The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Norton 360 / computer will not allow me to do back-up, and never finishes updates

1 WY, United States Review updated:

The following is the transcription of my conversation with Norton online analyst support: Do they have anyone more fluent in English?
My problems are not solved, and it seems my only choice is to get the measely refund offered, and go to another company for virus protection,

Spoke w/ syed
4/18/09 12;25 am mst

Ms. Terry Eden has entered room.
Syed has entered room.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:30:23 MDT 2009)>
You are being transferred to Syed.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:30:29 MDT 2009)>
Welcome to Norton Support, my name is Syed, Can I please have a minute to go through the information you have provided?

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:30:52 MDT 2009) sure!

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:32:54 MDT 2009)>
Thanks, your case number is [protected], please write this down.

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:33:26 MDT 2009)> got it

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:33:36 MDT 2009)>
Please don’t follow this now – but just in case we get disconnected for any reason, you can follow these instructions to reconnect to me.. You'll need to do this within a couple of minutes of being disconnected:
Can you please make a note of these instructions.

1) Open up Internet Explorer and then go to www.norton.com/connectme
2) Enter the [Connection Code] 299946
3) Click on [Submit]

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:34:33 MDT 2009)> OK

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:35:01 MDT 2009)> do you want me to do this now?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:35:12 MDT 2009)> No,

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:36:42 MDT 2009)> May I confirm that yopu have slow dial up connection?

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:37:00 MDT 2009)> YES

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:37:51 MDT 2009)> I am not able to get any other type of connection at my location (mountains)

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:38:16 MDT 2009)>
Can I put you on hold for 2 or 3 minutes while I look into this for you?

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:38:41 MDT 2009)> certainly

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:43:04 MDT 2009)> Thanks, for holding. Thsi problem is occur because you have a slow connection.

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:44:31 MDT 2009)>
Should I change the type of protection I have for my computer?

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:44:50 MDT 2009)> I would like to stay with Norton.

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:45:21 MDT 2009)> Can I get a refund on the 300+ days I have left on my Norton 360 account?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:46:06 MDT 2009)> Please wait while I check this for you.

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:50:00 MDT 2009)> Are we still connected?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:51:12 MDT 2009)> Yes, I am pulling your records that I can help you with.

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:51:32 MDT 2009)> OK

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:55:41 MDT 2009)>
Terry, I have pulled up your records since you have slow connection.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 22:56:47 MDT 2009)> I will make a refund for you. Is that ok with you?

Ms. Terry Eden(Fri Apr 17 23:57:31 MDT 2009)> What do you suggest I use, having a dial-up connection, instead of Norton 360?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:01:21 MDT 2009)> I will suggest you to have Norton program in your computer and i think that you are not facing this problem for the last one year.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:02:13 MDT 2009)> Since your program is downloading the critical updates and you have slow connection it is taking long time.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:02:49 MDT 2009)>
Once the critical update is done you will not facing this problem again.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:03:19 MDT 2009)> Everything was working fine until my computer did a system restore (without my direction.)

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:03:42 MDT 2009)> My computer repair man did an update for me.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:04:04 MDT 2009)> It has not (Norton) worked corrctly since that time.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:04:37 MDT 2009)> Nor has it allowed me to do a back-up.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:05:17 MDT 2009)> It tells me to click "fix>" I do, and nothing happens.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:05:23 MDT 2009)> So, know you can do a back up. Is that correct?

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:05:45 MDT 2009)> The repairman said I had no viruses.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:05:58 MDT 2009)> I cannot do a back-up.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:06:13 MDT 2009)> Not since the computer did the system restore.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:07:30 MDT 2009)> May I confirm that the Live update has finished or not.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:08:06 MDT 2009)> It has not. It ran 24 hours a day for the past 5 days.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:10:54 MDT 2009)> Ok, I will suggest you to turn off the computer and restart and try again.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:11:46 MDT 2009)>
I have tried that, on more than 1 occasion, with the same results.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:16:14 MDT 2009)> I will make a partial refund 58$ that is ok with you.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:17:17 MDT 2009)>
That still does not answer my question: What other Norton product will work efficiently with a dial-up connection?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:19:01 MDT 2009)> All of the dial up Customer face the same problem.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:20:10 MDT 2009)> So, are you saying I can get no decent virus protection from Norton?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:26:31 MDT 2009)>
No, I am saying that you will can get the latest update the thing is you have very slow Internet connection.But lot of our customer have the problem even the able to download the updates maximum 3 to 4 hrs.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:28:31 MDT 2009)>
and is there a reason it is taking my computer more than 5 DAYS?

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:28:28 MDT 2009)>
I will suggest you to delete all the files in Temp folder this will increase your speed and you will able to download the updates little bit faster.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:29:10 MDT 2009)> I do this 1-2 times weekly.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:30:20 MDT 2009)> No, I dont know what exactly taking you to download the updates. please delete all the file in Temp folder and Delete all the files in recycler bin.

Syed(Fri Apr 17 23:30:46 MDT 2009)> This will help you to download the updates little bit faster.

Ms. Terry Eden(Sat Apr 18 00:32:26 MDT 2009)> Tell you what - I do not feel that you are helping me at all. I will contact another Norton representative, as I do not think they want me to look to another company for virus protection (nor do I want to; especially since I have never had this problem with Norton on the past 6 years that I have been using it.)

Ro
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • He
      15th of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I have used Norton porducts since I had my first computer and even recommended the product at my work place. They have sent me a DVD to solve the problem of the computer not allowing me to use Backup and Norton will download my virus and spyware definitions regardless of what I or they do. Frankly I am at wits end on this and like alot of others will be forced to look else where for my protection. This is certainly not what I want to do but what is necessary when I am not getting the service I expect. Let's get it together Norton. The ball is your court.

    Gerald S. Hepner
    252 Little Lane
    Maurertown, Va. 22644

Post your comment