SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Monroe Animal ShelterAdopting a dog

1 Review updated:

They had a sign out on the main road that it was Pet Adoption Day so I stopped in. I wanted to adopt a dog up to a year old and was hoping to find a rescue dog which I was told they had here. All the dogs were outside in cages. A woman approached me and asked me to fill out an application. I told her that I just wanted to look. She said I can't unless I fill out an application but I didn't see why it was necessary if I didn't find a dog to adopt, so I left.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in Monroe, CT Few days later, I stopped in again and another woman approached me and asked if I had an appt. I said no but I just wanted to look. She said no, not without an appointment which was crazy because I was there before closing. So I left. I checked on line to fill out an application so that I can send it or bring it to them, but there was an on line fee for the application of $20, but if you fill it out there it's free. So you are not only paying 3-$400 for adoption but the application also. These poor dogs need to be adopted and why on earth do they make it so hard for people? What if I walked away with a dog that day? I would have saved a life.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Go
      Jun 03, 2011

    So what?

    -1 Votes
  • 2g
      Jun 09, 2011

    Your missing the point. I just wanted to look and then if I wanted the dog I would fill out the application. Why would I fill out the application if I do not see a dog I'm interested in? Why not just have me sign in (name, address and phone number) and then let me look around the shelter. That's what the Bpt. animal shelter does. You sign in and they allow you to walk around. Besides, why is there a $20 application fee online but not in person?

    0 Votes
  • Kh
      Jun 09, 2011

    Being in animal rescue myself, that is just absurd to ask someone to fill out a application prior to finding a dog you'd like to adopt. I have NEVER heard of that being done. I would be concerned on what the kennels looked like...are they not clean and just don't want someone to see them? I'd call the Connecticut Dept of Agriculture, explain the situation and ask them to do a unannounced visit to the facility. Go on petfinder.com and see if you can find a dog that you can save. Some groups adopt to out-of-state, so don't let a dog being from another state deter you. They also have dog transports to get the dog to you.

    +1 Votes
  • 2g
      Jun 10, 2011

    I know what your saying Brenda and I did ask why the appointment. They just said they didn't have enough staff but I don't know what that means because the animals were in cages outside and there were two women working there. What I couldn't understand was that they give you the hours they are open which is noon til 3:30 and that's why I just walked in. Also, the day that the adoption sign was out on the street, I went there and they ran over quickly and told me to fill out an application but didn't even give me a chance to look first. I would gladly fill out an application when I found the dog I wanted. Thank you for your support on Shelter animals. I am going Saturday to Norwalk, Ct to a foster home to see the dog I want. I already filled out the application on line and sent a $100 deposit. The dog will cost $300 but that's with all the shots and everything. It's wonderful that they have foster homes.

    0 Votes
  • 2g
      Jun 10, 2011

    I will let you know. I'm excited but I just hope it has a good temperment because I really don't want one that snaps or growls. This is a mini pincher terrier and it's not supposed to get too big. Thanks for being concerned.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
      Sep 02, 2011

    I too am shocked and angry at these "Rescue Organizations" who apparently swipe all the decent looking puppies from local shelters and then put them up for adoption for a fee. Petfinder.com is full of these people. They do not care about these animals. They are invasive and interogate any "applicant" who is willing to adopt a dog and then they deny you based on ridiculous notions.

    0 Votes
  • Em
      Sep 03, 2011

    Well, here's what happened when I went to pick up my puppy. Instead of picking her up at the foster home, "Tails of Courage" from Petfinder, told me to meet them at Petco. When I arrived at the store they had brought other dogs and there were people there adopting them. The one I adopted was beautiful but then I saw this puppy sitting in the corner looking so sad and sweet. I wanted to know who was adopting her and they said no one and that they just took her along for the ride. They came from a hoarding house in West Virginia. The dog that I had adopted had 6 people interested in her so I knew what my decision should be. I ended up with the puppy that no one wanted. When I got her home she was loaded with fleas and because they spay them so early, she had 3 large lumps in that area oozing with pus. I took her right to our vet and he gave us medication for the fleas and told me she may need an operation where she was spayed. Tails of Courage was very nasty when I told them about it and denied anything was wrong with her UNTIL I gave them my vets name and phone number.
    Then they emailed me back and gave me the insurance companies name just to appease me. When you adopt on Petfinder, they say you have 10 days free health insurance. Well, that's a lie. They will not pay for anything!! So I have this adorable, lovable little beagle named Roxy that is healthy and doing fine. I am convinced that rescue groups are only in it for the money. If you saw how disgusting and dirty Monroe Animal Shelter is, it would break your heart. I don't mind paying for my animals but I refuse to believe that the money is used to take care of them. If you saw how clean and well fed the animals are at Bridgeport Animal Shelter, where these dogs are picked up off the street or from people that just don't want them anymore and where you get the dog for nothing but a mere donation, why waste your time on Petfinder. Never again.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
      Jul 09, 2013

    I worked at a shelter and rescues got first choice. They would clean them up and sell them for a profit! There are rescues that truly care about animals, and barely make a living helping animals find their forever home.

    0 Votes
  • 2g
      Jul 09, 2013

    I'm sure there are people that really care about animals and I am forever grateful to them. I just had a bad experience with Petfinder but when you look at these animals online, they are so sweet and wish I can have them all.But please don't make it difficult to adopt. Allow the people to look around at the animals without making it difficult. People just want to find an animal they could love and take care of. Monroe Animal Shelter really needs to change their policy.

    0 Votes

Post your comment