The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Orbitz / Credit card charged for hotel & room this consumer never received

1 United States Review updated:

Please read on and you will see that I booked and paid for a suite in January 2007 for a trip to Toronto in June 2007. I did not get the hotel nor the room that I paid for. The trip was a total waste and I had to turn around and drive home. When I attempt to get some resolve, Orbitz just keeps giving me the run around and is not communicating with me other than the same automated message to my request for a refund everytime I contact them. Something very fishy is going on with Orbitz. It appears they practice unethical and illegal business practices (i.e., fraud). Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. READ ON FOR THE FULL STORY:

(Saturday June 23rd, 2007, Orbitz reply to my request on this date)
Dear Colleen,

Thank you for contacting Orbitz.

With regards to your query, after a guest checks out of a hotel, they
are sent and e-mail from Orbitz asking them to complete a survey on the
hotel. The guest has 90 days to submit the survey.

If have not received a survey, you may revert with your feedback with
regards to the hotel and we will forward it to the appropriate
department.

Please note, Orbitz periodically sends out e-mails after a guest checks
out of a hotel asking them to complete a survey on the hotel. The guest
has 90 days to submit the survey. If you do not received a survey, you may revert with your feedback with regards to the hotel and we will forward it to the appropriate department.

We value you as a customer and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Lisa
OrbitzTLC
www.Orbitz.com
Orbitz - The faster, easier way to find the trip you want.

Original Message Follows:

In January 2007 we booked a suite at the Town Inn Suites in Toronto for Friday June 22 for three nights. The suite was to have a king bed, a separate living room area and a full kitchenette. The morning of the 22 I called the Town Inn Suites to further inquire about other amenities such as toasters, and the like as we intended to bring some food with us and take full advantage of the suite. We were never told that there was a problem with the rooms. We were told everything is
fine and "we look forward to seeing you". When we arrived we were told the room was not available due to water damage. They then made arrangements to send us to the Bond Hotel. We were told that it would be same except that the Bond did not have a pool. We accepted. When we
arrived at the Bond we were told that they do not have suites, only rooms with twin beds in them. No kitchen, no king beds, no living room area, nothing. It was late, we were tired and we took the room for one night. The beds were horrible, and the room was very tiny. The offered to give us an upgrade, which turned out to be a room with three small beds, not two!!!

We were lied to as to the compatibility between the two hotels. We had brought food with us since we thought we would have a kitchen area, all that was lost. Our weekend was ruined. We are requesting a full Refund, as we did not receive anything we paid for. We have documentation from both hotels to confirm our situation. The manager at the Town Inn Suites is Mila Campian, she is will aware of how we feel about this.

Colleen Walker Orbitz record locator XC7259.

(Thursday, June 28, 2007, Orbitz reply to my request on this date)

Dear Colleen,
Thank you for contacting Orbitz.

In response to your query, we have already forwarded your hotel complaint to the appropriate department.

Please note that, after you check out of a hotel, you are sent an e-mail from Orbitz (following Thursday) asking you to complete a survey on the hotel. You have 90 days to submit the survey.

We value you as a customer and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Gerrard
OrbitzTLC
www.Orbitz.com

Orbitz - The faster, easier way to find the trip you want.

Original Message Follows:
Dear Lisa -

I have not yet received the survey from Orbitz that you had indicated would come in order to move this matter forward. I need some resolve as this was costly and I was not in anyway provided the room I had ordered and for which was confirmed via Orbitz and the hotel itself that I was to receive. Thus, making this experience/trip a total bust and needing to return home the following morning after suffering one miserable night in that alternative hotel. Please revert to my feedback with regards to the hotel and forward it to the appropriate department. Please confirm they are in receipt of it once it has been done. Should they need to speak with me personally, my home number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanking you in advance for your prompt attention. Sincerely, Colleen Walker

OrbitzTLCService <OrbitzTLCService@orbitz.com> wrote:

Dear Colleen, Thank you for contacting Orbitz. With regards to your query, after a guest checks out of a hotel, they are sent and e-mail from Orbitz asking them to complete a survey on the hotel. The guest has 90 days to submit the survey. If have not received a survey, you may
revert with your feedback with regards to the hotel and we will forward it to the appropriate department. Please note, Orbitz periodically sends out e-mails after a guest checks out of a hotel asking them to complete a survey on the hotel. The guest has 90 days to submit the survey. If you do not received a survey, you may revert with your feedback with regards to the hotel and we will forward it to the appropriate department. We value you as a customer and look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Lisa OrbitzTLC www.Orbitz.com Orbitz - The faster, easier way to find the trip you want.

Original Message Follows: In January

2007 we booked a suite at the Town Inn Suites in Toronto for Friday June 22 for three nights. The suite was to have a king bed, a separate Living room area and a full kitchenette. The morning of the 22 I called the Town Inn Suites to further inquire about other amenities such as toasters, and the like as we intended to bring some food with us and take full advantage of the suite. We were never told that there was a problem with the rooms. We were told everything is fine and "we look
forward to seeing you". When we arrived we were told the room was not available due to water damage. They then made arrangements to send us to the Bond Hotel. We were told that it would be same except that the Bond did not have a pool. We accepted. When we arrived at the Bond we were told that they do not have suites, only rooms with twin beds in them. No kitchen, no king beds, no living room area, nothing. It was late, we were tired and we took the room for one night. The beds were horrible, and the room was very tiny. The offered to give us an upgrade, which
turned out to be a room with three small beds, not two!!! We were lied to as to the compatibility between the two hotels. We had brought food with us since we thought we would have a kitchen area, all that was lost. Our weekend was ruined. We are requesting a full refund, as we did
not receive anything we paid for. We have documentation from both hotels to confirm our situation. The manager at the Town Inn Suites is Mila Campian, she is will aware of how we feel about this. Here, this is the first time we have used Orbitz and most likely the last. Awaiting your reply. Colleen Walker Orbitz record locator XC7259.


Your Hotel Confirmation (Received this confirmation from Orbitz on January 12, 2007)…that I had booked the following suite of which I did not get upon arriving in Toronto).

Hello Colleen,

Thanks for booking on Orbitz. This e-mail confirms your hotel reservation .

Please review the cancellation policy and other details of this reservation in the "My Trips" section on the Orbitz site. If you have any questions, you can e-mail us.

Access your account and trip details online with this temporary password: zdRK3cXYErZA

See sign-in instructions below.
Hotel Information

Trip name: Toronto 6/22/07
Orbitz record locator: XC7259
Guest name: Colleen Walker
Hotel name: Town Inn Suites
Address:
620 Church Street
Toronto, ON M4Y2G2
Phone number: [protected]
Check-in date: Fri, Jun 22, 2007
Check-out date: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
Total number of guests: 2
Total number of rooms: 1 room
Executive King Suite - 1 king bed and 1 sofa bed
Rate description: OrbitzSaver - Buy Now and Save!
Average rate per night: $140.51
Amount charged to your credit card: $488.32
Unless otherwise specified, all costs are provided in US dollars.

Cancellation:
Cancellations or changes more than 1 day prior to 4:00 pm local hotel time on the day of arrival are subject to a $25 charge. Cancellations or changes within 1 day prior to 4:00 pm local hotel time on the day of arrival are subject to a charge equal to room and tax for the first night. Cancellations or changes after 4:00 pm local hotel time on the day of arrival are subject to a 100% charge. We are sorry but refunds are not available for early check-out. The hotel is not authorized to make an exception to this policy.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pr
      8th of Jun, 2012
    0 Votes

    We represent The Infantry hotel in Bangalore, India We are trying to submit the filled up form for tying up with Orbitz, but it is not getting submitted. Please advice.

    Contact person: Pradeep Shrivastava
    email: gmsales@theinfantryhotel.com

Post your comment