The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Prima Seal / Highly recommend to stay away from Prima Seal

1 United States Review updated:

On January 13th I met with the sales rep Paul Wexler and ordered 10 replacement windows 2 of which were custom. I gave my deposit in good faith as I had used them a few years ago at another house we owned. We were very happy with their work and prompt service.

I gave my 1/3 deposit on this date, windows were measured a couple of weeks later (delayed that also) and I have made numerous calls to prima seal about installation and the date. I was told by Brad Scott that the windows were held up because of the "Garden Window" which is a custom item. He would call in a week and let me know when it was in.

Well, here it is May 3rd, and after many phone calls and the run around that he was in "a meeting", "just left", or won't be in for a week etc. still nothing!

I asked "Beth" who answers the phones, if there was a cell or home phone number where he could be reached to let him know that we are getting upset by the evasive behavior and various excuses the few times that I did speak with him. "She said no, she had no way of contacting him. "HUH"!!! What business owner does not have the resources to be reached at anytime for customer satisfaction or inquiries about their orders? In my opinion a crook. I have already written to the BBB, and if this problem is not resolved either by installing the windows or refund of my deposit, I will go to the media, paper, news whatever it takes!

I was called by the salesman on April 5th, 2007 to warn me that he has been calling past customers that he took orders from and found out that they too have not had their orders fulfilled and were also given the run around. He has not received any commissions on these sales and deposits remitted. He also said he "quit" for that very reason.

I am extremely disappointed at the way Brad Scott is treating us and any other prima seal customer. All we have ever asked of him was to give us an idea as to when the windows may delivered, even if there was a backup, I could understand that. But, avoid our calls, not return them and one excuse after the other, I would highly recommend that anyone considering Prima Seal to STAY AWAY!!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ty
      18th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Hey to all who got ripped off by Brad Scott aka Brad Soref which by the way is another last name he uses. Someone told me that Brad shut down Prima Seal and he's now opened a Windows Company under a different company name on Linden St. in Allentown, Pennsylvania. Should is man be allowed to open another Windows Company, just think of more innocent people out there who will eventually be getting ripped off by Brad again. I for one am gonna fight this tooth and nail.

  • Ke
      20th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Tyler,

    Thanks for the info on this. As mentioned I will be contacting the attorney Generals office, Police and who ever else is needed to ### this man down! Hopefully Brad is not up and running yet with his new scam window store. If he is carrying the same name I would pray that BBR would realize that he owes customers thousands of dollars. I want my 1400 back so I can buy a window! It has been almost 6 months and we are waiting patiently for our window money!!!! This guy is going down... HE messed with the wrong two people... I have a family of many attorneys and a cousin who is a JUDGE in Princeton NJ and not to mention work for a legal office! Not a good idea for Brad to scam someone like this! I will make sure I work my hardest to get our money back... WE need everyone's help!

  • Bi
      21st of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Brad Scott, aka Brad Soref, aka Brad Sores should be put down as hard as possible. I have recently sent a complaint packet of information to the PA Attorney General's office about this guy and his scamming others. I want my $2000 back to buy windows elsewhere. Between Brad, Beth who answers the phone, along with a Brenda who was also answering the phone, and Ken Alderfer, the salesman, I think they should all be behind bars, lose their homes and pay a real price for their willingness to scam so many people. I'm doing my best to notify all legal areas of support to go after this guy, no matter what business he opens. Brad should be legally hunted until he is forced to move to some foreign country where he won't be able to smile one full day for the rest of his life...

  • Bi
      21st of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Coincidental Note - Brad Scott and Paul Drexler (visited someone's home to measure) are both writer/authors. Makes you dislike this company all the more as one investigates further and further...

  • Ke
      21st of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have contacted Sunrise Windows and advised the owner of SunRise windows what was going on. Brad still has his Prima Seal phone # working. I am sure this is how he is still getting business. I think we should get this guy to measure someone's windows (Friends) and have a police office in the home to make an arrest. I contacted Shame on you and I was not able to get a response back from anyone. We need to put these people behind bars. I will hunt this man down too!

  • Br
      22nd of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    A message for Mr. Bill DeStefano, please don't mention my name anymore, I am away from that ### Prima Seal and Brad, all I did was answer phone calls and did some light office work, I had NO part in the BS that Brad or his other flunkies had going on. I was only there to make money so that I can pay some bills now I regret working for such a dirtbag. Please don't involve my name in this, I have NOTHING to do with Brad and his scams, when I worked there I was told that if anyone calls for Brad that I am to tell them that hes not there... I was getting tired of being the middle girl in this whole thing, got very frustrating and I was actually putting out resumes on job sites after Brad left for the day, because from all the phone calls and such, I had the feeling that his business would shut down in due time. I feel sorry for you and EVERYONE WHO GOT BURNED FROM BRAD! And I pray that you all will get your money back soon. He owes me one final paycheck that I was supposed to get last Friday May 18th, 2007 and I have NOT seen it, I even called and asked him to mail it to me, I don't know why I bothered doing that, I am never gonna see that money... If anyone wants any information about my status there or anything else, feel free to contact me at my email... I REGRET WORKING THERE and I am going to be more selective from now on on my job choices.

  • Ke
      23rd of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    If you knew that this place was bad you should have left. I thought no one had Brads phone #? I thought it was interesting that you are stating you called Brad for your last paycheck. Anyone working for Prima Seal was a close knitted family. Sorries are not enough for hundreds of people that have been scammed!

  • St
      23rd of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I signed a contract with Ken on 5/7/07. I signed a deal for siding on my entire house with the works. I have worked really hard to save this money to do this job. I gave Ken 1/3 down payment of $3000 which was cashed 5/9/07. That same morning at 8:30 am Brad called to measure the house of which I told him he didn't need me to be at home for. Today is 5/23/07. I have called 2xs to find out what is going on since my pool will be opened on June 1st. The job is scheduled for the 2nd week in June of which I have not heard from them. The 3rd call I made today their message box is full. I tried to fax them and the fax was rejected. I even canceled the original job with PWS to have Prima-Seal do the job. Prima-Seal said that canceled the job while Ken was at my house but on Friday 5/18/07 PWS called to come to do the siding work and I said this job was canceled and they had no information regarding the cancellation and now I am stuck. Plus it looks like I am out $3000. If Brad, Ken or anyone is reading this email please contact me. I feel this is so unprofessional. I am a Certified Fraud Examiner, a CPA, an EA and an Advocate for IRS,PA and the City of Philadelphia. I would appreciate an answer regarding this. I expect my service to be rendered not 180 days from now but no longer than the 2nd week of June 2007 as signed and agreed.
    I read the contract and I am going to the Attorney Generals office tomorrow to investigate this situation. I have already contacted the bank in reference to my money. Please contact me.

    Thank you.

  • Ke
      24th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Do not believe Brenda... Brenda don't sweat it you can explain it to the judge when the time is right... Anyone working for Prima Seal are t thiefs! If you need a pay check & you knew that since day one working with Brad seemed weird you should have left. You knew what was going on. You slammed the phone on my husband and I plenty of times. You were always nasty to us on the phone. You would lie for Brad and you were part of the scam. It was real stupid for you to post your information on the complaint board. The police are on top of this, so hopefully you will hear from them soon. All 4 of you are scam artist! The famous Brad, Brenda, Beth and Ken. Sorry to inform you, it's to late to say sorry to us... One that works for Prima Seal and was able to tell me & other every other day Brad was on vacation, sick, not in the office are part of the scam! I am sure he paid you well. Did you not find that weird when Brad told you all the time, "Tell everyone that calls, I am not here." Sorry Brenda us as "victims" will be bringing you into this picture too... We hope to see you in court real soon and put behind bars. I warned you several times on the phone you were working for a thief! I am sure you remember me, I called 10 times a day and never gave up since Feb. You even told me at times, "Brad never calls anyone back and he owes so many people returned checks." You told me, "I feel bad for you, but Brad is on vacation for another week." Brenda I was not that stupid and called everyday and launched my investigation. I will not give up this battle...! I will keep searching for everyone. I am glad you just told everyone reading this, you are still in contact with Beth. Maybe you can give me and the police her phone #... The victims of Prima Seal want to see all of you guys locked up for good! Brenda you requested for your name not to be mentioned but little do you know, you worked for a man that is NOW WANTED and also you are prime suspects for information. Hopefully soon you will see all of us in court!

  • De
      24th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    For all of you who have expressed your dissatisfaction with this Crook Brad Scott "aka" Brad Soref, which to my surprise didn't know that he had another alias.

    I wrote my complaint here on 5/3/07. I have additional information for any of you who wish to see this man stopped in his tracks! He is still taking orders, by screening his phone calls. I spoke with the BBB out of Bethlehem, PA even though I am located in NJ. She is forwarding my complaint to the Attorney General's office. Anyone who wishes to contact Mary at the BBB in Bethlehem, the # is 1-610-866-0842. She was a great help! Or you can contact the Attorney General's office directly, out of AC at (609)343-2376.

    Also, I have been contacted by John Deutzman of Fox 5 TV and he is looking for ANYONE that had been ripped off by Prima Seal, (Brad Scott) aka, Brad Soref, from the NJ/PA area ,to please contact him at:

    e-mail, john.deutzman@foxtv.com or by phone 1(212) 452-5724.

    I urge anyone to please contact John Deutzman or any other agency to get this guy and all his flunky workers and have our day in court, and splash this guys name over the news. We'll see if that "New" window business gets off the ground. By the time we get done with all of them, THEY will be sending out resumes, along with all of the deposits he stole!!

    Thank you, to those of you who contacted me via e-mail, and I hope that the information was helpful to all of you. May we band together, and if need be show up at his place of business or lack thereof, and or the new place, or maybe even his home, should Fox 5 get enough of us to e-mail or call. He won't have a happy home when we get these crooks off the map, by splattering him on TV, touting his deception with all of us.

    I also, received information via-e-mail this morning, from a "Cindy Mulligan" who is, or was Prima Seal's Landlord. She stated that she has information that would be helpful regarding Prima Seal, and what is going on. Her number is (610) 216-1149.

    Good Luck everyone, let's stick together and get this crook once and for all!! Please feel free to e-mail me, should you have any questions. I will be glad to answer them for you if I can. Just be sure to put Prima Seal in the subject line. Thanks!

    NOTE: To Mr. Destefano, I don't know if the former salesman who took our order in January, of this year has used an alias as well, I have his name as Paul Wechsler, and he supposedly quit prima seal when I spoke with him, when he called me on April 5th, 07, this is the name I have on my contract. His phone # is (848)702-2908, he wanted to kept apprised of what is going on with Prima Seal (yeah, like he didn't know, it is only because he didn't get paid that he was calling previous customers he took orders from to see if they got their windows, only because he didn't get his commission. Could he be on the up and up? I don't know, but he is looking for his money just like Brenda.

  • Bi
      24th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Candi Sterling from 7 On Yor Side called my home yesterday and spoke with myself and my wife. We explained our situation where Brad Scott and Ken Alderfer scammed us and also explained about Beth and Brenda's lack of assistance in not helping to provide contact information. Brenda was rude at times when we called and we did experience a hangup from her, while Beth played it cool as if she was so understanding about our situation. To our understanding, Beth was the office admin person, while Brenda managed file records and answered phones from customers. It's interesting and unfortunate to see how Brad and Ken have still been operating amidst all our contracts while we have been experiencing problems. I do know they certainly knew how to avoid us all when we individually phoned them. At this time I can only hope that 7 On Your Side and Fox 5 are successful in finding these scam artists with the result being justice is served hard, and we somehow get our money duely returned.

  • Ke
      24th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    The good news is that I have been working really hard on this for months and thanks for Fox5 they found Brad tonight... However I was really upset because it was told to me tonight that he was not wanted for anything. The police said he has NOT ONE warrant. How could this guy not be wanted my the PD? I have been in contact with so many people and they all have had the same problem as (us). Brad should be behind bars... Beware my description of Brad fits the exact description of Ken...Interesting could Ken be Brad and Brad be Ken? I was on to Brad/Ken for months now and launched my investigation with Prima Seal. I had letters sent to him from attorneys, called him and told him I just wanted my money back. Fox5 was quick & found Brad. I have so much information more than others would think of. I hope to put everyone behind bars for scamming us. We need as many people from NJ to report this to your local police station. This was a crime that took place. Good old Brad is NOT aloud to sell in NJ per Attorney Generals office. Everyday he is scamming people... If anyone is from NJ please e-mail me so I can give this info to the right people. Thanks

  • Bi
      25th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Kevin,

    I am from New Jersey and plan to report this to the police. Please write me so we could further discuss what info you need to pass on to the right people. I spoke with FOX5 today at 1:30 pm. Fox5(John D, I'm not sure I'm able to say his full name) also contacted me and explained they confronted Brad Soref on camera. Fox5 described him as being a middle weight man with a scruffy beard , in his 40's to early 50's and smokes cigars. Fox5(John D) also said they will be interviewing victims, I think on Monday, May 28th, and I was told that not all victims would be interviewed, but they would add my name to the list of victims. I told Fox5(John D) to add my name. I also received a lady named Mary phone call today, at 1:45pm,from the Bethelem, PA BBB and I explained my experience along with all the updated events from this board and FOX5.

  • Mi
      25th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Thanks Kevin for the information you sent me. I am in Philadelphia, I was able to talk to Mary today at the BBB - she was very helpful and said that she would pass my name along to the AG. I also filed a complaint on the AG's website. Hopefully we can get all of these ### and get our money back.

  • Ty
      25th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Shoot, I missed Brads interview with Fox 5. Does anyone know how Brad reacted or what he said to Fox 5? I would of loved to seen the look on his face haha. Last Wed. I decided to take a drive to Catasaauqua Pa and go to Prima Seal, I know its shut down but I was still curious if maybe there was a slight possibility, I asked a neighbor this guy and this girl if they knew that idiot Brad Scott, they told me that they dont know him personally but they know about him and what a liar he is. These neighbors live about 2 or 3 doors from where Prima Seal used to be. They also said that they heard that Brad and his office assistant Beth had a cozy little thing going on, that explains why Beth then, the one day that I called and asked for Brad and I explained my story to Beth she said that he wasn't in the office, I too asked her if theres another way that I can reach Brad, she said no im sorry. Then I told her that I was gonna have my attorney get after Brad, as Beth hung up I heard her mumble "###". And it was Beth because when I called for Brad I asked her who it was that I was speaking too, and she said Beth, well Beth must of thought that I didn't hear her mumble ### before we hung up, so I called back and I said what did you call me? Beth tried to play it cool and ask what I was talking about, I said to her that I specifically heard you call me an ###, well she denied it of course. That explains alot right there as well, also those neighbors that I spoke with said that they overheard Brad telling one of the movers who helped him move some office furniture out that his new business is called "creative windows and more". If anyone tried to reach me at all this week on my yahoo email, I couldn't use it because my server was down all week. And I do apologize if I couldn't get back to anyone.

  • St
      25th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I just want everyone know that until one of the contract expires at the 180 day point ie 181 day this guy can be thrown in jail. Until then he is free to do whatever he pleases even if that means continually scamming other people. If anyone is reading this message board that has a contract that is going to expire soon and I mean in June please come forward!!!

    The police can't just lock this guy up just because he stole our money until one of the contracts expire. Thats the law. Sure he's continuing to do this and laughing all the way to the bank. Please join forces with me to file a Civil Action Lawsuit against Prima Seal which is a Sole Proprietorship and not a Corporation ASAP before he files Bankruptcy. We are considered last on his list due to Outstanding debts that he already has with Vendors some of which are over $50k, Jeopardy Assessments with Pa Dept of Revenue and IRS and now soon he will have a PAUC issue due to nonpayment of employee wages and maybe even payroll taxes too. Even if this guy is thrown in jail he won't be able to pay $ back because he is now in jail. You have to go after his personal assets, his credit and hit him where he lives. Sure this sucks but obviously this guy turned sour starting almost 6 to 8 mos ago maybe due to an ugly divorce, Cash Flow problems who knows but the fact of the matter is he played us with his little Pyramid Effect with the 180 day clause in the contract. It doesn't matter whether he told you he will do the job such and such a date he has up to 180 days to come through so oh well. Until such time when that 180 days is up and he doesn't have the job done then he is considered in default. I too feel everyone's pain. I had many projects revolved around my house being resided etc. I have a wedding going off in back of my house in 2 mos, invitations have already been sent and replied back how do you think I feel having pictures taken with disgusting Aesbetos siding hanging off my house and its burgeoning too. How am I going to find someone to do this job by the 2nd week in June as verbally agreed too. I am really upset too.

    But its the principal that has to be set here now!

    I have to be honest with all of you that I highly doubt we will ever see our money back again but if this Civil action is filed along with the charges that will be pressed by the Attorney General's office and the lien that is placed on him by this Civil action someday the money may just reappear but if your are thinking its going to happen soon forget it. Sure the TV people can be him on TV and show him for the dog that he is but it still won't change matters. It is what it is! The only way now is to join me with this Civil Action along with what you already are doing. For the NJ residents you are in a much better position since he is not licensed to do business in NJ. You must go in person to with your contract, copies of your canceled checks front and back to the NJ District Attorney and present this to them immediately !!! This will get action!!

  • Bi
      28th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    My wife, Fran, wrote to Kevin A. who advised that an interview should take place today on Fox 5 at 3:30. If there have been any changes, please let us know. We really need to follow this up.

    Thanks to all and have a safe, happy holiday.

  • Ke
      28th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    All, I just wanted to set the right tone. We are all very upset and believe me my husband and I are doing everything we can to get this guy to pay us back and locked up. Today Fox5 did an interview @ our home. They gathered some great facts from my husband & I. We are trying our best to move this along. Since we are in NJ and Brad (Prima Seal) is NOT licensed his contract is already and has been since day one garbage to us! The 180 days means nothing! Stella is right in NJ everyone needs to report this to there local police ASAP. Also to the NJ General's office. WE HAVE BEEN ROBBED FOLKS!!! What Prima Seal did to us we have now become VICTIMS! We are no longer just customers. Our kitchen is still waiting for our BAY WINDOW and every time I walk in that kitchen I get so angry that we signed and gave a check to BRAD, KEN whoever he is... The interview went well today and hopefully it will air soon... I will keep everyone posted but in the mean time, make sure you are calling everyone that needs to be called for complaints etc... Any questions give shoot me an e-mail. Also, I don't think we will be getting our money back any time soon... I am sure there will be a waiting list for those who have been ROBBED!

  • St
      29th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Just an FYI: Sergeant Kutney called and just left a message on my home phone. ---5/29/07. Brad Sores has been arrested and is sitting in their jail in Castasaqua, PA. He was arrested on 2 other Counts of Thief by Deception and not on our dilemma's.

    This guy has major issues. From what the lawyer told me today if he loses on all counts of on the Criminal Complaint he has to make restitution to all of us even if it means paying everyone back for the rest of his life... So you have to file a Civil Claim too to get your money. If he files Bankruptcy then forget it unless you have your claim in before he does it.

  • Mi
      29th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    FYI - here is a news story on the warrants that were issued last week.

    The owner of a window and door replacement company in Catasauqua is in trouble for bilking a customer and a supplier, borough police said.

    Brad Soref, who owns Prima-Seal at 425 Front St., was charged in two arrest warrants filed Thursday at Allentown District Judge Carl Balliet's office with ripping off one of his window suppliers and a customer.

    Catasauqua police said that Soref, 56, of 418 Walnut St., Catasauqua, had an arrangement with Sunrise Windows in Temperance, Mich., to purchase windows in January. Bank records showed that Soref's account was closed on Jan. 3 and the bank had sent him a notice by certified mail to let him know, but on Jan. 9, he sent five checks to Sunrise Windows for a total of $6,869.58, according to court records. The checks were returned.

    In another warrant, Soref was charged with allegedly taking $5,443 from Paul L. Nye of Coal Township, Northumberland County. Nye paid Soref $2,743 on Jan. 31 to replace seven windows and two doors at a property in New Jersey. On March 21, Soref called Nye to tell him that his windows and doors were ready for installation, and Nye gave him the remaining balance for the job, $2,700, but Soref never completed the deal.

    Soref has yet to be arraigned and is charged with two counts of theft by deception and five counts of bad checks in the two arrest warrants.


    This guy is still messing with people though. Cause today my wife got a call from him saying that his wife has cancer and that is why he hasn't gotten back to us. And that if we wanted that he would return our deposit by end of next week. I am not sure what he is trying to pull now, but I am going to contact a lawyer today to see what is going on.

Post your comment