim so I called Pro-Tech 2 more times and left messages asking for the status of the roof and I still did not receive a call back from Jim Cavanaugh at Pro-Tech Contracting. It is now March 26, 2010 and I still have not received a call back from Jim Cavanaugh on the status of my roof work. Also my friend who had his roof done by Jim Cavanaugh and Pro-Tech Contracting now has a lien on his house because the materials were not paid for by Pro-Tech. There are also other people with liens on their houses due to Pro-Tech not paying the supplier or not paying the workers. I have hired a lawyer and I am in the process of trying to resolve this issue. DO NOT do any work with Pro-Tech Contracting of Georgia or Jim Cavanaugh. Jim may have moved out of state so if you ever meet up with Jim Cavanaugh do not trust him or anything he says.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gu
      Aug 16, 2010

    After reaching an agreement with Jim Kavanaugh to trade my boat for a new roof, I received $2000 which was to be returned when roof was completed. Contract signed March 31, 2010, it is not August 15th, still no roof... The man is a crook, I will probably never get my roof from him, but if this saves others from being taken in by this con man it is worth it. It's funny, that he seems to spell his name with both a C and a K, not something an honest man does.

    0 Votes
  • Go
      Oct 19, 2010

    in my dealings with Jim i found him to be a very generous man. he believes in helping others and teaching young people to do the same. we spoke briefly about the sale of a vehicle he had and upon further discussion he decided to forego payment and just give me the car free of charge pending my providing sufficient evidence that i was actually in college as i so stated.

    this is not the mark of an unfair businessman. however, Jim is a very busy man at the time and just like everyone else on this planet he has personal issues to attend to. but through all of those issues he made time to help me in a situation where he did not have to. it is because of this that i saw the need to comment on the above statement.

    Wallace M.

    0 Votes
  • Fc
      Jun 12, 2012

    Pro-tech Contracting --- jim Kavanaugh
    he is a Crook i did some work for hem and never paid me, also one of hes workers fail off a Roof and die after that happen he call me went and finish the job and never paid me, one day sone one will get you and you will and up in jail ...

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Sep 11, 2012

    Hi fc Roofer,

    Do you have Jim's latest contact info? He bailed on me and never contact me again. I never got a new roof or the $6000 that peace of ### stole from me. I would love to find him and get my money back.

    +1 Votes
  • Sc
      Feb 06, 2014

    He goes by Cavanaugh and Kavanaugh... FYI

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Sep 29, 2015

    I have his info. Contact me for it. I do some work for him. The man is a ###...

    +2 Votes
  • Fh
      Apr 29, 2018

    So the latest name this man uses is James or Jim Havanaugh, to go with others Jim Kavanaugh, Jim Cavanaugh or GPS LLC and he has a new trick. He worked ( I believe he is fired now) as a salesman for a very reputable contractors and would come to your house and tell you that the job was too small for the company he worked for but just to help you out he would take on the job as contractor and would be using the same workmen.

    Because the company he works for has such a good reputation you believe him and that is where the problems start. Below is our story about Jim / James Kavanaugh but I will also tell you that we have checked since this and can find no license as a contractor and in fact even the company GPS LLC does not come up on the Georgia state companies website.

    In short, we bought a house in Sandy Springs Georgia and needed a contractor. I found a company on the internet with an excellent reputation called Kole Contractors (KCI Homes). The company sent out James / Jim Kavanaugh who said the job would be too small for KCI Homes but he was their project manager and would be prepared to take on the job and would be using the same sub-contractors that KCI did only he would be in charge and not them. This all seemed plausible and as KCI had a good reputation I agreed and gave a 25, 000 deposit to start the work with a total budget of $200, 000. I was told that the house would be about 125k to remodel and the driveway, basketball court, fireplace etc. outside was the other 75k.
    The work started and in the beginning seemed to progress well, after 2 weeks he asked for a further 50k and as my wife was going up to Georgia I gave her a check. she looked at the work and in her eyes it was moving along. He had said this check was for new doors at the front, plantation shutters, baths, decking, railings etc. etc.

    Approx. 2 weeks later he asked for another 50k and as we were getting regular photos again I sent it but was now getting a little unsure as I had noticed that while some things had gone in the basement such as HVAC and some drywall there was in fact very little HARD COSTS such as flooring, bathrooms, doors, shutters, concrete etc. but I thought that maybe this would be coming.

    A week later he asked again for another 25k check saying that he had laid out the 125k he had received so far and we were actually behind with amount owed and I knew this could not be true as he had told us to completely remodel the house was 125k so I told him that I would drive to Georgia on the Thursday to visit the house.

    I actually got in my car on the Wednesday so that I could do a surprise visit. Well it certainly was a surprise, when I got their I found that the painting that had been done in the house at best was mediocre, the HVAC, most dry wall had been done in the basement and all though the electricity had been done it was one light switch for the complete basement they hadn’t even put individual switches in every room. The kitchen on the main floors had also been painted and the wood floors sanded but looked terrible. He had sent us pictures which looked awesome but the reality was very different. Two bathrooms had been smashed up and had broken tiles everywhere because they had tried to put in the new baths, the doors for the basement didn’t fit ( he blamed the delivery company) and there was piles of debris everywhere.

    I met him on the Thursday and told him I wanted receipts for what he had done, well at this point he started trying to find every excuse in the book not to give them and even stated that he had offered them before but I had refused. I explained this was true but I wanted to see them now and I had the right to. The following day he turns up with an invoice that he had made showing what he said he had spent and I told him that I want to see the originals not just something he had typed. I refused to give him more money and decided to get 3 separate contractors in to check the work he had done and ask them what in reality had he spent to get as far as he had. I think that he must have spent longer making up the invoice than he actually did on the work, and lies included giving $24, 000 to the stone masons when in fact they had only received $8, 000, told me $12, 000 was for the tiles on the floor in the basement when in fact he had only paid $4, 600 and the list went on.

    ONE of these contractors i asked to view the house was Mr. Kole from KCI homes who was the company I had actually contacted and who had sent Jim Kavanaugh out to our house. Well shall we say Mr. Kole was surprised about the job because Jim had told him that we had not proceeded with the job which was a lie and in fact Jim Kavanaugh had stolen the job from KCI homes to keep the money for himself. ALL contractors stated thee work done so far was between 30-50k at best

    I even gave Jim Kavanaugh an opportunity to walk away, I had told him that he could keep the 125, 000 as long as he brought to me the deposits for the blinds, railings, gates, front door etc. because I thought at least I would have something but he refused, we got a mediator and he refused them as well.

    +1 Votes
  • Ya
      Jun 02, 2018

    well, your story sounds very familiar, so familiar in fact, that after reading your story, my hunch wasn't a hunch anymore and I realized that my husband and I were his latest victims.
    We had also contacted KCI contractor to get an estimate on a complete kitchen remodel. When we made the decision to go ahead, Jim Kavanaugh came by the house and told us that he was leaving KCI because Lonny Kole wasn't professional and that he could no longer work with him, but he told us that the crews were going with him and that he could give us a better deal.
    We foolishly decided to go with him and signed the contract with GPS. the total amount for the job was $38, 300.
    So far we have paid $35, 000 and what we have right now is an empty kitchen with a laundry sink, an incomplete paint job and a ceiling without vent covers. He came by about 3 weeks ago with an invoice for the windows we wanted replaced, he said he wanted to show us how much he paid for them, which was $5, 527.00. I took a picture of that invoice and after reading your story, I called the contact number listed, the person that came to my house to take the measurements told me that Jim never placed the order. When I confronted him, he got mad at me and he will not talk to me anymore. He is still talking to my husband and told him that he ordered the windows from someone else, and that he needed another $1, 000.00 "progress" check that was 10 days past due, my husband told him that we needed the invoices for both the windows, and the cabinets and he would then get a check, he was supposed to come by the house yesterday but canceled.
    I am bypassing a lot of details and decided to add pictures instead. But I do want to add that from the beginning I was in the contact person for Jim and that his attitude towards me as been extremely cooky, condescending, and just plain rude.
    I called Lonny Kole last weekend and he was very nice and helpful, and gave me Jim's address, my husband went there and stood by his mailbox and called him, wanting him to come outside to talk, but Jim never did, but mentioned later that he knew my husband came by the house, we were hoping that he would cooperate with us more if he knew that, but we were wrong!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dd
      Jun 11, 2018

    @Yasmina Polspoel-Mercatili Job only half done when those pics were taken when you told me of your lawsuit all work stopped. Be careful of David Stickland he claims to be a legitimate businessman but the internet seems to differ on that.

    -1 Votes
  • Fh
      Jun 11, 2018

    @Yasmina Polspoel-Mercatili ask him who he ordered the windows from, he loves quoting to people that they owe money to him when he hasnt even finished 20% of the job and has no intention of ever finishing it.

    0 Votes
  • Fh
      Jun 11, 2018

    @Ddickland Jim, people don't start or talk about a lawsuit if you have finished or are completing the job, and if you can find something bad about me on the internet you are welcome to post it. This is typical Jim Kavanaugh when he gets caught he will try to deflect, get angry, lie etc.etc

    0 Votes
  • Fh
      Jun 11, 2018

    I just emailed you with my number

    0 Votes
  • Fh
      Jun 11, 2018

    I see that Jim Kavanaugh, Havanaugh, Cavanaugh has made a fake name to be similar to mine. I guess that all our complaints are fake and the fact that we all have the same story to tell about taking deposits and not ordering and needing more money to continue etc. etc.. We all lie and Kavanaugh is telling the truth...NOT

    0 Votes
  • Fh
      Jul 02, 2018

    Jim Kavanaugh or Jim Havanaugh or GPS services as far as we can work out are not even registered in Georgia. His driving license is Florida

    0 Votes
  • Fh
      Jul 24, 2018

    So i finally found out why i couldn't find GPS (Jim Kavanaugh said Georgia Property Services) anywhere on the internet. It was because it was his old company he had called Global Protective Services DBA GPS LLC and was dissolved on 8/24/2017 and had been hidden because his lawyer had been the registered agent of the company

    0 Votes
  • Km
      Sep 21, 2018

    @fhmmax James Kavanaugh has a very long history of scams and not just with roofing but will spare you from that awfulness. Here are some sites to get you started. Go to https://ody.dekalbcountyga.gov/portal and go to the smart search tab to enter James Kavanaugh. Also check out florida.arrests.org. Enter James Kavanaugh. Be aware and careful. He knows how to work the system.

    0 Votes
  • Fh
      Oct 02, 2018

    @Kmaster Funny, Kavanaugh got his lawyer to send a letter to try and scare me because he told them that i wrote your text above. The funniest thing was i didn't even know it existed until THEY told me and it gets better because I found out more things about him that I hadn't known before.

    +1 Votes
  • Fh
      Nov 07, 2018

    another company used was Pine Partner's Restoration

    +1 Votes
  • Fh
      Jan 14, 2019

    just bumping this because James Kavanaugh, Jim Kavanaugh, Jim Havanaugh or GPS Services of Cumming Georgia is out there somewhere so read this page before hiring him. At the last time of checking his company has no General Contractors license or builders license of any kind.

    +1 Votes
  • Fh
      Jun 03, 2019

    he is still around

    0 Votes

Post your comment