Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Midas / work never done

22 Auto Center RdManchester, NH, United States Review updated:
2.5
Contact information:
Phone: (603) 624-4200

October 23, 2007 I had my truck in at Midas location Manchester New Hampshire. I had paid for Midas touch maint package, Bulb lights and state inspection. I was advised that my Truck did not pass inspection due to muffler, and right outer tie rod. I was aware that I needed a tire rod but I didn't understand any other issues. 11 hours later on October 24, 2007 at 9:00 am in the morning my brake went out. The brake pedal suddenly went to the floor, due to the left brake hose rupturing. The metal part of the left front brake hose was bent up causing it to be in the incorrect position; which resulted in its failure.' Midas should have noticed this defect on 10/23/07 when Midas performed the visual courtesy check which I had paid for. It was advised in writing from Midas that, no immediate attention was needed for brake lines/hoses. How could this error been missed? Due to Midas missing this defect it has cost our family's safety, towing expenses, taxi cost, brake line and Midas bill, a total of $385.61.

Since that time our family has paid for another opinion on ALL work performed by Midas and found our exhaust doesn't need to be replaced. We have been advised that our filter was not replaced. We are appalled, disgusted and shocked that this was missed and work was not preformed at all. Our family is more upset that we paid for Midas to do a safety check and that check was NEVER DONE. Missing this caused our family to almost DIE in an accident with losing our brakes. Thank god no one was hurt.
Va
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
St
  14th of Jan, 2008
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
On April 6, 2007 I went to Midas Seabrook, NH. for an inspection sticker for my 1999 Hyundia Sonata. I was told that I needed a P/S A/C belt at a cost of 81.95. It took Johns crew a very long time to install the belt, so long that John issued me a credit to be used at a later date for a free LOF. On April 12, 2007 I went to Midas Seabrook NH this time for an inspection sticker on my Jeep Grand Cherokee. Midas informed me that I needed rear brakes, Midas installed the brakes. On April 17, 2007 I heard a thumping noise coming from the rear of my Jeep, I went to the rear tires and discoverd that Midas Seabrook forgot to tighten the lug nuts. I went to the closest Midas shop to have them retighten the lugs. I went to Midas Seabrook to complain about the lack of attention to detail and the fact that I was upset that they put my family in an unsafe condition when it left the shop. John issued me a credit to be used at a later date for 50.00. ( Lets see 50.00 divided by a family of four, give me a brake). On 10/25/2007 I returned to Midas Seabrook with my Sonata complaining of a loud squealing noise. Midas determined that the belt they installed on 04/06/2007 was defective and replaced the belt. On 12/28/2007 I went back to Midas Seabrook with the same squealing noise. Per inspection Joe the associate on duty told me that the Tensioner Pulley was off center and it needed to be replaced, if I would buy the parts ( Pulley and Belt) he would installed it for 35.00. I just had the belt replaced on 12/28/2007 . I then went to the experts at Hampton Hyundai to have them look at the car, they said it was the Pulley, it was off center and that the only way that could happen was whom ever installed the belt forgot to tighten the nut on the Pulley, which caused the pulley to be off center allowing the belt to ride across the pulley, damaging the belt and pulley. I went back to Midas to tell them what Hampton Hyundia had found to be the the reason for the all the trouble, again lack of attention to detail. I spoke with Joe again and all he could do is advise me that he needed to speak with John is manager. So here I am again with a belts that's about to fall off. I feel I gave Midas enough chances to fix this problem. SO I choose to have my Sonata fixed at Hampton Hyundia immediatley. The mechanic had to replace the tension pulley and the belt. He also stated that the reason that the pulley and belt wore out was because the nut on the pulley was not tightened when the belt was installed and wehn he took the nut off there was very little tension on the nut, causing the bearing in the pulley to ride off center which was the root of all the problems. This mechanic provided me with the parts and a detailed diagram and suggested I show these to Midas.

I went back to Midas on 12/28/07 to meet with John. I explained everything from the lugs on my Jeep not properly being tightened to the nut of the trensioer pulley not properly being tightened. I also showed him the parts and the diagram, and told him that I expected him to stand by the Midas Pledge and take care of the problem. He explained that the Seabrook NH crew had the least amount of complaints than any other Midas Shop .(now that's comforting) He aslo claimed that the Hampton Hyundia experts were wrong. I asked John to refund my $81.95 the original cost for the work performed on 10/25/07 when his crew did NOT tighten the nut on the pulley when they installed the second belt. Considering I had to pay Hampton Hyundia $236.26 to correct the problem I think the right and fair thing for him to do rwas to refund my $81.95. John's response was he had already given me enough credits. Again credits for negligent work by his crew. John proceeded to ask me what I would do if he couldn't do anything, ( I found that staement to be odd) I told him I would submit a formal complaint to Midas. He repsponded "It wouldn't matter because Midas would just kick the complaint back to him". In conclusion John said he would check with his boss and call me back on Monday 12/30/07, to date I have heard nothing back from John. I'm am certain you can imagine my frustration and lack of confidence in John and the Seabrook shop. I'm sure it goes without saying I will not use Midas services again nor will I ever recommend your services. This is a poor example of professional services. I work in the retail business and my customers are always right!
Te
  8th of Dec, 2012
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Have you ever cut hair? Ever missed one? There's a lot to look at under a vehicle and some things you cant see easily without removing parts (wheels in your case). Why is Midas at fault for almost killing your entire family? Did they put the caliper/pads/brake hose on? And yes I really am glad nobody was hurt! So let's not talk about what could've happened, the list just goes on too long.
Te
  8th of Dec, 2012
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
To sir above, no customers are not always right. Really? You are an idiot. Yes, you should always treat your customers right, does not mean the other. Where do you work? I will come there and be your customer and prove to you I can be wrong. What a stupid saying, why do people still use it only when talking about how they've been wronged.

Post your comment

Submit
Midas International Corporation Logo Midas International Corporation
Customer Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

113 Reviews
823 Donald Ross Road
Juno Beach
FL
United States - 33408
+1 800 621 8545
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send