SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

PODSbeware of weight limit

Review updated:

Beware of the new interstate agreement form they ask you to approve.
It has recently been changed to specify a maximum weight in ANY of the container sizes you rent.
Here is the revised text:
the maximum weight of Tenant’s property shall not exceed 4, 400 pounds contained in either the
Lessor’s sixteen-foot (16’) Container(s), twelve-foot (12’) Container(s) or seven-foot (7') Container(s

I'm told a good estimate for weight is 7 lbs per cubic foot. That works out to just under 630 cubic feet of cargo.
Note that the cubic feet in a 16' container is over 16, 300 cubic feet. Lots of space, not much weight capability.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Jul 09, 2008
    PODS - Stay away
    PODS
    United States
    www.pods.com

    PODS (portable on demand storage) entirely misrepresented their storage, delivery, and redelivery fees. They add extra fees they do not tell you about, charge your card without authorization, and their customer service department (if you ever get a person) is rude and incompetent.

    I would look at other storage options as PODS is not as nice as it seems.

    PODS (portable on demand storage) entirely misrepresented their storage, delivery, and redelivery fees. They add extra fees they do not tell you about, charge your card without authorization, and their customer service department (if you ever get a person) is rude and incompetent.

    0 Votes
  • Em
      Oct 16, 2008
    PODS - Damaged items
    PODS
    Trenton
    New Jersey
    United States

    Please be aware before using PODS (portable on demand systems). We trusted that it was the best way to move our family's belongings from New Jersey down to Florida, I would now never reccomend anyone using them!!!
    We arrived in our new home and started opening containers from the POD unit, everything was smashed in pieces, furniture was scuffed up it looked as if the POD had to be dropped or handled extremely rough!!!. We had carefully bubble wrapped and newspapered breakables and placed in gallon storeage rubbermaids but everything was broken. When we contacted PODs they said theyd investigate, we sent pictures of all of our irreplaceable items also. In the end they said they wouldnt do anything, that it was just normal movement while being shippped so we payed this company $2800 and pretty much most of our belongings were damaged.
    Do yourself a favor, Do not use this company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Feb 18, 2009

    Yes, they are not very reliable. When asking them to pick up my POD a representative said I was a Platinum customer and would only need to pay for one week, but then they apparently gave in to the local franchizer who wanted a full month payment for one week. He would not come and pick up the POD unless I paid him $214 for one week, essentially is what it came down to. They will not take it off your property unless they are paid what they demand. If it sits here they charge more. I cannot get it off my property myself. If I could I would put it next to the side of the road.. They are very demeaning and inconsistent and will not give direct answers to any question. My suggestion is do not get involved with this company. Better to find a local storage area and put your things there. I never would do business with them again, and would not have had I known. Anyone with suggestions feel free to write me at: [protected]@comcast.net I am in the Albuquerque, NM area.

    0 Votes
  • Ex
      Sep 29, 2009

    We are in Tucson and I agree with all the Complaints. STAY AWAY FROM PODS!

    This company is run via the Internet, there are no local numbers. This company could be operating out of China.

    Beware and do NOT use this company..Poor Service, Poor contact, Poor training of Contract drivers, all un-insured

    This company should be Investigate by the Attorney General

    0 Votes
  • Ic
      Oct 07, 2009

    I had a similar experience. I have a 6" wooden equipment rack that had toppled over. it's 3"x3" so it would not fall over easily, unless there was a 45degree tilt. I am still trying to get a resolution

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Apr 05, 2010
    PODS - Expect to wait at least 2 weeks to get your stuff
    PODS
    United States
    pods.com

    PODs central has no control over the local PODs sites to adjust delivery schedules and won't give out the phone numbers to the local PODs handlers. The local PODs sites have total control over delivery schedules which puts the consumer at considerable risk as each individual PODs site schedules as they wish. For us that means the delivery date we were promised by PODs central wasn't honored by the local PODs site. We hired movers and now will have to pay a cancelation fee and try to find new movers as the others are booked up for weeks. We are very angry that PODs won't even try and honor the original delivery date. They said they'd review our phone conversation where they told us we would have our POD delivered and then give us $100 for our trouble if they did give us the wrong date. Bottom line, don't believe the delivery dates that PODs gives you. Expect to wait at least 2 weeks to get your stuff.

    0 Votes
  • Zl
      Jun 19, 2010
    PODS - The whole experience was absurd
    PODS
    United States
    pods.com

    First I went online to get an estimate. Pretty easy for Uhaul and other moving companies. PODS site said I had to call so I did. I got the big sales pitch about how great PODS is and she wouldn't answer my questions. I asked her very politely I might ad to please stop the sales pitch and just give me an estimate and she continued with the sales pitch as if she had to read it from a card. I finally got an estimate. I told her I could not afford it but thank you. She got rude and started grilling me about how else was I going to move that far, who else gave me estimates, etc. I asked her to remove my name and phone number from their database and I did not want telemarketing calls or for my info to get into others hands. Through all this she continued to interrupt. I said thank you and goodbye and as I hung up I heard her continuing to talk. The whole experience was absurd.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jul 20, 2010

    Dear Sumbate,

    We are in receipt of your complaint with PODS Enterprises, Inc and we are concerned about the service you are reporting. We would like to assist with bringing some resolution to the situation. Would you please provide your PODS Enterprises, Inc. account information via email address below and we would be happy to assist. We have also provided a toll free number for your reference.

    Thank you

    [protected]@pods.com

    [protected] ext. 6303

    PODS Enterprises, Inc.

    The Best Moving & Storage Idea Ever.

    0 Votes
  • D0
      Feb 10, 2011

    PODS sucks. Hire a lawyer and go after them

    +1 Votes
  • Je
      Dec 29, 2011

    Hello,

    I just saw this complaint and would like to apologize for the late response and your experience. If you'd like to, send me an email at [protected]@podssocial.com. Let's see if there is anything we can do to help.

    Best wishes,
    Jennifer

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Aug 19, 2016
    PODS - This is not the type of company I want to work with or customer service I expect
    PODS
    United States
    pods.com

    A rainstorm caused $3, 500 in damage to my items stored in my POD I had on my streed in front of my home. I had purchased in insurance with PODS, but when I filed my claim with the company, they wrote me back and let me know they do not cover natural disasters.

    This is not the type of company I want to work with or customer service I expect.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Aug 19, 2016
    PODS - Bad customer service
    PODS
    United States

    You can tell a bad service company when you have a problem and they never say "let's make this work" or "I'll see what I can do."

    The PODS people - both the local franchise and the national - immediately start rambling on about fine print in the agreement that you signed that proves the mold in the pod is your fault, that the lack of preparation on their part is your fault, the mysterious extra charges are your fault. The reason they start rambling on? Because they get complaints night and day and never have the slightest intention of making it work.

    How about you listen to your customers and help them try to solve the problem?

    0 Votes
  • 55
      Aug 19, 2016
    PODS - Never again
    PODS
    United States
    pods.com

    Pods did not disclose how big the container was, ended up with 2 containers. the second container only had few boxes but still paid the full price for both containers. The tell you that they record conversations with you on the phone but they deny everything when you call them. I would not use pods again or recommend any of their services.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
      Aug 19, 2016
    PODS - Terrible
    PODS
    United States

    PODS delivered my POD on 2 1/2 weeks early and damaged my brick retaining wall. It took over two months to resolve my delivery issue. They never returned my phone calls and when they finally got back to me to inform me that they reviewed the call and determined that they made the error they had the nerve to tell me that I was at fault since I received email confirmation of the delivery. Their own customer service department complains about the other divisions and it's just a game of passing the buck.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Aug 19, 2016
    PODS - Damage from move
    Massachusetts
    United States

    They obviously shook and dropped the PODS container as my front loading washer (properly packed and contained) had the drum off of the pistons and the concrete collar cracked !
    They refuse payment for it, even though I am only claiming 1/2 of what it is worth and NOT claiming the scratches and dents from my funiture. I am ONLY claiming the washer as it is beyond repair.
    5 months later... still crap.
    Took PODS 3 months to even respond to the insurance company. When I asked the insurance co to send me THEIR pictures of the PODS (which I would have assumed they would have gotten since I had to submit my own) they said there were NO pics from PODS.
    So now I have to go to COURT to get my money and YEAH I will be asking the full amount plus court cost, fees and Lawyer costs too !

    0 Votes

Post your comment