SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Movie Gallery / powerplay

1 Hermistn, OR, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 541-567-0201

I work for Hollywood video/media gallery. We are supposed to be selling power plays. However...you have to have this $7.99-$39.99 plan taken out of your account automatically every month. We have customers coming in showing a bank statement where they've taken it out 2-3 times in one month. Movie gallery will not reimburse for overdraft fee's either. Now, if you want to pay with cash you have to pay for at least 6 months in advance!
O.K., so if we don't sell enough of these in a month (1 every hour they want you to have) You start getting written up..and after a couple months of not making your sells you get terminated! I just don't know how to sell something that I think is a ripoff and would never buy!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  •   Jun 30, 2008
    Movie Gallery - Rip off
    Movie Gallery
    United States
    www.moviegallery.com

    We rent movies weekly from the Movie Gallery in our area and upon checking out were asked if we'd like to purchase a bag of popcorn and a little plastic flag for a buck, proceeds to go to buying movies for the troops. After we purchased this I read the sign as we were leaving that 10% goes to troops.

    Are you f*caking kidding me that movie Gallery charges 5 bucks for a movie and cant give more than 10 cents per dollar to the troops that are protecting our freedom so they MG can rip us all off as well as them. That is ridiculous. And I am p*ssed.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Jul 11, 2008

    I have contacted the President, Corp manager, and everyone I could reguarding this. I am making a movie to put on Youtube, and military web forums to expose them for war profiting. I still need a picture of the sign. The District manager Paul Dobrzynski cut me off from filming in the store. So I did what I could out side of movie gallery. If you can get me a picture of the sign, I will be able to finish my film.

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Mar 09, 2009
    Movie Gallery - Absurd place
    Movie Gallery
    United States

    This place is absurd. There are pornographic movies on the counters and tables for children to see, filthy floors, and terrible customer service. Today, I felt embarassed and shameful just being there. After I quickly picked out a movie and went to check out they said I had never opened an account there before which was crazy because I have been there before, they said they must have lost my information, that was comforting. They also require a drivers license, rental card, and a password to rent a movie. Finally when they finsihed creating a new account, she said I had late fees on record from several months ago...I thought I had never recieved an account before?! Anyway I paid the $24.00 fee, which was nuts(They charge 4.00 per movie, per night that it is late), and then she asked me if I wanted to buy damage protection for only a quarter, I replied, "No, thank you." Then she proceded to tell me how much of a mistake I was making and then said that she recieved a better bonus when her damage protection numbers were higher! So just to get the whole thing over with I bought it and walked to the other side of the counter to pick up my movies and get out of there, then the phone rang and it was a personal call for the cashier, and she told me to hold on a second. Then she talked for at least five minutes then finally came over and handed me the movies I had rented, while several other customers stood in line. When I got home I looked in the sack and they were the wrong movies! I quickly called the store and the same cashier said she had no record of the movies I had rented! I was upset and told her I wanted my money back then for the movies. She simply said yea, right and hung up on me. I called back and asked her if we had gotten disconnected or if she hung up on me. She yelled, "I hung up on you!" And then hung up again. I highly recommend that no one vists this store, it will not be a good experience.

    0 Votes
  • Ab
      May 01, 2009
    Movie Gallery - Poor Customer Service
    Movie Gallery
    Dunnellon
    Florida
    United States
    Phone: 352-489-9770

    A couple weeks ago, my oldest daughter had received a phone call from Movie Gallery letting us know we had been selected for a free rental. On Tuesday, April 28, 2017 I took my youngest daughter to Movie Gallery. Carmica, was working at the front, I had told her that we received a phone call saying that we had a free rental. She looked at the account and said that it expired. When calling to ask my daughter she had said that she didn't recall the gentleman saying we had a time limit. Carmica was rude and had a nasty tone of voice, she said that it didn't matter, they always said it was good for only 7 days and it was their policy. I asked her how I was to know of these policy's?She became more rude and said it didn't matter "I'm not giving you the free rental". I asked if there was a manager I could speak with. At this point it wasn't about the rental. It was the way I was being spoken to as a customer. Her response to me was "I am the manager." I asked you're the manager? She said yes, I am the manager on duty.I left the store with my youngest daughter who wanted at that point just to leave. As we got into the car, I was disgusted with the way I was treated and wanted to get the "main" managers name. I went back in and asked for his name. I told her that I was in shock that she would rather lose a customer for a rental. I had said that Movie Gallery was the one that called my home and told me this. I had asked Carmica if she would rather lose people and close their accounts. Carmica's response was "I would be happy to close your account for you right now." I was upset that I had drove all the way there to get such a nasty response. I also asked her if she looked at my account to see how much money I had spent at Movie Gallery (for it is a significant amount). Carmica's response to me was " I don't care how much money you spent here before, you're not buying or renting anything today, so it doesn't matter to me." Shocked that someone would ever speak to me, or any customer like that, I left the store.My daughter, called Movie Gallery that night to ask for the district managers name and the store managers name. My daughter did not say who she was but Carmica did not even know Keith's last name, her own store manager.My daughter, spoke to Keith the next day. My daughter, had said to him that Carmica could have handled the situation by saying "that we value our customers. I am sorry for the inconvenience. Although I don't have the authority to give you the rental, I can have my store manager address it as soon as possible, and that maybe Carmica needed to be trained in customer service. From my understanding from my daughter, he didn't have much to say. He had said to my daughter, " I guess I just need to kiss her butt", (he said this in a nice way as meaning to be helpful).She had told him, no, that wouldn't be necessary but an apology would be nice.He did say that if I wanted to come in, he would be happy to speak with me and to let him know what he could do to help.Personally, I don't feel it is up to me as a customer to come back into the store after such an experience. It would have been nice if he would have called me to apologize at the very least. Further more, that is his job as a manager, to try to satisfy the customer, especially after what his employee said.I took my time to write this, because I feel with this kind of service, Movie Gallery in Dunnellon will ultimately lose customers.

    0 Votes
  • Di
      May 15, 2009
    Movie Gallery - Illegal Products
    Movie Gallery
    Calgary
    Alberta
    Canada

    Movie Gallery Canada recently changed their candy distributor to now get their candy from their American suppliers. The problem with this is that it is illegal to sell any food products in Canada withouth bilingual packaging, with both English and French. The new candy being sent to these stores is English only. The Snickers bars actually have Spanish on them! The large master cases of some of the chocolate boxes actually said on them "For sale in the USA only, not for export". Trying to save a buck with disregard to the law; sounds like Movie Gallery.

    0 Votes
  •   May 15, 2009

    It's not necessarily illegal to have these products in Canada. The products being imported must go through the same regulatory that any imported food products go through, and are subject to sampling and approval.

    According to the Food and Drug Act the importer has 3 months to relabel the products to comply with the Act.

    http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/showdoc/cr/C.R.C.-c.870/bo-ga:l_A-gb:s_A_01_040//en#anchorbo-ga:l_A-gb:s_A_01_040

    The french language law on packaging was shoved down our throats. Canada is English speaking and the only regulatory law should be that the packaging must have English. Seems to me if they have a law about packaging, they should either include every language on the globe, or just English. Plenty of people living in Canada comes from countries that don't speak English or French.

    In Toronto, many shops don't even have English text on their signs.

    0 Votes
  • Di
      May 15, 2009

    It's been more than 3 months, and as I understand it they don't have to label products that are ethnic/cultural or are not readily available here. They have Twizzlers and Kit Kat bars and stuff in totally different packaging than we normally carry in Canada. I don't really care per se that they aren't labelled, or have any comment on the bilongualism in general, it just pisses me off that they are trying to get around it. I hate this company and they are always trying to cut corners. I know someone who works at an warehouse and they painstakingly have to attach labels to all of the products with the French on it, so I don't see why these products would be any different.

    0 Votes
  •   May 15, 2009

    Why don't you report them to the Food and Drug Administration? If you know it's been more than 3 months you might be doing a good thing by reporting them. Particularly if some of the products are outdated.

    There is a list of contacts here: http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/fn-an/contact/index-eng.php

    Besides that, it might make you feel better that you've done something about it.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      May 26, 2009

    That's terrible! It seems that a lot of the Movie Gallery stores could use some help. The ones in the Flathead Valley, MT have an issue with discrimination, namely with age. While I am not too bothered by the pornographic materials, since I can simply choose to not look at those, I have found that the stores do tend to be on an unorganized messy side.
    I do feel that not enough people choose to take these complaints to a higher office, rather than just to a store manager or whatnot. I think that people should try the Contact Us option on the Movie Gallery website if they feel the need to complain and actually try to do something.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      May 31, 2009

    Welcome to movie gallery. The whole company is like this. Ever met aMG District Manager? Total ###-hats most of the time.
    They are closing stores left and right. They are one of a handful of companies actually TRYING to fail. And they are succeeding.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
      Jun 12, 2009

    I got a call about a free rental went in and they told me it expired too and was only good for 7 days after phone call. They are trying to do some kind of points thing now to get people sucked in, and it is not a good deal. You end up paying the same for renting in the long run. I rarely rent anymore, when I go in the people working are so overly pushy and yacking about what a great deal the new power play, points, is or whatever they call it, that I felt like leaving. I have noticed the people working in my area movie gallery are more pushy now trying to sell sell, popcorn, drinks, candy, damage protection, always selling. The women working never stop yacking from the time I go to the checkout until I leave it is exausting.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jun 17, 2009

    Where do they get these managers? I had a terrrible experience with one on the phone when I asked her about my son's account. She was so condensending and rude. She started out by cutting me off in mid sentence, then proceeded to not let me speak at all, just totally ignoring me and continuing with her ranting and raving like a person who had totally lost it. What great customer service! She even called me rude.When I tried a few times to speak, she did not even miss a beat with her sentence, as if she was conversing by herself and that's exactly what she was doing as I had to hang up on this lunatic. I never do that, but under the circumstances, what was the point? It makes one wonder if they do pre-employment drug screens.

    +1 Votes
  • Ti
      Jun 18, 2009

    Good, competent managers seem to be the exception with Movie Gallery. We had a great manager here in town for several years (Englewood, FL). This good manager quit about 1 year ago. I used to go to MG every other day or so. Such a nice person. Her employees were great, too.

    After she quit, I thought they would promote one the perfectly competent long-term girls there. They had some very good people, which is rare at a clearly minimum wage establishment. A few months later, however, they brought in an enormously rude, cantankerous woman. She pushed out the previous manager's good employees and brought in her own. All of these people of hers are all quite rude and have terrible customer service skills. I began getting late fees, and I always return my movies on time. It was clearly these new incompetent / lazy employees fault not checking them in. They began to accuse me. I simply got fed up with their stupidity.

    I don't even go in anymore, it's just so absurd dealing with these rude people. Lots of other locals have gotten fed up too, I have talked to a few about it. It is so disappointing to us, we've all gone to Netflix. I'm sure our local MG store will be closed within the year. They quite literally chose to sink the store by bringing in this terrible manager. If my experience is anything to go by (and I'm sure it is), they have clearly lost a whole slew of local, regular customers. (This is a seasonal tourist area... all businesses depend on these people!)

    All of this is rather obvious to me, being a business owner myself-- it is clear to see that MG has serious internal issues. They are also quite arrogant, however-- as when I expressed my displeasure & recommendations to a District Manager who happened to be there one time. He was one of those dime-a-dozen retail [censored]- the cocky sort who like to "put fear" into their inferiors.
    I remember working for people like that. Ugh.

    +1 Votes
  • Ar
      Jun 24, 2009

    I work for movie gallery and my husband is in Iraq right ow serving his second tour. A member of management informed me that she does not support the troops out of the blue. I went the the GSM of the store to let her know and I was reprimanded for getting an attitude about her harsh words and nothing happened to her, in fact she got promoted 4 days latter.

    -1 Votes
  • Fa
      Jul 28, 2009

    I feel your pain. I worked for Hollywood Video in AZ and was just recently fired for not selling enough Powerplays. Its hard to sell a program that
    1) wants your credit card to charge monthly deductions for movies that you may or may not see.
    2) uses a point system
    3) that has been known to mess up accounts
    4) and finally everyone is strapped for money. Who seriously wants to spend 40 bucks a month for movies?
    When I would confront my boss about the program I would get in serious trouble but too be honest I was just thinking about the average customer and what was in their best interest. The companies policies aren't realistic...
    Wishing you the best and good luck.

    +2 Votes
  • Ro
      Sep 08, 2009

    i lliv in st cloud florida were aperently all mg emploies are incompetent in the custermer service aspect of retail we have been told quote i dont care if you close your account or not but having two mgs we opened an account at the other were we are faithful custermers but after being charged 40 dollers for power play we cancelled two weeks before due we will not return even tho it ahs been made clear oour buisness is not welcome anyway after bringing this to the attention of the disrict manerger bryan we were offered a 20 doller gift card for our trouble which no surprise we have never recieved

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Sep 08, 2009

    movie gallery sucks

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 08, 2009

    You'll notice that the words "### Factory" have the same number of syllables as "Movie Gallery, " and fit comfortably into their TV jingle. This is no coincidence.

    +2 Votes
  • La
      Sep 09, 2009

    Movie Gallery wageslave here. My manager has shielded me from the worst of it (sometimes it pays off being the only employee with a sense of responsibility), but just about everyone else at my store has been written up over this nonsense. You want to talk about unrealistic expectations? My DM has never worked in a store. Not MG, not any kind of retail. Naturally, she thinks customers are robots, and easily manipulated into buying this overpriced, disingenuous, account-breaking beast called Powerplay. Seriously, half the Powerplay accounts I see are borked to the point that we have to manually credit the movies (which sends red flags to Corporate), and check them in FOS (red-flag double whammy!)

    Caveat emptor!

    +1 Votes
  • La
      Sep 09, 2009

    Yeah, there's a script for the inactive calls (for free rentals). You're supposed to make it clear that they have seven days to claim it. No one uses the script. That's what happens when hire any warm body that shows up for the interview, then offer no incentive for them to behave decently. Movie Gallery doesn't care about you, or your experience in the store. We just want your money. Customer complaints don't matter, as long as your sales numbers are good.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 09, 2009

    Rental video rental stores are on the decline, anyhow. With faster internet speeds, and companies like Netflix growing rapidly, walk-in establishments really have to shape up, and open up. They can't be getting stricter, more expensive, or be treating customers like ###. It's completely illogical, when one looks at the changing retail climate. The stores are fairly automated with the movie shipments, it's amazing they need so many managers and district managers in the first place. Movie Gallery is fat in the middle, if you ask me. With a bit of restructuring, and a bit more investment in automation, brand structuring, they could save a lot of money.

    The capacity for a retail establishment to change with the times is the only way to ensure some kind of future. Movie Gallery is going in the wrong direction, becoming more conservative, more strict, cutting back on programs, credits, employee incentives, etc. They try to "change it up" with new programs (such as powerplay), which are really just superficial changes, not structural improvements. All of these practices dissuade customers, who are now more inclined than ever to try the new modern wave of renting movies.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Sep 20, 2009

    movie gallery is a ripoff! especially when you can get netflix cheaper! and not have to worry about the awful customer service. I went to moviegallery in Amory MS. they charged me 60 bucks for 4 games that was supposed to be 4 for 20 dollars. I went back in and wanted to give the games back.. they wanted to give me store credit at first. I said NO I want my money back. I also stated that if they kept the store in order and stop trying to rip people off this wouldnt happen. I got 40 bucks back for the games. I also returned the movies I rented to. I wanted my money back for those to but they said they couldnt do that. And proceeded to act like I was the problem! and that I was interupting their conversation and proceeded to laugh and joke. And so I will NEVER go back. They got about 20 bucks from me. And so I am going to tell my family and friends NEVER to go there.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 20, 2009

    This is a routine story. It's the reason movie gallery stores (such as my local one) are becoming ghost towns. Managers have less and less discretion for customer retention. They have a quota for credits (refunds), I understand. Which is unfortunate for customers who are genuinely ripped off. If this behavior is the only methodology movie gallery can employ, then good riddance. Netflix is the future, and it is cheaper and more convenient. Until they can compete with it, (i.e. stop being such stubborn, greedy, uptight ###-hats) then they will only succeed in going the way of the dodo.

    Their customer service skills and general employee competence (and I mean district managers, too) ... observing these people is like watching a trainwreck. And the most amusing element is that they're so self-assured, even arrogant about it. All while there's fewer and fewer customers coming in every day. It's so odd. If I were teaching a class on this particular subject, I would use such observations as a "what not to do" tutorial.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Oct 13, 2009

    Alright guys, I am a store manager in upstate New York, for a Hollywood Video. I thought the same things that you guys are thinking about the program when it first came out. If you are selling it correctly, letting them know everything about the program and that you have got all of your bases covered you are good.

    YOU have to sell it correctly for the customer to get the most out of the program. If a customer only rents two or three movies a month, you aren't going to sell the the 39.99 plan. You would sell them the one out plan where they can get up to three movies out a month. And it does save them money, it does let them use it the way they like, and it does eliminate late fees for them if they use it correctly.

    The credit card is there for convenience and its very true, I have had a lot less problems with the program since we switched to credit card renewal. If they want to pay cash they only have to pay up to three months in advance, so if your store manager told you it was six months they probably lied to boost their auto renew sales.

    And of course with a new program there are going going to be bugs, and they worked pretty promptly to fix them if you ask me. I agree there are still things that they could fix, and that their goals are a little out of hand, but they know that you aren't going to sell that many, but they set the goals high so you sell a bunch.

    Sounds to me like you guys are lazy, my staff was too, but once they learned how to sell the program correctly they are getting them left and right, and they are not sales people. So I say, stop complaining, learn the program, ask every customer, be honest, make sure its what is in their best interest, and if you don't like it, leave. Because quite frankly there are tons of people looking for jobs that would not complain about selling a program, and could take your place easily. Thats why the company is getting rid of you people that do nothing but complain. Because it is possible and we don't need you if you aren't going to work for us. Simple as that.

    P.S.
    Its in your job description to sell, so you really aren't entitled to complain, its what you agreed to when you took the job.

    -2 Votes
  • Cl
      Oct 13, 2009

    Wow... you people really have nothing better to complain about? I think thats funny... let it go, it was a dollar, and don't donate next time... simple as that!

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Oct 13, 2009

    Wow... this is petty, every company cuts corners, I don't know where you have been.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Oct 29, 2009

    This has to be the pettiest complaint I've ever read. It really seems like you just don't like this company and are looking for any old reason to rag on them. I personally know people that have been actually mistreated by various companies, and could make good use of this website to voice their legitimate complaints. But this? This is absolutely ridiculous.

    Earlier in the year, I was aboard an air flight and got a can of well-known brand name soda from El Salvador; the entire thing was in Spanish - and here I was flying entirely over an English-speaking country; I still knew how to open it, and could taste the better difference between sugar cane (which this soda had) and high-fructose corn syrup (which is typically used in North America). I actually came away from the experience feeling cultured.

    If this is in fact a corner that a company intentionally cut, I will be the first to commend themas opposed to laying individuals off, or otherwise decreasing the overall customer experience - they may, or may not have, had candy - which is understood in any language no matter what; featuring languages that are widely-spoken, among the widely bi-lingual population of Canada.

    For the sake of savvy consumers everywhere, please be sure to post a legitimate complaint next time.

    +1 Votes
  • Sm
      Oct 30, 2009

    I agree with the original post. The law is the law. Should they cut even more corners by sending in US copies of movies from other stores which don't have bilingual packaging either? Oh, wait. They have. Seen them in the previously viewed bin. I'm not too sympathetic to a mega company that underpays its staff and cuts corners. This isn't some mom and pop store. I don't know that you should become the "police" of a complaint website based on your judgment of what is a valid complaint. If the complaints were that serious they should go to the labour board and not a website.

    0 Votes
  • Wb
      Nov 04, 2009

    I also work for Movie Gallery and I think its absurd to get written up over not selling this stuff...esp when 10 out 12 already have it and we still get written up because we didnt sell to the last 2, nevermind that they did buy PVMs. I believe this is the nail in the coffin that will put Movie Gallery under...it would have sold like crazy IF and I repeat IF they wouldnt ask for a CC or for someone to pay months in advance...

    +1 Votes
  • Wb
      Nov 07, 2009

    To Clsthered:
    Yes there are tons of people asking and wanting a job. I get 2 or 3 a day. problem is eventually you will run out of good employees and begin to scrape the bottom of the barrel. I dont see new employees being able to sell this program any better than those of us who have been trained for it. Most of MG employees are younger kids and could actually give a rats ### less about PP or MG for that matter. 10 hrs is not enough training to be running a store and be properly trained on alot of different things. New people are overwhelmed by the amount of work and responsibilty for the minimun wage MG pays. Again...one would think they could see why there is such turn over. Lets face it...they can get minimum wage Flipping burgers somewhere...and I bet they are not written up for not selling burgers. Infact if you have been with MG for awhile its much easier to sell PP to customers who you know. I dont see Joe Blow off the street doing any better. I am an older employee and am quiet capable of managing a store..I will not do it simply because if I am going to work 60 hrs a week...then pay me, and not for just 45. And the 9 hr days with no breaks is absurd. If you notice "most" mgrs are younger and do try to give it 110% very dedicated people, but MG just runs them over and they get very disgusted with the job. I cant say that I blame them at all. I find it very hard to be dedicated to a company who constantly makes you feel like you are replaceable and not important to the growth of their company. ( not to mention constantly sell sell sell and if you dont your written up or terminated. ) But hey..if you are willing to work 60 hrs and only get paid for 45...I say go for it. I am smarter than that. At least I get paid for 8 to 12 hrs a week I work. I have simply kept this job #1- for something to do. #2- I like my mgr and know they are very dedicated to the job. its not for the money or Upper mgmt. I have given notice after a cpl yrs of employment because uppper mgmt havent a clue what the problem is with this program or the stores. I can see you will do very well with MG with you attitude. Good luck, you will need it when the DM turns on you.

    0 Votes
  • Uw
      Nov 18, 2009

    As an employee who has recently receieved a cut in hours I am NOT happy.

    Reasons I don't think Powerplay is fair:

    1) If I talk this plan up to a customer but they can't sign up for it because they have either forgotten their credit card or need to have the primary account holder's card, how fair is it that my coworker (who I've noticed isn't mentioning powerplay to ANY customers) gets the credit because she happens to be working when the customer returns?

    2) Cutting my hours does nothing but make me care LESS about the job. If I didn't love working for my manager, I would have quit on the spot. I'm down to a little over 5 hours a week. Hardly worth caring about and as soon as I find another job I'm gone. Plus, how do you expect me to sell something if I'm not there? Admit it MG: cutting our hours is basically your way of trying to get us who "aren't performing" to quit. And even if MG terminated me, I haven't made nearly enough to collect unemployment.

    3) When I was way outperforming my coworkers I was told that my hours would be increased. They weren't. Yet when my numbers drop, my hours do?

    4) What MG counts as opportunities needs to change. If I wait on a 16 year old boy with the authorization to rent under his mom's account, he can't sign up for PP. He can't open his own account either due to his age. And even if he was allowed to open an account, doubtful he would have credit/ debit or the fund to pay 3 months upfront...So why does that count against me? I hate to admit rude customer service but numerous times lately I have refused to wait on people not listed on the account because it will hurt ME. MG cares more about this little 10% than actual revenue.

    5) With the hours that MG insists managers work, it leaves the b**** shifts for the rest of us. 3 hours opening (one of which is spent preparing to open the store) or 3 hours of closing...Obviously the type of customers that come in during the hours the manager works are going to be a different type than we see from 8-11. The manager gets to wait on more families. These are people that have more money to spend on things like PP, people that are secure enough to put a charge on their credit card monthly bc they're not living month to month. Imagine the 8-11 crowd.

    And clsthered: FYI there is nothing I can do about customers that don't want to pay via credit card drafts or pay three months up front. What do you suggest we do about that since you have all of the answers? They control their money...not us. Regardless of whether they take the 1-out or diamond. I have a customer that I did all of the math regarding how much it would be for her to take the 1-out plan, 3 months up front, and just add points for her son...she is STILL not interested in it. Pretty rude of you to call us lazy too. We are giving it our honest effort.

    0 Votes
  • Ef
      Nov 22, 2009

    Powerplay is very misleading and basically a "Last Stand" for Hollywood Video and their failing business. At first I thought Powerplay as a good deal and could understand how it would benefit Hollywood Video by encouraging customers to rent more by enforcing a sort of prepay system at which Powerplay credits expire after a month. Personally, I don't need more than 10-15 credits per month (which I paid in cash). Come to find out, during my last visit to Hollywood Video, as I was ready to pay for rental, the clerk told me that I have 27 credits on my account?!? Found out that Hollywood Video autocharged my credit card a couple weeks ago and now have close to 30 credits on my account. At first, I was a bit bitter about Hollywood Video autocharging my credit card when I DID NOT authorize them to do so! And after having spoke to a clerk, I had them turn off the autocharge and asked when I would have to use the credits by. I was told I had another month to use them. I called back a week later to find out when my rental was due back, and at that time the clerk gave me different info on when my credits had to be used. Was told I had til around the end of next month to use them, now I was being told I had less than a week?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!! The clerk apologized and stated that I was given wrong info and that credit had to be used in about a week?!?!?! Who's fault is that??!?!? Who authorized autocharge on my credit card? How are you going to fix this? All these questions and more left unanswered...why? One of my main questions would be "Which Hollywood Video Exec Idiot thought up this stupid Powerplay plan?" "Who thought autocharging unsuspecting customer credit cards would be a good idea?" Powerplay CAN be a good idea if there weren't so many stupid policies surrounding it or at least a couple more policies that would help.
    FIRST...Fcuk the expiration of credits. Hollywood Video just trying to fcuk customers in the a$$ and take money! (Can you say money grubbing video execs? Please just grab a chair, tie a rope to the ceiling and do what comes natural ###!)
    SECOND...if you insist on sneaking into customers' credit cards and autocharging. Have the decency to give the customer a courtesy call and tell them that you have done this and that there are now credits ready to be used in their account. My experience with this? I was autocharged for close to 30 powerplay credits in my account (didn't even know I was autocharged nor did I know I have powerplay credits in my account) and found out 2 weeks prior to the points expiring!?! How the fcuk am I going to use 30 powerplay credits in two weeks?! Courtesy call ###s!
    Third...I just hope Hollywood Video crumbles. I hope all the Hollywood Video corporate people eat ### and rot...especially the one who came up with this Powerplay crap.

    0 Votes
  • Ef
      Nov 22, 2009

    I thought hard and came up with a plan...
    because I'm not working currently and having been dicked by Hollywood Video, I'm thinking I'd give that "love" right back to Hollywood Video. Like I said, I'm not working right now. Thinking I'll apply for a job at Hollywood Video...take their minimum wage and also some of their stock of Blu Ray, dvds and video games for free. I've been "given" lots of items from alot of places I used to work at...it's just at Hollywood Video I'll be happy to be taking "gifts" from them. Won't name names, but I have worked at one of Hollywood Videos competitors and had a nice little "system" running. The late shift is when I'd be "gifted" most with presents, I'm pretty smooth! Hollywood Video watch out! I've filled out one application for a location not too far from here (and planning on filling out a few more)...I have a feeling I'll be "given" many gifts at Hollywood Video. hahaha!

    0 Votes
  • Ef
      Nov 22, 2009

    totally kidding about the last comment. hahaha

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Nov 23, 2009

    To Wbokbo:

    I work my 45 hours and that is it. I never go over and I get all of my work done and my numbers are fine. If you hire on the right people (And I have tons of younger kids that would rather sell then flip burgers...), people that catch on quick you should have no problem. I'm sorry you have such an issue with the company, if you worked harder you would get paid more, but sounds to me like you have a pretty bad attitude and should probably go to Burger King or something.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Nov 23, 2009

    And to you Uwukmrn:

    Hours not increasing? Look at that manager that you love working for so much. I know I increase my employees hours when they are doing a great job, its not the company doing that one. Its you manager. Oh and in case you didn't know, the company standard for powerplay has dropped to 3% of your customers, since we pretty much have everyone signed up thats going to get on it. If you don't like the job then leave... there is really no reason to complain, you just aren't a sales person.

    And to EF HollywoodVIDEO:

    We don't need your business if you don't understand the program, or simply... don't sign up, there is an idea. And if it was the case that someone did not explain it to you correctly you should have talked to the manager and had them removed from the staff.

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Dec 03, 2009

    first of all its not a rip off add up how much 5 rentals cost them well in my store it would be about $25 anf maybe late fees too but with pp 2 out it would only cost them 14.99 no late fees grow up and quit lieing to all these people and the cash option is only 3 out and the credit card auto pay can be canceled the day after you do it and nothing comes off there card we do it like 10 times a day and have never had a proablem so why dont you get some more training on what your doing to find a new job but quit lieing to people cause it is a great deal thanks

    0 Votes
  • Al
      Dec 03, 2009

    to clsthered

    i totally agree with you i am a sm to of movie gallery and i have good numbers never work more then 45 its all about your staff and how well there trained i was gone twice now in 6 years when i had my babys and i was gone for 2 months and my store ran great i have 4 emp that have worked for me for over 2 years and i love it so dont listion to these other people trying to put us down they just can handle it and grow up and work forthere money

    0 Votes
  • Wb
      Dec 04, 2009

    To clsthered :

    Im glad you have tons of "younger" people to work. Now ask yourself this...how long until they get frusrtated with the "barely" any hrs and no raise not to mention working every weekend..As far as not working hard...I never sat on my a** I always found something to do, even if it was dusting the store and on most days I had some of the Mgrs work already done or started when we came in...You of all people should know we werent aloud to sit...it was grounds for termination. Out of the 3 stores that are close to me..only one employee has received a raise and she got that before I ever started with MG. Another store has closed in another town thats near me. As far as you only having to put in your 45 and no more...we all know...anyone that has worked as a mgr or for MG knows better...maybe you and alyxisandmadisensmommy are the exception...and maybe it doesnt happen at times..but there is always something you will have to go in for...and if you dont...guess what..you will be terminated. Our store usually got about 90 hrs a week...the mgr has to take 45...so that leaves 45 for 4 or 5 employess...you can do the math...no one will want to be harrassed or threated for barely 10 hrs a week. All you have to do is read the reports that are on this board as well the others...the complaints are from customers as well as employess. Mgrs and DMs are continually threating employess for not selling PP. PP will be the downfall of MG as long as they are asking for CC info...Im afraid your store will not be able to keep the company afloat. Have you checked Family Video prices lately? They offer unlimted...yep...I said Unlimted half off rentals for 10 bucks a month..and for another 5 you get half off games...so for brand new just hit the floor releases...1.75 for 5 nights. 1.25 for some that have been out for a few weeks...and guess what...I dont have to buy more credits when I run...cause I dont run out...beats the heck out 3 and 5 dollar rentals. Their kids movies...FREE...and the "core" collection as MG calls it...1.00... .50 with the plan...How about Reb Box...or Netflix? Checked it lately? Still a better deal...Oh, id like to know how you increase hrs without going over...and not take them away from other employess...Because we all know...if you go over..YOU will get in trouble...and if you think they wont fire you, that you are secure in your job...you are wrong...2 mgrs in my area have gotten fired...just walked in and fired...Thats the kind of people you are dealing with...but then again...you should know that...so rather than be threatened and written up for not selling PP to people who, A. Already have it..or B. Do not want to give out CC info..I chose C...leave the company and find someone who appreciates my work and what I offer...things like...not sitting around...coming in when Im called ...going the extra mile to do things in the store that others have not done..doing things like making their company a better place for everyone..not just the Exect people...and being a people person instead of a kid who could care less...I gather you are younger person who really doesnt have a clue how bad MG treats you...most of the Mgrs are young and dont realize it..I think thats why they like hiring younger people...why dont you check with other establishments in your area...see what the mgrs are making...and benefits they are getting...not to mention if they are threatened...I think you might be surprised...I know one thing for sure...I bet they dont have to take the crap you do from the DM..Then come back and tell me how bad my attitude is..

    0 Votes
  • Wb
      Dec 04, 2009

    To clsthered :


    Oh and...FYI...Id rather flip burgers than deal with Mgrs like you..and 5 will get you 10...Im not the only one..;)

    0 Votes

Post your comment