The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Nuvox / Fraudulent practices

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

This is to inform all business / new customers about Nuvox. We signed up for their service to provide our office with internet & phone service back in Oct 2006. All service has been great. But for people who are looking at them for service, take a second look before you sign.

Why I say this is that we have a 3 year contract with them, and buried in the contact it says that they can raise the price of your service to anything they want to. I had to go back a take a second look when I got this notice on our bill about a rate increase. I called customers service about this and they said there was nothing they could do.

A contract is for a fixed price, not so they can up it later. I have read other contacts from all the other companies & Nuvoxs contract is the only one that I have found that does this. All other contracts read that they will notify you of a rate increase 30 days before the contract is set to expire, so you can agree to the new contract price or cancel the service.

We where paying $480.00 per month starting in OCT 2006, now at DEC 2008, we are paying $540.12 per month. Over a 12 percent increase, and our contract is not up until OCT 2009. There has already been 2 rate increases.

We where going to adding more services to Nuvox, but when they hit our company with this, we decided not to give them any more business. And on top of that, we tried to talk to our sales rep & they will not even call you back, after leaving 4 messages.

This may not seem like allot to a larger business, but when we set our budget for a certain year and then they pull this, this is a company that I do not want to do business with. THIS IS JUST DIRTY BUSINESS.

If anybody wants to contact me on this you are more then welcome, I will be more than happy to share all the information I have.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Co
      13th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    This is to inform all business / new customers about Nuvox. We signed up for their service to provide our office with internet & phone service back in Oct 2006. All service has been great. But for people who are looking at them for service, take a second look before you sign.

    Why I say this is that we have a 3 year contract with them, and buried in the contact it says that they can raise the price of your service to anything they want to. I had to go back a take a second look when I got this notice on our bill about a rate increase. I called customers service about this and they said there was nothing they could do.

    A contract is for a fixed price, not so they can up it later. I have read other contacts from all the other companies & Nuvoxs contract is the only one that I have found that does this. All other contracts read that they will notify you of a rate increase 30 days before the contract is set to expire, so you can agree to the new contract price or cancel the service.

    We where paying $480.00 per month starting in OCT 2006, now at DEC 2008, we are paying $540.12 per month. Over a 12 percent increase, and our contract is not up until OCT 2009. There has already been 2 rate increases.

    We where going to adding more services to Nuvox, but when they hit our company with this, we decided not to give them any more business. And on top of that, we tried to talk to our sales rep & they will not even call you back, after leaving 4 messages.

    This may not seem like allot to a larger business, but when we set our budget for a certain year and then they pull this, this is a company that I do not want to do business with. THIS IS JUST DIRTY BUSINESS.

    If anybody wants to contact me on this you are more then welcome, I will be more than happy to share all the information I have.

  • Ma
      30th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    yes i agree. we were forced to downsize our busness and wanted them to call forward the phone numbers to my cell. they told me they could not do that and that i would have to go to AT&T. great service?

  • Om
      29th of Oct, 2009
    +1 Votes
    Nuvox - poor service
    Tampa
    Florida
    United States

    DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY WITH NUVOX..BAD BAD BAD SERVICE..I HAVE 12 PHONE LINES WITH THEM AND I REGRET IT EVERYDAY THAT I SIGNED A CONTRACT WITH THEM..CUSTOMER SERVICE IS TERRIBLE..THEY CUT YOUR SERVICE AT WRONG DATE, THEY CANNOT ADD A SIGN

  • Rb
      2nd of Nov, 2009
    -1 Votes

    I disagree with the statement above. I am in sales for NuVox and am able to remove such a clause from all our contracts on the front end.

  • Di
      5th of Oct, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I know this is an older post, but I wanted to chime in. I can't wait to drop Nuvox. They were recently bought out by Windstream and since then the service has sucked. Their inside communications is horrible, the reliablity of their service has gone down the toilet, and as Kreymor stated above, they have raised our rates twice in the past 2 1/2 years. I wouldn't recommend them for anything and will do everything I can to never do business with them again. For the record, we currently have a 20meg Internet connection from them. I am in negotiations on a 30meg connection that will cost 20% less than the 20meg currently does, and, the price is absolutely locked in.

    Steer clear of Nuvox - I don't care what the "rbpowell831" says.

Post your comment