SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

North American Bancard / Service

Review updated:

I signed up for a merchant account on Thursday September 2, 2010 with a new account agent. I was told that if I finished up everything on Thursday, then the wireless terminal that I wanted would be shipped on Friday and arrive sometime in the beginning of next week. I was assured that it would arrive at the beginning of the week. This was a very important selling factor, being that I needed the machine before I opened my new business on Friday September 10, 2010. Well, it didn't happen. I do understand that Monday was Labor Day, but the terminal was not shipped until Tuesday 07, 2010. What is even worse, is that it was shipped via UPS ground and scheduled to arrive on Monday September 13, 2010. When I realized this, I called Mr. Agent on Wednesday September 08, 2010. He said that he would work on it and that it should have been shipped on Friday and he didn't understand why it wasn't. I suggested the possibility of overnighting a different machine. He told me that he would call me back that day. Well, by 7:00PM CST I hadn't received a call, so I called him and was informed that nothing could be done that day and that he would let me know something Thursday morning. He called me Thursday morning and suggested that I call UPS and try to speed up the delivery time, however there may be an additional charge to me for the extra delivery cost. Of course, I wasn't very happy about that and expressed that to Mr. Agent. He told me to call him if there was a charge, however this ended up not being an issue as UPS could not change the delivery method. Well, I told Mr. Agent this and he was supposed to call me back. I understand that this may not be as big an issue for him and he has other responsibilities, but for me it is very important as I need this machine to open a business the following day. So after an hour I tried to call him, left a voicemail. Called an hour later, again voicemail. I then called another agent to get some information about what was going on, but the agent didn't have access to Mr. Agent's accounts. Shortly after, Mr. Agent returned my call only to inform me that there was nothing he could do and they could not overnight a new terminal for the next day.

I am very disappointed with the service I received from North American Bancard. I chose the company partly based on their ability to provide a terminal quickly and was assured that there would not be an issue. However, they were unable to deliver. Had I known this ahead of time, I would not have gone with this company. This has really put me in a bind and added extra worry for me during an already stressful time. What makes me even worse, is that I offered the possibility of an overnighted terminal 2 days prior to opening and felt like nothing was being done to take care of the problem and that it wasn't important to my agent. I would have paid for overnight shipment, had Mr. Agent confirmed that it was necessary and possible. But now, it is almost close of business on Thursday prior to my business opening and I am running out of options.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Rp
      Sep 15, 2010

    Dear Merchant,

    NAB works very diligently to resolve all customer issues and complaints. Since our inception in 1992, we have worked with over 125, 000 merchants of all sizes and levels of complexity. We provide a high level of service and support to our customers, as is evidenced by the low number of complaints we handle. Occasionally we, like any other large company, may make a mistake or mishandle an issue. When these are brought to our attention we resolve them to the best of our ability. Our 250+ employees work hard every day to make doing business with NAB a pleasure for our merchants and stakeholders, all we ask is the opportunity to recover well.

    First and foremost, I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and the unsatisfactory customer service that you have experienced.

    In regards to the delivery of the terminal, it depends on when the order is placed and where it is being shipped to that would determine when it would arrive.

    Unfortunately enough information was not provided for us to accurately determine your specific Merchant Account. Should you have any questions regarding this response, please have your Merchant number ready and contact Diana at [protected], so that your specific situation may be properly researched and addressed.

    Sincerely,
    Customer Care

    0 Votes
  • De
      May 26, 2011

    Please contact me if interested in pursuing a class action suit against North American Bancard. We are compiling a list of people who want to do this. thanks, [protected]@hotmail.com
    [protected]

    +1 Votes
  • Rp
      May 31, 2011

    Hello Dendro, and anyone else this concerns,
    Before taking such a time consuming, and expensive action as requesting legal assistance, we recommend that you contact our Research department for help. If you have a problem, let us solve it. It will be much more beneficial to you then to continue corresponding on this website. Please contact our Research Analyst, Scott, at [protected], extension 1256. This individual's primary responsibility is to make right, what has potentially been made wrong. If you are uncomfortable communicating with us over the phone, we can resolve your issue entirely through email, you may write Scott at [protected]@nabancard.com.

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      Jun 10, 2011

    VERY DISHONEST PEOPLE!!! They mailed our first statement with a .42 charge, when the representative came to set up the terminal, he told my wife that the fee would be credited to our next bill. The second bill had the $25 minimum activity charge plus the .42. I looked at the statement and seen the made the statement on 5/31/11, post marked the envelope on 6/6/11, ran it through the post office system on 6/7/11 and arrived at the PO box on 6/9/11. These dates are VERY IMPORTANT PEOPLE. Our trial period ENDED ON 6/10/11!!! I'll bet many of you out there had the same thing happen to you! I was NEVER TOLD ABOUT THE $25 MINIMUM FEE AND ASKED THE REPRESENTATIVE (Ryan Roberts) how the company made any $$. He assured us the only charge was the $7.50 charge and there were NO MINIMUMS!! He didn't know our facility has security cameras and recording!! Well, after opening the 2nd bill, my wife told me about the $25 charge. I called the scam artiest and went to work, forgetting to tell the 1st person that call may be recorded and not for training purposes. Her name was Lindsay, seemed nice. The 1st person I talked with wasn't Lindsay, but she asked if I had the contract when I told her I was not told about the $25 fee, I told her Ryan had taken all the copies, she said you signed it, I said I wasn't told, then she transferred me to Lindsay. That is when Lindsay told me that my trial period would be over on 6/10/11, mind you, this is 6/9/11 at about 1PM after being on hold for a LONG TIME. She told me she would fax a cancellation letter to me and I could fax it back to cancel the service and lead me to believe everything would be good. I will try to cut out stuff, The letter said I agreed to the cancellation fees if I didn't return the terminal and the cancellation letter by or on the 10th! or would be charge $1105 (don't have exact amount in front of me). We were blessed by THE LORD and got the terminal to FEDEX and it will be in Troy Michigan. I talked to Tonya and told her that their company was wrong and they didn't charge me the $25 fee the 1st month, she said the computer had a "glitch". I asked her why they did.t charge me the 1st months fee on the 2nd bill, she said their computer doesn't work that way lots and l ots more info that I think an attorney and the postal inspectors might be interested in.

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Jun 15, 2011

    We're sorry to hear that you've had an unpleasant experience with our company. We at no point attempt to manipulate statement delivery in hopes to lock merchants into their 36-month agreements. We would like to work with you to resolve your issues if there are any which still require assistance. Unfortunately, we are unaware of your account specifics. Please contact our Research Analyst, Scott, at [protected], extension 1256. You may also email him at [protected]@nabancard.com.

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 13, 2011

    Dear NAB,
    Can you tell me why the NAB refuse to provide us the equipment and software as clearly indicated on the merchant application ( Merchant Account No. [protected])? We addressed in writing the issue to Rebecca, dated November 16, 2011, and no response from the NAB. One year later, the merchant account placed in collection.
    One more question, in court, who is responsible for the illegal acts of NAB rep who signed the application (of course, he/she would be disappeared after the contract signed), NAB or the Merchant?

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Dec 14, 2011

    DukeL,
    We received a correspondence from you on 10/27/2010. On 11/01/2010, we responded asking to please provide specific information, as the letter your sent was simply asking for a copy of all contracts and that you would like to stop any charges.
    Again, we show that we shipped the requested free terminal and swapped it when there was an issue with it.
    I urge you to reach out to me directly so that we can actually assist you.
    My email is [protected]@nabancard.com.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 14, 2011

    Rebecca,
    We sent a letter dated 10/27/2010, and we specifically asked for the copy of origin contract, not illegible document. You responded, on 11/01/2010, that you want to resolve the issue without further delay, however, you did not provide us a copy of the origin contract as requested, but a copy of illegible copy of copy of fax (I understand that you would tell me that you didn't keep or lost the origin contract). On 11/16/2010, I response to your 11/01/2010 letter trying to resolve the merchant issue of the NAB refusing to provide the FREE terminal and software as clearly indicated on the application (I clearly understand that you already said you not receive it!). Since then, I heard no response but one year later, the merchant account in collection.
    Rebecca, since this is the first time I heard that the NAB sent us a FREE terminal as indicated on the merchant application, can you provide (or write) us a statement states that the NAB already send us a FREE terminal on date xxx? I want in writing!
    Assume that the NAB did send the "FREE" terminal to us, then why did the NAB refuse to reprogram PC Charge software as clearly indicated on the application?

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Dec 22, 2011

    DukeL,
    We have received back the equipment that was provided for free, and we had also built a file for the PC Charge that was available for download and processing at your convenience.
    We apologize for any misunderstanding and will be sending you additional information via U.S. Postal mail.
    Thanks,
    Rebecca Paull
    Research Manager

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 24, 2011

    Rebecca,
    Yeah! It's misunderstanding that the PayProTech (forgery) turned the FREE equipment (of NAB) into the LEASE equipment.(of First Data), and the PC Charge was available that located (hidden) somewhere that we haven't known. The deal was the NAB reprogram our PC Terminal, not we reprogram our PC. I look forward to see what's in your additional information.
    Rebecca,
    The card service agreement without the Merchant's ACCEPTANCE is the NON-BINDING contract, and the NAB withdrew money from the merchant's bank account based on the term of the NON-BINDING contract was an act of a thief, and by sending the the merchant account to a collection based on the NON-BINDING contract was totally illegal.
    The NAB shall be responsible for any damages caused by its acts!

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 29, 2011

    Rebecca,
    According to the PayProTech who signed the Merchant's application, the equipment was the LEASE equipment of the First Data, and it's NOT the FREE equipment of the NAB. Until now, there is no reprogram PC Charge software setting up for us to perform any credit card transaction.
    Please read the last paragraph of the Merchant's Acceptance section in the Merchant Application. It clearly states:
    "A MERCHANT'S SUBMISSION OF A TRANSACTION TO GLOBAL DIRECT SHALL BE DEEMED TO SIGNIFY THE MERCHANT'S ACCEPTANCE OF AGREEMENT, INCLUDING THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS HEREIN." Hence, we've never submitted any transaction, therefore is NO ACCEPTANCE of the Agreement.
    The card service agreement without the Merchant's ACCEPTANCE is the NON-BINDING contract, and the NAB withdrew money from the merchant's bank account based on the term of the NON-BINDING contract was an act of a thief, and by sending the the merchant account to a collection based on the NON-BINDING contract was totally illegal."

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Dec 30, 2011

    Again, We have responded to you via email.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca Paull

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 30, 2011

    Rebecca,
    Not only what you wrote but also the amount the NAB had been debited to our bank account before November 01, 2010, based on the term of the NON-BINDING contract should be reimbursed.
    Please understand that no one would do $ business with people who tricked and forged documents.

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Jan 03, 2012

    As I have advised numerous times via email, although your claims are not completely factual, we have canceled your account and removed all amounts from the collection agency.
    In regards to First Data Leasing, we are not party to any lease agreements. That would be an agreement with a third party provider, and unfortunately we can not assist with any aspect of that, however you are able to share with them our correspondences if needed. You would need to work with them directly.
    No credits are due to the business as we have cleared all previous losses.
    Again, we apologize for any misunderstandings that have occurred with your account and wish you the best going forward.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca

    0 Votes
  • Du
      May 31, 2012

    Rebecca,
    You said "we have canceled your account and removed all amounts from the collection agency". But why has the NAB placed the cancelled/clear account with another collection agent! ?

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Jun 13, 2012

    Hello DukeL,

    Your account has been removed from all collection agencies. A follow-up inquiry will be sent to each agency to assure that all loses have been cleared.

    If additional assistance is needed, please do not hesitate to contact me at [protected], extension 1251or via email [protected]@nabancard.com.

    Sincerely,
    Veronica Jackson
    Research Analyst

    0 Votes

Post your comment