SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

New York City Housing Authority / transfer/portability since 12/1/10 and no progress

bronx new york, NY, United States Review updated:

On december 1, 2010 I went to the section 8 office on fordham road bronx new york to submit all the necessary documents for a portability to another state, at this time the representative at the call center stated to me it will take anywhere between 6-8 weeks to be processed and i'll be able to move. On december 16, 2010 I had gotten assualted in my own buliding by a neighbor that also lives in the building, a arrest had been made and I was referred to victims services through the manhattan district's attorney's office and they gave me letters for a expedited transfer/portability and also stated to me that the paperwork should speed the process up to help me move out of the danger that me and my family are enduring. At this date which is 6/7/11, I call the call center every two-three days and I get the same answer every time (that the portabilty is on the desk of the supervisor awaiting approval) and it's been sitting there since 5/14/2011 and there isn't nothing being done to speed the process along to assure me and my four children. The answer I received along with (Its still pending approval) , is the work load is over back logged, not enough man power to do the work.. Please get back in contact with me with some help to help me and my family move. Thank you in advance

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • He
      Jul 08, 2011

    Is there a reason you need section 8? You have 4 kids and do you work? As a tax payer I am so angry at the number of people who hold their hand out for the government saying, "Gimme, gimme gimme" I work hard and am bearly making ends meat, I live in a run down apartment and people who do not work and keep having babies they can't afford are getting nicer places to live and more perks then hard working tax payers...get a job and stop waiting for us to support you and your kids

    +2 Votes
  • De
      Jul 08, 2011

    As far as working, Yes I do have a job and I received my section 8 through Domestic Violence when I was 18 years old., my section 8 isn't something I have just received I've had it for 15 years and I dont plan on losing it, if you are fortunate enough to get section 8 no matter what the reason is God bless you. And Im sorry that you live in a run down apartment and you barely make ends meet, however keep your faith in God and turn that anger that you have for individuals that do get help from the government into something positive and keep striving it can only get better. Be blessed!

    -1 Votes
  • De
      Jul 08, 2011

    Thank you Brenda, however I've spoken to several supervisors and my next step is to write a letter to the commisioner and see if I can get some help.

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jul 08, 2011

    People should use section 8 when they need it, keeping it just because you got it is not right...I am sorry you don't seem to care, that my tax dollars are paying your rent

    +1 Votes
  • Dd
      Mar 17, 2012

    Health2011, you do not seem to get it. You are talking, but you are not listening. And if you are not listening, you are not learning. We all are here to serve a purpose. If you feel you "live in a run down apartment, " then do something about it. Be PROACTIVE AND REDUCE THE ANGER. Peace & Blessings.

    0 Votes

Post your comment